IBM Connections Reviews

IBM Connections

Enterprise knowledge sharing platform

4.4/5 (29 reviews)
Exson M.

It is an excellent information consolidation tool ideal for the growth of organizations.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/30
Review Source: Capterra

IBM is a prestigious communication tool that allowed the organization to consolidate 7 years of record of information related to the load of projects financed to organizations and entities in the 24 states of the country.

Thanks to the tools, it was possible to understand the results information allowing to make decisions focused on the long-term growth of the organization.

It is a tool that allowed the organization to update and adapt to the dynamics of the market, being currently more efficient in compliance with the processes.

Pros

I like IBM because:

Is a leading company in the social enterprise software market.

It puts at the disposal of businessmen tools for cognitive analysis with business social networks allowing to improve decision making for the growth of companies.

Thanks to the IBM tools you can perform data analysis that results in our ways of presenting and displaying the results.

IBM provides a security and cognitive technology of social network data allowing results to be obtained that optimize the processes of the organization.

The tools facilitate the combination of advanced business communications with collaborative tools that the market demands.

They are tools that transmit a competitive image of the organization, being positive for the organizations.

Offers conversation and meeting tools with security functions and data protection.

Is a collaboration platform that can help you grow your business to its maximum potential allowing you to update based on market behavior.

Cons

The least I like about IBM;

I believe that the image of the interfaces can be improved considering a grass of light colors.

You can add models of results analysis reports, and management indicators by project type.

It's a program that I personally like a lot, and therefore, there are few negative observations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Matteo B.

IBM Connections your social intranet

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/13
Review Source: Capterra

I'm an IBM Business partner and IBM Connections is one of the best social collaboration tools IBM has ever made.
As user IBM Connections fits perfectly what i could expect from a social: easy to use , clear and logic UI, features needed like file share and edit. One of my favorite Connections apps is Wiki where you can store all info regarding projects. Last but not least IBM has also made the connections client for Windows and Mac so users can use Connections as repository insted traditional filesystem share.
As admin i love connections because is Solid and when you have it tourned on after a setup or migration you can forget it until next CR to install new functionality and fixes.
Connections is also available for many platform like Windows, Linux or AIX and it's also available for principal DBs like DB2, Oracle or MSsql so any customers can choose his preferred way.

I like also to reccomend a good adoption plan to engage and teach the users in right way so you will have the ROI of the investment for sure.

Pros

Easy to use, a lot of functionality you cannot miss in a modern environment , solid architecture .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Carlos P.

Keeps you in constant communication with your work team

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/27
Review Source: Capterra

It is an excellent tool when you need to lighten and improve the working environment, has meant for us a better integration of staff in their different areas, without vertical relationships only support and collaboration we have achieved in this space.

Pros

One of the features that stand out about this software is that it is not very eye-catching and yet it contains all the functions and tools to enhance and boost teamwork. At the platform level generates a communication space like a social network but business, with different channels of communication, messaging, creating communities to work on your projects or departments, are features that can be customized without problem according to your needs. In addition, you will have additional integration options from IBM.

Cons

The import and export of data tends to be a bit clumsy, it must be more fluid so that the information is available at the required time without setbacks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Aymara P.

Ideal for collaboration and information sharing

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

We started using IBM connections when I started in this company and I did it to break down communciational and even hostile barriers between the different administrative departments and substantive areas. IBM made the task a meeting place where workers not only collaborated with work information but also contributed with internal corporate aspects such as change of image, organization of events of different work teams, this had a positive impact on the rest of the activities of the company with positive results in their work performance and efficiency.

Pros

It is a kind of corporate social network, which I like because it creates a pleasant and relaxed working environment, however it is also a platform with very powerful tools for collaboration and communication, you can interact in forums, blogs, instant messaging, calendar, is very reliable in all these aspects to build planning strategies.

Cons

Being a social-business tool, managers must be careful that it does not become a leisure space, the administration must be based on the principles and values of the company. Since it can be a useful tool with great impact

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jordi G.

Fantastic tool to share information

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

IBm connections is an ibm tool that we use in my company (a subsidiary of ibm) to share documentation among employees. The employees can also download an installable program on the computer that synchronizes the documents that are in that folder with the web. It is a very easy to use, intuitive and very useful tool to send and download files. It also has an online viewer that allows you to view the document without having to download it. It is like a social tool to share information.

Cons

The file viewer is a bit fair, slow and more difficult to handle than a normal file. The synchronization of files from the desktop to the web loses data, although I do not know if it is the fault of my internet connection. Leaving these aspects aside, it is a good tool that at the moment does not have many negative points.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Saskia C.

The social network of collaborative work

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/12
Review Source: Capterra

We use this platform as a social network, in our department we are about 10 journalists and we stay communicated through this space, we organize and share information with other journalists from other companies, photographers and graphic designers who help us with their work to complete our publications. It's instant communication that avoids having to wait hours or days for a response. We are aware that those who have programmed guidelines and that journalists are free is excellent and very useful.

Pros

Manage real-time communication with colleagues, share information, create communities with topics of interest, hold meetings remotely and chat for fast, real-time response. Technically has all the necessary functions to make communication flow and is a company recognized worldwide with an extraordinarily technical support.

Cons

Its installation and configuration is complex, but once there it's a wonder.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

HCL Conenctions is unique

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using Connections from years, before as user than also as admin and i could not imagine my working activity without it.

Pros

Connections is an unique collaborative platform that permit corporate environment to work and collaborate easly. Features like communities blogs and wikis are perfect to be self used managed and created by users. Now it was sold to HCL so i'm sure the development will go faster than ever. The future is bright !!

Cons

If i've to find a cons the architecture is not easy to be installed, mantained and user from the Admin side. you have to be skilled to work correctly.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Aurea luz R.

Different channels of communication, a single space to share

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

Initially we used the administrative departments to keep us in constant communication, then they were incorporating the rest of the company that made much more fluid processes and the execution of projects of the company, especially those related to movements and movement of assets.

Pros

Build your work environment with this platform, with the different functions and tools it gives you to communicate better with your colleagues and collaborate on common tasks and activities in the company, thus optimizing the exchange of information through blogs, chats, forums, libraries, among others. It is quite complete and perfectly functional for everyone in the company

Cons

It's a bit cumbersome to install and configure, but after that it was easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tawanda S.

Workplace social networking hub

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/11
Review Source: Capterra

I feel if i were to loose access to IBM Connections I will really feel the gap. That said, Connections has become our daily pastime in professional and social collaboration within and without the organisation. It isva go to resource center which never sleeps!

Pros

I like that Connections is a complete resource center for peer to peer sharing and collaboration. Whether you are working on a research work or a project ideas keep floating around freely as long as you are subscribed to the relevant CoP

Cons

Its a bit of a chunky product which first time users might find intimidating. The pricing I suppose limits the number of business units who can opt for against competition

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
José s. H.

excellent platform very simple and effective with tools and applications for the user

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/14
Review Source: Capterra

Very good is easy to use and adapts to the needs of the user.

Pros

What I like the most is the security of the information that is based on the high standards of the data, besides that it can be shared and reach the other members of the organization in an ongoing way, improving the agility of the process based on a reliable service. environment and adjustable to the requirements of employees, partners and entrepreneurs.

Cons

One of the negative aspects is that it would be necessary to implement management indicators to improve efficiency and performance within the organization, improving aspects related to productivity.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

An organizational solution, a virtual assistant at hand

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

The operational areas always require constant supervision to verify performance, this current version that I managed allowed me to create a profile with my team of up to 25 people including me, and review the daily activity schedules.

Pros

It is a collaborative tool to configure mail services, agendas and document exchange to be edited as a team.
It works perfectly as a space where digital information is shared with the work team and at the same time verify who updates the documents and who does not.
It has complements and integrations that are adapted according to the type of assignment or task, and the type of person according to their performance.

Cons

I currently work with this program and there has been something that I do not like, in fact, the things that I do not understand I look for them in the main page of IBM or the online support contact. Until now I do not have something that I do not like.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Martin J.

Grat tool for connecting employees and sharing information

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/05
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Connections has more functionality than I care to use but it can come in handy for the more technical minded. Great features to create employee profiles and message boards wok great.

Cons

Personally I have had a hard time understanding the complicated interface and all the features. This solution might very well be overkill for the vast majority of organizations

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Andrea G.

Maximum internal and external integration

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

We use it to establish direct lines through different communication channels, blogs, social networks, forums, which we use in an integral way for the communicational development of our strategies. The ability to integrate is amazing, my team makes the most of all its functions, getting very good results in our audience.

Pros

Your team can be connected in its different areas and eliminate the communicational barrier, it is a pleasant space for work and for the development of creativity.

Cons

Complexity in configuration and installation

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Nicola C.

Rating only

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/13
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Catherine B.

Excellent social network assistance platform

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/26
Review Source: Capterra

Tagging feature of this application is splendid with it can easily add tags to any document so it gives me an ease to locate my document more easily within just few clicks. Highly recommended product.

Pros

I can view all my documents with the help of its online viewer that allows to view all of them without any need to download them separately. It provides great settings with a reliable result.

Cons

Since I have been using this tool I have no least things. It is providing amazing services. I also appreciate its customer support that gives profession services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ely O.

The business social network

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Having real-time communication with the rest of your co-workers is perfect, it avoids tedious meetings and makes you waste your time, that has been the best

Pros

It is a communication and collaboration software very complete, create your network of contacts to facilitate communication, schedule meetings, share documents and information, contains functions that let you plan and organize work in a calendar, there is no waste with this platform

Cons

It's hard to learn how to use it, and if you do not have a powerful computer, the computer may slow down

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Lakshmi N.

Social Collabra

Reviewed on 2016/04/11
Review Source: GetApp

IBM Connectins is an easy to use app where the end to end flow is very easy to understand and using it. Finding colleagues, creating groups uploading and viewing the uploaded Imagesa are pretty awesome features. its like youtube,facebook and instagram feeded in one small app

Pros

Photos can be uploaded
file sync feature where we can use this application across multiple platforms
communiites
finding colleagues is much more easy

Cons

No upload feature
security should be much more foxussed

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

IBM connections

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/24
Review Source: Capterra

I am a user of this application and it has been very easy to organize, post and share files with the team at the organization. People like it a lot because they can view new modifications on files and keep up to date.

Pros

Sharing files experience for a group of people. It makes easy to manage team resources and you can control who can view the documents, schedules or any document you would like to share within your company.

Cons

So far have not found anything to dislike.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sachin D.

Ibm connections very good apps

Reviewed on 2016/01/26
Review Source: GetApp

I am using Ibm connections mobile application from last 8 months . it is very good application . easy to connect with organization . It is very good application. To sync with organization . this application is for organization . this application have one important feature that on a single application we can configured different account for different organization .The Ibm connection is also available for cloud also .

Pros

It is the single application where we can configured different account .
Ibm connection application also available for cloud also .

Cons

Some time it will take time to sync up

Lakshmi S.

Handy product

Reviewed on 2016/02/01
Review Source: GetApp

IBM Connections is very easy to use and i can easily use this app to connect to my company servers without making any code changes just simply with my Companys URL

Pros

easy photo sharing
easy access
number of communities
meadia galley is too good

Cons

file sync and push nnotifications is too slow

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Luke T.

IBM Conections Review

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

It has been testing the service in recent months has been good applications and features have influenced the participants of the company significantly.

Pros

IBM Conections is a very useful tool of social collaboration where you can share information from different sources such as forums, communities, the use of the directory of people in which you can access their profiles and interact with them, In short, it is an innovative product that proposes a different approach in which the members of the organization can collaborate, offering a broader space to establish proposals and useful ideas for the development of activities.

Cons

So far there are few recommendations which affects the implementation of the services.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Bretislav K.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/03/07
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Amine M.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/01/27
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Marta R.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/09/17
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Bharath S.

A good collaboration platform for the entire company.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customizable and loaded with features. Great source of archival and structured information storage.

Cons

Too many confusing methodologies to communicate. Needs lots of training to onboard everyone. Can be more intuitively productized.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support