Showing 63 reviews of 50

Overall rating

4,6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
Showing 63 reviews of 50
Or P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Data loss and bad customer support

Reviewed on 2016/04/04

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is:
1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation.
2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Pros

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking
No real alternative

Cons

Unreliable.
Bad customer support.

Altaf D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Modern data consolidation solution

Reviewed on 2020/10/25

Pros

There’s nothing out there that even comes close to Segment. With just a single integration we can funnel our data to all the essential tools that we use to run out business (Intercom, Amplitude, Google Analytics and many more)

Cons

Nothing specific. Everything works great.

Srinivas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Segment Data collection

Reviewed on 2018/10/24

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Pros

3rd party integration is very good , ease of use and whole ecosystem

Cons

Pricing after free tier is very steep instead of restricting free tier on no of sources it should restrict on number of data points or MAU

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Segment help turn your data into dollars

Reviewed on 2019/11/09

My overall experience with Segment has been incredible. Never before have I

Pros

There's no single thing I like most about Segment. The mere power to connect all our web properties, product/platform touch points, and marketing campaigns into a central database is incredible, and that's what Segment is all about. It's the whole package that impresses me. Need to sort email interaction data into your database, while filtering out users who have engaged with your product in the last 48 hours, while tracking inbound clicks on your product pages? Yeah, Segment can do all that at the same time and way, way more.

I don't know how we did business before.

Cons

Segment has a steep learning curve. It took weeks to really come to grips with everything that Segment can do and how to do it. This is not a weakness, but just be prepared for a lengthy implementation period.

Vimal K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Integration and journey

Reviewed on 2020/11/24

Its really good but not extreme.

Pros

This will be very simple to integrate with any website in short time. The clear understanding of user activities via your api calls. This event module will helpsl us to analysis what user did in the page and what they are trying to make it. If something's broken when user browse, we could pretty much identify easily by debugging via segment instead of searching our code base log files.

Cons

User funnel is not much as per the exception. When I want to compare the multiple user journey, I couldn't feel much.

Barry H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Lifesaver for growth & marketing tech stack

Reviewed on 2018/05/18

Pros

- Implement tracking once, automatically and consistently send data to all downstream destinations
- Hundreds of integrations (and, with the recent Zapier integration, millions of possible combinations)
- Easy to understand pricing

Cons

- Integration implementation can vary widely. Documentation is usually thorough, but often confusing / complicated / out of date / (in the case of beta integrations) not accessible or non-existent
- At scale, I could see costs spiraling pretty rapidly

Christopher C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

really great, simple analytics platform

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Pros

Extreme flexibility with data. because segment is just a loudspeaker for your event tracking and analytics, it can be piped to any other platform. the problem with vertically integrated analytics tools is that they create a walled garden for your data. Segment prevents your data from being hoarded by allowing you to directly pipe it into your own data warehouse, for no extra cost.

Edgar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quick and practical ETL solution

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

Good experience overall. A great out of the box and flexible solution.

Pros

Easy to use and has great customer service and support.

Cons

Had to do manual re-syncs for certain formulaic fields.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dynamic and simple Data integration

Reviewed on 2018/12/05

Pros

Segment is an amazing tool for gathering and data integration among different data sources and consumers. It allows to for easy setting up between multiple platforms with little to no code needed
Good and comprehensive documentation.

Cons

The debug tools could use more features and the initial implementation requires a slight learning curve.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Get your data synced to all your other SaaS tools

Reviewed on 2018/02/23

Simple data syncing

Pros

It's an invisible product that you don't interface with often, but it gets your data from one software synced to all the other ones including custom data points. Basically it's the easiest way to sync data from multiple apps and your own product/website.

Cons

None really. Some of their integrations are getting older . If you're in the enterprise, their data integrations basically only consist of BigQuery, PostgreSQL and Redshift which may be different than your existing data stack.

Lynn S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

My Review

Reviewed on 2020/11/23

Love it!

Pros

Comprehensiveness, debugger, connectors.

Cons

Update information on creating sessions and stitching users across devices.

Fernando H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Segment.io for collect data

Reviewed on 2017/12/15

Pros

Centralise analytics data, both sent by client and server sides of my applications, in a unique data store. Our data science analysts can consume and work on that data easily.

Cons

There is not client server library available for Elixir or Erlang, my team need to use a third party library to communicate with Segmento.io analytics API.

Yaniv V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Program Development
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great service, truly valuable

Reviewed on 2020/11/18

We mainly use it to learn about our users' engagement with our software.

Pros

Setting new events is easy and the software is very intuitive.
The real-time debugger view is super helpful during software development.

Cons

I can't extract the list of events in order to review them offline (in order to manage which to keep and which to disable).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall, works as advertised. But expensive.

Reviewed on 2018/03/19

Pros

Easy to set up, saves developer time from installing 30 different libraries and maintaining those libraries.

Cons

It gets really expensive really quickly. You'll be surprised how quickly you hit your event limit often, the tradeoff means it's actually worth having some technical debt.

Karuna L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Ease of use and great software for marketing analytics

Reviewed on 2020/02/20

Segment helps us provide breakdown analysis of the users using our software using simple and highly defined charts

Pros

Good tools for creating chart diagrams, flowcharts for users

Cons

I liked everything about this software, it was also very easy to use for novice users

Paul S.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes tracking a breeze.

Reviewed on 2017/12/05

Pros

Love the fact that you can both identify your users and easily tigger events across platforms, with one common format/schema!

Cons

First time setup was a little bit confusing. Small learning curve to understand how your Segment schema is relayed to each "destination", but once you get a hang of it you'll never turn back.

Lewis Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

This CDP is great if you have a plug & play website, more tricky if you have a custom built...

Reviewed on 2020/12/09

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how to get around these issues we were having with visual tagger, and thus we had to work with a consultant that had the know-how of how to fully integrate Segment with our website through GTM. However, now that we have gotten our custom Segment setup up and running, it is very powerful and we're able to communicate our website event and tracking data with a multitude of analytics and other marketing tools. So overall, it has been a challenging experience, but once you get it working, it is worth the extra effort.

Pros

Segment was easy to setup and integrate with our website, using the Javascript code they provided. Also the Segment interface is well designed and easy to navigate. The settings for your Destinations are all clear and laid out, so you can make changes effortlessly. The neatest feature is the visual tagger, which allows you to create and track triggers/events on your website without having to code anything at all. It's great if you want to track very basic behaviors like button clicks or form submissions.

Cons

The most difficult part of Segment was when we wanted to track more granular data, such as user identities/emails. I believe if you have a typical website, built off of WordPress, or Shopify, you might not have these issues. But if you have a custom built website like ours, you will need some technical know-how in order to capture the finer data. For example, visual tagger did not work for us when we tried to use the identify call analytics.js, because our website stored user ID info on our data layer, not the presentation layer, which is only what Visual tagger can see. In order to access fields in your data layer, you'll need to use something like Google Tag Manager (GTM) to trigger and fire those events in Segment (shout out to McGaw.io for helping us with this!). So, if you have a more complex website, triggering certain events or getting fine granular data in Segment is not intuitive.

Tamás S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A reliable tool for event tracking and syncronization

Reviewed on 2019/10/24

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are other feature rich alternatives for frontend tracking but server-side tracking is not a priority for them.

Segment really saves a lot of software, devops and data engineer hours alike by reliable continuous data delivery.

Pros

- Intuitive UI.
- Event tester on the UI.
- Several client libraries.
- You can sync even your backdata, e.g. when setting up a new warehouse.
- Pricing is based on users not events.

Cons

- Custom schedule for synchronisation or event validation is only available in higher packages.
- Some integrations just don't support a moderately sophisticated setup. E.g. if you don't want 1 million API calls a day you should construct specific Segment calls to update Salesforce leads.

Christopher S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Reviewed on 2018/04/25

Saved a ton of dev time

Pros

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

Cons

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

Fayssal J.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Segment is a great tool, if you can afford it then you should start using it right now.

Reviewed on 2018/07/31

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Pros

The last tool to integrate with various apps. Write once and integrate infinitely.
Time saving is worthless and make your app load much faster.

Cons

Pricing is not small businesses friendly ;(
Would be great if we can write and view integrations comments from other users.
Please share future integration pipeline.

Onur P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Segment.io

Reviewed on 2016/12/03

Segment.io is a customer data hub collecting data from various SaaS tools. You could also integrate Google Analytics and other web analytics tools. It could be also used over Google Tag Manager.

Pros

Easy to get all customer together.
Enables to get to own your data in raw format
Accessible via BI Tools like Tableau

Cons

Problems with mobile enviornment.
Setup takes time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User Analytics ... look no further

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Pros

This tool is like none other and is AMAZING...if you are struggling with what analytic tool to use...use this one to implement your events and then skip the data off to any tool with dev involvement. SWEET!!!

Cons

There aren't really any cons here...this product hits the mark in every way!

Filip T.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

All the analytics in one place

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Pros

I love the concept of Segment - write data once, funnel it to multiple places for any type of analytics you might imagine. Works seamlessly. Very stable and reliable platform.

Cons

At first it can be slighlty overwhelming, but once you get a hang of it - you're not going to regret investing your time.