275 reviews

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
85%
recommended this app
275 reviews
Kyle C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Scheduling Made Simple!

Reviewed on 2016/07/12

ShiftPlanning has been used at our facility for one year now. We are a college campus environment. Thus, scheduling for student workers can be a great challenge due to their dropping and adding classes and potential to working multiple part-time jobs, and of course, due to the differing course load, each student takes on. In the past, we used excel in combination with a learning management system to communicate and maintain student worker scheduling. I am the scheduler for student workers in our area. We have around 8-10 student workers, give or take which part of the year we are scheduling for. We schedule our shifts in a non-linear method. We like the availability feature that ShiftPlanning has. It is a static "when I am not available" table that you or your workers can fill out. At this point I supply entries into these availability tables based on student class schedules and external employment. We do this to prevent students from falsifying availability. ShiftPlannning has a pre-generate schedule wizarding system. This allows managers to schedule weeks, or months ahead of time, based on their current availability. If you are a manager for a college campus, then you may want to consider only doing this once a month for summers, and once a semester for spring and fall. You will be changing availability frequently during the beginning of each semester, almost all summer, and also during finals week. Duplicating the schedule for each week is as easy as two or three button taps on your mouse. Once a schedule is more concrete then this is super easy. During the high volatile periods mentioned above, we highly recommend not scheduling ahead of time. Just do one or two weeks worth of scheduling and make sure to communicate to everyone that the schedule will have a high degree of change. We have also enjoyed the use of the ping feature and other notifications to communicate to students when they should be at work.

Pros

The strongest features of ShiftPlanning are the many methods for communicating when a worker is to work (general scheduling), when policy changes or other changes at work need to be quickly and easily assimilated to all employees (dashboard notifications), and when notifications need to be sent to just individuals (ping). All of this communication can be managed in ShiftPlanning. Workers can set up their cell phones to receive important notifications. Administrators can control which methods are mandatory and which communication methods are not. A worker can elect to be notified via email and/or text prior to their shift starting. Workers can access ShiftPlanning from any device since this a cloud-based service. Workers are able to make vacation requests ahead of time, even when there is nothing posted for the actual schedule yet. We would recommend a 2-week requirement for this type of request. Otherwise, student workers can request off via a trade shift or drop-shift option, if short notice is provided. All trades can be set to approval first by manager. It is super easy to setup different worker types by area, or by responsibilities. Thus, if you are budgeting out hours between different areas (positions) then you can easily view the subtotal for each while scheduling who should work when. It also gives you a clear distinction in schedule mode as to who can actually work during the designated times you are generating (i.e. 10 AM ' 12 PM, 1 PM ' 2 PM').

Cons

The only concern that we have is with tweaking the trade shift and trade drop feature. Workers who are shown as available for the entire shift don't have the option to select parts of a shift that they are actually available for. Important meetings or events outside of work cannot always be accounted for using the availability feature. The only way this can be done is to not use a static schedule and go to making a policy for weekly updates. Then making it the student worker's responsibility to maintain their own work availability. In our case, we want to stay with a static scheduling system to help reduce the sense of a changing hectic work schedule for our student workers. Thus, students will benefit by having the ability to select from a portion of a shift trade rather than having only the option to pick up all or none of the shift being made available.

Roy K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Low-Hassle Shift-Planning

Reviewed on 2019/04/26

Overall, Humanity is an effective way to organize employee scheduling. It is extremely easy to pick up and use, and it allows employees to have a greater freedom over their shifts through the ability to trade. Although this process is complicated at first, it definitely gets easier as you use it. The reminders are useful, and help with timeliness for shifts.

Pros

My favorite thing about Humanity is that it is incredibly easy to view and handle shifts without actually having to talk to a boss in-person. This streamlines this process, saving time for both supervisors and employees. Additionally, it has a simple and intuitive user interface and I was able to pick up most of the features without any in-depth training within several weeks. I also like that it automatically reminds you that you have a shift coming up a day before and an hour before the shift starts, thus making sure that employees are less likely to miss or be late to shifts.

Cons

The process of trading shifts is difficult, and especially difficult on the mobile app. Additionally, configuring availability hours takes a long time, however this only needs to be done once, unless availability changes regularly. The mobile app is also hard to navigate, as some of the icons can get confusing, however you won't need to do much more than clock in and out using the app - the rest can be done easily on a computer.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Roy,
We're glad Humanity has been so useful to your team. We're always striving to upgrade both desktop and mobile app user experience, so thank you for acknowledging our efforts and providing suggestions for improvement. If you have any specific proposals, you can send them to [email protected], and for any difficulties you might experience, please feel free to reach out to our Support Team via Live Chat.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall decent but lacks robust tools for WFM

Reviewed on 2018/08/01

Pros

the UI is simple and clean with appealing and customizable colors, etc. user profiles are also clean & tidy without completely superfluous fields. they have a payroll estimate tool which we never used but i'm sure it's handy. adding or deleting shifts is very straightforward though at times, buggy. customizable views and filters make it easy to gain info at a glance - either week views or month views. there's all the basics like shift trades, clocking in & out, grabbing open shifts, setting recurring schedules, etc. reporting capabilities are again all the basics but not the most robust.

Cons

as our team grew we were very much in need of a forecasting feature to compare staffing the expected volume (call center environment). we started adding part-time team members who only worked 1-2 hours at a time or on completely varying schedules... executing this week over week was incredibly manual. only after we had already signed with a new company did humanity release a new feature that answered half this equation, which visually showed how many were on hour by hour (still very basic even when it was released). humanity just wasn't moving fast enough to meet our needs. CSM was very hands-off and when we did have calls with him they were very curt. (it's more of a self-service model)

Jamie A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

So easy to use!

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

Pros

Humanity has a very clean and simple user interface that makes it super easy to use. After using other apps to try mobile clock-ins, Humanity is definitely the best option out there that I've tried. They recently added options for push, email and sms notifications which were a much needed feature.

Cons

I think there are few little features that could be added to make it more helpful. We have an issue in our practice where employees often forget to clock in or out. It would be great if there was an option to adjust our own time sheets (if permitted by employers of course) or at least the ability to add a note to or flag a particular completed shift so that administrators would know the time entry needs to be adjusted.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Jamie!

We're thrilled to hear you find Humanity super easy to use and the best option out there!

Adding features or enhancements to our app is something we'll do perpetually.

Check out www.humanity.com/blog for the latest Platform Updates and Product News.

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback!

Kind Regards,

The Humanity Team

Ashlee C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Security & Investigations
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Humanity is a terrific value!

Reviewed on 2017/04/14

Overall Humanity offers the best "bang for your buck". I've researched all the competition and they far exceed others in the market. There is still room for improved and enhanced functionality, I have hope they will dominate in the next few years.

Pros

Ease of use and functionality. The staff is pretty responsive and there are a good amount of online resources. The app works flawlessly and the desktop version is very intuitive and user friendly.

Complete control for updating user preferences and passwords is a great feature!

Cons

There is still room for improvement. For example, employee time cards are difficult to use - it would be great if there were a multi step process where employees and supervisors can approve timesheets.

Similarly, the vacation time tracking is a nightmare.

Geneviève B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Good app but

Reviewed on 2019/01/29

Pros

From a IT standpoint, Humanity is good scheduling app. It has a few issues from time to time, for overall satisfied with the application.

Cons

However, their service client is horrible. We have been with Humanity over 5 years now. And we so unsatisfied with the service that we looking at our options. They literally take you for granted as a customer and never get back to you. You have to run after them constantly and hope to get an answer. When they promise to get back to you, they don’t or tell you they sent you an email, which you of course never received.

For example, we had a new request regarding a service that they advised on their app (payroll integration). When we went forward with the change, they never got back to us. After multiple follow-ups on our end, they tell us our request is ‘’not a priority for them’’ - for a service THEY advertise. When we complained, they told us they would be getting back to us the following week. That was Nov 2018. We are Jan 2019, and I have let you receive a proper follow-up even after my multiple attempts.

The app is not worth the service. I would recommend another one.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Geneviève,
We apologize for your experience. We believe every customer interaction should be treated equally. Each one is an opportunity to learn how we can improve their daily work life and our services. We are currently in contact with Employeur D, and are working with them to provide a solution. We will update you as soon as we can. Your time is valuable. The feedback you've provided is invaluable. Thank you.

Nathaniel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The easier way to manage shifts

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

Overall humanity helped to organize employees, create a simpler way to communicate, and remove the burden of shift planning.

Pros

Humanity makes it easier for companies to manage their employees shifts, have employees clock in and out. Employees can also mark them selves for leave and communicate with others in an easy to use way that makes working that much easier.

Cons

Overall I enjoyed using Humanity at my previous workplace, but there were a few annoying things like when the organization tried to "double book" an employee on purpose (for instance if the employee was managing two areas).

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Nathaniel,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Making employee management more straightforward and intuitive is our primary goal, while also striving for a balanced approach that provides more agency to the employees. We would appreciate it if you would send us more details about the "double book" issue you mentioned at [email protected] Thank you in advance.

Genevieve G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Gives managers like myself more time to do more productive work.

Reviewed on 2016/12/02

ShiftPlanning has been great for us as a company. We moved from spreadsheets to ShiftPlanning and it helped us manage our schedules better. It gave us a better view of our operations as a whole and helped see where we needed to make adjustments quicker. The self-service for employees is great as this gets them to be a part of the work of scheduling by submitting their availability and day off requests. It definitely keeps us more organized. It is very efficient to use and gives managers like myself more time to spend on other big impact projects!

Pros

Being able to see the operations as a whole, able to see all departments at once.

Cons

The reports aren't very great!

Geoff L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

"Oh, The Humanity!" :0D

Reviewed on 2017/04/17

Our retail food business has saved much scheduling time and effort since adopting the Humanity platform in 2016. Not to mention the fact that our team has benefited greatly in communicating with one another through Humanity. These things considered, I would recommend the Humanity platform for any business in the market to upgrade their team's scheduling and communication practices. Thank you, Humanity Team!

Pros

Scheduling and Communication capabilities

Cons

Not able to easily "track" employees (eg. sickness, FMLA absence, performance failures - unexcused absence from work, no shows, tardiness, etc.)

Melanie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool for our transportation company

Reviewed on 2017/04/19

I've been using Humanity (former ShiftPlanning) for over 2 years and I love how the software keeps evolving. It offers a planning and communication platform all employees, including non-office.

Pros

User friendly interface on the desktop version.

Cons

Mobile app

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Love It

Reviewed on 2018/11/15

Pros

I love Humanity. Very easy to use and figure out, especially when you’re new to it. It’s layout and set up is deceptively simple and feels fairly intuitive. Easy for employers and employees alike.

Cons

A little bit clunky. It could use some updates, like getting rid of useless buttons or redundant clicks.

Sara N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Humanity is great for keeping track of your time sheet.

Reviewed on 2018/04/17

Pros

Humanity allows you to view multiple weeks at a time. You can also clock in or out for a shift remotely by accessing your location.

Cons

It is difficult to edit or revise your time clock via Humanity. It has also wiped the time sheet in the past.

Céline P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use and time saving

Reviewed on 2017/05/03

Pros

Great user interface, messaging and notification between employees, iOs application for employees...

Cons

It lacks planning functionality to comply with French regulations (Day off, illness, breaks)...
I would be nice to adapt some report for french regulation.

Scott C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It works for me!!!

Reviewed on 2017/04/19

I have a small business that utilizes this software probably only to 5/18th's of its true capabilities, but I am happy with is as my needs are mostly simple ones. There are things that I wish were even easier, but that really would be upon me to learn the system better. I type with two fingers so go figure...

Laura D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chief Operating Officer

Reviewed on 2017/04/18

It's an awesome software. It helps a lot in forecasting, reporting weekly hours, and with payroll. i wish we could be more employees utilizing this software, for them it's not a user friendly. In fat we only have 10% user.

Pros

I like it when I check the weekly report and when I do the payroll, it gives me the accurate numbers of hours.

Cons

when inputting the schedule.

Jonathan L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good software for time clock

Reviewed on 2017/04/16

We really just use this to give our employees a way to clock in & out, and print their weekly hours reports, and it works very well for that. We don't use the scheduling or advanced options. The only thing I really would like to see different is a more customizable way to track vacation & sick time, for a pre-set bank that is customizable for each worker.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Not much, just some more customization for vacation and sick time.

Lisa C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Humanity Software review

Reviewed on 2019/04/02

Pros

Easy to use to review schedules. Employees enjoy being able to send messages to other employees and trade shifts.

Cons

It seems to be working well for my needs at this time.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Lisa,
Thank you for the feedback! We're always glad to hear that Humanity enables teams of all sizes to simplify their scheduling processes.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Humanity as an employee

Reviewed on 2018/12/20

Humanity has made my day a to day at the office easier and has allowed for a much clearer vision for my team.

Pros

Humanity allows for my team to see more clearly what shifts we have , when our phone time is and who is going to be out of office in the up coming weeks. It is a place where my team can set up our own scheduling and allows for ease when it comes to support our clients.

Cons

Has a lot of features and configurations that can be tricky at first but soon you will fall in love wit hall the customization.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are working hard on customization, and it is one of the most popular features among our users. It's our pleasure to help you run your business.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Humanity

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

Pros

Worked really well for viewing, coordinating, trading work shifts. The app is great to have

Cons

When users run into issues, only the supervisor can fix them, which often creates a bottleneck

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad our app has been useful to you, and we'd love to help to make your experience even better. Please feel free to send us more details about the issues you've been experiencing at [email protected], or reach out to our team via 24/7 Live Chat on our homepage or app dashboard.

Nicole T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to self schedule

Reviewed on 2018/09/11

Very happy with humanity easy to pick up shifts and drop them if needed self scheduling system is great for virtual call centers remote positions

Pros

Ease of being able to pick up and drop shifts

Cons

Nothing that I can say is a negative about humanity

Glenn L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Humanity

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Pros

The software is a favorite of both Management and the employees. It is very functional and easy to use. IT allows us to plan and schedule for our needs. Many of these software programs do the same thing basically, but this has received positive reviews from most.

Cons

The forecasting option is a bit complex and more than we need but at some point we may implement it if we continue to use this program

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Glenn,
We sure do hope you'll continue using our app :) Thank you for the review, we're thrilled you and your colleagues are having such a great experience. If you'd like the give the Forecast module a try, check out the guide on our Helpdesk page: https://helpdesk.humanity.com/articles/knowledge/Forecast Of course, you can also reach out to us via Live Chat on our website and app.

Richard Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to navigate

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Pros

Program is easy to navigate, customizable and user friendly

Cons

Some areas require full screen view in order to accomplish task (scheduling)

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Richard,
We appreciate your feedback! As for the viewing options, we would need more details from you to be able to help and improve our platform, so please feel free to reach out to us with your suggestions via e-mail or Live Chat.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Great scheduling

Reviewed on 2020/02/17

Younger employees love the app. Shifts can be requested quickly.

Pros

Push notifications. Ability to upload multiple shifts at once. Message board is a good way to communicate with employees you don't cross paths with often.

Cons

Smartphone based which older employees don't like or take advantage of all features. Hard to have multiple admins.

Analise F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Humanity Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/20

The experience with both the website and app have been excellent to date.

Pros

Humanity is easy to use and gives a breakdown of everything that you would need to know, as it regards attendance and scheduling.

It has a good, modern design which gives a feeling of using a premium service.

Cons

There are some limitations regarding the information that can be pulled from the website/app depending on the clearance level or the type of user you are.

Response from Humanity (Shiftplanning)

Hi, Analise,
Thank you, we're glad to be able to provide you with premium experience! If there's a specific piece of information you need for your work, please feel free to reach out to us via Live Chat, and we'll do our best to help you.

Shannon F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Inexpensive, Comprehensive Scheduling Software

Reviewed on 2017/07/21

Saved us so many scheduling headaches. We were able to switch from an excel sheet to a program that will almost run itself (if only employees didn't get sick or have something come up last minute). We would not be able to schedule the 150+ shifts per week without humanity!

Pros

Easy to add multiple positions for each employee. Easy get setup and go. Easy to schedule for multiple weeks. Good value for features offered.

Cons

Your employees can't see the total time they've worked in the app. They can see each timesheet but they have to log into the computer to see the total hours.
Some of the more advanced features are frustrating to figure out at first.
Humanity doesn't subtract leave automatically