Staffbase Reviews

Staffbase

Mobile-first employee communication for large organisations

4.8/5 (12 reviews)

Taking employee experience to the next level

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Viessmann runs its entire internal comms network over the Staffbase platform. We have abolished all printed forms of communications, newsletter and employee magazine. Thanks to the marvelous support from the Staffbase team, we are that 92% of our German employees use the platform on a weekly basis. In the future, we will scale this to additionally target customers and job candidates.

Pros

Staffbase helps companies to boost employee experience across the entire workforce. Consistently integrating the needs on white- and bluecollar workers, the platform differs widely from convoluted Social Intranet solution. With a bundle of off-the-shelf plugins and integration, Staffbase easily covers 90 percent of communication requirements and, at the time, serves as portal for collaboration and exchange. Above all, the people at Staffbase really know internal comms inside out – it's an integrated approach, not just SaaS.

Cons

Staffbase is way ahead of its competitors in terms of usability, customer support and features. The only thing that is missing is a Confluence integration – with Atlassian only offering a stripped down app for general usage, this will be an important bridge to cover in the next months.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Useful and intuitive tool for internal communications

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Working with the Staffbase system has changed our internal communications completely. Finally, we reach everyone - if they work in front of a computer or in a garage without constant connection to our company network. By now, our main focus in internal communications lies on the employee app.

Our employees respond really well to the system. They now have a place where they can gather current information quickly. And it is also a plattform for quick feedback and interaction.

Additionally, the Staffbase team is very open to feedback and takes on requests for further development.

Pros

Our users get along with the system really well. The navigation throughout the content is rather intuitive.

The Staffbase system has many great features, that you can adopt just the way they are. Also, it's rather simple to find a "work-around" to achieve the results you would like to reach, if the appropriate feature isn't there already.

Also, the administrational system is really easy to work with. Most features are very intuitive to handle and you don't need to be an IT-expert.

Cons

The tools for user behavior analysis are rather simple and don't provide much information about long-term user activity. But, I have high hopes for future developments.

Few features can only be set up by Staffbase. I would like to have more flexibility in changing particular applications myself.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

It's been easy to use from the get-go with fully-engaged support all along the way.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/25/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It has enhanced our ability to communicate directly with our employees - something we have struggled with over the years as most of our employees work in different units and at non-desk positions.

Pros

It is easy for both our end users to use and for our backend admins. We didn't want to overwhelm our employees with a clunky system. Staffbase has provided a clean space with the flexibility to make it what we want. Their support along the way has been especially helpful too.

Cons

We have a small list of "wishes" for the app - meaning we wish it could do this or that. Just little tweaks to make it more adaptable to our business and purpose. However, Staffbase has been continually adaptable to new ideas and suggestions and we have seen our requests come to fruition through new updates . They listen - which helps.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Nice app with useful features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/22/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We were looking for a new way for our intranet, a channel into the company.
The communication within our organisation had to become fast, clear and comfortable.
Many different sources of information needed to be combined in one medium.
With this app we have managed this very well in a short time.
The contributions and articles are read within a few hours by at least half of all colleagues, which means very good accessibility.
The app's functions allow you to distribute articles according to the company hierarchy.

Pros

easy handling
self-explanatory
many different useful plugins
rapid implementation

Cons

Chat plugin should become more functional
market-leading apps should serve as a benchmark here

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great tool for internal communication

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/15/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The application is really easy to use - for administrators as well as for employees. There are a lot of features that could be implemented - and the range of features is continuously increasing.

Cons

There are some small things that could be improved, for example when somebody forgot his password - people get not informed when they entered wrong data, so they wait for the mail to reset their password but they never receive it. It would be better if the system could tell them that they have maybe entered a wrong (or for the system unknown) mail address.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Staffbase as employee communication tool at Automotive production site

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's quick and easy to launch. The use for both end-user and administrator is intuitive.
Available for iOS and Android.

Cons

The software is becoming the most important entry point for communication with employees.
Linking other use cases and systems (like personal pay-roll report for example) would be a logical next step, however since the app is hosted in the Cloud there are some security concerns to further integrate the app in our application landscape.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Easy to use and administer!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/25/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Our employees are more connected now than they have ever been. The employee directory, news feed, jobsite webcams and resources make their jobs easier and more rewarding.

Pros

Administration is very manageable to my busy schedule. Posting news and resources for employees can be done in a matter of minutes. Love the push notification function of the App. The employee directory is our most utilized function.

Cons

As the administrator, I wish I could have access to profiles in order to manually change items such as titles and job location. I do not want to have to do entire CSV import for just one person.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Best internal comms tool ever

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/15/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have 80% non-deskworker and 20% desk worker. So our challenge was to get in dialogue with all employees. And we are! Furthermore we had an important and new channel to inform about actuall themes like reducing the accidents. And we have done it! -15% than last year!

Pros

Everything is easy to handle, for admins and also for users.

Cons

There is nothing in my mind ;) maybe a live-streaming tool would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

How to improve internal communication and make employees happy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/15/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Staffbase is easy to use and easy to administer. Our Employees are happy about this improvement and had no difficulty in learning how to use it. Customer Support is great - they help immediately and our key account manager alyways listens to us.

Cons

As one of the many customers we have only small power to influence future improvements on Features. However they always try to find work-arounds.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great, when it's good and yet simple

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/9/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple and self-explanatory application. Very extensive construction kit with many possibilities. Quick and helpful Support.

Cons

More flexibility in the structure of article selection within a channel would be great.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Communication Management as its best

Reviewed on 4/9/2016
Review Source

Seems like an app has never been as useful and important before Staffbase.
We already thought we're informing our staff well enough but THIS app increases success of promotions/jobs immediately!
If you want to get new staff supported, existing staff informed and customers satisfied, this is your solution.

Pros

- customer support
- independence (you're able to setup the whole thing on your own and don't need to pay extra for service)
- go online with your app in a few days (if you prefer a branded app calculate with at least 1 month)
- reach staff with push news

Cons

None - except from negligible bugs which get eliminated within a few days

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Out-of-the-box app for our company

Reviewed on 2/24/2015
Review Source

Very easy to get started. Inviting my office staff was straightforward (via email) and for our drivers the EmployeeApp provided access codes which I could print and hand them over.

We use it for three things:

1. Company blog: once a week I write a longer article on recent business developments.

2. Push notifications: several times per week there are messages we want to get out to everyone. In EmployeeApp you can send them with push notifications which is a handy feature. You can also target specific groups inside your organization but we haven't used this yet.

3. Documents: we have a few documents and guidelines everyone should have access to. We created a page in EmployeeApp for them and uploaded the documents.