172 reviews

Qlik Sense

End-to-end data analytics platform

4,4 /5 (172 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,4
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
4,2
Ease of Use
4,3
Customer Support
4,1
94% recommended this app
172 reviews
José elías G.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Qliksense for business

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/30
Review Source: Capterra

Thanks to Qliksense we are able to provide easily the information the user wants and to personalise it depending on their needs. Sometimes a given report can be used as base to create another which saves you time to deliver critical information in the least amount of time with the best results.

Pros

What I like most about Qliksense is the ease in which you can portray the information, also the duplicate function helps you to customise your sheet until you like it over and over again.
Also it's really easy to convert an information table into a pivot, graph (any kind), filter, etc.
Also the export feature as well as the filter can help you greatly to get just the information you want in the format you want.

Cons

Sadly when you work with a lot of information lines or put to much formulas into a report it will limit how you can export it (you have to filter by parts to get the full report) or it will not show the information and you will have to filter the overall report to just visualise the information you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Willem J.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Cetralised analytics ready data in a cetralised location

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been able to move away from spreadsheet based reports where we had various manipulated versions of the data that were not up to date and took hours to prepare to a centralised reporting platform that is updated on a regular basis ready for the users to use and act on the insights gained.

Pros

Qlik Sense have enabled us to use more of our data and bring the data together in Dashboards that were a very difficult task to achieve in the past using spreadsheets. Using spreadsheets made it difficult to analyse tracking data where you ran out of space before you really got started.

Cons

After initial setup we got in creating connections to uncommon databases that proved very difficult to get setup in Qlik.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Akhilesh C.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great BI tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/19
Review Source: Capterra

This has been a great tool for us and our business as well. We have multiple systems and it becomes difficult to combine data from multiple system but the tool does it seamlessly by recognizes unique identifiers and combining the data. This feature can be used to generate reports very effectively and efficiently.

Pros

We have been using Qlik for more than 2 years now and I would say that the transition has been smooth though there was a learning curve involved which is there with any tool. Some of the features which we like are the on demand app generation and mash ups.

Cons

Since the software is an in memory tool i.e. it uses physical memory (RAM), as and when the data volume increases it tends to slow down. You have to get a machine with higher configuration to support data volume.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Martin M.
Industry: Financial Services

Top notch scalable self-service BI tool with cutting-edge visuals

Reviewed on 2015/12/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Qlik Sense is a self-service analytical tool based on the same in-memory technology as QlikView. It's associative engine allows for snappy selections, filtering and prompt re-calculation of all charts and aggregations on the fly as the user navigates throughout the dashboard, even on datasets of over 100 million rows.
Qlik Sense focuses more on the self-service aspects of BI, where users are encouraged to build their own Adhoc visualisations without the use of keyboards simply by drag & dropping various elements, making the technology utmost business friendly. Also, as the whole technology is fully web-based, it embeds the latest visualisation libraries (D3, Raphael etc.) and allows for a seamless integration of customised extended JS charts (so-called extensions). The latter enables for unlimited possibilities when it comes to visualisations (http://d3js.org/) and further integration with web-services (R servers, real-time analytics, Hadoop etc.). Also, the Qlik Sense Server deployment is tailored to facilitate a multi-node deployment, allowing for a very scalable enterprise solution, even cloud-based.
The data security technology (Section Access) is the same one as in QlikView and is customisable, secure and robust.

All in all, when it comes to deploying a scalable and business-friendly BI solution, which has very presentable dashboards, a fast and robust aggregation engine with extended self-service capabilities, Qlik Sense is currently the best product of its kind on the market.

Cons

Qlik Sense is still a new product and not very mature yet, as it has only been released a year and a half ago. The review is based on Qlik Sens version 2.1 which is important to emphasise, because QlikTech is constantly updating the software and publishing releases with enhancements and bugfixes.
Qlik Sense is not the right tool, if you requirement is:
1. To have a guided analytics dashboard, where the user is constraint in the way he views his data.
-> This can be overcome by creating mashup websites, however you will need a web developer to do this.
2. Standardised reporting via Qlik Sense and production of pdf files is not possible (yet).
-> An integration with nPrinting, QlikTech's latest acquisition, could change this and it's on Qlik's roadmap for the next year.
3. Your BI solution needs to accommodate flexible data extraction capabilities (e.g. to Excel).

General current disadvantages:
1. The story telling functionality is not mature yet - users have more benefit using PowerPoint directly. In my opinion it's missing a live connection of the snapshots used in the story to the underlying chart objects.
2. Security settings (NOT on data level) are governed centrally via the management console and are complicated to comprehend.
3. No guided analytics aspects, even navigation between sheets can't be controlled.
4. No supported data extraction capabilities. It's almost impossible to get comprehensive extract of it's underlying data, something that was possible with QlikView (Export functionality e.g.)
5. The vendor has little practical knowledge on how Qlik Sense is deployed enterprise wide within a business and is not really able to support.
6. The vendor is focusing more on the data story telling and collaboration aspects of the Qlik technologies and almost imposes those on the business. Personally, I would prefer if QlikTech listened to its customers a little bit more.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Bilal S.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Decent BI tool - A good package for quick and easy reporting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/09
Review Source: Capterra

It's being used across the whole organization, and it helps change data from multiple sources to information for better decision making. This has also given us better access to transnational level data. Which has improved our scope and insights as well as improved our decision making.

Pros

Qlik Sense is very well suited for companies without a proper data warehouse.

- It is fairing very well in sales analysis and KPI management.

- Mini QVDs can act like a mini data warehouse.

- It builds mini data warehouses.

- It's good for the merging of data.

- It connects well with other systems.

Cons

Qlik Sense is good for simple analytics. However, it is not that easy to set up "what if" scenarios, more advanced statistical analysis, and custom stuff.

- The coding of equations is quite complicated.

- Better customer service from sales.

- Better customer service help with solving problems with the tool and upgrades.

- Better user-friendliness for writing equations by the end-user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Chirag S.
Industry: Insurance
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Analyze data fast and make decisions quickly with Qlik Sense

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/11
Review Source: Capterra

Our goal was to have everyone reviewing business analytics in one spot and making decisions based on explainable data. We were Excel users for analytics at first. It was OK but we couldn't scale. We dabbled with Tableau. It was dreadfully slow and awkward. We demo'ed a couple more software and chose Qlik Sense due its speed, scalability and performance on mobile devices. Within days of using Qlik, our staff was able to convert 10 most used Excel dashboards into excellent dashboards that gave a much clearer perspective into business operations and finance. On modest server, we have been running Qlik Sense to provide enterprise-wide data analytics and our ability of decisioning has improved significantly due to Qlik.

Pros

Speed. Qlik Sense loads data quickly into memory and analysis is stunningly fast. It is very easy to get the information you need quickly and begin to make decisions. Slicing and dicing the data is very fast as well. Having used competing software like Tableau, Qlik Sense is a breath of fresh air. There's no waiting time during analysis and that keeps a person focused on the application and gets the person curious about information being presented.

Cons

The software's support model is horrific. Qlik uses value added resellers (aka VAR) for the most part. Most VARs I have talked to aren't exceptional and provide absolutely no valuable support after selling the software. They basically add zero value. Qlik has no idea what VARs are doing and VARs have no idea what Qlik is trying to tell them. Getting a license key correctly can take a few tries. Great software, horrific delivery. If I were the CEO of Qlik, I'd change the business model and remove VARs altogether and bring sales, marketing and support right into Qlik.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gustavo A.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

QlikSense - Complete tool for BI

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

There isn't any problem that you can't tackle with QlikSense.

Pros

I like ETL within QlikSense. You don't need additional software or changes in your database or data warehouse to have full control about your data. You can do this ETL process within each app.

Cons

Some connectors are very expensive, for example SAP connector.

Response from Qlik

Thank you Gustavo!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dave E.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Qlik Sense On Premise Enterprise

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We use Qlik Sense to deliver enterprise wide analytics covering various business units, including Commercial finance, demand planning, after market performance, ICT, eCommerce, procurement, master data management, sales forecasting and market share analysis.

The flexibility of Qlik Sense and addition of 3rd party extensions allows us to extend the use of Qlik Sense beyond analytics and bring the platform to the core of our digital workplace, augmenting analytics with workflow, and team collaboration.
The intuitive associative engine and powerful visualization capability within Qlik sense as provided a powerful platform which allows us to develop user engaging, intuitive and agile data analytics tools which drive informed, timely and impact business decision making.

The flexibility of Qlik Sense and addition of 3rd party extensions allows us to extend the use of Qlik Sense beyond analytics and bring the platform to the core of our digital workplace, augmenting analytics with workflow, and team collaboration.

Pros

The adoption of Qlik Sense has provided the business with a solid platform to build upon, moving from a silo approach to reporting through a multitude of large, static, cumbersome spreadsheets to an accessible, intuitive, powerful analytics platform capable to dealing with large volumes of data. For the first time, providing the business with a single version of the truth, the ability to see everything in one place. In itself the efficiency gains of this has offset the adoption costs by a considerable amount.

Cons

There is a direction currently with feature releases within QLik Sense which are focused towards the SaaS or Cloud offerings of Qlik Sense. This leaves those who have invested heavily in on premise enterprise deployments in a difficult possitrion, to gain the benefits of some pwoerful new features they have to look to reinvest further towards these SaaS or Cloud deployments, or bring in a hybrid model. Qlik provide no real split between what features are available in each of the deployment options.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Marcelo G.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good product over the years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It's has been good but i am worried that competitors like Power BI that are pushing very strong in the market. I be seen many clients switching to Power BI.

Pros

-It's Simple for new users and allows self discovery.
-It very fast and code is easy to learn.
-There is a lot of material to learn and a good community.
-Allows you to build your own datawarehouse using Qvds.

Cons

-You need to pay extra for features like Automated Report Generation (NPrinting) and also if you use SAP you need to pay for a special connector.
-You rely on external extension to build nice dashboards but they are improving in this area every month.
-It's expensive compared with others solutions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Nadeemur R.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Extremely Powerful and Versatile Software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/09/28
Review Source: Capterra

Qlik Sense is a very important tool for me. I can quickly upload huge data from various sources. The dashboard is great. You get a lot of information through it. However, I feel that Qlik Sense needs some technical knowledge to understand it completely. If the themes and price is reduced, I will be very happy.

Pros

Qlik Sense is sensational software to deploy confusing data models. When you have lots of data sources and you have to integrate into one data model and get the result. I love the analytics sections in Qlik Sense; it is super interesting and easy to conclude by viewing its analytics. The best thing is that I can easily install it and accumulate my data into it.

Cons

You need to have some technical knowledge about Qlik Sense so you need some training to understand it. I struggle a lot with customization. It is difficult for me to customize as per my convenience. The current themes are very dull. I don't like them. The charts are arranged automatically which little setting options to configure them. According to me, Qlik Sense is expensive software.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Henri R.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Best in class ETL capabilties combined with great visualizations and ergonomics

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Qlik Sense is problably one of the quickest if not the quickest BI solution to implement. With Qlik Sense we were able to design and implement advanced business apps within days. The ability to go back and forth between data sources, data modeling and dashboard within the same interface enables a seamless production of even the most complex KPIs.

Pros

Qlik Sense is a powerful solution with best in class ETL capabilities, which simplifies and speeds up developments and enables a collaborative approach to data. Qlik Sense not only delivers great data visualization features but also offers a comprehensive set of tools which helps to collect data from various sources and deliver insightful dashboards. When it comes to interactivity Qlik Sense set the standard while the competition truly lies behind. I recommand any company on the market for a BI / data viz solution to consider Qlik Sense no matter what their size or industry.

Cons

I hope in the future Qlik will embed Nprinting features in order to generate pixel perfect documents from the Qlik Sense platform. Automated alerts also would be nice as well as a centralized data management for common dimensions and kpis between apps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Diego A.
Industry: Information Services
Company size: Self Employed

Solid application with a good balance between features, performance and usability.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

An easy and intuitive way to create storyboards for everyone to understand, parting from relative large and difficult to understand and analyze data. The main benefit was a simple way to create quick charts which served as main discussion point with co-workers to make better decisions. So basically a great way to display business information.

Pros

First its usability and design. Regarding the User Interface: the application is well designed and I felt like every button and function was where I would expect it to be. The program is responsive and fluid, you always know where you are and what you should do. Having said that, there is some learning curve to the many features, which are a good thing. The program is easy enough to create a histogram with a simple spreadsheet while also allowing for much more complicated statistics and good looking charts, e.g. plotting geo-data, heat-maps, box-plots and so on.
I specially like the ability to write your own aggregation functions and even more the dashboard where you can put different charts and statstics and build an interactive and dynamic kind of storyboard. The interaction works seamless. If you select (in a bar chart) a specific bar or group of bars, the other charts will automatically adjust to show just the relevant/selected data. The program does not hesitate and performs really well, even with large quantities of data. Support is also pretty solid and there is a lot of information and questions already answered on the online forums. It supports many of the standard data sources.

Cons

The aforementioned ability to write your own functions has a somewhat steep learning curve. You do have to search online for the primary functions you need (though these are well documented). Unfortunately if your data has to much variables or data points, the charts prioritize the specific variable instead of the whole diagram. What I mean by that is that you can end up with a very large horizontal chart in which you have to scroll horizontally to find the other data instead of 'cramming' all variables into the visible space. This depends on taste, but I did not find any way to change that, which brings me to the next point. The charts are somewhat 'customizable' regarding color and design. However, I've used comparable software which allows for much more flexibility in the structure and formatting of charts. A few times it can get frustrating to use the program, mainly for two reasons. 1. The aforementioned displaying of information in a non-customizable way and 2. the lack of knowledge of how the program really works that hinders you from doing exactly what you want. But of these aspects become less of a problem, the more you use the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Miguel angel B.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Data analytics for the masses

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Qlik Sense is not QlikView. For those of us who have been working with both might seem like the next iteration of the latter. It is not. It uses websockets instead of HTTP and this has a huge impact in performance and usability. The cloud solution is still a work in progress, but for the needs of most users, enough and recommendable. Disclaimer, I'm a former Qlik employee and current Qlik customer.

Pros

Proven in-memory engine and robust data extraction language. Drag and drop user interface, responsive, ready to create, not just consume, from mobile devices like tablets. Overall performance and very complete integration with web technologies. Open sourced libraries. Fine-grained user access engine.

Cons

Applications are limited to the power of one single computer, although several computers (nodes) can be clustered, they act, at the end, individually (i.e.: not adding up resources from all the servers available). As of version 3.2 lacks a full governance tool and a central library across applications, so what is created for one can be reused in another. Built-in objects are basic, leaving more advanced visualizations to extensions or development of some kind, usually far from the advanced user knowledge (e.g.: widgets).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Michael L.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Highly flexible and powerful analytics tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The first thing you'll notice with Qlik is how easy and quick it is to load some data and get insights. That's down to 3 aspects of the tool. The first is the data manager which allows you to drag and drop data to extract and transform data. The second is augmented intelligence (the cognitive engine) which can build a data model for you if you wish, or simply make recommendations on how to set up relationships in our data. The last is AI in the front end of the product which generates insight at the click of a button; suggesting charts and alternative ways of presenting your data. Within seconds you can load some data, build a model and present some insight.

When you want to go further you've got the data load editor which allows you to write an ETL script and take advantage of compressed storage in the form of QVDs. In the front end, end users can see the whole story in their data because Qlik never leaves data behind, unlike linear ETL tools like SQL. End users can navigate data intuitively using green, white and grey colour coding.

Qlik Sense makes makes data intuitive and available to everyone.

Cons

There is a steeper learning curve than some other tools if you want to use the script editor to write code. This is worth doing though as it gives you greater control over your data.

The legends on the map objects do not always correctly describe the maps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Balpreet S.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Qliksense is very easy to develop....

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/09/25
Review Source: Capterra

Overall very much satisfied with Qliksense. Daily KPI's and dashboards delivering to Top management was major task.

Pros

It is very easy to develop the dashboard reports. Most important point is the response time. it process data very fast and open dashboards having million of records due it's technology to store data. Overall it is world class Business Intelligence tool for any type of management (Top / Middle / etc). Nprint tool is very good and these dashboards and KPI's can be published over email.

Cons

Nothing as such. As of now it is very useful. All kind of features are available. Data export option is very useful.

Response from Qlik

Thank you so much Balpreet for the kind words! Glad you're finding value in Qlik Sense!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

M.d. V.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

A work in progress, though it will get you there!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Though it really has its place in the market for simpler deployments, do take care when planning bigger or complex deployments as the servicability of such a deployment is difficult and tricky (but doable).

Pros

-Qlik code is easy, Qlikview-code is easy reusable
-InMemory works!
-Lots of help online
-In the end it will get you allmost there...

Cons

-Visualisation not on par with 'the other big-ones'. No proper customisation, and a lot of basic visualisations are not available (Band chart, Radar chart, Combi-plot).
-No analitics/statistiscs toolkit.
-Presenting data/apps takes forever in a citrix-environment.
-Developing a set of dashboards/apps in Sense feels clumsy and messy. There is no hierarchy, keeping track of sequential apps.(Extract/Translate/Presentation) is quite a thing. Think debugging...
-No check-in/check-out tooling, no folderstructures for unpublished apps but a cluttered personal workspace so a lot of discipline and creative thinking is needed.
-Building a corporate environment in Sense feels actually quite 'dirty'.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Tomáš C.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Perfect Self-Service tool

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Best on market in self-Service reporting and analytics.

Pros

Easy to use and very intuitive UI for business users.

Cons

Lack of standard IT supporting features for support of content like versioning.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Meliksah T.
Industry: Consumer Electronics
Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees

Scalable, customizable, easy to deploy and use reporting tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Many business units in many locations within the company use Qlik Sense to report their KPIs and efficiency to everyone. All the IT has to do is create table and dashboard structure then the business unit can create its own reports and graphs according to its liking.

Pros

- It's scalable. Many business units in various locations in our company use it to report their big data.
- It's live and autonomous. Once it's deployed, it automatically creates up to date reports, so that nobody has to re-create new reports every time.
- It's online. Created dashboards can be viewed in any deviced, anytime as long as there's internet.
- It's easy to use for users to create their own graphics and reports. Not much effort for the IT team.

Cons

There's nothing to dislike in terms of functionality, UI and efficiency. Only thing I can criticize is that the name is confusing for some people in business unit. It is obviously chosen intentionally but they keep confusing Qlik with Click.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Nahum B.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rapid development and strong supportive community

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/06/29
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

From my experience, most of the though/completed how-to's I solved with the help of the community.
Hence I strongly recommended, in any tool that you are checking validate how large and cooperative is the community.

Pros

- Rapid development and strong supportive community.
- You can build a very nice dashboard and/or reports very fast. Simple reports can be built in matter of minutes! even if your data
is scattered between different files or even different platforms (excels, DB, etc.).
- You can extend the basic (out of the box) platform with Widgets and Extensions
- 'QIik Branch' - open source community sharing Widgets and Extensions that you can embed into your installation.

Cons

- Running in memory DB is fine on the server but on the desktop edition might be a problem for large DB.
- While "Associative Model" is what give Qlik the ease of rapid building dashboards and reports it might cause some odd
results if you are not truly understand this and pay attention while building the data model.
- While there is great training for how to use the basic features, there are not a lot for how to build Widgets and extensions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Chris E.
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Tool, good value!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great company, great people, wonderful user community. I highly recommend this tool over others in its space. It's more of a European take on business analytics, than an American, so a bit less flashy in the graphics but loads of more feature-rich functions and abilities.

Pros

Very well architected in the back end, with loads of security and functionality to leverage. Easy to use from a self-discovery standpoint for even the most basic data lover. Covers our 80/20 rule of 80% self-serve and 20% access to raw data for advanced analytics.

Cons

Get's a bit clumsy top administer when your user base grows, unless you staff the tool with a decent administrator. Set your expectations early with the business on these needs, or you will struggle maintaining the tool while fighting for additional resources. A bit pricy at entry level, but more than pays for itself with big revenue gains.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Or M.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Great option for easy to use BI platform

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/09/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

overall I love working with Qliksense.
I sense that i can accomplish a lot with my time because how easy and approchable it east for developers.

Pros

Qliksense has a great interface for building GUI.
also the ability to use custom extensions allows a lot of flexibilty.

Cons

the method for creating access security rules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Adam A.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great tool for data analysis

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/21
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We've used it to replace time consuming Excel reporting freeing up people's time, creating new dashboards for our warehouse, and identifying and digging into data and system issues that have arisen. Qlik Sense is certainly the quickest way to dig into issues when they are identified

Pros

Easy to use with plenty of self-service features for those who can't/don't want to dig into scripting and expression functions. Scripting engine means you can extract from a lot of data sources (Excel, SQL, API, Google Analytics...) and model to whatever your needs are. Also simple to use UI and can give users power to create their own charts using preset dimensions and measures

Cons

The main thing I have found is that sometimes it can be a big buggy. New features are coming out multiple times a year which is great but sometimes the odd bug creeps in.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Martin S.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Qlik was an great starting point on the company path to meaningful Business Intelligence

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/12
Review Source: Capterra

It helped us greatly simplify our monthly management reporting and has been earmarked for a number of Reporting options going forward

Pros

Easy to use interface for data consumers and the ability to generate meaningful measures and KPIs quickly. We can post large amounts of data for our decision makers to digest and analyse without resorting to reams of spreadsheets. Uptake and feedback has been really good and most if not all users are pleased with the development so far and are looking forward to more applications in the pipeline going forward. Being able to find other user created plugins to manipulate data has also been really useful.

Cons

The data connections out of the box don't contain MDX and SSAS connections which would have been nice. The data designer isn't as good as some of its competitors and needing to learn another scripting language slowed down some of the early progress.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Qlik Sense - Rapid Development of Dashboards

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/15
Review Source: Capterra

Qlik Sense helps in rapid development of dashboards. The load scripts, data model viewer and the available visualizations have enabled us to create dashboards at a fast pace for demos and proof-of-concept apps.

Pros

Qlik Sense is a self-service visualization tool which users can learn to use within a short span of time. Adding the data sources is a smooth experience. Select the columns that's required, drag and drop into a new dashboard and we have a dashboard ready in minutes. The data model component helps to create associations/joins between the columns/fields of a table/file. The associative data model of Qlik Sense keeps the data associated across visualizations in a dashboard. Change a parameter and the whole dashboard gets reflected immediately. Qlik Sense also supports 3rd party extensions for visualizations and they are regularly monitored and approved by Qlik. Qlik Sense load scripts can be overridden to include custom code.

Cons

1) Cyclic Groups feature is missing. It was present in QlikView. We have to depend on qsVariable which is a 3rd party extension.
2) Trellis Chart is missing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Thomas C.
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great software, easy to customize front end apps

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Qlik Sense has helped us analyze hundreds of millions of lines of data quickly and efficiently, with relative ease to how we were operating previously. We are one of the rare customers that does not work with sales data, rather security services with staffing levels, compliance performance variables, service forecasting, etc.

This has made it a little difficult to get help from the Qlik Community and Qlik directly as every example is geared towards financial information or selling goods. There is a distinct lack of resources out there if your company is in the same boat as us. We have had multiple staff members go through Qlik courses and we purchased the official book for Qlik Sense that was available at the time, which only covers the very basics.

Once you have your data connections flowing, and you spend the time learning and experiencing the product, you will start to benefit a lot more than taking the training (my opinion). The program itself is great, and it is amazing how fast and efficiently you can zoom in and out of enormous levels of data. My example would be to see a yearly total of hours billed, then each click zooms a level --> Year, Month, Week, Day, Hour, Minute of 900 staff members punching at 25 different locations at various times of the day at a 24 hour operation, then right back out to the yearly view. There is no slow down, the transitions are almost seamless.

Pros

The quickness and ease of building tables, charts, graphs, etc. in the front end.

Cons

There is a distinct lack of technical resources when you are not dealing with sales and financial data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10