Sage Estimating

Automated enterprise estimation

Overall rating

4,1 /5
(79)
Value for Money
4,0/5
Features
4,1/5
Ease of Use
3,8/5
Customer Support
3,9/5

78%
recommended this app
Sort by

79 Reviews

Clay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hottest Estimating Software on the Market!

Reviewed on 2017/07/14

This is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the...

This is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the industry, Sage Estimating can fit the bill for entry level, single user needs and expand to an unlimited number of users. The estimating system can tie into one of the best accounting packages, as well.

Pros

Totally flexible - can be used by virtually any trade as well as GC. From basic estimating needs to a complex reporting system, this software can do it.

Cons

Takes time to set-up properly. The software is ready to go out of the box, but to fine tune to make it "hum" takes more than just starting it up.

Hogan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sage Estimating - A Powerful Construction Estimating Package!

Reviewed on 2015/02/14

Pros

There are many construction estimating software packages on the market, but none is better at breaking down an estimate in all the ways that are needed. Sage Estimating can handle multi-building estimates, multiple work breakdown structures, and any other bid breakdowns that are needed. For us, most bids require some sort of cost breakdown, but rarely is it completely the same from estimate to estimate. Sage Estimating handles all these variables with ease.

Also, the ability to handle variable cost add-ons at the estimate "totals page" is a huge plus. Cost add-ons such as overtime hours or material cost escalations can be added via the database or on a estimate-by-estimate basis. When it comes to providing breakdowns to our GC clients, any cost add-ons can be spread throughout all or a few of the estimate items. This is a great feature.

Sage has been a very good vendor. The support they've provided over many years has been great and they've done a great job with software upgrades. The upgrades, adding new features and feature enhancements have kept Sage Estimating at the head of the construction estimating pack.

Cons

I've used Sage (and previously Timberline) for nearly 20 years, and the only consistent gripe I have is that installation of the program is tedious and has always required the help of an IT expert.

Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Think twice

Reviewed on 2015/02/28

Pros

I like all the functions of this dinosaur. The software still uses fox pro old arcane DOS language.

Cons

I dislike the amount of money they want yearly. I hate their amount of money I have to spend every year to maintain this software with limited tech support.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have worked with Sage Estimating all the way back when it was Timberline Estimating,...

Reviewed on 2018/05/30

Accurate estimates and diverse reports

Accurate estimates and diverse reports

Pros

The power of Sages' Smart Assemblies is the best feature along with the results being displayed in a full spreadsheet format that can be changed in real time. The ability to slice and dice your estimate data is extremely powerful along with their use of WBS codes.

Cons

The tech support has been a bit of a struggle but thank goodness for qualified consultants and Business Partners that can act as your first line of support.

Janet
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Estimating multi million dollar underground utility construction

Reviewed on 2019/01/09

Another pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only...

Another pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only import the estimate, but also create purchase orders and email those purchase orders based on your estimate. Once you've learned how to use this and set it up it significantly saves time.

Pros

While this product provides you with sample databases, it is best used by creating your own database with phase codes and pricing as you do your construction. You are able to separate each phase into categories, i.e., Labor, Material, etc. There are some standard ones, but you can also add your own categories which adds to the flexibility of this software.

Cons

It's not really a dislike, but it is quite complex. You need one main person who controls all changes to the database, keeps pricing updated, controls anyone changing/adding phase codes, etc. You would need that with any sophisticated database.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Fantastic Software

Reviewed on 2021/05/17

Excellent, I have been using this for over 25 years way back when it started as DOS as Timberline...

Excellent, I have been using this for over 25 years way back when it started as DOS as Timberline and it is the best out there

Pros

Product is very easy to use & easily manageable & changeable for your own details

Cons

It can get a bit complex at times and auto-save is both a blessing and a curse

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Mo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Well-Organised Estimating Software

Reviewed on 2018/07/11

Pros

Sage (Timberline) has been used for building industry primarily. You can use the advantage of their database or set up your own one based on the industry and market you are involved in. I recommend the software for Mid to Large Size building projects including residential or ICI.

Cons

The software is not user-friendly for heavy-civil or infrastructure projects as the functionality of crew cost method is not as easy as other heavy civil software.

Tiffany
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sage Estimating has made our Estimating department more effecient

Reviewed on 2021/08/16

It has been great. We have simply had to tell them what we needed and they make it happen. ...

It has been great. We have simply had to tell them what we needed and they make it happen. Support is always there. It is a great program.

Pros

I like the ease of use of all the programs. It is easy to learn. Easy to use.

Cons

The built in reports didn't really fit our company. We had to customized all of the reports.

Todd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Timberline is Huge!

Reviewed on 2018/04/30

Pros

This estimating program can do anything you want it to. It has the ability to be molded into however you want it to work for you.

Cons

Because it is so flexible it is also a little clunky. Quick takeoffs and estimates can be difficult. This feels like it is set up for the commercial realm of construction, in fact, I don't know many in residential construction that use this program.

Kevin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice product, integrates well with Sage 300 CRE

Reviewed on 2017/08/15

Overall, a nice addition for your Estimating team.

Overall, a nice addition for your Estimating team.

Pros

We used this product for our estimators in my last Commercial Construction company. Works well with Sage 300 CRE. Allows you to set certain standard prices like labor rates. Calculate burden, buys, etc.

Cons

A little on the pricey side but that's about it. Many good features like importing into your Sage Project Management software.

Lyndon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good Software

Reviewed on 2018/09/23

Overall Its great software when set up.

Overall Its great software when set up.

Pros

for several years I thought that Excel is the best of estimating but when I learn about Sage, things are getting more better estimating can handle multi building estimates. Sage is continuously developing its software it has upgrade of what is best for making it better .

Cons

when Upgrading sage I need the help of IT Expert to do it for me , It takes time setting it up so workers like me needs help of more experienced or encounter this kind of issues.

William
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Day to Day Estimating

Reviewed on 2020/12/11

You relay on the estimate that you have built for the beginning to the end. It helps you on...

You relay on the estimate that you have built for the beginning to the end. It helps you on ordering material and trading out with other trades.

Pros

The work packages is most useful to me. The quick Takeoff and Assembly.

Cons

I have been using sage estimating about 22 years. So when I started my new company I had to buy the newer version program that was as close to the old program that i had before. So it has been a learning curve to get use to the newer version. Just finding where line items are. Also so line item are in different division than what I use to. Such as fine grade is in earth work, I like it in Division three for the slab. It easy to put it in three, it just takes time to get it built like you want. Over time this will happen.

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have used Sage Estimating for 20 years

Reviewed on 2015/01/31

Pros

They are always developing the product and always on the cutting edge of technology. Around 2000, they had a product called the CAD Integrator; it was BIM before anyone understood what BIM was. They do not try to do everything (anymore). Instead of being decent at everything, they set the focus on the estimating product to make it great. Then they create partnerships with other dedicated software products that are also determined to make their piece of the pie the best. It allows for an integrated product that is the best of all worlds. The product is very easy to use and customizable to the user.

Cons

I would like it to have a better proposal output. However, most people I talk to say that it's not a big deal for them because every owner wants a proposal on their form.

Barb
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

Very easy to use and userfriendly and customer service is great as well.

Cons

Could work on the customer service, sometimes very hard to get through but once you do, they are very knowledgable

Tien
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simple & Effective

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

Overall satisfied with SAGE products, reliable and affordable

Overall satisfied with SAGE products, reliable and affordable

Pros

Easy to use, friendly interface with custom view
Flexible reports in multiple forms (datasheet, pdf, document, etc.)
Compatible with SAGE Contractor

Cons

Too many columns, convoluted and unnecessary
Material waste check box should be set as default value of CHECKED, or remove completely to avoid missed calculation on waste
Need add more columns for add-on breakdown (OH&P, tax)

Patrick
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Undo is very limited

Reviewed on 2021/05/17

Very difficult to input, difficult to customize, always need external consultant to help out,

Very difficult to input, difficult to customize, always need external consultant to help out,

Pros

Our client use it otherwise I would not be using it.

Cons

Difficult to use, easy to mess up (when substitute, it keeps asking to change similar item, no way to stop it and cannot undo), undo is very limited

Response from Sage

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your business and look forward to helping drive your continued success in construction and real estate.

Ron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helps speed up our estimating processes

Reviewed on 2019/07/25

Pros

Their training sessions help onboard our designers and estimators to using Sage, and this has really helped reduce our training time.

Cons

There's no such thing as a free lunch. This software is pricey for small companies to absorb, but if you fully embrace it you'll recover those costs quickly.

Ebtisam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Everything you need

Reviewed on 2018/06/26

Pros

If you’re looking for a software that focuses and really takes estimating to the next level, then this software is for you.

Cons

Don’t really know what to say regarding cons, I really enjoyed using this software when I did use it.

Glenn
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2011/06/04

I have been estimating commercial construction projects for the past 15 years.

If you are on the...

I have been estimating commercial construction projects for the past 15 years.

If you are on the fence with estimating software, look no further than Timberline. I have tried them all and none of them are as fast and refined as Timberline. Other companies put on a good sales show but the application doesn't measure up. We actually spent about $15k on a company's software licenses, and after using it we found it to be slow and klunky.

How good is Sage Timberline Estimating? Well, we walked away from $15k to use Timberline. Yeah, it's that good.

Brendan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Does what I need it to.

Reviewed on 2017/02/02

Very happy with Sage. It makes short work of my estimates, it's also very customizable.

Very happy with Sage. It makes short work of my estimates, it's also very customizable.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Expensive

Greg
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I have used Timberline Estimating since the mid 1990s.

Reviewed on 2015/01/12

Pros

Precision Estimating is exactly what it sounds like--the most exact way to estimate a project! Sage is easy to work with, and their technical support staff is fantastic.

Cons

The most difficult part of using the software is in the initial setup.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 501–1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful product that is well integrated

Reviewed on 2017/01/19

For project estimates that are all inclusive and cover all aspects of a project you are bidding or...

For project estimates that are all inclusive and cover all aspects of a project you are bidding or developing a project budget for, there is no product more powerful than Sage Estimating. With its powerful ability to create well-defined estimates, it also has the ability to connect to many other facets of Project Management, Accounting and Construction. The product is capable of being enterprise-wide for a contractor or construction management firm, with the ability to bring in information from external sources.

Pros

Plenty of customization is available to have the output look and feel the way you want it, many modules to attach to and the ability to draw from database pricing information from external sources.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve for the beginning user. This is not a product for the occasional user.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Easy to use, very few difficulties

Reviewed on 2014/09/05

Pros

It's easy to use and works well with Digitizer.

Cons

There are issues after updates. If you skip a few updates, it seems that some things don't work as well when you finally do update.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Timberline Software

Reviewed on 2017/01/20

I worked as a project estimator/project coordinator with the Timberline product.

I worked as a project estimator/project coordinator with the Timberline product.

Pros

I liked the ability to submit journal entries when putting together the buyout for projects.

Cons

There are not as many query options as I would like any looking at the cost production of a project as it progresses.

Tara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Always like Timberline

Reviewed on 2017/01/23

I've used Sage/Timberline products for a number of years and have found the programs fairly...

I've used Sage/Timberline products for a number of years and have found the programs fairly intuitive. I'm an estimating novice so I appreciate the ease of use. I did find that this software helped me to build cleaner estimates.