36 reviews

SilkStart MultiChapter

Membership management software

4,4 /5 (36 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
89%
recommended this app
36 reviews
Martin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great choice for small to medium sized not-for-profits.

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

One my major tasks in my first year of employment was to select a new platform for our ageing website and to find an AMS so that we could consolidate our various contacts. I researched a number of options and finally settled on SilkStart. Silkstart offers current technology (updates are frequently rolled out), fresh, modern looking templates and a robust contact/event management system.

The pricing is comparable to other more popular software solutions without the burden of a contract. The staff have been fantastic, and the transition was very smooth. It was also important that we find a Candian solution to our needs.

I would not hesitate to recommend SilkStart.

Pros

Cost effective, fresh templates. various design options with the use of the many widgets available.

Cons

Not really a con, but the SilkStart is targeting a segment of the not-for-profit market.

Response from SilkStart

Thanks Martin. We pride ourselves on making the transition to SilkStart a painless experience and I'm glad to hear that you're finding SilkStart's features robust. Our modern website templates and technology help your organization stand out online and I'm glad to see this helped us stand out over the competition.

Len L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Venture Capital & Private Equity
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceeding all expectations!

Reviewed on 2017/09/01

Increased membership, excellent online marketing, stronger messaging.

Pros

This is the easiest and effective association management software on the market! From membership management, invoicing and communication, it all works very easy. Our events look better and are opened more frequently. Our membership is growing. And the website is terrific.

Greg R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Clumsy

Reviewed on 2019/09/10

Pros

This software is fairly basic and makes life pretty easy for those in the office who need some simple things.

Cons

It's clunky and slow. Customizing pages is very difficult and a challenge. Google Page Speed gives the site very low marks, especially on mobile. The email tool is difficult. Overall, the package feels very late 90's.

Keith K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Tech support when you need it

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

I wanted a company that could integrate my member database into a website platform. They responded with an excellent system that is user-friendly and intuitive. Whenever I have had questions or wanted the website tweaked, their tech team responded immediately -- often within minutes -- with a solution. I have regularly recommended SilkStart to numerous companies and organizations because they provide great value for their product. More importantly, their tech team is always there for support.

Response from SilkStart

Thank you Keith, it's been a pleasure working with you over the years and we're always excited to see your organization grow!

Kate P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Potential, Fingers Crossed!

Reviewed on 2018/02/15

We're looking forward to a long relationship with SilkStart while rebuilding our organization.

Pros

Very versatile options that are all included in one low price. We're very excited for the Chapters features.

Joan C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

No Surprises

Reviewed on 2016/12/10

CORE made the move from a proprietary system to SilkStark. The migration was seamless, the attention to detail was excellent and any hiccups were addressed in a very timely manner. It is incredible value for money.

Dillon L.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very happy transition!

Reviewed on 2018/03/23

We're happy to be customers!

Pros

SilkStart provides a super simple interface for quickly managing your website and users. Our organization is completely driven by volunteers, so the simplicity of SilkStart has been a huge help to our small society. We were in a tough situation with our old website a few years ago and the SilkStart team was able to transition our site quickly and successfully.

Cons

It's very difficult to find something negative to say about SilkStart. We have only had a couple of small issues over the past few years and all of those were addressed perfectly with unbelievable turnaround.

Donegal W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use in a Multi Chapter configuration and it is amazing

Reviewed on 2017/09/05

We have seen an increase in membership renewals and retention.

Pros

We love being able to see and communicate with all members across all chapters and the ability to have paper and online purchase processes available. The members love the ease of renewals and management of their communication preferences.

Cons

We still use physical member cards and the printing of the cards is not easy. They are working with us to come up with a solution.

Kelsey B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DigiBC SilkStart Review

Reviewed on 2016/05/18

Pros

We needed a website that tied together online registration with our member database, job board, event calendar, and news articles. SilkStart delivered with a mobile-friendly platform that presents our organization to the public in a professional and modern manner. Their support team is always there to respond to our questions and assists us in improving our site.

Cons

Sometimes the software is less intuitive than desired for task at hand.

Tessa B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

SilkStart for the win!

Reviewed on 2015/11/26

When we launched our site back in 2009 it had all the bells and whistles. But as time went by, best practices took a new shape and Drupal snuck out the back door. The Silkstart team listened to all of our concerns, paid attention to our wish lists and threw in extra tools to make the entire site seamless. VIATEC was the first to use SilkStart's job board platform, and boy did they deliver.

The Job Board was critical as it is one of our largest revenue generators, and helps attract new talent to Victoria. Job Posters can now purchase and manage their own listings, and job seekers can easily search the user-friendly platform. Transactional data is also easily captured in SilkStart.

The new VIATEC.ca is not only what we were in need of, but it actually represents who we are and allows us to show off our members more efficiently.

We now have an all-in-one system that is super simple and easy to maintain. As a bonus, their team quickly responds to our feedback and works with us to use their software to accomplish our association's goals. SilkStart for the win!

Response from SilkStart

Thanks Tessa. It's great to have a progressive technology association like VIATEC on board with us. We feel it challenges us to continually work to improve the platform so that we can continue to meet your needs. Your organization is also a stellar example to our other customers, and we regularly showcase your job board and how effective it is at generating non dues revenue for your association.

Richard B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Solid Company and Product

Reviewed on 2018/01/15

Very happy to have signed on!

Pros

Lots of functionality. Everything most small orgs would need. These guys really want to make it work for you. I am a very small client, but they still care a lot..

Cons

If you have a burning need, can be tough to get immediate help on the phone - so plan ahead. But they are also a small SaaS company with limited resources, so you need to realize that..

Janice H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very satisfied with SilkStart

Reviewed on 2016/11/30

For years, our professional association struggled with a website management company that was not responsive to our needs. Based on the recommendation of a sister association, we chose to move our website to the SilkStart platform. The staff at SilkStart helped us redesign our website and upgrade to a fresh, modern design. In addition, we now have the ability to manage our website on a day to day basis. As a volunteer-led organization, it is critical to have a website that is easy to use on both the front and back end. SilkStart made this possible. Most importantly, the customer support has been excellent. SilkStart listens to its customers and responds to those needs in a timely fashion. We have been very pleased with the services and support provided by SilkStart and highly recommend them to any organization looking for an effective member management software platform.

Response from SilkStart

Hi Janice, Thanks for this review. We do our best to listen to our customers and respond to your needs in a timely fashion, so it great to hear this from you.

George F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Clear winner

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

We recently migrated our old WP build with plugins duct taped together to give us the functionality we were after. There was no such thing as AMS when I built it.

After much research into AMS packages, SilkStart was the clear winner. Being based and hosted in BC, we get to keep our Canadian data on Canadian soil. Their packages are reasonably priced, and regardless of service tier, the UX is simple and intuitive. And while site templating is done by their build team, the custom CSS panel allows tweaks if you know your way around code.

Pros

Affordability. Simplicity.

Cons

A bit more control over the template framework apart from the custom CSS would be great for the end users that have the know-how.

Response from SilkStart

Thank you George. One of the value propositions we describe to customers is the advantages of SilkStart¿s all-in-one platform compared to Wordpress + several plugins cobbled together. Great advice on giving additional controls to sophisticated users.

Amanda M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Love SilkStart!

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

SilkStart is one of the easiest pieces of software I have EVER used! I am confident that my chapter leaders can learn to use it with ease. I think that as it grows it's feature set will continue to round out. Custom development options would be nice. Also recurring meetings. I could see third-party plugins in the future. Great job overall though!

Response from SilkStart

Thank you Amanda! In all honesty you have been one of the easiest customers to work with due to your technical skills and ability to implement things in our multi-chapter platform on your own. We were delighted to work with your organization and are happy you are satisfied with the end result.

Melissa L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Helped Us To Grow Our Chapter Membership!

Reviewed on 2015/07/03

With professional guidance and help from SilkStart, NAWIC Atlanta can now use our website for marketing and networking in the construction industry. This has helped us grow our chapter membership. Making changes to our website is easy, and we now have a professional looking marketing tool we are proud of. The help and guidance provided by SilkStart has been timely and professional for all our needs.

Response from SilkStart

Thanks for your ongoing support Melissa. We continue to bring on additional NAWIC Chapters and look forward to supporting them in the months and years to come.

Michael P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professional Trailbuilders Association

Reviewed on 2017/01/18

This product has really increased our ability to stay connected with members and has created many improved efficiencies in our financial and managerial processes. I would definitely recommend Silkstart to other trade associations.

Aleksandra N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: International Trade & Development
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SilkStart Review

Reviewed on 2019/07/17

Creating membership plans, collecting dues, facilitate renewals, viewing member data, all in one place.

Pros

Easy program helping you ut with management, I loved the mobile version of it.

Cons

I didn't notice anything I didn't like in particular.

Tricia G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

SilkStart Database and Website-a great choice

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

I did a lot of research before choosing SilkStart and while the cost was a little more than the other comparable options, I felt that the customer service was extremely important and worth the extra cost. From the start, the people from SilkStart were very helpful and knowledgeable. Having never built a website and starting essentially from scratch, they helped guide me through the process and make important decisions on what to include in both the website content and database information captures, how to prioritize and tutorials on how to manage both the website and the database. We launched our site 5 months ago and we are so happy with the website. We are in the midst of registering for a big conference and the set up was easy for us to do. We were able to offer multi sessions within the conference as well as a variety of ticket options which has been extremely helpful. We had a few questions along the way, and after submitting a ticket, we had the questions answered within a couple of hours. SilkStart was a great choice for us!

Pros

Ease of use, many tutorials and FAQ to help problem solve, easy access to support with quick response time.

Cons

The cost was a little higher than that of others we compared.

Response from SilkStart

Thanks Tricia. We're glad to hear that our commitment to ongoing customer support was one of the things that won you over. Its great to hear the conference setup was also easy for you.

Annie J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great member management platform

Reviewed on 2016/06/14

Pros

Our organization is thrilled with our new website backed by SilkStart’s robust platform. With this website, we get the best of both worlds: an award-winning website that projects a modern online image, without having to spend the effort to put it together. From the beginning, our site has been easy to use and we can make our own updates with no technical skills required. The features they develop are exactly what we need. SilkStart gets organizations. Truly. End of story.

If we do run into any snags, Silkstart’s topflight customer service is super responsive. Silkstart takes care of us by providing a highly customizable event calendar to suits our needs as event organizers, but also provides a seamless one-stop registration, payment, and feedback experience to out without changing pages.

Thank you SilkStart for making managing 700 members so easy.

Cons

That their software is proprietary. While we've never had a problem with this company, before we came to Silkstart we were left high-and-dry when our web builder went out of business. We were so impressed with Silkstart that we were willing to try again, but we are cognizant that we would have to start from scratch if the same thing happened to them.

Sarah C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

efficient, user friendly, logical workflow, easy to use (except for speed).

Reviewed on 2017/08/28

Website is much easier to update, members can self serve their changes, invoicing is MUCH easier, recording payments is MUCH easier, reports are easy to create and use. Overall very happy except for the speed of the site - which means even with all these great improvements, I'm not really spending any less time.

Pros

It's got pretty much all the features and functionality we could want, and the customer service is great - they have build new features or suggested work arounds when the software couldn't do what we needed. Great value.

Cons

The whole site is incredibly slow. Mostly the Admin site, but often the main pages as well. Sometimes the save logic is a bit weird - it asks me to confirm I want to leave a site without saving, when I haven't made any changes. I can live with this, but would really like the admin pages to be faster.

Response from SilkStart

I'm very happy to hear that SilkStart is saving you time on many of the organizational processes that you previously spent more time and effort on. We are always measuring the speed of our sites and are focused on making the entire SilkStart experience faster for you. We are currently releasing a database update in Sept that we hope will significantly improve your site speed.

Lynne M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very impressed

Reviewed on 2012/05/18

Overall I highly recommend this software for organizations which want to promote their their members.
I was very satisfied with everything they did and with how quickly they were able to set everything up because I know other products can take up to a year to be fully functional

Pros

The editing capabilities of this software is brilliant, I loved that it was so intuitive to do things that even my most technologically challenged staff could figure it out
Customization options
integration with our accounting software
social media features really helped boost our image
It's pretty much everything we needed in one easy place

Cons

The 30-day trial thing doesn't really do the software justice so we almost didn't choose it

Response from SilkStart

Thanks Lynn. I recently reread your review and realize you make an excellent point. We offer a free 30 day trial of the software so you can see firsthand what it looks like and how it works. We do this because many of our competitors hide their product behind a sales team and you only get to use it once you sign on. That aside, I agree that a demo by a member of our team, plus taking a look at other customer sites we have built is the best way to really see what we are capable of. The trial doesn't totally do that justice as everything isn't yet configured to your specific needs.

Carol G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

User-friendly system and responsive support team make for an ideal solution

Reviewed on 2017/08/28

Pros

Ease of use - not only as an administrator but also as a member Easy to customize and promote individual events or annual events. Working with SilkStart team.

Cons

I don't find it intuitive. The help boards are great. If you ask the right question, SilkStart is quick to respond and provide the answer. However, if you don't ask the question, they don't always volunteer the information. Would like the customer relationship management (internal) side of the database to be more developed.

Response from SilkStart

Hi Carol, it's been a pleasure working with you and your team. I'm ecstatic that SilkStart has been easy for you to use as a relatively new customer. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service and going above and beyond for our customers. We continually release new in-app help tools, so please contact support if you have any suggestions for items we could add help for.

Tamara B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great program - still evolving

Reviewed on 2017/01/11

The Silkstart experience has been a mixed bag - but silkstart was the first cost-effective multi-chapter association software package that we found that really did do what we asked for. There are a lot of features that should be there but aren't and a lot of features that work strangely. But the package as a whole meets our needs and is continually evolving and improving. I don't think we could do better for the money - and since we are willing to go for the ride with the company - we are grateful to be part of the push and pull that makes good software great.

Response from SilkStart

Thanks Tamara,

We appreciate the opportunity to get to work with SSPI as our first multi-chapter customer and to develop something new for you.

I'm glad you feel we're good value for the money, that SilkStart Multi-Chapter is doing what you asked for, and that you see we are quickly evolving.

In the past year, SilkStart Multi-Chapter has become a large part of our overall business and we greatly appreciate all of your input and help to take it from good to great.

Stephen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good System If You Keep an Ace at the Controls

Reviewed on 2016/11/08

We use SilkStart on behalf of our communication system clients. It is a solid platform but do not fool yourself into thinking it is turnkey. You must have an ace pilot at the controls in order for SilkStart to do everything they tell you it will do. We relay heavily on support, which is good. The system could be more configurable and it ought to (but doesn't) include SMS.

Pros

The user interface and the support.

Cons

It is not as configurable as it should be. We think that for the price it should be doing more for us.

Response from SilkStart

Stephen, Thanks so much for your review. You are absolutely right that AMS platforms are like a vehicle that requires someone at the controls. We're delighted you rate our support, features and functionality so highly and hope we can continue to make it deliver increasing value to you.

Nadia D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

LOOK NO FURTHER TO BE EFFICIENT

Reviewed on 2016/12/08

I greatly appreciate a company that is constantly improving along with us. SilkStart has made the software a valuable tool for our company.