RapidMiner Reviews

RapidMiner

Predictive data analytics software

4.4/5 (16 reviews)
Maynard john S.

The data scientist's swiss knife: Fast and Easy Machine Learning through RapidMiner Studio

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall my experience with using RapidMiner was great. It allowed me to rapidly try out different machine learning models and compare each result with one another. It also allowed me to conveniently address my workflow without having to write code. It is a great tool for students and people without a strong programming background. Its well documented functions and strong community addresses what ever questions I had with the processes.

Pros

One of the daunting requirements for data scientists and data storytellers is learning a programming language such as matlab and python and writing code for their tasks. This is on top of having to analyze and learn complex algorithms needed for the task. This can be a time consuming problem, especially for those who are not adept at programming. However, this is now a thing of the past because of RapidMiner Studio.

This is because RapidMiner features are drag and drop visual interface which makes all the difference. Data preparation to the final output and visualization is as simple as dragging blocks of your workflow into a canvas and connecting them altogether.

RapidMiner Studio also has most of the machine learning models used in the academe and the industry. One of the difficulties when dealing with code is tweaking the parameters of these models but because of the visual interface, you could simply click on the process and update this.

RapidMiner is also well documented. Each of the processes has their description, input, output, and parameters well described. Tutorial videos as well as blogs are available on their website. And finally, RapidMiner Studio has a community of data scientists that can help you when you have a question.

Cons

What I found to be very inconvenient is that the application crashes at times. This may be a problem limited to my own machine.

Aside from this I found that the application seems to hog my computers memory and cpu resources. This may be because the application is running on Java (VM). This may not be a problem for people with a higher spec machine.

I also found that the application lacks collaboration features which may be something that they could improve on in the future.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Rashid C.

Great tool for data analytics!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Great data analytic and visualization tool!

Pros

No coding skills needed! Rapidminer is a GUI tool that you can connect boxes on a canvas to conduct data anlysis, this serves as a great introduction to data analytics.

Free for students! You can get a provisional liscence with a dot edu account. This is a great perk of the software.

Data analytics and data visualization tools are available within the software with a plethora of other features!

Cons

Very buggy! The software tends to crash often, this is especially more common with things such as neural networks etc.

Limitations of some versions! Even with the student version there is a limit of 10,000 rows of output, so if you are trying to do analysis on a 12,000 point data set , 2000 points will randomly be omitted.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Khurram M.

Excellent tool for Data Mining

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Started using this software a few months ago, and its shear power is amazing. The number of things the user can do with this software are amazing

Cons

Sometimes, while handling big data, like having large number of examples and attributes, it takes a lot of time. The cumulative time increase, when the user is optimizing manually different attributes based on the results

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Parinaz J.

Easily do your data mining

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I learnt how to do data mining with this software. I can only say it is perfect even for new learners. When I started data mining the concept itself was new to me and I did not want to do complicated programming to do my data mining. That is why I chose RapidMiner. It is so easy to use and it provides lots of hint how to use each icon. I really prefer RapidMiner if I want to get my data mined faster and easier. Highly recommended.

Cons

The help section was not %100 complete. It has many explanation but examples are not good explained.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Francis M.

Its simplicity enables one to do data science and the best part is you can customize as per need.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very comfortable to use especially for a beginner and since it can be supported in any platform and excellent form of teaching.Makes machine learning easy

Cons

A bit pricey to acquire but worth it at the end and it can consume a lot RAM sometimes your computer freezes

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Emad M.

Toward sophisticated data analytics :RapidMiner

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

I use RapidMiner for data analytics, data mining, classification and clustering in construction management.

Pros

1- Friendly interface, robust software operation

2- Easy to learn

3- It support several data types

Cons

Graphic plotting capabilities compare to R is low, I think this important feature that make RapidMiner stronger.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Fairly straight forward analytics

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

I'm using the basic version but was surprised to be able to easily analyse my small data set and identify a few interesting trends very swiftly.

Usually I'd do basic analysis manually with SQL and gnuplot, but can see myself using to Rapidminer more in future (not something I thought I'd say)

Pros

Provides a surprising array of different analytical templates from to off. Very easy to get up and running, an online tutorial videos quickly show how to use the different analytical reports.

Cons

I always prefer free versions of software to be open source, but that's perhaps being too picky.

Learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Yehia E.

Great tool for Proof of Concept purposes

Reviewed on 2017/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

I used RapidMiner a lot for doing proof of concept of some machine learning models before going to the production. It is really easy to construct a machine learning workflow, including loading data, features selection and cleaning, applying machine learning models and visualization. Sometimes, RapidMiner does not work well with big data as it requires a lot of memory to process the data. However, for me, it is the best tool yet to do pre-production experiements.

Pros

Easy to use.
Perfect for non-technical users.
RapidMiner includes a lot of Machine Learning libraries and algorithms.
Easy to construct simple and understandable machine learning workflows

Cons

Does not scale well with the big data.
Some visualization techniques are ambiguous.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ambreen Z.

Userfriendly Interface for ETL

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/17
Review Source: Capterra

It's a good platform while applying predictive analytics on any dataset with a user friendly interface to have the true picture of the future.

Pros

Visual workflow designer is the best part for predictive analytics.
I really like drag n drop interface for generating models.
Prebuilt templates are quite useful.

Cons

It's not always free. You need to purchase it if you wana work with more than 10000 rows.
Its processing becomes too slow (almost hangs) while working with terabyte or petabyte of data.
Sometimes, it becomes difficult to handle hundreds of models available.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

4.0/10
Navid H.

do you need to analyze the data?

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I had a big data set I should analyze and didn't have any clue about data mining that's where I was introduced with rapid miner and I analyzed my data in less than a day. so I can just say its so easy and pretty simple and perfect.

Cons

I couldn't find any instructions and manual as a guideline for using it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Best bang for your buck analytics tool, but only for Windows

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/30
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This tool is basically identical to Alteryx, but substantially cheaper - making it a better value pick

Cons

This tool only worked well for my teammates who are in Windows....anyone who was using Mac had consistent issues (even after reinstalls), making it hard to pick for a team that uses both Windows and Mac

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Howard M.

Very fast work and excellent presentation of results

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/06
Review Source: Capterra

I combined RapidMiner with R and it is a wonderful tool. It is the best in the market to build useful information from the result of data ming process.

Pros

Easy of use, fast, really nice presentation of results.

Cons

The expansion through code is not easy. It has a lot of functionalities but in some locations you got stuck and need to implement in other way.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great tool to enter with Data Science Analysis and Machine Learning

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

I used Rapid Miner in a certification of Big Data and Machine learning. It was tremendous support on the first stage of this courses

Pros

Graphic tool with lot of Predictive tools .
Support Python code
Support easy and complex of data sources
Great tool for beginners and experts

Cons

Needs a good computer to support the engine.
Output Graphics are not the best and I used excel to improve my presentations

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Melissa S.

Rapid Miner is a fantastic tool for machine learning!

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/07
Review Source: Capterra

It allowed us to do predictions on our data without having to be an experienced Data Scientist

Pros

It's so intuitive and easy to use. You can have a machine learning model built in just minutes and the price is great too! The best thing is that I don't have to be an experienced Data Scientist to work with this too. It's a great tool at a great price and very easy to use compared to other tools on the market!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

RapidMiner Data Modelling

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to transform data and model
easy to use machine learning algorithms
Options for feature customization

Cons

webservice is difficult to use
the GUI is not aesthetic

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dimitris D.

Good but demanding

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/07/27
Review Source: Capterra

I used Rapid Miner as part of a data mining lab at the university. It was pretty amazing what can be done with just a few clicks.

Pros

It makes data mining extremely easy even for beginners. Has many ready to go mining methods and drag and drop design.

Cons

It is very resource hungry. Makes memory full after a while. Despite its ease of use, it is also easy to get lost with so many features.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10