43 reviews

Algolia

Helping to create delightful Search & Discovery experiences

4,7 /5 (43 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
43 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jekyll Algolia plugin for a personal blog

Reviewed on 2020/10/02

My overall experience has been excellent.

Pros

Installing the Jekyll Algolia plugin was easy.

Simple-to-follow documentation, even for a non-techie like myself. Further, the official Algolia Community forum is a place where I can find answers to questions I might have.

Free of charge (community plan) with no time limit. The Community plan, which is all I need at this stage (my blog currently has fewer than 30 pages in total) is free of charge.

Relevant search results. The Algolia software is able to take into account similar key terms and typo errors.

Search results are instant (hence "InstantSearch"), which I believe is more user-friendly than having to press 'Enter' or clicking/tapping a button to see the search results.

The search user interface looks good.

Cons

Some search terms don't show up in the results, i.e. "no results." I probably need to configure the plugin to optimize site search.

London L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Algolia is the best option for search

Reviewed on 2020/10/03

Overall, I've absolutely loved it. I think they recently changed their free tier so that it makes more sense and I've really appreciated that. I've been recommending it to every friend that's building a site that relies on search because I feel like it works better than the custom Google search bar, and you have more control and clarity as to what's going on.

Pros

Algolia was dead-simple to set up. It literally took me a few hours from finding it to having it working on my dataset. The queries are easy, setting up rules is easy. It's just fantastic.

Cons

On the free version of PythonAnywhere they have certain URLs blocked and couldn't figure out how to unblock Algolia's separately, which was slightly annoying. In the end I just ended up paying about $5 a month for a PythonAnywhere account that had everything unblocked.

Ryan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

More than just search

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

We've been using Algolia to power search on our local directory in Canada. As we continued to add functionality to different parts of the application a phrase kept popping up "Why not just use algolia for that?". Basically once you start syncing your db with algolia you end up with lots of situations where it's easier (and faster) to just fetch data from Algolia than it is to make a call to the database. Especially when you have client side features.

We're now on their best package, all and all we're really happy with Algolia, and I would recommend them to anyone.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Delightful user experience both as an end user but also developer.

Reviewed on 2018/03/28

Easy to setup, cost effective search on the cloud.

Pros

Algolia provides an amazing search platform on the cloud. In literally a few steps and minutes you are able to have a good enough search (excluding time to populate it). I had no experience with other search engines like Elasticsearch before hand and I still found it greatly easy.
The settings can be defined on the dashboard or via the API which can be both a good and a bad as it can cause miss-configuration.
Lastly it is really fast, honestly I worked in commerce shops that build their own search and had to maintain it etc for less than 200k products, now I see that this was well, for no reason.

Cons

As a developer the main problem is the documentation. It lacks, it seems incomplete and although they try to show more languages it would be better to focus on coverage than language adaption.

Pierre-olivier H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best quick and go solution

Reviewed on 2017/01/12

Algolia is really a blazing fast search solution shorting the time to market. I realy recomande it for user search experience. Now there is one realy missing feature: ability to search by field at search time. Example I have an index with {name, type, location}, search fields are name and location. but for some reason I want to search only in location that match: "t?t?"
This is really a topic for advanced search.

Jean-philippe C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blazing fast!

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

We get results in under a few milliseconds even with a 4 millions users database.
They have a great documentation, it's easy to implement and their customer support is really cool.

Pros

Blazing fast,
Ease to implement

Cons

Nothing

Branko K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Pros

I like whole software. Easy to implement.

Cons

Geo location works perfect, and its very handy. We

Guillaume L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Review Source

Overall rating

It's reliable and blazing fast!

Reviewed on 2014/09/12

We tried a lot of search services at Socialcam to handle our massive user base (130M+ users).All of them couldn't handle that number of users! It was always super slow.

Algolia handles it without any problem but on top of that, it does it at full speed: we get results back in under a few milliseconds. Last but not least, it does it with error handling, which is great as typos are very frequent on smarphone...

Also - Algolia was very easy to implement, their documentation is great and they have libraries for almost all languages out there.

Pros

Very Fast, Ease of Use, Documentation, Support, Low Price, Reliability, Typos Handling

Cons

Can't find any!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Search made easy

Reviewed on 2019/01/05

Pros

Great documentation and absolutely incredible customer support. Their developers answer technical questions, and provide you with custom code to fit your implementation.

Cons

The free plan includes a lot of operations per month, but as soon as you go over the limits, the pricing becomes quite aggressive. I'd rather pay per use, for the exact number of operations performed.

Vahan A.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Dirty and unethical marketing tactics. Read for more.

Reviewed on 2018/03/23

Improved search previews (WP+WC). When it comes to search results, good luck making it work or reaching their support and not being asked to spend thousands upon thousands for basic support (hidden bite fees).

Pros

Potentially good software but... pretty disappointed. Read cons. I wish i could share screenshot of their pricing page and the email i've got from their sales team.

Cons

Dirty an unethical marketing, luring to pay HUGE . Very disappointed. I wish i could share screenshot of their pricing page and the email i've got from their sales team.

Jean-baptiste R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Optimize the way you search

Reviewed on 2018/09/29

Pros

I love the fact it's super quick searching tool, and you can configure it to approximation search, and it still works super well.

Cons

It was not super friendly to work with for a non-technical point of view.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An easy to use search service for your website

Reviewed on 2019/04/01

Pros

Algolia Search is an excellent add-in to your website; it significantly helped our customers to get relevant results, and to help them find what they want. This is a really great impact ! Besides I have to mention that setup and configuration are super easy to do : there is a nice dashboard, and you can configure the index and use the instantsearch feature. The developer documentation is awesome. Also, you can customize and check metrics, of course.

Cons

I've never found anything wrong with using Algolia so far. Pricing is far and the customer service is super responsive (<24h delay)

Timothy O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great, but pricy search engine

Reviewed on 2019/03/23

Pros

It was very to get started and overall it performed as needed. Being able to tweak result rankings is a fantastic feature.

Cons

The cost structure can be quite expensive for smaller companies, especially if you need to reindex your data frequently.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Decent search for okay pricing

Reviewed on 2021/03/02

The algorithm can be quite good, but you need to twist te right knobs to get that result. This also goes for the implementation.

Pros

Algolia is a tool that comes with a lot of features. However, it's not as easy to implement as you would think.

Cons

It was not "plug and play". The implementation is integrated in the website and you need to work on the interface before you can implement it correctly.

Caleb O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Algolia Search Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

It delivers results instanteneously, and comes with a lot of useful features.

Pros

It exhibits a flawless search process, users get instant results and can manage the results with utmost flexibilty .

Cons

You have to pay huge fees after exhausting the free plan and thats a bit agreesive on the part algolia.

Martino olmo F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Cut dev time in half

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

Pros

Powerful search queries, ease of use and extremely well done documentation

Cons

The software doesnt have any negative technical aspect, might get a bit pricey if 1000s of queries are performed daily

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very good but very expensive

Reviewed on 2020/04/16

Overall I do love the result but I'm not sure it justifies the expense.

Pros

The sheer speed of the search is astonishing. You get results in next to no time. It's amazing as compared to a mysql query based search that Magento generally offers.

Cons

Cost, it is very very expensive. They also do not offer much in the way of support unless you pay even more. So you are stuck with trying to wade through their documentation which is not written very clearly to get the best results.

Derek N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to Implement

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

So easy to get up and running with a ton of search functionality. Costs escalate pretty quickly as you grow. Customer support takes a long time to respond and generally not very helpful.

Pros

easy to use. lots of features.

Cons

too expensive. poor support.

Patrick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

Pros

Easy to deploy and blazing fast, documentation is straight forward

Cons

Nothing, it‘s just perfect as it is. No trouble so far

Candace D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good, Easy to use Full Text Search

Reviewed on 2020/10/05

Pros

I am able to run full text search. The api to mirror my database is easy to use.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't return an item that you would think should be returned based off the search text.

Ashi A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful tool for managing your search engine and optimizing results

Reviewed on 2019/01/22

Pros

The flexibility it allows for managing the types of results users get for different types of products.
They allow for many different attributes to control the different products will be displayed on your site.
I would also commend their support team that really helped us optimize the way we've been doing things with a lot of great advice and consultation sessions

Cons

Different variables for optimizing search results can be somewhat confusing, but their great customer support and documentation does a great job helping out when needed

Johan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Algolia search works well

Reviewed on 2019/10/08

Overall experience has been regular.
In general we needed around 2 months with 2 experienced wordpress developers to be able to implement Algolia which now works ok.

Pros

The clear analytics and ease to separate accounts when using multiple of them, however this comes at a high cost.

Cons

The difficulty to implement with wordpress.
The high cost.
The lack of flexibility when integrating with other sistems that algolia does not come out of the box for.

Francisco M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best search tool on the market

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

Allowing my users and customers to see the best results regarding their search. All of this as quick as it possibly can be.

Nothing - Can´t complain . I guess the fact that I can´t fully use it but I´m ok with it since my developing team has no real issue with it.

Pros

The fact that it gives our clients the most accurate results in a matter of milliseconds. Algolia continues to improve on a weekly basis and makes our website even better with every update.

Mike R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We love Algolia

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

We implemented Algolia for hosted search so that users can have a better search experience than the native ones provided by Shopify, WordPress, and Zendesk, and also so they can search across all three at once. We also looked at Swiftype, but we really loved how instant the Algolia search loaded.

Implementation was easy and we always receive great help when we contact Algolia about questions or problems. Some of the integrations we used were in beta and the devs on each worked with us closely and quickly to get us up and really supported us well.

Algolia has been fantastic for our business and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for the best search out there. You can't beat the speed, and the ease of integration and support you receive have made it one of my favorite services that we use.

Pros

Super fast search
Great, responsive, engineer level support
Easy integration and lots of premade plugins

Cons

You can't drag and drop manipulate search results from their dashboard like you can with Swiftype (but you can develop around that if it's an important feature)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lightening quick on-site search

Reviewed on 2019/05/01

Algolia search has increased our conversion rates, and provides a much better user experience than any of the other instant search providers we tried. I wouldn't want to move away from algolia as the functionality and potential it offers is so great.

Pros

The speed of the search is outstanding. We have implemented it to allow customers to live search our product catalog of over 10000 items and it handles this impeccably. It also plays well with different frameworks, and the documentation is clear.

Cons

If you were a non-technical user, then the software would be difficult to understand.