Yammer

Enterprise Social Network (ESN) to connect and communicate

Overall rating

4,2 /5
(798)
Value for Money
4,2/5
Features
4,1/5
Ease of Use
4,3/5
Customer Support
4,2/5

81%
recommended this app
Sort by

798 Reviews

Arun
Arun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Efficient social networking platform for enterprise

Reviewed on 2021/06/03

I have been a very happy yammer user ever since it was implemented in our organization.
It helps...

I have been a very happy yammer user ever since it was implemented in our organization.
It helps enhance productive communication and collaboration among employees from various departments
Knowledge grow multiple ways when it is shared. Its integration with other Microsoft applications is seamless.

Pros

The clean user interface is easy to navigate and the feed is intuitive
Great tool to notify important announcements within organization like new product launches , regulatory changes and emergencies.
It helps to enhance leadership engagement, from top management to all employees of the organization
Secure platform to discuss about confidential projects among team members.
Poll is another great advantage of yammer, entire company can participate in polls

Cons

Though the user interface is familiar, sorting posts by date requires bit of effort
Additionally, searching for a topic is difficult
The mobile application needs improvement and the user interface needs a revamp

Adra Safiya
Adra Safiya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Private social media

Reviewed on 2021/09/08

Pros

Yammer is a intranet social media that run privately, among the workers of my organization. We have use it for sharing news and memo of our department or organization. We can have a private group that only our department use, or the public forum wheres everyone on the organization can freely communicate with each other.

Cons

Yammer is getting obsolete, as nowadays, no one have use it anymore. There are not new update of feature for the software, so we have lost interest on it. We only use it for to check update from our Administration department, any not using it for anything else anymore.

Carrie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Not a big fan of Yammer

Reviewed on 2019/02/21

Pros

It is somewhat helpful in that you can get responses from people you don't interact with on a daily basis. Our company did a lip sync challenge and that worked well on Yammer with videos posted working seamlessly.

Cons

Finally, after more than a year of my company using Yammer, you can access it with one click. Up until this week, one had to enter their work email and password TWICE! and our email addresses are very long. One of the pages you had to enter the email on had a huge button for "sign up" Yammer and a link in the text to sign on. So most of us signed up over and over which led to getting numerous emails each time yammer sent one out. There are over 5,000 employees in my organization and they are using Yammer as the sole source of information to the employees. Most items are seen by less than 200 people, and this over a year after yammer was instituted! So I'm not sure if it is Yammer that is the problem or if the problem is more in how my company set it up.

Kushtrim
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Storyline

Reviewed on 2023/11/09

Pros

People can comment and ipdate globaly about the company

Cons

Nothing all was good maybe filter the groups that you are less interessed on

Curtis
Curtis
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Enhancing Collaboration and Communication: Yammer Delivers!

Reviewed on 2023/06/16

Pros

Yammer fosters seamless collaboration and communication, connecting employees across departments and locations, breaking down silos, and enhancing cross-team collaboration.The integration with other Microsoft tools, such as Office 365, streamlines productivity by allowing seamless sharing of documents, real-time collaboration, and scheduling meetings within the platform.Yammer's mobile app enables employees to stay connected on the go, ensuring participation in conversations and access to important updates, making it convenient and flexible for a modern workforce.

Cons

Yammer's interface can be overwhelming for new users, requiring some time to get accustomed to its features and functionality.The platform may experience occasional performance issues, such as slow loading times or delays in notifications.Yammer's search functionality could benefit from further improvements to enhance the ease of finding specific content or conversations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Yammer was a game changer

Reviewed on 2023/05/17

We were able to communicate key changes in the business that my team implemented that weren’t able...

We were able to communicate key changes in the business that my team implemented that weren’t able to be emailed to all employees, but subscribers to our updates were able to see our improvements implemented each time we made a yammer announcement

Pros

Ability to create spaces and groups / teams for employee engagement was a game changer for my team. Because my team was so large and spanned over several countries and time zones, yammer improved employee engagement in the work place with the annual staff survey results showing an improvement in staff engagement with yammer being one of the key contributors mentioned by employees

Cons

Nothing specifically about yammer, we were kind of pushed by higher management to use yammer and our performance is rated on how effectively we use yammer in the work place

boubakeur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

"Excellent platform for creating a network with your coworkers - Yammer"

Reviewed on 2023/10/11

Yammer provides a fantastic platform for informing the public about company-level activities. We...

Yammer provides a fantastic platform for informing the public about company-level activities. We can inform people about events, updates, outcomes, activities, etc. quickly. Additionally, we can attach media to increase engagement and traffic. It is a valuable asset to the company.

Pros

The best thing about Yammer is that it allows for informal communications within the company just like any other social media platform. You can communicate with others through posts and images, and you can leave comments with your ideas. It aids in stress relief.

Cons

I am unable to disable email notifications in my situation. It is pre-configured with a default value and cannot be altered. I get between two and four emails a day, but I check those in Yammer anyway, so I don't need those messages.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All communicated in the same network

Reviewed on 2023/04/21

The best way to keep all employees informed and easier without having to send emails to report...

The best way to keep all employees informed and easier without having to send emails to report events, meetings and other news of general interest

Pros

With yammer we have been able to have a business social network where we update news every day and we can have closer communication with each employee, it is easier to create events, meetings, newsletters where everyone is always informed

Cons

There are no aspects that I do not like, everything is perfect in operation and service

Steven
Steven
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Facebook without the features

Reviewed on 2019/05/22

It was difficult to search for previous discussions, find things you like, and find popular topics...

It was difficult to search for previous discussions, find things you like, and find popular topics that had been liked by others. It is not as instant as instant chat programs and it's not as easy to search as online message boards. It seems to have a foot in both of those doors and not really commit to either one.

Pros

The best thing about Yammer was that it was simple. You can easily create a topic and post responses to that topic. For those that use Facebook, Yammer is very easy to pick-up. Also like Facebook, Yammer is good for in the moment shares and discussions.

Cons

The interface was very plain and gave a very cheap impression. It was very difficult to archive or refer back to conversations. If a conversation tree had happened more than a week or more prior it was almost better to start the discussion up again than to try to go through and find the history.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Tool to Connect With All Areas

Reviewed on 2023/08/18

Pros

We are able to connect with folks from many different business areas.

Cons

Most folks do not use it since there are other offerings.

Vekaas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Social networking at work

Reviewed on 2021/02/01

Pros

With Yammer staff can learn to build connectivity at social level across organization and engage collaboratively to learn and develop their skills. Yammer helps organizations build a healthy learning environment where anybody can contribute. You can create knowledge share and interest groups where employees engage in discussion and hone their skills. The key is to use it appropriately. Instead of engaging with outside world, employee can connect within the organization. You can create and send birthday greetings easily and let everybody know that it’s some one’s birthday today. We can’t ignore the importance of connecting socially with staff at personal level. You will also get notification of all new activities and events at work. Sharing anything is really simple on Yammer. If you come across anything which would be of help to co-workers, you can simply share it with the multiple interest groups on Yammer. Also, if you need suggestion from co-workers on anything, you can initiate a discuss and your co-workers can share their ideas easily. You can make announcements, praise a co-worker and create a poll, etc.

Cons

It might appear to be a distraction for highly occupied employees. They just might not be able to respond to even to birthday greetings.

Janice
Overall rating
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best purpose is for sending bulletins to a community group

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

This is really more of a stay-connected tool for our company. Different functions, locations, or...

This is really more of a stay-connected tool for our company. Different functions, locations, or even hobby groups keep in touch here. Especially with more people working remotely, forums like Yammer are needed to share photos and stories to keep employees engaged and feeling a sense of community.

Pros

This is a great software for sharing random stories with a group in your organization. We have thousands in our organization. One of the Yammer "communities" of my organization is the entire company. It is enjoyable to read posts from others in our organization all around the world. It is more general or light-hearted news that is shared here, such as community service activities, industry trends, inspirational words from upper management. It makes us feel connected.

Another way I use Yammer is that all of the hundreds of customer support team members are part of a "community". So when there are important customer service software updates, issues, outages, etc. , this is an easy way for leadership to communicate that information to all of us. And bulletins are all stored here, so if you missed update information from six months ago, you have a place to go to find it.

Cons

It seems there should be an administrator of Yammer within a company. It is a bit disorganized because anyone can create a new community. If an employee wanted to create a community that didn't align with the company's values, there should be administrative control of the process.

Katherine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Yammer Review

Reviewed on 2019/06/17

Really enjoy using this tool!

Really enjoy using this tool!

Pros

My organization has been using this product for a few years now. It's a great communication tool for the company as a whole and within each department. As part of the Learning & Development department, we use Yammer to communicate training results and also send out quizzes to each department to test their knowledge.

The tool is really easy to use, it reminds me a lot of Facebook in that it has a feed that you can scroll through daily to get updates.

You can also create different pages and make them public or private depending on your need, which I find really useful. My team has created their own page and made it private. We use it to recognize people within the department on achievements, our manager sends out monthly stats and we also use it communicate information to each other.

I really like the GIF feature, it definitely brings the humor to some situations!

Cons

It is sometimes hard to keep up with everything going on, especially if you are a member of many groups/pages. And if you put your notifications on so you get an email every time something is posted, it can be overwhelming at times.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's Facebook for your company employees

Reviewed on 2021/09/08

Yammer is a great networking and collaboration tool for employees, but you need to make sure your...

Yammer is a great networking and collaboration tool for employees, but you need to make sure your employees are willing to use it and follow the best practices you've implemented to keep new content coming in and organized along the way.

Pros

Yammer has the same look and features as your typical social media platform like Facebook. You can create new communities for specific groups, make comments and posts, @ mention other people, upload different media files like photos, videos, attachments, etc. It's a good way to keep your company connected if your employees are engaged in the first place.

Cons

Searching or filtering content was never successful. If you are trying to find old posts with a particular subject or file, you will need to be very specific with your keywords. Even then, Yammer will return a bunch of results for you to sift through. Recommend using tags with your posts if you plan on returning to them in the future. Many people do not do this so it's difficult to search for content.

Jenna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Yes to Yammer!

Reviewed on 2023/05/08

Overall, I would use this again in a new position or job!

Overall, I would use this again in a new position or job!

Pros

Yammer was so easy and a convenient app and space for all employees to interact about upcoming promotions, shift coverage, and available shifts to work. It was so quick and so helpful!

Cons

Employees complained about the storage space it took up, but that really is not a huge deal.

Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Great Forum For Employee Engagement and Collaboration

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

Overall, Yammer is a wonderful tool that I am glad we implemented here. It gives the user a very...

Overall, Yammer is a wonderful tool that I am glad we implemented here. It gives the user a very social network experience that they are used to, while maintaining a lot of the wonderful features that you've come to expect from Microsoft. I 100% recommend the implementation of Yammer to any organization that's considering to use it.

Pros

Yammer has opened the door to many new connections and collaborations at Oxy. We've been able to create business-unit specific Yammer groups that allow employees from all around the globe to post data, share findings, and collaborate - all in one easy to use place.

Cons

There aren't too many cons to Yammer - sometimes you may get too many emails, depending on how many Yammer groups you are subscribed to. But these email preferences can always be changed at your discretion to limit the amount of inbox flooding.

Wade
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Social Media Intranet

Reviewed on 2021/08/20

Yammer as a collaboration tool hasn't been as widely adopted at my company. Under utilization...

Yammer as a collaboration tool hasn't been as widely adopted at my company. Under utilization actually proves quite a challenge. I feel like this is the kind of software you could use every day or never use at all, and it really becomes incumbent upon the corporate culture to adopt it as a tool. With the current generational gaps at my company, it can be a challenge to engage either the less tech-savvy or the more jaded youth whom already live on several platforms outside of work.

Pros

Yammer is a fantastic way for employees from disparate roles to interact and share common interests. Often, these interests can benefit the business just as much as the employees. My favorite Yammer group is the 'Free Courseware' group started by someone who thought it would be great to compile a list of services that range from Coursera to MIT Open Coursework to Alison to W3 Schools.

Cons

As a social media-esque software, it relies on users heavily interacting. This can at time be distracting without any real guidance or weigh-in from management. If your leaders don't make a point to engage users on the platform it can quickly become a desert.

Nikhil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best social networking service

Reviewed on 2022/12/23

I love the wonderful way easy to understand Yammer is - its design and activity are natural. It's...

I love the wonderful way easy to understand Yammer is - its design and activity are natural. It's an extraordinary method for keeping in contact with partners, be modern on work improvements, and make private gatherings for companions or family so you can share fun encounters together. The stage additionally keeps inner representatives informed about intriguing drives that could end up being useful to them work on their range of abilities! Everybody ought to feel open to voicing any issues they have, as well - inside the corporate intranet, it works very much like online entertainment does remotely, making it simple to utilize thanks to excellent help gave by Yammer staff.

Pros

I like the facts and functionality is very effective. It fulfil the user need.

Cons

The requirement for clearness on how Yammer ought to be utilized makes disarray among our clients. There isn't an agreement viewing whether it ought to act as a continuous, multi-layered center point for discussions or proposition speedy updates and exchange about tasks and collaboration. This has caused trouble in creating publicity about this stage.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Yammer allows us a very dynamic and colaborative communication

Reviewed on 2018/08/06

I like it a lot, we've managed to get the people really involved in sharing what they're doing,...

I like it a lot, we've managed to get the people really involved in sharing what they're doing, problems they face, solutions they implement, their personal and team accomplishments.

Pros

First of all, its included with no additional cost on our Microsoft Ofice 365 subscriptions, so no additional expenses. It's very intuitive, nobody needs to be taught how to use it. It has a very simple feature set allowing us to improve our internal collaboration. Thre's now no excuse for not knowing what's happening in the Company. We can easily do simple polls and congratulate our colleagues for any personal o professional accomplishment or event.

Cons

Of course, everyone expected it to be a fully functional private facebook, which is not the case, there are a million Faceboo features that don't exist in Yammer, and we don't think we need them at all.
If only, a better interface for uploading bunches of pictures and organize them in albums, since right now we upload only selected pictures one at a time. Or we share links to sharepoint paths.

Helen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great virtual office. Our company uses Yammer and it is highly effective. I would recommend...

Reviewed on 2018/04/19

File sharing, communication, collaboration, organization. It is a terrific virtual office tool that...

File sharing, communication, collaboration, organization. It is a terrific virtual office tool that I highly recommend.

Pros

It is very easy to use, uploading files is easy. There is a Yammer app for your smartphone and you can receive pushes to email as well as the Yammer app so you always stay up-to-date. It allows to set up different networks and groups for different things through your organization. It is a great tool to communicate and stay organized.

Cons

There is nothing that I dislike about Yammer. It has so many wonderful benefits. I highly recommend this as a virtual office. It is low cost and for those that work remote, it is a great communication tool.

Thushan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Yammer since 2015

Reviewed on 2023/05/26

I have been using yammer since 2015 and it is actually like a break from work life.

I have been using yammer since 2015 and it is actually like a break from work life.

Pros

It is a social networking platform that I normally used to communicate with my collogues and share information. Al employees can collaborate with each other and that makes everything very efficient I think. I use both web and mobile app versions.

Cons

Sometimes it shows contents that are not relevant to me.

Courtney
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for Communication

Reviewed on 2020/05/08

I have thoroughy enjoyed Yammer. When the corporate office didn't send me promotional materials...

I have thoroughy enjoyed Yammer. When the corporate office didn't send me promotional materials that I needed for a new food item being brought out, I looked to Yammer for other managers going through the same problem. Thankfully, a fellow manager actually created their own promotional sign for this item and shared it through Yammer.

Pros

The best part of this software is the communication aspect. At my job, we use Yammer to communicate new ideas, concerns or questions about our everyday work life with fellow managers throughout the company. It's a great way to share ideas with people who we would have no idea exist without this software.

Cons

I honestly have not found any negatives to this software that I would want to change. Everything is very easy to use and it's nothing but a great product for your company.

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5 001–10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Company Wide Message Board

Reviewed on 2019/12/12

Overall, this has been a really great tool for connecting members of our teams that we may never...

Overall, this has been a really great tool for connecting members of our teams that we may never come into contact with, otherwise. I have been able to keep up to date on things that I would not have known was even happening without Yammer.

Pros

I really like that as part of Office 365, I am able to access Yammer from any device. Because we use Yammer as an overall message board, having the ability to create multiple groups has been great. We currently use it to keep track of what is going on around campus, as a way to send updates on programs that are used, and even as a buy/sell/trade group. We can include text and pictures in our posts to help with descriptions.

Cons

The one complaint that I have is that comments often get separated from posts and seem to just be randomly floating around in Yammerland.

Angel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An outstanding software

Reviewed on 2020/04/26

It has been a delight whenever we use this feature. It encourages my fellow workers. We have team...

It has been a delight whenever we use this feature. It encourages my fellow workers. We have team meetings and it helps us build morale. I like using the Gif feature for a little humor. An excellent tool to build up our communication base.

Pros

I have been exposed to Yammer through CBN. Outstanding software for us. The videos are clear. The pictures are clear and it allows us to communicate as a team. It's almost hard not to be addicted to this feature. I would give it 5 stars and would recommend it to my peers.

Cons

Totally satisfied. I have been using this feature and have found no complaints, whatsoever.

bennama
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Yammer products impact

Reviewed on 2023/04/20

Yammer is one of my best products, I can find information and people easily I can share my...

Yammer is one of my best products, I can find information and people easily I can share my thoughts with colleagues worldwide I can extend my network

Pros

Yammer is a very easy product to use, anyone can have a access to all the features and use them easily

Cons

What I would recommend for Yammer is to add more features like webinar, training, event, competition