App Annie Reviews

App Annie

Analytics software & competitor intelligence for mobile apps

4.3/5 (8 reviews)
Nick M.

Superb - but pricey

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/11/15
Review Source: GetApp

App Annie is great. It's a superb tool to look deeper at your own performance metrics; but equally superb for competitive analysis; but it comes with a price as each country and platform increases the investment level. The only other negative, which is the same with all tools, is that sometimes the data differs from ad analytic sources

Pros

Deep Data across all Apps
Good customer service and help offered

Cons

Can be expensive if you want really deep data.
Data not always aligned with other sources
Free version can be quite limiting on date range and countries
The App store optimization tools are useful; but would be great for a deeper comparison with competitors.
Would be great to have a deeper look a competitors advertising creative and placement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sam L.

Very limited free features; be nice if there was a free trial of paid features

Used Monthly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

We currently use App Annie as a free tool for our organization to track keyword rankings, DAUs & MAUs, and the breakdown of users and app store conversion rates so we can compare to similar tools such as AppFollow and the respective App Stores. Our internal marketing department uses App Annie to compare app data sources and understand reliable metrics.

App Annie solves problems with app store data discrepancies - specifically download volumes and conversion rates across countries.

Pros

Most ASO keyword tools only offer 20-30 free keywords. App Annie provides 100 free keywords if you are on the free plan. This is extremely helpful to be able to track important keywords for iOS and Android, along with looking into other countries.

Servicing clients from multiple parts of the world, it's important to know how our app is performing outside the US App Store. With App Annie, we are able to see where our app ranks in each country's respective store and if our app is trending upward or downward.

App Annie connects to 3rd party paid media and ad revenue platforms extremely well. The data across our Facebook Ads and Apple Search Ads matches exactly with App Annie pulls in. This is extremely important as this helps us determine CPI and cost-per-lead from those sources with App Annie.

Cons

After nearly considering a paid plan with App Annie, I decided not to purchase because of the broken trust that stemmed from their sales team. I often got cold-calls from their reps - even when I never contacted them for a sales member to call me. I was bombarded for about 2 weeks straight with phone calls and hard-core sales emails with just asking to talk, no questions or personalization. This cold, unwanted and unwelcome outreach solidified my decision not to purchase.

App Annie is extremely limited if you are on the free plan. While you can garner some golden nuggets from the free plan, it's extremely difficult to make needle moving decisions based on the free data. It would be great if App Annie would disclose pricing on their website, plus have a non-free/enterprise plan were you could pick and choose features they offer.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Easily aggregate your app data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/14
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

It's easy to implement. Nice tool to aggregate your app/platform data. Also freemium features are very cool and sufficient.

Cons

It's too expensive if you would like to purchase paid version of it. The freemium version lacks of deeper market data. Also it's not easy to export data from this tool. It doesn't have native connections.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Andrey R.

Great tool for mobile analytics and app store optimization

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/29
Review Source: Capterra

Firstly, it helps me to create a more effective marketing plan with more statistics which can be analyzed. Second, development issues are being solved earlier.

Pros

App Annie is a very good choice when you have to do some analysis and predict your performance after some further development. You can start with a free account which looks reliable and user-friendly. I like that the App Annie has easy instructions and guided walkthroughs which saved many hours trying to figure out how it works.

Cons

After the free period, it would be great if there is a bigger choice of pricing options, not just one Premium option.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Vishal B.

Insights to your App Using AppAnnie

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/02/13
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

1. The interface is very user-friendly and it is very to use. It also provides detailed documentation for one to go through it and understand the steps.
2. Provides an integrated view of the app and good statistics to make the decision-making more data-driven.

Cons

1. There is nothing much negative or cons about AppAnnie; only thing is around the pricing aspect. It is a little expensive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Kimberly C.

Awesome!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I loved that it does what it is told it does.

Cons

Nothing bad nor negative about this at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

App Annie review

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is very intelligent, you can easily see that they have worked on every part of the software carefully. There are too many data that can really help you to grow your business.

Cons

Well, the pricing is high. I think it is calculated only for big companies. It will be hard for small startups or one person companies to afford it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

A good product to get analytics done

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ease of using this product - Its very easy to use . One doesn't need much training to use this. The kind of analytics it provides are really useful for business growth.

Cons

There is nothing as such which I don't like. The company behind this product can surely work on adding more features.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support