12 reviews

OpenShift

Application creation and hosting

4,6 /5 (12 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
12 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Container Orchestrator

Reviewed on 2020/12/05

It solved our use case of transitioning from monolith to microservices.

Pros

If you have microservices use case and have following questions like
How to scale my services?
How to monitor my services?
How manage deployment?
How to make services resilient to failures?
Answer to all the above questions is Openshift. As it eases the pain of development and there is solution available to a known services deployment issue already. Integration of our existing services was smoothly done.

Cons

We didn't face any major issue while implementing or changing our deployment strategy for microservices. However as a developer I think there are many parts that one needs to understand to get going. But I don't think that as an issue. All tools have some learning curve and Openshift is no different.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Deployment is becoming easier

Reviewed on 2020/08/23

Pros

Managing kubernetes has been always hard for tech teams. But Openshift does it perfect and you only deploy your containers without headache. Also great UI makes big difference.

Cons

Some features that Kubernetes has is not accessible by UI and you also need to have knowledge of Openshif CLI tools. Sometimes you cannot find the answer of a question by looking only on documentations.

Marco I.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Starting a new era in software architecture

Reviewed on 2018/07/03

Pros

Easy to use, full of useful feature. It make easy and valuable migration to innovative achitecture based on containerized approach. You can use a community edition (Openshift Origin) or chose the RED HAT edition. Based on Kubernetes. Fully integrated with many other useful tool for monitoring and manager the full software cycle, until the deploy.

Cons

Documentation is still poor. Not so fast in receive support from community. Security aspect need to be better debeate.

Mehran N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Managed solution for container management

Reviewed on 2020/12/31

For a company that wants to modernize its legacy software, this is one of the best options.

Pros

It provides a complete suite for software containerization. At the same time, it is based on open-source Kubernetes.

Cons

I did not find it easy to integrate other third-party tools in the open shift. It is good as long as you stay in the toolset.

Lars M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2015/10/27

Nikola H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It's fancy

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

OpenShift is great - the UI is awesome it works like a charm.

Pros

It's fancy, it's modern, it supports many languages it has automatic scaling, compatible with Kubernetes and easily migrates to other OS

Cons

Nothing really, I am curious why people prefer Kubernetes rather than Openshift. I found Openshift easier to work with.

Marcelo A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OpenShift Is A Good PaaS Platform

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

Pros

One of the best PaaS platforms that I've used. I've sent an Java application there and I had a best experience. It works with Java, Ruby and more. Eclipse extension works very well with OpenShift. But the free plan have some limitations. And the OpenShift is very good if you're learning about Java containers and how it works.

Cons

Free plan is not too good and it has some limitations.

Ankit W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

OpenShift - Best platform for developers

Reviewed on 2016/01/12

I have been using OpenShift for more than 2 years now. I have seen lot of improvements in Openshift and it's getting better and better.
The most important thing is that it provides a lifetime free account which can be used as a hands on over OpenShift.
Most important, you can attach your own domain to your application, even on free account.
Openshift works using gears and cartridges. It has now lots of cartridges available and you can also create new custom cartridge.

Pros

1. Free lifetime account with 3 small gears.
2. You can add multiple cartridges in a single gear.
3. attach your own domain to your application, even on free account.
4. Support deploy on git push

Cons

1. You can sudo login to your gear, but you can always contact customer care they will handle such situation.

Emanuele S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Java EE engine on cloud

Reviewed on 2019/05/25

I used OpenShift to test how easy could be to move a Java EE application to the cloud

Pros

I had to do little changes to code, just for data persistence to db, globally the migration was very easy

Cons

A little con was the need to learn about rhc tool

Naveen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Environment for deploying applications

Reviewed on 2021/01/06

Easy to deploy and manage the applications in Redhat Openshift container

Pros

I am using Redhat Openshift container since 1 1/2 years and i really loved since deploying and monitoring the application is very easy when compare to deploying the application in traditional app servers like Tomcat

Cons

Pricing for enterprise is bit costly when compare with Amazon web services (AWS).Also engaging Redhat support team to troubleshoot the issue is very difficult

Jorge M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OpenShif opened Kubernetes to the masses

Reviewed on 2020/01/17

Openshift made it possible for us to setup a complete docker orchestration solution in an effortless way, including an amazing CI/CD pipeline which basically automates everything.

Pros

* Very simple to setup and configure
* Friendly user interface
* Great dashboards
* Broad set of integrations
* Large collection of guides and tutorials

Cons

* Monitoring could be improved
* Troubleshooting can be tricky, as it's not always easy to find out exactly what's going wrong

Mohamed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great to automate the provisioning and the management for your containers

Reviewed on 2019/01/03

Pros

it's very effective when be used with openstack for managing our infrastructure, and it provides great services like monitoring containers, and databases

Cons

It's not easy to deal with, and for some issues the vendor takes long time to get it resolved, so it will be great if the user interface enhanced with more help options.