OpenShift Reviews

OpenShift

Application creation and hosting

4.8/5 (6 reviews)
Marco I.

Starting a new era in software architecture

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, full of useful feature. It make easy and valuable migration to innovative achitecture based on containerized approach. You can use a community edition (Openshift Origin) or chose the RED HAT edition. Based on Kubernetes. Fully integrated with many other useful tool for monitoring and manager the full software cycle, until the deploy.

Cons

Documentation is still poor. Not so fast in receive support from community. Security aspect need to be better debeate.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Marcelo A.

OpenShift Is A Good PaaS Platform

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

One of the best PaaS platforms that I've used. I've sent an Java application there and I had a best experience. It works with Java, Ruby and more. Eclipse extension works very well with OpenShift. But the free plan have some limitations. And the OpenShift is very good if you're learning about Java containers and how it works.

Cons

Free plan is not too good and it has some limitations.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ankit W.

OpenShift - Best platform for developers

Reviewed on 2016/01/12
Review Source

I have been using OpenShift for more than 2 years now. I have seen lot of improvements in Openshift and it's getting better and better.
The most important thing is that it provides a lifetime free account which can be used as a hands on over OpenShift.
Most important, you can attach your own domain to your application, even on free account.
Openshift works using gears and cartridges. It has now lots of cartridges available and you can also create new custom cartridge.

Pros

1. Free lifetime account with 3 small gears.
2. You can add multiple cartridges in a single gear.
3. attach your own domain to your application, even on free account.
4. Support deploy on git push

Cons

1. You can sudo login to your gear, but you can always contact customer care they will handle such situation.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mohamed A.

Great to automate the provisioning and the management for your containers

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/03
Review Source

Pros

it's very effective when be used with openstack for managing our infrastructure, and it provides great services like monitoring containers, and databases

Cons

It's not easy to deal with, and for some issues the vendor takes long time to get it resolved, so it will be great if the user interface enhanced with more help options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Lars M.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2015/10/27
Review Source

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Emanuele S.

Java EE engine on cloud

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/25
Review Source: Capterra

I used OpenShift to test how easy could be to move a Java EE application to the cloud

Pros

I had to do little changes to code, just for data persistence to db, globally the migration was very easy

Cons

A little con was the need to learn about rhc tool

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10