Lob

Automated print and mail solution

Overall rating

4,4 /5
(9)
Value for Money
3,8/5
Features
4,3/5
Ease of Use
4,6/5
Customer Support
3,8/5

89%
recommended this app
Sort by

9 Reviews

Avery
Avery
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trigger-based actions = prospects now get mail within 7 days, not 7 weeks

Reviewed on 2023/07/06

Overall, an incredible time-saver. Event-based triggers are an incredible innovation. We look...

Overall, an incredible time-saver. Event-based triggers are an incredible innovation. We look forward to doing more dynamic personalization in the future.

Pros

The trigger-based actions are a game-changer. Prospects / customers now get direct mail just 7 days after they take an action, like download a pricing sheet. They get direct mail faster, and it reduces my workload by a LOT. I'm no longer pulling lists and scheduling out direct mail to hit 2 months from now. I also like the dynamic personalization, but because the designs have to be in Figma > Lob, I don't use this as much.

Cons

It's weird that you can't dynamically insert text into the letter format...without a letter being added into a Figma design file? This seems like a basic functionality and I'm perplexed that they don't have it. Also, Customer Service has been up and down. Due to changes in the Lob team, we fell through the cracks and didn't really get onboarded. To be fair, however, we also onboarded ourselves really quickly, so we didn't leave them much time. I've had great meetings with the Lob team where I felt they understood my needs, but there have also been instances where we have to schedule a support meeting several days to a week out...which doesn't help me when something is immediately broken. I think Lob should probably hire a few more Customer Support people so their existing people have more time.

Bianca L.
Bianca L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

So Simple

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

Pros

The API is so simple to work with, it makes developing fun! We use their postcards API to send thank you postcards to first-time customers, and the address verification API to check addresses before shipping orders. The Address Verification has saved us so much time speaking to UPS to update incorrect addresses and lots of customers that are no longer blaming us for wrong address.

Cons

None. We haven't had any problems with Lob!

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Poor Product Quality

Reviewed on 2019/06/16

Lob has great developer docs but an extremely lack luster product. Supply chain issues are a huge...

Lob has great developer docs but an extremely lack luster product. Supply chain issues are a huge red flag and we are concerned there are bigger issues at play.

Pros

Lob has great developer documentation. The developer docs are easy to read.

Cons

1. Set-up time is extremely intensive. Since lob is an API we needed to hire developers to setup the direct mail functionality. We also had to keep them on staff to maintain it. $$$$

2. Product skews are extremely limited. Very few options to choose from.

3. Quality was lack luster. We noticed that the same size postcards were being printed in two different states. Each print facility was using different paper weights. Extremely sketchy quality.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Setup

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

We use Lob to send personalized welcome messages to our customers, improving overall customer...

We use Lob to send personalized welcome messages to our customers, improving overall customer conversion rate.

Pros

Clear and simple API documentation made it easy to use. Experienced no issues after initial implementation, meaning we could just set it up and forget about it.

Cons

Price per mailing is a little high at low volumes, but worth saving the hassle of mailing yourself.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Really helpful API

Reviewed on 2021/03/19

Pros

A good tool for offline mail automation, simplifies and accelerates this process a lot.

Cons

I think it should be much cheaper, quite expensive for now.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clean API but delivery time is slow

Reviewed on 2019/02/01

Pros

Really easy to get started sending letters, and HTML template support ensured the letters we sent look great

Cons

The printing and delivery speed ultimately wasn't what we were looking for - we'd submit a request and it would take 4 days to get mailed out, and another 2-3 days for recipient (US) to receive.

Michael
Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Better Writing

Reviewed on 2020/04/04

It streamlined mailing projects and greatly reduced waste.

It streamlined mailing projects and greatly reduced waste.

Pros

Lob tremendously helped with mail. We were able to track coordinate and tailor mailings like never before.

Cons

It did what it said with no problems. It was a great asset to our company . Direct mail projects are a breeze.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 1 001–5 000 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very good software for automated mail pipelines

Reviewed on 2019/12/30

Pros

Good documentation, easy to get started designing a template for a postcard and programmatically mailing it.

Cons

I would have appreciated seeing some best practice guides, maybe a few examples of working through a project start to finish (instead of just the API documentation). It's possible they may actually have this on the website but I wasn't able to find it at the time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easiest way to send mail using an API

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Pros

Lob is the best solution on the market for quickly and easily sending postcards and letters to customers. Their API is fairly straightforward and has all the functionality that we've needed.

Cons

It's on the expensive side for small projects. I wish the pricing scaled more favorably for running small experiments.