539 reviews

Greenhouse

Applicant Tracking, Recruiting & Onboarding Software

4,5 /5 (539 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
539 reviews
Scott K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

In 22 years I’ve used lots of ATS products, and love greenhouse

Reviewed on 2021/02/23

It’s more fluid of a process with candidates and it is more intuitive.

Pros

Ease of use and how intuitive this takes a candidate through the full life cycle. I’ve worked with icims, jobvite and others and am most impressed with GH.

Cons

The price is too high for small companies to afford, along with lack of customizing options. But I have never found a commercial ATS that is fully customizable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Phenomenal features, easy to use - but extremely high priced, not great support/export

Reviewed on 2018/05/21

Helpful to map out a recruitment journey in one place. But can be done with more control of your data in many other HR tools.

Pros

Intuitive features and easy to process between steps
Helps to ensure consistency between interviews, plans, and third party integrations for staff intake and hiring.
Easy to post jobs and link multiple job posts to the same position internally (newer posts get more applications, but don't need a new job inside the portal)
Allows for constant hiring, and deep analytics on use of HR teams time and performance
- Really not a fit for small or midsize firms, you can tell its great for the enterprise

Cons

- Support is great initially, then is not as helpful after execution (contract lock in)
- Pricing is annual, and very high
- Hard to justify the ROI for convenience on HR team
- Pricing is completely based on size of the company (meaning how much you can afford) vs. the use of the platform or feature set
- Prohibitive annual, upfront, and renewal terms
- Company tried to renew automatically within contract notification periods, without confirmation/touching base previously, and expected higher contract terms without discussion or proposal
- Exporting data is non-functional. Only left with Resumes and not full details, notes, or other data your team may have created (Keep that in mind when spending time analyzing candidates and for legal/compliance)
- Really consider how your team will use this, and if it is either a time saver or money maker for recruiting.

Chances are, it's not - but it is convenient in one place. But once you're in it - very hard to leave and difficult to offboard.

Sasha J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly Intuitive ATS with strong automation

Reviewed on 2019/06/30

Greenhouse has provided excellent improvement of our recruitment process such as candidates scheduling which in turn has reduced the time spent on administrative tasks. We have also had a high level of engagement across our Hiring Managers and Interviewers due to the intuitive nature of the software and excellent UX. We were able to roll out the system with very little training as the system is so easy to use.

Pros

I most like the highly customisable workflows and templates that can be used as well as the level of automation that can be embedded has significantly reduced our manual administration and management of the recruit to keep the recruitment process on track. Friendly reminders keep you on track with your schedule and also drives productivity across the team .

Cons

Initially it took me a while to get used to the "Self-Service" model of support (given I had not used the system before however the video instructions and tutorials have been very useful and easy to digest.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good For What It's Supposed To Do

Reviewed on 2020/05/01

Greenhouse is used in our organization to track both internal and external candidates that are moving through the interview and hiring stage for a job. It is also used to generate overall success rate for interviewing and hiring effectively.

Pros

I like that it gives you the ability to assign different people to different tasks. I also like that you are able to mass upload resumes and mass reply to multiple candidates on a specific job.

Cons

The inability to search for similar candidates through resume match. There are also too many steps to post a single job and navigating through the different settings to post and update a job can be arduous and not user friendly at times.

Nick R.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I've used Greenhouse for 3 years and I am my company's GH admin.

Reviewed on 2017/08/29

Pros

Greenhouse is great. It's very customizable to your recruiting operation while providing clear guidance on how to best organize your operation. This improves your candidate/interviewer experience while maximizing your data/analytics and workflows. Their customer service team is top notch. They're friendly and helpful and always solution oriented. There's so much I personally like that I'll just have to list a few (in no particular order):

- Offer Workflows (with approvals)
- Job Setup
- Customizable Options (Offer details, Job details, Tags, Candidate details)
- Greenhouse Analytics (Okay I lied, this is my favorite)
- Employee Dashboard
- Referral Process (Posting to social media, tracking, organizing referrals as a referrer)

Cons

There isn't a lot not to like. Greenhouse is growing fast and their software is evident of that at times. There are some legacy situations that they've chosen not to prioritize (like bulk updating approvals on jobs) with their engineering time, but though the solution today is time consuming, they're obviously making progress to minimize the pains. When you use Greenhouse, you're using a tool that does more than track candidates, it helps you interview better and it helps your team become more confident in their hiring decisions. So, of course that opens the door for growing pains as they scale and learn what their customers need.

On a more technical side. The way they've designed their API doesn't always make the most sense. They provide some resources to understand it better but until you're neck deep into when candidate_ID and application_ID are used and what historical information is connected to each, it's a bit like learning a new language.

Hannah R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Changed our Recruiting Process!

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

Overall a game-changer! Keeps all of the candidate information in one place.

Pros

Great product! Very intuitive and user-friendly. The implementation team was excellent with helping us set up the product in a way that would be most useful to us. The ease of use is incredible- makes my job easier!

Cons

Some issues with the Zoom integration when first rolled out and the customer service team dropped the ball on this one. Seems to be better now.

Julia L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Gets better with every new release

Reviewed on 2015/08/21

Pros

- Ease of use & great support documentation you can point individual users to so the recruiting team is not inundated with one-off questions from users.
- Access to customer support through the chat feature
- Ability to make feature requests
- The product is constantly evolving and growing with our needs as a fast growing organization
- Many levels of specificity when setting up alerts you want to receive - our previous ATS alert emails were either all or nothing but with Greenhouse you can select exactly what you want such as alerts when candidates move to different stages, or alerts for specific interview rounds which is very helpful.

Cons

- Restrictions on customizations: For instance, I'd like to create an additional "sourcing strategy" but am not able to so many candidate sources end up under the "other" bucket which leads to poor reporting on source of hire and ROI tracking for some recruiting initiatives.
- Workflows can get real messy real fast if you have a larger recruiting team
- Reporting is just alright - not as robust as I'd expect which means managers end up doing quite a bit of manual work to build a story to tell to execs. Be ready to export reports to excel and expect to spend time manipulating data.

Susan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greenhouse & Go

Reviewed on 2019/03/19

We love Greenhouse. We are able to bid on larger contracts knowing that we will be able to ramp up and source new hires very quickly. We are very happy to have a ready pool of well qualified candidates in GH, ready to go. As a workflow tool, we can monitor and improve our own performance and track our success. We have transparency among users so we don't drop the ball on hot candidates. Very happy!

Pros

We found Greenhouse very easy to implement. As all small companies, we wear many hats and had to work our implementation plan around our other responsibilities. It was very easy to knock out a few items on our task list every day while keeping all the balls in the air.
I've also found Greenhouse to be user friendly for my colleagues who are less focused on recruiting, but still need to jump in from time to time.

Cons

The "search" options are good but could be a little more robust....seems like the default settings slow us down a bit. When I want to search through "All Candidates", I have a few resets to do in order to get the whole database.

Ashley B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Greenhouse

Reviewed on 2019/03/15

Greenhouse has streamlined our entire hiring process and allowed us to serve as better partners/collaborators with the rest of the organization!

Pros

We love Greenhouse! It has saved us so much time because of how efficient it is. It is also a great tool for our hiring managers. They love the capabilities and having access/transparency to candidates and our hiring process. We also really like how easy the scorecards make it to track the right data and keep historical information for pipeline purposes.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that you can't send a link to a scorecard after an interview. We sometimes have other members of our team join interviews impromptu and it can be difficult to get their feedback via scorecard.

Julia S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greenhouse is a game-changer for recruiting

Reviewed on 2019/03/12

Greenhouse has been really responsive to any issues, questions, or bugs -- and those have been few and far between.

Pros

It's so easy to use and intuitive that we haven't had to train our staff on how to use it. Truly incredible. It's really helped us manage recruiting better and reduced the amount of time that it takes to hire.

Cons

Mostly it incorporates best practices around recruiting into the design. There are a few place -- like inability to score candidates -- that I wish would be built out. If you're comparing 30 candidates that you've gotten from a pool of 300 and have to decide who to move forward to interviews, the rule in / rule out mentality no longer works.

Kristina G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It's been a great partnership!

Reviewed on 2017/08/29

Pros

This is the most intuitive and well thought out ATS that I've used and we consistently receive that same feedback from within the TA team and from the business that we support. The Greenhouse product team is very forward thinking and receptive and it shows in the frequent releases. The interview kits, easy integrations, approvals, referral tool and the mobile app have all shaped the way our team works. We've also had a great experience with our Account Director, which can make all the difference.

Cons

The biggest con for us would be the basic reports. We quickly outgrew them and needed to move to an in-house solution.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Industry standard product - design could be improved

Reviewed on 2020/07/27

Greenhouse is a solid piece of software in that you can get it to do what you need it to do, to get the work done -- all that said, it's not as simple or easy to use as I would hope and their customer support/success is mediocre.

Pros

Greenhouse offers the capability to do every action or thing you'd need to do as a recruiter. There is a feature for everything! Greenhouse is also the industry standard for midsize startups. Candidates and other recruiters are very familiar with it so everyone talks the same language about utilizing it which makes a big difference collaborating. The other plus of Greenhouse is that it's super customizable so with enough research and energy you can get it to do mostly anything you want it to do!

Cons

My biggest issue with Greenhouse is it's design. It's not a very intuitively designed product. I've had to learn how to use it rather than naturally being able to figure out or discover how to use new features. Also, I've found Greenhouse support to be pretty slow in responding. We also didn't receive a lot support around implementing best practices from any kind of CSM or account manager. Their model is mostly just reach out to customer support, but that model doesn't help us more efficiently and strategically use the product... Lastly their reporting and analytics capabilities are clunky and not intuitive either but they get the job done with enough input.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great

Reviewed on 2019/01/28

Every rep I have interacted with at the company has been fantastic, and I have greatly enjoyed my experience working with Greenhouse.

Pros

The customization of the platform is great. With a bit of creativity you can create workflows that work for your team that go beyond the current use cases that Greenhouse provides.

Cons

The mobile application could be improved, especially with the ability to review applications without having to download a resume in a separate field before making a decision.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good look & feel and gets the job done.

Reviewed on 2017/11/08

Hiring in a timely manner.

Pros

Greenhouse is user friendly and pretty straight forward. Very few employees complain or get lost in the product.
It keeps the Recruiting, Finance and HR team(s) on the same page and helps us hire quickly and efficiently.

Cons

Reporting. There are still several areas for improvement within metrics and reporting.
The scheduling tool has gotten better but I think other ATS' do a little better here.

Katja K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Outstanding recruiting tool

Reviewed on 2016/08/24

Pros

- Great overview over candidates, open and closed jobs, and individual application stages
- Great structure for recruiting procedures for a maximum of comparability between candidates
- Establish Scorecards for your ideal candidate and let interviewers rate the categories
- Great service and introduction to the product
- Create own email templates, reaching from confirmation that application was received to test questions with attachments and to rejection emails
- bulk actions possible for several candidates

Cons

- The Greenhouse software is quite expensive. The price rises with the number of employees in your company. When you sign up, make sure you also know about the development of the pricing when your company grows.

Emily M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We have been thrilled with Greenhouse. Implementation went well, and internal teams enjoy...

Reviewed on 2017/11/30

Pros

Greenhouse staff (all have been fantastic), intuitive to use, ease of scheduling, integration with GCal, ability to merge candidates, reports, training materials for end users, customization of interview kit and scorecards, ease of submitting feedback on candidates.

We are also putting in much more expensive and extensive HCM system. In comparison, for the money Greenhouse is a great value.

We love our Greenhouse Account Manager! He always keeps us on track.

Cons

Job set up can require more of an investment of time and effort by Recruiters and Hiring Managers, which requires change management and ongoing education and training of both groups. However, the payoff means that the rest of recruiting process goes very smoothly.

Greenhouse Analytics product is cumbersome, but happily Greenhouse seems to be putting a lot of effort into building up reporting function. We were warned by our sales person that we did not need this product immediately, and he was correct.

Chat help availability can be spotty at times, though they are very helpful when online.

Brittany P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing software program to help recruiting stay organized with multiple users.

Reviewed on 2018/05/04

Pros

I enjoy the ability to personalize your needs through different funnel systems. I love how easy it is to use and even when we do run into a program the support team always provides amazing assistance. Reaching out to candidates is super easy to do in bulk and saves A LOT of time. Being able to export specific funnels is also extremely helpful for productivity!

Cons

One thing I wish we could do is have the ability to unmerge candidates. I also wish there was a way to attach a separate document in a calendar invite.

Maggie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best ATS out there

Reviewed on 2019/11/18

Pros

Love the chat system with customer support
Love the integration with LinkedIn, Entelo, etc.
Love the easy scheduling integrations
Love the @mentioning for other team mates for better cross-collaboration

Cons

The metrics are not always accurate or the easiest to navigate. That's the biggest downfall

Samira B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

It is nice to have it

Reviewed on 2019/02/14

Pros

it is user friendly and it is good that it shows new applications separately. It is good that you can transfer the resume of candidates for one job to the other jobs.

Cons

it is not showing the calendar, so it is confusing when you want to choose a time for interview. After sometime it is difficult to find the resume of people.

Krystin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Greenhouse has been critical in scaling recruitment and adoption of from employees has been...

Reviewed on 2017/09/06

Pros

Ease of Use, Constant Feature Additions (That make sense), Customer Support/Success has been top notch, ability to train new recruiters, employees and managers in short period of time. Ability to analyze metrics and dig deeper via google sheets integrations.

Cons

The only complaint we have is that calendar invites do not have automatic reminders. Whenever we think of a new feature that would be awesome, unprompted it is added within a few weeks of our internal discussions.

Courtney F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Well Worth a Purchase

Reviewed on 2020/07/09

It's been great, a good system and easy to use. It has all the features needed and goes above and beyond for a really good price. Dont waste your money on a taleo or icims they dont compare.

Pros

After having Taleo and Workable, this finds all the issues that they had and turns them into non-issues.

Cons

Nothing yet, its been pretty easy and haven't had a complaint yet. Its been fairly easy, I liked the demo and our implementation specialist was nice (not readily available due to vacation but otherwise good)

Zakory B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top tier ATS for any organization.

Reviewed on 2017/12/08

This works as advertised and it's best in breed ATS so you're getting exactly what you pay for. Great product and integrations.

Pros

The recruiting is easy with Greenhouse and they've done a great job building integrations with other companies. Makes for a great experience when hiring new employees.

Heather R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good Software, but newest version is not an upgrade

Reviewed on 2017/06/08

Pros

Overall, the software is user friendly and provides and provides quite a bit of options, without being overwhelming. We have had to contact customer service a few times and they are always friendly and more than willing to explain what we're not understanding.

Cons

With the new version of Greenhouse, users are unable to add galleries of photos anywhere on their website, which they were able to do on the previous version. In addition, it's very difficult to add buttons with links to external sites to any section. The section must be a donation page in order to have a button.

Victoria W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super easy to use, could be too pricey for some

Reviewed on 2014/12/30

Pros

Greenhouse is a beautiful system. Most line managers have been able to log on and get started without any training from me or GH. If you are even the slightest bit savvy with social media, then you'll be able to get up and running with this software quickly. I love the fact you can connect with Facebook, Twitter, etc. and easily email from the system. The reporting tools within GH are really impressive. There are tons of stats just a couple of clicks away!

Cons

The price is what I like the least. I did demos for 5 systems. This was the priciest by far, and they increase the price yearly. However, you don't need to worry about how many line managers have log in info as it's just a flat fee. I can see how with other systems, where you pay per head, the price would start to get up there quickly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customizable, too many clicks sometimes

Reviewed on 2017/11/07

Pros

Customizable and friendly customer support. Integrates with Google calendar, fairly easy to use for all

Cons

Too many clicks sometimes to do something, mobile app is a bit clunky, frustrating when we have duplicates and GH doesn't recognize it