44 reviews

Salesforce CPQ & Billing

Next generation Configure Price Quote (CPQ) apps

4,2 /5 (44 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
77%
recommended this app
44 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

CPQ requires a lot of clicks and is far from intuitive

Reviewed on 2021/04/06

It streamlines approvals somewhat, and makes for a more standardized quoting system, so I understand the business reasons for switching to it, but from an end user perspective, it has been a huge pain to use.

Pros

The thing I like the most about CPQ is that it allows me to keep multiple quotes attached to one opportunity a lot easier. There are also some great ways to add multiple products and makes that aspect of quoting easier.

Cons

CPQ was recently introduced at my org and it is so cumbersome to work through. It requires a lot of clicks and updating price/making price changes is very difficult. Creating a quote used to take me about 5 minutes and now it takes about 20 depending on the complexity. Maybe I'll get used to it and more familiarized, but it definitely isn't intuitive or efficient.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Robust CPQ solution for Salesforce users

Reviewed on 2020/04/07

This tool makes life so much easier for your sales team and eliminates a lot of risk that is inherent to having your quoting process be done via excel, etc.

Pros

It is a powerful and fairly robust CPQ solution that makes the lives of your Sales team that much easier. For growing businesses, it makes it that much easier to scale your business with a structured quoting process.

Cons

Because the tool is so robust and the quoting process is often complex, it is imperative to have a strong implementation firm with CPQ specific expertise. This can be expensive.

Amrit P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Salesforce CPQ User review

Reviewed on 2019/05/07

Pros

Bundling of sub products and accessories with specific price points was an important consideration for us while selecting Steelbricks CPQ. They have most of the business scenarios covered out of the box.

Cons

CPQ has a steep learning curve. However, once you spend the initial hours in the training , you get better at it. It took us time to train the inside sales to configure products themselves for standard bundles.

Talha A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Well integrated Quoting tool

Reviewed on 2019/02/10

This product has Increased our revenue, increased productivity and decreased time spent on excel sheets.

Pros

Very well integrated with all salesforce applications

all my contacts, clients, emails, quotes.

Calendar and call back all in one place with reminders.

Help things organized and make it easy to meet your sales goals.

The ability to have multiple rate quote packages that can be updated anytime easily.

Cons

Costly for medium sized enterprises. calculation times can be sometimes slow

Razae M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Increase sales user adoption with CPQ

Reviewed on 2019/05/24

We have seen an increase in user adoption overall since implementing this tool

Pros

We have been using CPQ for a few months now and have a better overall pipeline for products. The quote templates that CPQ can generate are much cleaner than the traditional salesforce quote tool.

Cons

Support agents are slower to respond but it’s ideal to have a developer to assist with custom configuration when building out CPQ

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

New CPQ User

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Too many steps with previous platform to send a contract and too many required fields.

Pros

CPQ has been an easy way to get quotes out and quickly make changes versus the old software we were using. CPQ generates documents quickly for me to send out and adding in different products has never been easier.

Cons

Some growing pains with CPQ as we roll it out across the team but much better than our previous solution.

Zack K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful for configuring approval processes but requires lots of know-how

Reviewed on 2021/04/07

Still not sure that we are receiving the value that we are paying for, time will tell.

Pros

CPQ is a Salesforce product which allows you to build sophisticated quote pipelines. In general, this is useful if you have a diverse price book and different types of sales motions which require approvals from different stakeholders. There are different options when selecting CPQ, namely whether you need multiple approver capabilities. For a mid to large stage company, this is definitely a required feature and the native SFDC integration makes it easy to consume.

Cons

Pricing is quite high for this feature, it costs as much as SFDC seats itself which is a bit difficult to get approval for. Configuration for CPQ also requires a lot of technical knowledge and usually gets farmed out to a SFDC consulting group (even more $$$). If you are a small startup, you probably can do without CPQ until the sales cycle becomes more complicated.

Joel N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Exceptional Customer Support for a Powerful Tool

Reviewed on 2015/09/01

We've had Quote Quickly for about four years now, and have had an excellent experience so far. It does what we need it to do, is flexible, and the support is one of the best in our portfolio of vendors. It fit a perfect storm of value and functionality (not too simple/small, but not too big/complex), and we plan to continue to invest.

One minor con is we'd like to see an even more simple user interface that what we have today.

Justin Y.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Steelbrick

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

Steelbrick improved our quoting process dramatically. it took our custom built quote tool and put it on steroids. It's worked well so far, there was initial pain with roll out. the pain has eased in the weeks and months following

Andre L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accurate and Professional Sales Quotes

Reviewed on 2019/05/03

Pros

Integrates well with the suite of Salesforce products that are already on the market. I have both implemented and have been an end user purchasing through the CPQ tool and both experiences have been worthy of praise.

Cons

On the implementation end like any other product it has to be done right the first time to avoid costly mistakes and missed deadlines. It's a hot in demand product but not many consultancies no how to do it right. Make your best decision to pick the right team to implement and help adopt this as a useful tool

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not as easy to integrate as it is made out to be

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

I need to put this disclaimer in front of what I'm about to write, because it will sound critical. I left the company using CPQ about seven months after we started to integrate it into our SalesForce platform. So, it may have ended up being a success. At the time I left, it was not a success. Not a failure either. Maybe the payback was still coming.

It was sold to us as being a quick, seamless integration that would be easy to get up and running and customized to our business model. It was not that. It is a potentially elegant solution that we wanted to use so we could scale up our selling process and hopefully reduce the sales cycle. There was no evidence that it succeeded in doing that for us.

Pros

I love the concept of starting the quoting process and having that all captured in the CRM database. Also, that it looks and feels like SalesForce so the sales people are not scared off by it immediately.

Cons

The spin-up was very difficult. It did not work as seamlessly as advertised. Ultimately, it required us to rely on a consulting agency that did not show the same level of quality and customer service that one would expect if dealing directly with SalseForce. It turned out to be much more costly than expected to implement this "plug-in."

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Salesforce CPQ for over a year and I love this product

Reviewed on 2018/03/05

Pros

Creating quotes, submitting for approval, adding products, etc.. It all works great and it's done wonders for our company

Cons

A bit object/field heavy and a beast to manage. It takes basically one full time person to manage for a big company

Jeff R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A necessary piece, but a struggle

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

Accurate and updated quoting to make sure numbers are accurate between finance and sales.

Pros

Salesforce CPQ allows for out sales reps to build out quotes and communicate the dollar amounts to finance within Salesforce

Cons

It seems like the CPQ functionality is constantly breaking when one attempts to edit a quote once it is created.

Rob N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall very solid tool

Reviewed on 2015/09/03

We are new users to the software. So far so good. Looking forward to seeing how it handles some of our most complex scenarios.

Sara B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Steelbrick CPQ

Reviewed on 2016/10/04

We just recently implemented Steelbrick, and have been using it since May 2016. It has definitely increased the productivity of our Sales Team.

Fazal A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quote and Track

Reviewed on 2021/01/29

Pros

We have recently switched to salesforce and loving everything about it and managing our quotations was never this good.

Cons

it takes some time to do digging about things we wana do but after that it has been smooth sail.

Chris V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Steelbrick is Promising

Reviewed on 2015/09/03

We looked at a few CPQ tools to help us automate a few obstacles in our (complicated) SaaS model. Steelbrick was the best solution out there for your buck.

Pros:
We were in a situation where our current (custom) CPQ solution did not allow the flexibility to add new products, adjust order forms, support local currencies (without an expensive developer resource) and it really empowered out business to address new opportunities by being able to do these things.
There are a lot of objects and we needed to use them all to make our multi-year product model work and it seemed daunting, but really, I was able to pick up how everything fit together after a few days of diving in and playing around.
The support and customer service team are absolutely amazing. Special shoutout to my CSM (Kelly Wilson) who responds day and night to emails and is always willing to find time to get on a call. Our primary support agent (ChrisL) is also really smart and easy to work with.
No implementation of CPQ goes perfect, but we had great implementation engineer (ChrisT) and implementation consultant (ChrisH) who really PARTNERED with us to make sure the tool was what we needed to accomplish our goals.
You can trust the product management team. We have already seen features that they have promised to us (contract amendments, for example).

Cons:
- We did not realize this until after implementation (and product management has promised us that it is a high priority), but the CPQ tool will only work in full data replica sandboxes. Partial and dev sandboxes do not bring over the 20+ object records that come with Steelbrick. You will need to make sure you also consider some data migration solution between environments. You can do this yourself. I did it once successfully and it took 4 hours. :(
- CPU timeout errors. If you have complicated pricing on multi-year products and you make changes to those quotes (for example changing a 5 year deal to a 3 year deal), we often get a "CPU timeout" error. We can't ever get beyond this. We need to build a new quote. :( Again, Steelbrick product management has assured us that this will be addressed in future releases with more precise code.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A Scalable Quoting Platform

Reviewed on 2018/05/21

Create internal/operational efficiencies
Improve business process agility
Improve business process outcomes

Pros

The application provides rich functionality in product catalogs, commerce and report generation and is scalable to support future organizational growth. The user on boarding is easy due to cloud based solution. Support of solution to run on Mobile platform and channels drives high adoption

Cons

Lack of maturity of pre-built integration APIs or adapters with other products / applications which can be improved further.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Bit of a learning curve

Reviewed on 2019/03/18

Consistency across quotes, pricing integrity, speed of producing quote docs, order forms.

Pros

When things (namely quotes) have become complicated, and you're selling multiple lines of business, lots of options, multiple years, with lots of variance this (CPQ) is a must have. SF CPQ is attractive to Salesforce users because there is that layer of familiarity and notion that it's part of the ecosystem.

Cons

For a Salesforce's owned product inside salesforce...the CPQ line formerly Steelbrick still isn't up to a level of performance where I feel it's seriously saving (rep's) time. The UI is distinctively Salesforce (lightning not classic) but the speed makes me question whether it's yet native to Salesforce. This is far from building a personal shopping cart on Amazon, adding and subtracting items with agility.

Stephanie P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great product for quotes and renewals

Reviewed on 2016/12/08

I have been using Steelbrick CPQ for over a year and I love this product, it allows me to create orders and renewals for my customers all at a click of a button.

Pros

Being able to easily create quote and send to my customers

Cons

doesn't always work the way i want

Mark G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easiest Configured CPQ Ever

Reviewed on 2015/09/03

After working with other CPQs in the past Steelbrick is by far the easiest from the configuration aspect. It may not have all of the bells and whistles just yet, but every quarter they seem to make great strides in features and functionality. They are also growing their knowledge base which is a huge help when trying to customize your system for new requirements.

Christina R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Success with Quotes

Reviewed on 2015/09/02

The software helps making the quoting the process more efficient, and elimantes potential errors on the data entry side. Looking to expand the application accross all entities - but the large inventory globally and product lists are prohibiting expansion through this application. Would like to grow with Steelbrick but need to address some of the hurdles first.

Ashley W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing tool to streamline sales quote process!!

Reviewed on 2015/09/11

Great application, allowed us to standardize & improve the accuracy of our quotes. Allowing us to track our client needs from request, implementation to go-live. Can't wait to see the future improvements as we continue to streamline sales from opportunity to renewal.

Jennifer R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic Company - Awesome Product

Reviewed on 2015/09/21

Such an easy to use product - really great for sales, especially easy for onboarding new salespeople - we can lead them through the steps of selling!

Best thing about the company is their integrity - love the customer service and quality behind the team!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Better for Simpler Pricing Modules

Reviewed on 2021/03/12

Overall its easy to maintain and allows for native SF features which makes it a great add on for customers already using Sales Cloud.

Pros

Since this is obviously an SF platform- the ease of implementation is great as well as the fact that there is not a huge learning curve- it operates just as other SF objects.

Cons

It can be very complicated to implement a pricing structure if you do not have a "simple" pricing module. We have tried 3 separate times (& used certified experts and contractors) to try and implement our pricing module and it did not work- I will say our pricing structure is much more complicated than it should be but its still been a huge issue.