PrestaShop Reviews

PrestaShop

Free Ecommerce Software

4.3/5 (130 reviews)
Ishara M.

the most mainstream CMS all through the world

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/28
Review Source: Capterra

Prestashop is one of the main stages for a web-based business, we use it broadly on structure handcrafted shops, yet you can actually simply introduce it and transfer two or three items and you are done, have a fresh out of the box new online shop. It's very simple to use for apprentices and propelled clients alike.

Pros

Prestashop is by right thought to be a standout amongst the most mainstream CMS all through the world. A large number of website specialists and entrepreneurs pick this substance the board framework among the others and it is anything but an astonishment by any means. On account of its framework adaptability, simple dispatch and establishment you can construct your online store with no unique programming abilities in two or three ticks. It's likely the most effortless approach to make the online retail location. So you've officially chosen to pick a Prestashop as your eCommerce framework for your future online shop, yet you need to test it out first? You positively realize that site creation can be a costly and long haul venture thinking about fashioners and designers compensation. Be that as it may, no stresses! We have a lot for you! With our free Prestashop layouts, you'll get the chance to make your very own site without spending a penny! Features Cloud or Self-facilitating: You can join in minutes for a free store in the PrestaShop cloud or you can download the open source PHP code and host it yourself. Layouts: Similar to Envato's ThemeForest, PrestaShop sells an assortment of excellent topics to expertly tweak your store. Store Builder With a WordPress like a dashboard PrestaShop offers a component rich store development interface, including nitty-gritty item postings, route and pursuit. Shopping basket: PrestaShop coordinates with an assortment of installm

Cons

Breaking points with enormous endeavor, huge expense on framework yet you won't pay for programming. It very well may be hard to redesign real forms, as you need to custom modify all your code and modules. It's moderate, you need to spare your advancement a few times in light of the fact that not generally spares what you do, not excessively prewar web formats.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great Functionality, Large Community, Rather Simple To Use, Very Extendable , Open Source

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/23
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

After trying Magento and Woocommerce I ended up with Prestashop because the other solutions I tried were either too complicated or too simple. Prestashop seems to lie somewhere in the middle.

Before I decided on Prestashop, I did some extensive research to inspect other solutions such as Shopify, Shopware and Oxid. However, the large user and developer base as well as the massive amount of addons available for Prestashop made me switch to Prestashop.

Here is what I especially like about Prestashop:

- The backend is simple enough to get used to quite quickly
- There are a lot of amazing templates you can choose from
- it's rather easy to find Prestashop developers near you, so you're not stuck with an exotic shop system nobody understands
- Multi store/multi language functionality is integrated into Prestashop out of the box

Cons

There is a big transition from 1.6 to 1.7 which is really massive and makes it hard for new store owners. Should I use the old, but stable 1.6 or use the new and potentially incomplete 1.7?

There is a huge debate about 1.7 and it seems to split the community in half. The reason is that the new 1.7 is based on Symfony, a PHP framework that is supposed to make Prestashop development in future simpler. The problem is that switching to the newest version is like switching to a complete new shop software.

Apart from that there are some quirks that are hard to understand. E.g. why the company is based in France, yet it's not fully compliant to EU law out of the box without addons and modifications.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Oscar R.

Complete solution for e-commerce development

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

This has been a great solution for medium brands that process more than 100 orders per month and have some particular functionalitys of management stock with third party shared integrations

Pros

This free software is a complete CMS scalable and cusomizable solution for developing an e-commerce for a brand / client. It counts with a great historical versions and a big community that develops extra functionality like themes and modules so you can search for any solution you need. I see its data base very well structurated and normalized to have a good experience at Query's on them, Very intuitive on that aspect.

Cons

Since the basic process of e-commerce is well developed, the extra functionalitys that particular customer needs can transform into a big cost installing purchasing modules for it.
You need a good capacitation for successful auto - management, and a team of developmentes to customize it and have maintancement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fabian P.

The best online shop platform I ever used

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

If you want a professional store setup you need to take a look at prestashop. Don't be scared by the rugged design, you can change it by buying a premium template builder, and build your store without the need for any code. The simpleness of the platform and easy updating, one click upgrade make it the best free software for most businesses. If you plan on having thousand and thousand of products you are in need of some key modules,but they are easily available and not that expensive. Is it a no brainer for any business man that in order to get the same quality from some other platform you should invest thousands of dollars in it.

Cons

You have to understand what you are doing, maybe whach a few tutorials, and setup your security properly, also keep in mind that are some tweaks for fast caching and the importance of using a CDN.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Scott F.

Decent Online Store Option, But Has Drawbacks

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

I've got a ton of experience with running and configuring Magento, but I wanted to try PrestaShop simply to use something different on my own business storefront to expand my own knowledge, not to mention that Magento needs more power than PrestaShop. Although PS is easy enough to setup and get running, it lacks a few features which I would consider "standard" by today's terms, not to mention that there is also a serious lack of free/opens source plug-ins available for it like Magento has, which includes things like themes. Overall, the store does its job and works well once all the modules are in place, but In the grand scheme, I would consider PrestaShop as a stepping stone to something bigger and better like Magento or more.

Pros

Prestashop is for the large part, free to use, and pretty easy to setup and maintain. Most website hosting companies have a single-click installer for it, making getting started easy. Creating categories, products and advanced products is all very easy with very nice menus and layouts, and the default theme is surprisingly useful. Prestashop also comes with many of today's standard features built-in.

Cons

The cost of the add-on modules for PrestaShop is ridiculous, and so is the platform's reliance on those modules. There is no way to do anything except free or basic flat-rate shipping unless you spend considerable monies on buying realtime rates modules for EACH shipper, or subscribing to a third-party app that combines and does the checking in a single package, which is costly. Accessing anything except the software's basic features can be incredibly clumsy as well.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Lars F.

In my opinion the best open source platform for online stores

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to configure, easy to update ( one click update ), easy to install new modules and themes and builders. One of the most versatile platforms for physical and virtual goods. I have custom made for customers shops with upwards of 1 million products, imported from dropshipping suppliers.
It is very easy to manage, tons of free and premium modules and upgrades.
A solid infrastructure to rely on and different profiles with permission for employs.
Very Reliable for large amounts of traffic.

Cons

Not that great for backups.
Modules and themes don't work from 1.5 to 1.6 to 1.7, have to reorder or to download new version ( incompatible by design of the code ).
Big community but not that active.
Translations needs an upgrade, being made by contributions from authors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Daniel S.

One of the best CMS for shopping

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Prestashop is one of the leading platforms for ecommerce, we use it extensively on building custom made shops, but you can really just install it and upload a couple of products and you are done, have a brand new online shop.
It's very ease to use for beginners and advanced users alike.
It has top knotch addons and modules to be install, free and paid.
The dashboard is amazingly simple and you can find all the tools you just by browsing over the top categories.

Cons

It can be difficult to upgrade major versions, as you have to custom rebuild all your code and modules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Marcela P.

Never fails but could be easier to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/22
Review Source: Capterra

We had great results after changing to PrestaShop, overall it is a great platform and it continues to improve options every year.

Pros

From client side it is actually great. You can see everything you need about your order and can be modified really easy from backend side.
It has a million extensions to add, and you always find new options to improve customer´s experience.

Cons

It has been really hard to find some options to change. Several times we needed a developer to assist. It would be great if even specific options/tools were designed to be modify without the need of hiring someone else to do it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sergio R.

Best E-commerce Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using it for about 5 years. So far, I cannot imagine my business without it. It has most of the functionalities you may need and there are a lot of third-party modules providers that will help you with special and specific features you may need.

Pros

You will find most of the features you may need.
Multiple languages.
Multiple currencies.

Cons

Not able to modify some things, however you will be able to find third-party modules.
I did not have the best experience with customer support so maybe you will have to know about it, use the community support or have someone specialized in it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Aleksandr L.

A good option to create an online store

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been using PrestaShop for many years now and I don’t think to switch to another service. I like the fact that in this CMS it is convenient to work with clients. Using email, I quickly notify clients of new promotions, and the ability to synchronize with popular social networks helps to work with clients outside the site.

Cons

The engine consumes a lot of resources, which is why the server is slow. Since I used other CMS, I can say that the problem is not in the server. PrestaShop is most likely poorly optimized.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gabriel G.

Great software to use for your online store

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is one of the most undervalued softwares in the online space. You can really build your store in just a couple of minutes, with tons of modules and themes also from third parties you can have any type of store, either physical or virtual goods.
With over 1 million websites constructed with this platform is a great asset to build with.

Cons

The difference from major versions is amazing, you have to carefully upgrade on a test website, to not ruin your website. It is best done by a professional

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Florin P.

The easiest way to having a professional ecommerce business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

The best looking online store for our business, with tons of complete house building materials and info.

Pros

The ease of use in everyday situations, the stability through upgrades and the easy of customizations for the front end are top notch. Also the ease to integrate a tone of great themes and modules. The large following it has on forums and discussion boards.

Cons

The seo factor of the website is not that great. I do think that it can be upgraded, in fact I frequently use one or two after market modules to make it seo friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Natalia C.

Good functionality, but low stability

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We used this CMS for exactly 3 years. On the advice of our programmers, the team switched to it from Magenta. Of the advantages, I can point out a cheap tariff, a broader functionality than our previous CMS and the absence of transaction fees.

Cons

CMS is unstable, a lot of mistakes. Plugins that we acquire for an extra charge conflict with each other. For example, if you install a plug-in for currency conversion along with synchronization via e-mail, none of them will work.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great Open-Source Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are using Prestashop for creating the most of our E-commerce products. Open-Source Platform and existing market with plugins - are the main advantages to use Prestashop for small-middle sized projects.

Cons

After updating the version of Prestashop, some of the plugins have to be recorded because the system is alerting us that there are some errors in platform update. In case you have a lot of project on Prestashop at the same time, it consumes quite a lot of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great Open-Source Product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are using Prestashop for creating the most of our E-commerce products. Open-Source Platform and existing market with plugins - are the main advantages to use Prestashop for small-middle sized projects.

Cons

After updating the version of Prestashop, some of the plugins have to be recorded because the system is alerting us that there are some errors in platform update. In case you have a lot of project on Prestashop at the same time, it consumes quite a lot of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Emanuele B.

Best solution to create an ecommerce if you want to build it yourself

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/07/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is awesome for creating ecommerce.
You can install the basic version and start selling in a very short time.
Every operation is optimized at its best and you will spare a lot of time if you sell products with variations.

Cons

You shall pay for every little modification.
There are a lot of plugins but they are not free.
You cannot change the design as you may desire.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Andreina C.

Prestashop is not as simple as they show, but is an option to start your online business

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/05
Review Source

Pros

Prestashop is one of the "cheapest" options in the market to create an online shop in a short time. It has the advantage that you can choose among many predesigned templates, which are certainly very nice and allow you to show the public your products in an attractive way. You can also set up the products in an administrative panel to keep track of the number of products available, prices, you can create discount coupons and much more.

It is a complete software in the sense that you can manage the business from one place.

Cons

However, the installation, uses and features of this program are not as simple as they show in advertising. If you do not have knowledge in programming or computer science, you will necessarily need the help of a professional because there are certain functions that you will not be able to carry out by yourself.

For me was a headache to load the products in the store because the program it is not so intuitive or so practical. If you bought a basic template, little by little you will realize that you will need to buy new modules to perform some important business tasks. These modules have a separate cost, therefore the final investment is much higher than you had originally thought.

To solve a technical problem, you will also need to document a lot and have the time to do it.

I think it is a software that you can buy and use as long as you have a professional that can guide you even before you start, because otherwise you will end up losing time and money.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10

Great no-fees E-Commerce website

Reviewed on 2015/12/10
Review Source

I have been using PrestaShop over the past year as my back-end e-commerce storefront, with a WIX front-end to bring people in, for my partner's online greeting card and wall decor business (http://www.obunny.ca). Have tried to implement the newly-introduced "grid" SKU setting to replace the standard "list" SKU setting, but the software doesn't seem to allow for it. With my PayPal transaction gateway, only about half the transactions seem to show up in PrestaShop's "Orders" stack (thankfully PayPal notifies me that a payment has come in), so I have to manually convert the shopping-cart list into an order. PrestaShop offers many free modules which can be added on to your site, including social media links, LiveChat, etc.

Pros

No monthly fees, easy integration with PayPal payment gateway.

Cons

Limited technical support, which relies mainly on user groups who might or might not respond to your question. Shipping costs do not always calculate accurately, and multiple shipping cost options (eg. regular parcel mail, Next-day Air, 2-day Air) for customers to choose from could be a nice improvement to add in. When modules are updated, it is all too easy to re-install the "default" content which the module provide, rather than continuing on with your custom content.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alfredo R.

it a great program to star an e-commerce business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

professional tools because it's a very common tool that every e-commerce business use.

Pros

It's an easy to use program, friendly UX, responsive, it covers all the basic needs for a basic e-commerce business, great library of admins to upgrade your business

Cons

It's slow, you have to save your progress several times because not always saves what you do, not that prewar web templates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ralph N.

Prestashop - Don't use for lots of products

Reviewed on 2016/01/20
Review Source

I have three stores now with Prestashop, which I have been using for over six years. I would say that the older versions worked perfectly well and I had no problems. I would have given 5 stars in all areas. (I am talking version 1.6.0.9 or thereabouts)
Unwittingly "upgrading" to the latest versions, I'm now on 1.6.0.14, has rendered Prestashop almost unworkable. It only works now for me thanks to the brilliant paid add-on Store Manager.
My two sites with fewer products - 20 and 1200 respectively, work fine still.
My main site, which is my main source of income has 4,500 products. I cannot edit or save products (which is where Store Manager comes in). The search indexing does not work. CSV product import will not work. Database backups always time out. There are frequent errors with Payment gateways. Every recommended update usually causes new problems.
All this despite the fact that I am using the default template and have made no code changes.
Support is absolutely zero. My problems have been well discussed on the forums for over two years and are common. The programmers do nothing. I am not a programmer. I have spent over $2000 on programming help over the last two years just to keep my site running - and Prestashop is supposed to be "Open Source" and free.
I would highly recommend Prestashop if you have few products, but I would say that if you start to go over 2000 then in my experience it simply does not work. The programmers are too busy making add ons which they make money on, than getting the basic shell to work.
Transferring to another cart now would be a nightmare, largely because of the huge number of product photos, I think about 30,000 now.

Pros

Brilliant for a small number of products, say up to 2000 - 2,500. Runs like clockwork

Cons

If you have a large number of products, don't waste your time or money, Prestashop does not work, unless you can install the old version 1.6.0.9 (download links are still available)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dasha S.

Convenient to work and collect statistics

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have been working with CMS PrestaShop for over a year. I like the platform because it easily integrates with social networks and data collection tools. Our company has easily worked with Facebook, Twitter and Google Analytics.

Cons

We have a fairly large online store, which is visited by about 500 people per day. This leads to a heavy load on the server. I'm afraid that with the development of the site will only get worse.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Giorgi G.

One of the best user-friendly free shopping cart software

Reviewed on 2016/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

I've started using the PrestaShop around 2 years ago and I'm still into this system.
The experience with the system I got during all this time and throughout my several projects is enough to write ah honest review about the system.

Starting with the advantages, the biggest advantage of the PrestaShop is its huge support community which is the best ever help a developer can dream of. Discussion boards with active users make a big difference. Furthermore, one of the biggest advantages is also the administration panel of the PrestaShop which is way easy to use than say other competitor platforms. What's more important for me is the extended functionality and efficiency. The function ility is far more than any user would ever think to want to have on their websites and as for efficiency, PrestaShop is lightweight and well optimised, thus not loading the servers.

As for the disadvantages, there are of course some. The biggest disadvantage is that most of the most useful functionalities require the additional investments to have installed in my PrestaShop. What I also noticed, in a case of big products quantity, Prestashop does not function as well as it initially did.

To conclude, PrestaShop is good for starting the e-commerce. The system works well with medium or a small number of products, but PrestaShop's efficiency, when there are 100 products isn't any better than when there are 1000. Overall, I would suggest this to the beginner in e-commerce users.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

I was able to set it up myself - with no IT knowledge

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/01/04
Review Source

Pros

Great functionality and simple to use design. It is possible to set it up with no special IT skills, just some general experience with tools like Wordpress etc. There is a variety of add-ons and widgets which make it highly flexible. You can find anything you need either for free or for cheap money. No need for expensive developers for tailored solutions.

Cons

The templates are pricey when comparing to other tools. There is a lot of work when adding new products - some of the fields are required while they should not be. For example for online products it is quite complex to set it up as my needs were much simpler than what was required. And I could not change the settings easily to require less information from customer etc.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jamie H.

Great open source software although very buggy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's free and relatively easy to use. I like the fact that there are lots of modules you can add on to create better functionality

Cons

There are lots of bugs in the software which never seem to get sorted and a lot of the add on modules cause conflicts with other modules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Marvin L.

Amazing open source e-commerce software that outshines the competition

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- a ton of features
- marketplace with many templates and integrations (payment providers, logistics, analytics, etc.)
- everything is open source available on GitHub
- extremely easy installation (even my granny could do it)
- you can use a hosting company that you like
- can be used internationally
- very fair pricing

Cons

- disabling third-party trackers completely is a bit too complex

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10