AppAnnie

4,2 (13)
Analytics software & competitor intelligence for mobile apps

Overall rating

4,2 /5
(13)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
4,4/5
Customer Support
3,8/5

85%
recommended this app

13 Reviews

Andrey R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for mobile analytics and app store optimization

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Firstly, it helps me to create a more effective marketing plan with more statistics which can be analyzed. Second, development issues are being solved earlier.

Pros

App Annie is a very good choice when you have to do some analysis and predict your performance after some further development. You can start with a free account which looks reliable and user-friendly. I like that the App Annie has easy instructions and guided walkthroughs which saved many hours trying to figure out how it works.

Cons

After the free period, it would be great if there is a bigger choice of pricing options, not just one Premium option.

Nick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Superb - but pricey

Reviewed on 2016/11/15

App Annie is great. It's a superb tool to look deeper at your own performance metrics; but equally superb for competitive analysis; but it comes with a price as each country and platform increases the investment level. The only other negative, which is the same with all tools, is that sometimes the data differs from ad analytic sources

Pros

Deep Data across all Apps
Good customer service and help offered

Cons

Can be expensive if you want really deep data.
Data not always aligned with other sources
Free version can be quite limiting on date range and countries
The App store optimization tools are useful; but would be great for a deeper comparison with competitors.
Would be great to have a deeper look a competitors advertising creative and placement.

Ziv S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Competitive tool

Reviewed on 2021/12/31

Pros

The way we can track the organic keywords ranking

Cons

The way we can track the paid keywords ranking

Sam L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Very limited free features; be nice if there was a free trial of paid features

Reviewed on 2019/05/02

We currently use App Annie as a free tool for our organization to track keyword rankings, DAUs & MAUs, and the breakdown of users and app store conversion rates so we can compare to similar tools such as AppFollow and the respective App Stores. Our internal marketing department uses App Annie to compare app data sources and understand reliable metrics.

App Annie solves problems with app store data discrepancies - specifically download volumes and conversion rates across countries.

Pros

Most ASO keyword tools only offer 20-30 free keywords. App Annie provides 100 free keywords if you are on the free plan. This is extremely helpful to be able to track important keywords for iOS and Android, along with looking into other countries.

Servicing clients from multiple parts of the world, it's important to know how our app is performing outside the US App Store. With App Annie, we are able to see where our app ranks in each country's respective store and if our app is trending upward or downward.

App Annie connects to 3rd party paid media and ad revenue platforms extremely well. The data across our Facebook Ads and Apple Search Ads matches exactly with App Annie pulls in. This is extremely important as this helps us determine CPI and cost-per-lead from those sources with App Annie.

Cons

After nearly considering a paid plan with App Annie, I decided not to purchase because of the broken trust that stemmed from their sales team. I often got cold-calls from their reps - even when I never contacted them for a sales member to call me. I was bombarded for about 2 weeks straight with phone calls and hard-core sales emails with just asking to talk, no questions or personalization. This cold, unwanted and unwelcome outreach solidified my decision not to purchase.

App Annie is extremely limited if you are on the free plan. While you can garner some golden nuggets from the free plan, it's extremely difficult to make needle moving decisions based on the free data. It would be great if App Annie would disclose pricing on their website, plus have a non-free/enterprise plan were you could pick and choose features they offer.

Alternatives Considered

AppFollow

Reasons for Switching to AppAnnie

When comparing the free versions of App Annie and AppFollow, App Annie falls short. Not only is AppFollow more intuitive, it provides better data export integrations such as Slack (view and respond to reviews real-time), Google Analytics, multiple CRMs, etc. App Annie allows for none of these things, they are more of a data aggregate. AppFollow also has a live intercom chat to help with any problems, something that App Annie is lacking when it comes to support. The only thing that App Annie wins at is connecting to the App Stores and pulling in download and conversion volumes, and allowing for 100 keywords versus 20.
Amiril F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good tool for apps performance monitoring

Reviewed on 2021/10/29

It's helpful software to see and compare how our apps performed with competitors. They also have a routine research papers and/or webinar that user can utilize.

Pros

I mostly use the comparison and competitive insights features in Appannie for our monthly reports. I can easily compare our apps with other competitors, this is to see how are are doing and what can be improved.

Cons

I use their alert management for app rating spikes, however after I double check in the app store, I think their rating information mentioned in the email is not the correct rating.

Omer S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Detailed and Accurate Analytics for Android and IOS Apps

Reviewed on 2020/10/30

A great tool to search for trending and rising keywords. But not so flexible and easy to use.

Pros

It is the best analytics and stats display online software so far. I used many software's but found app Annie to be the best among them all. It shows very accurate and updated results daily. Rising keywords are the best option to use in the description for android apps. It suggests an organized data according to rankings and highlights any new keywords which gain popularity. You can also integrate your app in the App Annie website to see the results which are frequently updated.

Cons

So many features are disabled in the free version. The software offers many useful features but they are complex to learn and understand. App Annie does not have any internal demo or guide to teach people in detail how to use those features. Some examples compare feed, insights generator, alert feed etc. Guidance and assistance are granted only if you upgrade to the upper version. Moreover, I personally do believe that software is expensive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easily aggregate your app data

Reviewed on 2018/08/14

Pros

It's easy to implement. Nice tool to aggregate your app/platform data. Also freemium features are very cool and sufficient.

Cons

It's too expensive if you would like to purchase paid version of it. The freemium version lacks of deeper market data. Also it's not easy to export data from this tool. It doesn't have native connections.

Vishal B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Insights to your App Using AppAnnie

Reviewed on 2019/02/13

Pros

1. The interface is very user-friendly and it is very to use. It also provides detailed documentation for one to go through it and understand the steps.
2. Provides an integrated view of the app and good statistics to make the decision-making more data-driven.

Cons

1. There is nothing much negative or cons about AppAnnie; only thing is around the pricing aspect. It is a little expensive.

Kimberly C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Awesome!

Reviewed on 2019/02/06

Pros

I loved that it does what it is told it does.

Cons

Nothing bad nor negative about this at all.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

A good product to get analytics done

Reviewed on 2018/03/20

Pros

The ease of using this product - Its very easy to use . One doesn't need much training to use this. The kind of analytics it provides are really useful for business growth.

Cons

There is nothing as such which I don't like. The company behind this product can surely work on adding more features.

Stephen D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

App Annie is great for ASO Keywords

Reviewed on 2020/01/16

Pros

The free version of App Annie is great to track basic ASO measures such as reviews and rankings. They Keyword tool is really useful to see what keywords your app is ranking for and in what markets.

Cons

I would love to have the full version of App Annie however for a micro-company with only one app and basic advertising revenue it's just way too expensive and completely not accessible for us.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

App Annie review

Reviewed on 2019/05/21

Pros

The software is very intelligent, you can easily see that they have worked on every part of the software carefully. There are too many data that can really help you to grow your business.

Cons

Well, the pricing is high. I think it is calculated only for big companies. It will be hard for small startups or one person companies to afford it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Default along with sensor tower

Reviewed on 2020/11/28

Helpful for Aso aand for tracking our performance vs peers

Pros

Most people I know use app annie along with sensor tower for any aso work. It helps monitor app performance and of competitors

Cons

Customer service can be lacking at times. Coverage of smaller market countries limited. Limited database of old appstore pages.