70 reviews
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,2
79% recommended this app
70 reviews
Miguel N.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Solid option for companies seeking a home grown solution !

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

Control of all my IT department, Assets, ticketing, workload, licences, puchases and knowledge base!

Pros

This is a product that will satisfy your needs, but you have to configure it to do so, all the modules are based and linked among them so this will be a easy to use tool!

Cons

there's no service Catalog, but you can cuastomize one in the categorization and schedule module!, I also think that the module regarding to Training could be a bit more rich in terms of having the course materials in there.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jay W.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Just Say NO! to BMC

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2020/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

We had also used Track-it around 10years ago and had warm fuzzy feelings towards it then. The reviews here made it sound like it was still a winner, yet sadly we found our experience this time was completely negative.

From the beginning their sales and licensing team couldn't get our license emailed out and claimed it was blocked yet our firewall never supported their claim.

Response times were not great and it takes more than a few days to even get simple responses.

The sales team has made lots of excuses, told us how since BMC took over that things have steadily gone down hill and when we finally said enough is enough, we got endless run around about a refund.

From this experience we felt like they picked up a once great software to fill out their line- card and didn't do a great job folding it into the their existing package.

I would cation everyone from going with Track-it unless your already more than familiar with BMC and their ways and only if it's not to late to move yourself into a better suite, DO IT!

We researched more and after much testing picked Tool & Asset Manager 2.0 which was half the cost and worked right out of the box with no problems. We rolled out and within a month had the organization audited and tagged.

We can't comment on the rest of the BMC suite so as with all reviews take this one with a grain of salt, but our warm fuzzy feelings from using it before couldn't help the fundamental failures of its present state.

JUST SAY NO TO BMC!

Pros

The software had a nice interface. It's layout is sectioned off so you look at each integration module separately.

Cons

Track-IT has fallen from it's once glory days now that BMC owns it and pushed to have it integrate with their "Free" help-desk. We went looking for Asset management not help-desk and were left with nothing but frustration and disappointment.

The BMC client service installs as part of the network discovery but it will not uninstall. You have to manually remove it.

The 995 package comes with 50 licenses and because it hinges on the help-desk module it can only go out and find 50 endpoints which handicaps you into purchasing more licensing.

It runs over SQL of course like more asset software, however when the software was installed over a fresh copy of 2016 Server it took several sessions with their engineer/helpdesk to get things running which should never have been needed.

The sql services fault and have to be restarted manually which also should never happen repeatedly and their engineer/helpdesk could not correct this.

Last on the list but slightly more important is that they are build on older coding so you can't use special characters in your passwords and there is no two factor authentication. In this day and security critical age, that is the straw that will break your back and find your system possibly for ransom~

Response from BMC Software

I am sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience. I am not sure what you mean by Free help desk as we do not offer a free version. That said, it sounds like you were focused mainly on the client management feature and the things you mentioned should have been resolvable. Sounds like it is too late now but I hope the solution you picked does what you need.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education

Great software for inventory control at a great price

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Ability to manage inventory on large scale

Pros

The ease of use in setting up and allowing me to run audits on all IT equipment. Support was always excellent.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarvesh G.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

GUI

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/11
Review Source: Capterra

Great

Pros

interface is overall good and user friendly

Cons

performance is poor over the time need so optimization techniques for DB

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Migdelia meriyela M.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It has been nice, the self-service and audit modules I like and the support is excellent

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

what I like the most is support attention, they are always available to attend cases, really excellent

Cons

what I like the least is the complexity to issue reports is difficult to use, it would be nice if they improve this part easier, much more management

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Lamar Y.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Help desk made simple

Reviewed on 2016/04/26
Review Source: GetApp

Our company finally decided to leave our homegrown help desk system and purchase a professional system. It was one of the best decisions we made. I managed the help desk at the time and we could never seem to get a handle on things with our self-developed system. Track-It offered everything we needed in an easy to use system. We could track inventory and help desk requests in one system.

Pros

Ease of use, simple interface, great customer support, great reporting, single sign-on.

Cons

Interface is easy to use but looks like it could use a little updating. Seems like they could combine a few screens to reduce the number of clicks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Geraldine S.

Good Product Needs More Custumer Support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

* Trackit allows to create task inside work orders wich its nice
* It manages several types of notifications regarding SLA´s

Cons

* Doesn't have an app for android or ios
* Configuration can be sometimes difficult and not easy to understand

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Bob D.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

BMC Track-It keeps track of our users incidents

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/31
Review Source: Capterra

Generally good. The user experience can be difficult with updates that are not particularly helpful but from a technician perspective, the software does what we need. Reports are hit and miss at times when incidents do not get properly classified, so overhead is a little higher than I would have expected.

Pros

Allows me to manage user requests and keep track of outstanding issues easily.

Cons

Once a classification category has been used, it does not seem to be able to be deleted, which makes changing the classification of incidents a challenge having to scroll through a large number of setup criteria that are no longer used.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Ryan G.

Excellent after training.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/05
Review Source: Capterra

Completely revolutionized our Help Desk and brought the level of staff knowledge up another level.

Pros

The application does so much. It allows you so many options for customization. The ability to not only track the asset, but also see a record of service desk requests is efficient and beneficial.

Cons

What's not to like? If I had to pick something I'd say that at times it can be a little sluggish, but that could be our network and not the application.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Amanda W.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Track-It Helps Me Stay Organized

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/02/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our experience has been great! Helps delegate and track issues in an easy way.

Pros

Track-It Helps Me Stay Organized. I love being able to see all my assigned tickets in one spot and see the updates to the issues. The e-mail notifications are useful, too!

Cons

I don't really have any complaints about the software. We uses it daily and will continue to do so.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dana M.

Simply Wonderful!

Reviewed on 2016/03/02
Review Source: Capterra

For those of you who think that because of the title of this review that this is going to be a fluff piece. You're right! :-) And why not? If a product is worthy of praise, then by golly I'm gonna praise it!

We have been using Track-It for over 2 years now as our Help Desk/Inventory Control Management System. I have personally been in charge of inventorying our assets and administering the system. From beginning to end Track-It has been a product that has been easy to use and simple to manipulate to meet our needs. One of the biggest pros for me is the adaptability of the program to fit our environment. From customizing the user interface to manipulating the custom asset tags we have been able to integrate how we do business into Track-It and allow it to help us do our jobs better.

Customer service with Track-It is phenomenal. From the top to the bottom, any time I need help it has been given in a timely manner and everyone goes beyond the expected level of service to ensure my needs are met.

If you are looking for a solution to help desk/inventory needs, Track-It will meet or exceed your expectations every time!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

John G.
Industry: Public Policy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Springville City uses Track-IT

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Track-It came highly recommended to us several years ago when we were searching for a solution to manage help tickets. The program was easy to install and manage. Employees like having the ability to know what happens to their IT help ticket when they submit. We use the inventory and solutions sections for tracking and information management. This year I had the opportunity to attend my first BMC conference. I found the Track-It classes to be very informative. There are features and function available in the product that we will start using since attending the conference.

Pros

Ticket management.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lance Y.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product for managing people, tasks and equipment

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We purchased Track-it about a year ago to replace a homegrown system. We needed a system that could help us manage both help-desk tickets, equipment and people. Track-it was exactly what we were looking for. As a non-profit we had to be price conscious and this software met all of our needs. Since the installation and launch we have been extremely pleased. The software is very intuitive making it easy for us to get our IT staff up to speed. It allows us to easily keep track of time on task as well as the costs associated with projects and repairs. We definitely feel this was just what we needed.

Pros

Ease of use, intuitive nature, cost tracking abilities, integration with other IT systems.

Cons

Too many screens per task. Could use some auto fill fields. Could be web based instead of a software install.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dennis H.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Track-It

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Seems to accommodate most of our day to day tasks, lacks good OOTB standard reports

Pros

Email Notifications and responses

Cons

Reporting

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Kate W.

Track-It! Helpdesk & Asset Management software still the best value.

Reviewed on 2015/01/28
Review Source: Capterra

Compared to other similar products Track-It! includes many powerful features in the base package and is then very scaleable based on your requirements. The evaluation is a fully functional version of the software and is extremely easy to download and install.
I have been working with Track-It! for the last 14 years and it's always been very well supported and developed.
From a small company with one IT person logging helpdesk calls to a multinational requiring SLA monitoring, detailed asset management, web interfaces and complex reporting, Track-It! can be used to streamline and manage the service desk.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Adam H.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great Product!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Track-It! is a great product with great features! It helps keep our IT department organized and running effectively and efficiently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jamie K.

Track-IT has improved our helpdesk

Reviewed on 2015/01/27
Review Source: Capterra

Since we started using trackit we have seen an increase of online tickets compared to phone calls. The reason for the drop in call volume has to do with the ease of sending in help desk tickets to our department. The only down side I have for trackit would be the reporting. I wish it was easier to created reports than using Crystal Reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Brian K.

mediocre at best

Reviewed on 2015/08/20
Review Source: Capterra

Have used this software for a number of years. The company has been bought by BMC (Remedy). Was hoping for better things but that has not come to fruition. The interface somewhat usable. Have issues with audits failing or not working. Database issues from time to time. And don't get me started about version upgrades are a nightmare (at least the past 3 versions). Licensing for the product is also pain. The email generations for help desk are a joke. Also appears their 1st tier support group is no longer US based. The cost of the software is probably the only reason we have stayed with them this long.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Christine M.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/04/14
Review Source: GetApp
Joseph Z.
Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Track-IT by Numara

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

For the most part, it's a good experience. Their support portal is a little confusing at first but once you're in, their support is very good. I've had to call them a couple times and had my issues resolved quickly.

Pros

The stability of the product. The customization aspect...adding fields. The options seem limitless.

Cons

The user interface for the on prem version is dated. It needs to be updated to look more modern. That's more on me then them. I just don't like the view(s).

Response from BMC Software

Hi Joseph, thanks for the feedback. You should take a look at our new Track-It! 2018 version. It has some great new features, a new modern web interface and is a free upgrade to customers on support. I think it may be exactly what you are looking for.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Good asset management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/03/26
Review Source: Capterra

We manage several hundred computers, users, software licenses and a solutions database in our IT department. We use track-it to automatically audit all devices that connect to our network and keep track of where the item is and who it is assigned to. We also keep track of software licensing and help desk requests and tickets.

Pros

Track-It automates tracking your assets, and help desk tickets easily. It is nice to be able to see what computers we have and what software is installed on them and who is using them.

Cons

The Track-it audit function is sometimes a little buggy with older operating systems.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Paul G.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

TrackIT is an average product that has not changed much in 10 years

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The locally installed sql database is handy for customizations and integrations. Trackit allows for nested work orders, which I've noticed several other products do not have this feature...

Cons

Lets be clear - Trackit is late 90s early 2000s style thick client app. The web client design is very similar to the thick client. Very little thought put into software quality attributes such as speed or usability. The asset inventory client is bug ridden. We could never get the service to inventory the last 15-20% of computer assets. The server side inventory service would routinely crash as well. The limits on custom work order fields were a problem. The global search across work orders is slow (several minutes) and routinely never returns results. Robust search capability is critical in my opinion. Trackit support has somehow convinced itself this is an unsolvable problem. Overall, it is apparent that BMC dev team is focused elsewhere.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Marsha G.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great product, we have used it since 2005! Eleven years and will continue to use it!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

We have used TrackIt since 2005 for mainly help desk tickets and now we are going to expand and utilize more of the features such as TrackIt Web, Inventory, Assets, Reporting,Solutions and many more great options available to us! The price is great and customer service is fabulous ! I would highly recommend this software!

Pros

Awesome!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rik T.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

BMC-Track-IT

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/14
Review Source: Capterra

We are using it to receive and track work orders for the IT and Maintenance departments.

Pros

Self Service work order requests and job tracking

Cons

It has been a little temperamental in communications regarding jobs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sherry P.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Track-It Meets our Needs

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been using Track-It for 8 years now and the application is constantly evolving into a better product. I really like the Help Desk, Self-Service and Auditing modules. It is very easy to use and is a great value for the cost. The one thing that I truly like about the product is the support. They are always there to work through whatever scenario you might have and see it through to the end.

Pros

As stated above, the best part of this product is the support and ease of use.

Cons

Reporting is very cumbersome and not easy to use. I wish there was a more drag and drop feature for reporting instead of using Crystal Reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10