Segment Reviews

Segment

Customer data hub

4.5/5 (26 reviews)
Guruprasad H.

Good tool for startups

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/05
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from our app and send it to warehouse, firebase, fb etc.

Pros

Easy setup, Easier to collect data and send to warehouse. Integration with other tools is easy.

Cons

Not all integrations are seemless. Many integrations require client side app installation, which just reduces the code a bit. Once you start attracting decent users, it turns out to be expensive and need to look for alternative tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Christopher S.

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/25
Review Source: Capterra

Saved a ton of dev time

Pros

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

Cons

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Fayssal J.

Segment is a great tool, if you can afford it then you should start using it right now.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Pros

The last tool to integrate with various apps. Write once and integrate infinitely.
Time saving is worthless and make your app load much faster.

Cons

Pricing is not small businesses friendly ;(
Would be great if we can write and view integrations comments from other users.
Please share future integration pipeline.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Must have software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/28
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Not sure how one can manage app and web tracking without Segment.
It quickly enables you to track millions of events and funnel it to the appropriate tools like advertising, analytics, salesforce ... without engineering power

Cons

The capacity to decide which events are sent to each vendors to limit data overusage

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Srinivas R.

Segment Data collection

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Pros

3rd party integration is very good , ease of use and whole ecosystem

Cons

Pricing after free tier is very steep instead of restricting free tier on no of sources it should restrict on number of data points or MAU

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Barry H.

Lifesaver for growth & marketing tech stack

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Implement tracking once, automatically and consistently send data to all downstream destinations
- Hundreds of integrations (and, with the recent Zapier integration, millions of possible combinations)
- Easy to understand pricing

Cons

- Integration implementation can vary widely. Documentation is usually thorough, but often confusing / complicated / out of date / (in the case of beta integrations) not accessible or non-existent
- At scale, I could see costs spiraling pretty rapidly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Christopher C.

really great, simple analytics platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Extreme flexibility with data. because segment is just a loudspeaker for your event tracking and analytics, it can be piped to any other platform. the problem with vertically integrated analytics tools is that they create a walled garden for your data. Segment prevents your data from being hoarded by allowing you to directly pipe it into your own data warehouse, for no extra cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Onur P.

Segment.io

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/03
Review Source

Segment.io is a customer data hub collecting data from various SaaS tools. You could also integrate Google Analytics and other web analytics tools. It could be also used over Google Tag Manager.

Pros

Easy to get all customer together.
Enables to get to own your data in raw format
Accessible via BI Tools like Tableau

Cons

Problems with mobile enviornment.
Setup takes time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Dynamic and simple Data integration

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Segment is an amazing tool for gathering and data integration among different data sources and consumers. It allows to for easy setting up between multiple platforms with little to no code needed
Good and comprehensive documentation.

Cons

The debug tools could use more features and the initial implementation requires a slight learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jonathan S.

Segment is in incredibly powerful tool that allows you to stitch your analytics together seamlessly.

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/19
Review Source: Capterra

Segment allowed us to bring together all of our website analytics into one central, easy-to-manage place.

Pros

Segment creates a central hub for all of your analytics calls for any website or app. Instead of having to manually configure tons of analytics JavaScript libraries that all step on each other, Segment brings them all together to one place, with one central API for your customer and analytics data.

Cons

Segment is powerful but can get expensive at scale. That being said, nothing beats its easy syntax and seamless installation. It works really well all of the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Get your data synced to all your other SaaS tools

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/23
Review Source: Capterra

Simple data syncing

Pros

It's an invisible product that you don't interface with often, but it gets your data from one software synced to all the other ones including custom data points. Basically it's the easiest way to sync data from multiple apps and your own product/website.

Cons

None really. Some of their integrations are getting older . If you're in the enterprise, their data integrations basically only consist of BigQuery, PostgreSQL and Redshift which may be different than your existing data stack.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

User Analytics ... look no further

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/11/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This tool is like none other and is AMAZING...if you are struggling with what analytic tool to use...use this one to implement your events and then skip the data off to any tool with dev involvement. SWEET!!!

Cons

There aren't really any cons here...this product hits the mark in every way!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Simon V.

The ultimate events and analytics connector tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

A good alternative to googles free tag manager.

Pros

It’s a great hub to connect all your tooling with each other and manage events and other analytics.

Cons

It’s quite expensive. And setting up things might be a bit tricky if you’re a newcomer in the world of analytics/JavaScript.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Segment - ETL for customer data collection

Used Daily for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/04/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The number of integrations it provides both for source and destinations

Cons

very expensive for startups specially to use add on products

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Fernando H.

Segment.io for collect data

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/12/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Centralise analytics data, both sent by client and server sides of my applications, in a unique data store. Our data science analysts can consume and work on that data easily.

Cons

There is not client server library available for Elixir or Erlang, my team need to use a third party library to communicate with Segmento.io analytics API.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Overall, works as advertised. But expensive.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to set up, saves developer time from installing 30 different libraries and maintaining those libraries.

Cons

It gets really expensive really quickly. You'll be surprised how quickly you hit your event limit often, the tradeoff means it's actually worth having some technical debt.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

A good tool but extremely expensive when needs are growing

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience has been quite frustrating so far. Hopefully this will change as it looks like this tool has great capabilities!

Pros

It's quite easy to connect your tools together. UI is very intuitive. For a quick solution out of the box, Segment is almost perfect.

Cons

Pricing. It can get extremely expensive and extremely fast. Some basic functionalities seem to be missing (such as "select/deselect all" when choosing what to connect). Support never reached back when I contacted them... It would also be nice to be able to sync all historical data (it seems to be possible but as I mentioned before, support never reached out when I contacted them).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

I love the simplicity and functionality of Segment

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Segment has some of the strongest and most useful lists of integrations for any SaaS product. Hooking all sorts of data sources into one javascript implementation and then to channel it into your selected analytics system is an oversimplified explanation of what makes this product great.

Cons

There are some limitations that aren't on segment's side of things. Make sure you check out each integration as to how it plays with Segment - especially data sources!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Filip T.

All the analytics in one place

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the concept of Segment - write data once, funnel it to multiple places for any type of analytics you might imagine. Works seamlessly. Very stable and reliable platform.

Cons

At first it can be slighlty overwhelming, but once you get a hang of it - you're not going to regret investing your time.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Loralee H.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2015/09/10
Review Source
Milan S.

A real game changer

Reviewed on 2015/12/17
Review Source

Introducing Segment in our business is a real game changer. We can easily outsource super complicated aspects of our business to the myriad services Segment connects us to.

Pros

Easy to setup, great customer support, excellent choice of services, simply amazing.

Cons

Renaming events once they're already sent would be an awesome feature, although I'm not quite sure if it can be done at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Or P.

Data loss and bad customer support

Reviewed on 2016/04/04
Review Source

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is:
1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation.
2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Pros

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking
No real alternative

Cons

Unreliable.
Bad customer support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Steve E.

Analytics plus science

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It lets you track a ton of metrics, and identifies users across their lifecycle. You can actually track real metrics.

Cons

It's not perfect. You get some users that can't get matched down stream, and i still see plenty of couldn't track events.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Thierry M.

Rating only

Reviewed on 2016/12/07
Review Source

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Customer Support

Adam R.

Makes things easier

Used Monthly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We use segment to pipe all our tracking codes to our marketing site, it works well and keeps the code clean.

Cons

None really, we are pretty happy with it so far.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10