Phorest Reviews

Phorest

Salon software for business management and growth

Overall rating

4,8 /5
(362)
Value for Money
4,5/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,7/5
Customer Support
4,8/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

362 Reviews

Amar
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Phorest are leaders in their field

Reviewed on 2017/03/30

I just wanted to say how amazing the phorest software and the people who work for this company...

I just wanted to say how amazing the phorest software and the people who work for this company are!

I have been approached quite a few times by their competitors and have always stuck with this company for both our clinics as they are always trying to push things forward and have always come up with great ideas to increase Revenue.

This coupled with the amazing customer service gives me no reason to ever leave :-)

Up the great work xxxx

Pros

The layout and ease of use

Cons

The layout and ease of use

Francisco
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software with even better customer service

Reviewed on 2017/02/24

Customer service reviews were important to me when I decided to go with Phorest and they had not...

Customer service reviews were important to me when I decided to go with Phorest and they had not let me down. They are always in contact and the response time is really short. We had the first training call yesterday and my receptionist (who is not very computer savvy) was very happy because of the easiness to use and manage appointments. I have gone further exploring other features and everything is basically done with a few clicks.
The video tutorials are endless and the manuals and ebooks are easy to read.
100% satisfied so far.

Pros

Easy to use.
Very intuitive.
Great customer service.
Has a report for everything.
Full customized services, providers, resources, and inventory.
Nice app included with the price (others charge extra).
Did I mention the great customer service?

Cons

Wish they had a more configurable patient form and the option to add scanned forms and pictures.
High set up fee but they input the information of your inventory, services, and client database for you before going live.
Need to have the software "installed" in a pc/mac but the information is safe stored in the cloud. You can access it anytime from the your app but not from any computer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Unprofessional Company with hidden charges and poor data management

Reviewed on 2021/02/07

I have had this software for over 5 years and they are only interested in how they can make more...

I have had this software for over 5 years and they are only interested in how they can make more money out of their clients. They charge inflated prices for simple things and hide the charges so you aren't aware of them. They introduce new features which sound great but in reality don't work and then charge you a higher subscription for their software for the new features when don't work. For example they introduced a feature called client reconnect which is supposed to text clients when they are overdue their appointment but it just doesn't work, yet they charge an extra £40/month for it. Also if you have multiple sites, none of their reports or stock inventory work across multiple locations so you have to go into each location to run reports or get stock information which is very time consuming. It also doesn't link into any other software or marketing software so you have to do work arounds and manual exports if you want to use your client data in facebook or email marketing. The email and text marketing within Phorest is expensive and poor quality compared to industry specific software so another downside to Phorest. There are many much superior softwares available that are cheaper, easier to run and integrate easier into other business softwares. Having stuck with Phorest for over 5 years now I wish I had made a move to better software years ago.

Pros

The appointment diary is simple and visual but basic. There is an online reputation manager which helps you manage your online reviews but now I have seen what other systems can do I think it is basic and its only available when you are on their most expensive package.

Cons

The company has hidden charges which they deduct at source so you can't see them or audit them. They consistently over charge and apply higher charges to bills than your original contract and insist on payment by direct debit so its not easy to detect them. They manipulate your data without knowledge or consent, for example they opted many of my clients out of being able to receive marketing information without my knowledge, I only discovered by accident and it turned out to have been an issue in their software which they denied to begin with but then had to admit it was their fault. I have no idea if they corrected the fault just with my account or whether other customers who have been affected but are still in the dark. A few years ago they made a major to how their online booking system worked, but didn't inform any of their clients so all our online bookings on our website went down and again it took a few weeks for them to admit the mistake was theirs, but it still cost me thousands with my website developer to re-design my website to overcome their change which is incredibly poor change management and poor knowledge of their customers and how they use the software.

Angela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Customer Support

Reviewed on 2017/11/27

Really helps me to manage the business more easily

Really helps me to manage the business more easily

Pros

Quick and efficient support by experts.
Easy to use software.
Lots of reports
Makes running the business that bit easier!

Cons

Doesn't integrate with merchant services unit- have to cash up twice, once on system and once on merchant service terminal and hope the two match!
No stats on emails which makes me still prefer Mailchimp

David
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Software!

Reviewed on 2017/09/02

Pros

First of all let me make it very clear that this software is the BEST in the market... everything about it is easy to use, the best support team I've ever come across. I'd compare the support team experience to Amazone's or PayPal's customer service. There's nothing wrong with the software whatsoever but minor issues that I'd put it down in Cons section.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Phorest Experience

Reviewed on 2020/10/21

Pros

The most important thing about Phorest is it's ease of access to everything you need. You pay a premium for convenience, hence why it is so successful.

Cons

The cost of Phorest is very expensive but like I said - you pay for convenience. Another thing I disliked was the customer service never wanted to fix a situation, just to help make an issue right. Many issues occur and eventually preventive actions would be more preferred than accommodation.

Alternatives Considered

Vagaro and SimplyBook.me

Reasons for Switching to Phorest

Convenience factor, so simple to use.

Response from Phorest Salon Software

Hi Chris,

I am sorry to see that you are not fully satisfied with Phorest. If you are with Phorest, you have a dedicated Salon Success Manager that should be actively working on your business to help you get the most from the software.

Since your review we have launched numerous new features.

We'd love for you to consider Phorest again and book a demo to see all our new amazing features such as..

- Online Store
- Cardless Checkout
- Contactless Check-In
- Curbside Pick Up

...and so many more.

Alysse
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Has many great features that help streamline and automate our customer database and interactio...

Reviewed on 2017/06/22

Ease of booking and streamlined customer connection.

Ease of booking and streamlined customer connection.

Pros

Many systems already in the software make our interactions with our clients easy and efficient. Great booking software with plenty of report analysis to check our growth and progress. They listen to consumer suggestions and are constantly improving the software and adding new features.

Cons

Some of the clickable icons are not obvious or intuitive. Some text that can be clicked on for additional options doesn't always look like a clickable button.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

It is a good software, easy to use and quick.

Reviewed on 2018/03/12

Pros

The automated reach out to Cilents is such a time saving feature. I do like the loyalty scheme feature this I feel will support further growth together with the intervertebral social media marketing.

Cons

The training sessions I feel would be much more beneficial in smaller groups. With Phorest there does appear to be a lot of add ons to your original purchase price and monthly fee but hopefully as phorest's software encourages growth & Cilent retention these will be an investment.

Mary
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

positive experience

Reviewed on 2017/09/13

We have full control on how we use the sytem. Customers rarely if at all have any complaints. Any...

We have full control on how we use the sytem. Customers rarely if at all have any complaints. Any errors are merely human ones

Pros

The system is efficient, reliable and user friendly. Clear instructions on how to use. Allows us to use frequently.

Cons

Confined to 160 characters for single text. Should be able to set up various ways to have replies from customer.

Karen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bin your pencil and appt book

Reviewed on 2017/02/13

This system changed my salon life for the better. Online bookings saves me a receptionist. And the...

This system changed my salon life for the better. Online bookings saves me a receptionist. And the ease to look at two locations is brilliant. Having client notes at my finger tips saves me having to remember everything and I simply can't imagine not having Phorest in my life....fantastic all round salon software

Pros

Easy to use. Everything at my fingertips

Cons

On the odd occasion when I can't do what I want

Sharon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Only good as a diary- old fashioned software

Reviewed on 2020/03/09

Disappointed with the software.

Disappointed with the software.

Pros

Great diary features, staff rostering also quite good.

Cons

Useless for marketing, their ‘upgraded’ marketing suite is frustrating and not at all user friendly. Take hours to produce a simple newsletter it’s not worth using, and if you want to save a draft to re visit later, good luck trying to find it.
Customer service don’t really want you to call, so I’ve just been cut off again. They do answer support tickets but on another day, so it’s all a bit slow, and if you’re a busy salon, it’s not the best.

Shirley
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good software

Reviewed on 2017/06/02

Pros

The support team are brilliant and always happy to support and help where they can. Customer service excellent too. I like that its iCloud based . I like the reports too when they work!!

Cons

We can not book colour online because we can't book across three chairs !! Was promised we would be able to do this in the sales pitch - yet to happen and have resigned myself to accepting that it wont work as I don't think there is a way for it to happen. We are very happy we moved over to Phorest anyway and 4 years on, we like it and have just purchased another license for you new salon ( so it cant be bad!! )

Ela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Very basic, would not recommend for large operations

Reviewed on 2021/08/29

a very basic system, not quite what I would like in the busy spa

a very basic system, not quite what I would like in the busy spa

Pros

Easy to use for staff and good visually.

Cons

quite limited with reporting, cant store credit card details, can have only one confirmation email and can't re-send it.

Response from Phorest Salon Software

Hi Ela,

I am sorry to hear that you are not fully satisfied with the service from Phorest.

Since your review we have launched numerous new features that make us even better for a busy spa like yours.

We'd love for you to consider Phorest again and book a demo to see all our new amazing features such as..

- Online Store
- Cardless Checkout
- Contactless Check-In
- Curbside Pick Up

...and so many more.

April
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Extremely helpful, always great to call back and resolve any problems

Reviewed on 2017/07/12

Pros

It's very easy use, and love the confirmation text out to clients. I love that it's easy keep track of your accounts.

Cons

Like it all, I just need to use it better. It's hard to find the time for training on all the software has to offer

emma
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Good soft ware

Reviewed on 2018/11/08

i do like it but probably will change to different software

i do like it but probably will change to different software

Pros

"organised my appointments centralised my information stock staff etc "

Cons

Hasnt improved my no shows , its expensive , can be complicated at times , love the gift card system again expensive . cannot upload enough photos per treatment . still no consents available recently alot of disruptions in service

Vijay
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant cloud based solution

Reviewed on 2018/04/04

Pros

I really like the way the system confirms appointments and manage the entire inventory. You can monitor the entire staff and accordingly your clients will be attracted.

Cons

while conversating with clients there is nothing specific to maintain their requested data, which can actually be noted.

Terri
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A must have

Reviewed on 2017/02/22

Could not function without this software! It takes all the hard work out of running a business....

Could not function without this software! It takes all the hard work out of running a business. Phorest is a good company to deal with and they give great customer service

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Couldn't do without it

Reviewed on 2017/10/06

Pros

Easy to use great content makes running a salon Easy.staff kpi and tracking performance .great customer service problems always solved

Cons

There is nothing I don't like.online booking can be messed up sometimes .I also don't like the stock system too hard to manage

Kerry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So easy from start to install.

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Eases the pressure on the reception desk.

Eases the pressure on the reception desk.

Pros

I am now part time after having a baby so installing this software will make my life so much easier. I feel that i will be able to manage the salon a lot easier from a distance. It also eases the pressure on the reception desk. Clients able to book 24/7.

Cons

Haven't found anything to dislike yet. We are going live in August but i have every faith in Phorest that the system is going to run smoothly. From the contact i have had so far with Phydos & Colette i am confident in this.

Amanda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've had multiple software and this leads by far!

Reviewed on 2017/05/23

Pros

Easy to use, intuitive, customer service, constantly updating, the app, online booking, marketing features, reports, consistency (rarely down and client always gets confirmations)

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best thing we ever did taking on phorest

Reviewed on 2017/10/10

Pros

I love that I finally have my life back and zero clients contacting me ever, I love that it does absolutely everything and the marketing side of the system is amazing!!!

Cons

There is nothing bad that I could say about the system at the moment I enjoy all its functions and it serves us well!

Amber
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Love Phorest! Have used many other softwares.

Reviewed on 2017/11/08

Pros

It's very intuitive and focused on salons only. They really know what salons need and how to reach their customers.

Cons

It's taking some time to learn it well enough to operate at it's full potential. There are so many features that we are just now getting into.

Michal
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Pretty easy to follow. Great team to deal with

Reviewed on 2017/11/23

Pros

Nice and easy to use. Does a lot of things for you. Help to run a busy salon. Compare to I-Salon System it has much wider offer of things it does. Really like the features. Very clear to read.

Cons

I just would add possibility of popping out alert for each online booking appointment like "please contact the salon" for particular service if the service can not be booked with the app.

Simon
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

So Good I Put It In My Book!

Reviewed on 2015/02/26

As a business consultant and coach who specialises in working with Salon Owners I'm often asked...

As a business consultant and coach who specialises in working with Salon Owners I'm often asked which salon computer software I'd recommend.

Over the years I'd tried several different systems in my own salon, all of which were good in parts but were either unreliable or suffered from hopeless support.

When I first saw Phorest I was intrigued because their approach and philosophy were so different. Once I'd taken a closer look I was hooked. That was nearly six years ago and I'm still a happy customer. I've also recommended it to many of the salon owners I coach or consult with and I've yet to hear a single one of them complain. On the contrary they've become fans of the software and the support they get, like me.

Over the last 5 years I've also written 3 books for salon owners and in each one I've been happy to mention my belief and confidence in Phorest ... so please, if you're considering investing in new salon software, do yourself a favour and take a close look.

I promise you'll be pleased you did!

sharon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

first class training. The support and speed this was set up was fabulous .

Reviewed on 2017/11/18

there are too many too list. but the way you can connect to clients and that your staff can...

there are too many too list. but the way you can connect to clients and that your staff can download the app to look at their column is a massive positive. saves keep logging into computer, especially if you have gone to lunch or at home and want to check your day.

Pros

everything. I've used i-salon and shortcuts and there is no comparison. the help desk was amazing. everything was perfect. i love the treat cards and the fact that it is paperless. massive advantage to us. fantastic having consultation cards on system looks very professional and the company is very forward thinking .