175 reviews

Qlik Sense

End-to-end data analytics platform

4,4 /5 (175 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
175 reviews
Willem J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Cetralised analytics ready data in a cetralised location

Reviewed on 2020/06/22

We have been able to move away from spreadsheet based reports where we had various manipulated versions of the data that were not up to date and took hours to prepare to a centralised reporting platform that is updated on a regular basis ready for the users to use and act on the insights gained.

Pros

Qlik Sense have enabled us to use more of our data and bring the data together in Dashboards that were a very difficult task to achieve in the past using spreadsheets. Using spreadsheets made it difficult to analyse tracking data where you ran out of space before you really got started.

Cons

After initial setup we got in creating connections to uncommon databases that proved very difficult to get setup in Qlik.

Nadeemur R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely Powerful and Versatile Software

Reviewed on 2020/09/28

Qlik Sense is a very important tool for me. I can quickly upload huge data from various sources. The dashboard is great. You get a lot of information through it. However, I feel that Qlik Sense needs some technical knowledge to understand it completely. If the themes and price is reduced, I will be very happy.

Pros

Qlik Sense is sensational software to deploy confusing data models. When you have lots of data sources and you have to integrate into one data model and get the result. I love the analytics sections in Qlik Sense; it is super interesting and easy to conclude by viewing its analytics. The best thing is that I can easily install it and accumulate my data into it.

Cons

You need to have some technical knowledge about Qlik Sense so you need some training to understand it. I struggle a lot with customization. It is difficult for me to customize as per my convenience. The current themes are very dull. I don't like them. The charts are arranged automatically which little setting options to configure them. According to me, Qlik Sense is expensive software.

Diego A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid application with a good balance between features, performance and usability.

Reviewed on 2017/09/12

An easy and intuitive way to create storyboards for everyone to understand, parting from relative large and difficult to understand and analyze data. The main benefit was a simple way to create quick charts which served as main discussion point with co-workers to make better decisions. So basically a great way to display business information.

Pros

First its usability and design. Regarding the User Interface: the application is well designed and I felt like every button and function was where I would expect it to be. The program is responsive and fluid, you always know where you are and what you should do. Having said that, there is some learning curve to the many features, which are a good thing. The program is easy enough to create a histogram with a simple spreadsheet while also allowing for much more complicated statistics and good looking charts, e.g. plotting geo-data, heat-maps, box-plots and so on.
I specially like the ability to write your own aggregation functions and even more the dashboard where you can put different charts and statstics and build an interactive and dynamic kind of storyboard. The interaction works seamless. If you select (in a bar chart) a specific bar or group of bars, the other charts will automatically adjust to show just the relevant/selected data. The program does not hesitate and performs really well, even with large quantities of data. Support is also pretty solid and there is a lot of information and questions already answered on the online forums. It supports many of the standard data sources.

Cons

The aforementioned ability to write your own functions has a somewhat steep learning curve. You do have to search online for the primary functions you need (though these are well documented). Unfortunately if your data has to much variables or data points, the charts prioritize the specific variable instead of the whole diagram. What I mean by that is that you can end up with a very large horizontal chart in which you have to scroll horizontally to find the other data instead of 'cramming' all variables into the visible space. This depends on taste, but I did not find any way to change that, which brings me to the next point. The charts are somewhat 'customizable' regarding color and design. However, I've used comparable software which allows for much more flexibility in the structure and formatting of charts. A few times it can get frustrating to use the program, mainly for two reasons. 1. The aforementioned displaying of information in a non-customizable way and 2. the lack of knowledge of how the program really works that hinders you from doing exactly what you want. But of these aspects become less of a problem, the more you use the program.

Marcelo G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good product over the years

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

It's has been good but i am worried that competitors like Power BI that are pushing very strong in the market. I be seen many clients switching to Power BI.

Pros

-It's Simple for new users and allows self discovery.
-It very fast and code is easy to learn.
-There is a lot of material to learn and a good community.
-Allows you to build your own datawarehouse using Qvds.

Cons

-You need to pay extra for features like Automated Report Generation (NPrinting) and also if you use SAP you need to pay for a special connector.
-You rely on external extension to build nice dashboards but they are improving in this area every month.
-It's expensive compared with others solutions.

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly flexible and powerful analytics tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Pros

The first thing you'll notice with Qlik is how easy and quick it is to load some data and get insights. That's down to 3 aspects of the tool. The first is the data manager which allows you to drag and drop data to extract and transform data. The second is augmented intelligence (the cognitive engine) which can build a data model for you if you wish, or simply make recommendations on how to set up relationships in our data. The last is AI in the front end of the product which generates insight at the click of a button; suggesting charts and alternative ways of presenting your data. Within seconds you can load some data, build a model and present some insight.

When you want to go further you've got the data load editor which allows you to write an ETL script and take advantage of compressed storage in the form of QVDs. In the front end, end users can see the whole story in their data because Qlik never leaves data behind, unlike linear ETL tools like SQL. End users can navigate data intuitively using green, white and grey colour coding.

Qlik Sense makes makes data intuitive and available to everyone.

Cons

There is a steeper learning curve than some other tools if you want to use the script editor to write code. This is worth doing though as it gives you greater control over your data.

The legends on the map objects do not always correctly describe the maps.

Balpreet S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Qliksense is very easy to develop....

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

Overall very much satisfied with Qliksense. Daily KPI's and dashboards delivering to Top management was major task.

Pros

It is very easy to develop the dashboard reports. Most important point is the response time. it process data very fast and open dashboards having million of records due it's technology to store data. Overall it is world class Business Intelligence tool for any type of management (Top / Middle / etc). Nprint tool is very good and these dashboards and KPI's can be published over email.

Cons

Nothing as such. As of now it is very useful. All kind of features are available. Data export option is very useful.

Response from Qlik

Thank you so much Balpreet for the kind words! Glad you're finding value in Qlik Sense!

M.d. V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A work in progress, though it will get you there!

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

Though it really has its place in the market for simpler deployments, do take care when planning bigger or complex deployments as the servicability of such a deployment is difficult and tricky (but doable).

Pros

-Qlik code is easy, Qlikview-code is easy reusable
-InMemory works!
-Lots of help online
-In the end it will get you allmost there...

Cons

-Visualisation not on par with 'the other big-ones'. No proper customisation, and a lot of basic visualisations are not available (Band chart, Radar chart, Combi-plot).
-No analitics/statistiscs toolkit.
-Presenting data/apps takes forever in a citrix-environment.
-Developing a set of dashboards/apps in Sense feels clumsy and messy. There is no hierarchy, keeping track of sequential apps.(Extract/Translate/Presentation) is quite a thing. Think debugging...
-No check-in/check-out tooling, no folderstructures for unpublished apps but a cluttered personal workspace so a lot of discipline and creative thinking is needed.
-Building a corporate environment in Sense feels actually quite 'dirty'.

Meliksah T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Scalable, customizable, easy to deploy and use reporting tool

Reviewed on 2019/09/06

Many business units in many locations within the company use Qlik Sense to report their KPIs and efficiency to everyone. All the IT has to do is create table and dashboard structure then the business unit can create its own reports and graphs according to its liking.

Pros

- It's scalable. Many business units in various locations in our company use it to report their big data.
- It's live and autonomous. Once it's deployed, it automatically creates up to date reports, so that nobody has to re-create new reports every time.
- It's online. Created dashboards can be viewed in any deviced, anytime as long as there's internet.
- It's easy to use for users to create their own graphics and reports. Not much effort for the IT team.

Cons

There's nothing to dislike in terms of functionality, UI and efficiency. Only thing I can criticize is that the name is confusing for some people in business unit. It is obviously chosen intentionally but they keep confusing Qlik with Click.

David J.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Qlik Sense is Powerful to use and Easy to Manage

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

Great tool, easy to get started in your environment with the free trials. Easy to manage with Azure and overall cost effective with a low or high user count. Medium sized it is more costly than other solutions, unless you plan on eventually ramping up to 500+ users and can then leverage the token pricing model.

Pros

Puts self discovery in the hands of the analysts in each Business Unit. Let's us centrally manage data, governance and security with ease.

Cons

I do not like the "token" model for licenses, it is confusing and challenging to stay on top of. Paying for add-on connectors and features like GeoAnalytics and NPrinting is a turnoff, as they are very valuable tools, but should be included in the premium price of Qlik Sense already.

Paul N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Analytical Analysis At Its Best

Reviewed on 2017/05/15

Fantastic BI Analytical Software that will help you knit your data together and discover new opportunities within your data for marketing and sales. As far as advice goes - do not underestimate how long it will take to design the interface itself once you've got all the data together.

Pros

Quick to process large data sets
Easy to merge differing data sets to a single view
intuitive tools to drive development
Great active online forum/blogs to help the less naturally gifted
It is fun to use and discover your data with

Cons

Initial steep learning curve to get up to speed
Set Analysis is not easy to pick up - misplace a bracket at your peril

Jakub H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Business Intelligence Self-Service tool

Reviewed on 2020/02/27

Pros

Searching.
Associations and filtering.
Easy navigation and user friendly user interface.
Great options to alter data while loading into Qlik
Many complementary extensions working with Qlik Sense

Cons

Insufficient best practices workflow with
shared development not best/ neither versioning / impact analysis
missing administrative features - sessions monitoring/ability to terminate sessions
many important enterprise features available through community extensions only or you are to build it on your own

Paul M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Analysis Tool for our Business Model

Reviewed on 2019/03/27

We are understanding our business in a deeper way than we could with our native reporting from our systems. We have been able to tackle labor, margin, and sales issues that would have otherwise gone unnoticed.

Pros

We have many different systems across our organization. We can use Qlik to pull in data from every source to help us analyze our the business is performing. We combine Qlik with NPrinting to automate many reports that are sent all around the organization.

Cons

We needed to purchase a separate piece of software to automate reporting.

Mike G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and user friendly

Reviewed on 2018/04/12

I would highly recommend Qlik Sense to any company, regardless of size, because it is so easy to install, deploy, and use, and it's very affordable.

Pros

Easy to install, easy to learn, easy to train users. Deployment of Qlik Sense is very straightforward.

Cons

There's a bit of a learning curve for developers, most noticeably with Set Analysis expressions and data load scripting. This is not a huge hurdle, but it can be frustrating for some people. Luckily, there is a strong user community that is very responsive and willing to teach.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Access to insightful data with limited budget

Reviewed on 2018/07/23

Pros

Set up is very approachable, we partnered with a third party implementation company to do the go-live. Interface is straight forward, no complex data cubes when customizing individual elements. The filtering is very simple and we really enjoy interfacing with clicking on different elements to work your way through the page.

Cons

The actual usefulness of graphs was less impactfull in reality than we thought. Users mainly use simple line graphs, mainly pivot table functionality. System is slow at times, but that may be related to our cloud set up.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Qlik Sense

Reviewed on 2019/04/11

Pros

Really great BI that helps bring relevant data together to sort and manage in a much simpler and easy to use format

Cons

If not configured correctly it can provide false data which is hard to spot. Not necessarily a fault with Qlik itself but requires a lot of understanding from an admin and user ensure useful data is presented correctly.

Jim V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great value in the analytics space

Reviewed on 2020/09/04

I would not hesitate to recommend Qlik Sense. The product is easy to use. Our users love the speed with which we can now deliver dashboards and analytical reporting.

Pros

Qlik Sense is browser based so deployments to customers are very easy. Qlik has a lot of built in controls but you can add more that have been developed by the extensive Qlik community.

Cons

Some of Qlik's advanced features are not obvious. They are powerful but you really need someone to let you know they are there.

Carlos L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Self-Service Reporting and Data Analytics

Reviewed on 2019/06/02

Pros

Ability to connect to multiple data sources, very easy to create powerful data models.

Many powerful visualizations to choose from (Pivot charts, trend lines, funnels, etc)

Cons

Lacks the design flexibility and some of the features that are available for Qlik View

Sagar K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Perfect BI tool for data analysis and Mining

Reviewed on 2018/07/03

Pros

Great tool that allow you to slice and dice your data at super fast speed. It can parse huge amount of data and have it readily available for your analysis. Another super cool thing about the tool is ability to connect to so many different data sources

Cons

The expansion of the system is a pain, since it parse all the data onto RAM, you need to increase your server/machine capability tremendously to be able to process more data

Juan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A product that keeps improving over time

Reviewed on 2019/07/08

Pros

The latest upgrades to the product has been really great, there's a new feature to analyze data on a glance, giving you suggestions of analysis to make automatically depending on the column names that you uploaded, this is only one feature that impress me but there so much more with qlik sense, a product to recommend for sure.

Cons

Depending on which extensions you have been using maybe some of theme not work in the last version and you need to wait for the developer to upgrade them but many other are ok you can check hem out in qlik market.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the best data visualization tool

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

Pros

This is a perfect software for analytics and data visualization projects. Very user friendly and easy to integrate with legacy systems for data consolidation.

Cons

I don´t have cons to raise about the tool.

Ching-shih Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great and only getting better

Reviewed on 2020/06/27

Pros

Qlik sense has made it quick and easy for us to provide access and insights into data to our users.

Cons

In our implementation, it's hard to say what all the 3rd party extensions are and can do -- takes some exploration and trial and error before being able to find useful extensions.

Benoit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Review for QlikSense

Reviewed on 2019/03/05

A lot of reporting automated

Pros

Easy and powerful software to drive the company on a daily basis

Cons

Very expensive software, licences and consultancy

Michel L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good, but not for our use case

Reviewed on 2020/06/22

I believe the software is good but we already have a data warehouse and Cognos 11 installed. This software is a bit redundant for us.

Pros

I like the flexible licenses as well as the possibilities for a power user. The setup is fairly easy to setup as well.

Cons

Many third-parties, some with expensive pricing. The QMC interface could use some work. The pop-up menus are too small. Set analysis are hard for non-it users to use in a self service environment.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to implement but working with dates seems harder than it needs to be.

Reviewed on 2017/05/14

Pros

Ease of use. Ease to build visuals. Ease to export data. Auto sizing for multiple devices allows for dynamic builds.

Cons

Working with dates is way harder than it should be. Setting up data restrictions based on user logins is a little clumsy.

James A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best analytical toolset on the market

Reviewed on 2017/05/02

Great Job!

Pros

Ease of use, quick training, rich connected data, easily see connections that you never thought of before.

Cons

Where were you in 1985? I really need to get my leadership on board with this so that we can demonstrate all the possibilities.