OrangeHRM Reviews

OrangeHRM

Open source human resources software

4.1/5 (170 reviews)
Vinoojan T.

Good for small scale project managment companies

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/13
Review Source: Capterra

This one solved our basic need for Applying leave and Time sheets.With the limitations we are using this for long.

Pros

Very user friendly and we can have all the basic details of us and even with trial version they are providing Check in out to capture attendance also can apply leave to get approval.Can view all the employee details and can update our qualifications,etc. Time sheets functionalities are there. you can track project and task with employee or subordinates.

Cons

There is no functionalities to track employees movement like promotions, increment,etc.Also Time sheets are there but can't assign to a particular person. Can only add to the project

Response from OrangeHRM

Hi Vinoojan, thank-you for your review. The missing features you describe are available in all our product versions. Would you be willing to speak with a sales representative from our team, who could bring you through a quick demo and ensure you get the most value from the system?

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Maria G.

A Cloud Based HRM Application We Could Not Do Without

Reviewed on 2015/02/24
Review Source: Capterra

We researched several HRM applications at the time we decided to transition away from our prior system. We weighed all options and made the decision to go with OrangeHRM.

Pros:

o Excellent customer support
o Very easy and functional report generator application for ad-hoc reporting
o Easy to use timesheet tracking built as module within the system
o Leave tracking seemed to happen effortlessly
o Extremely user friendly, pleasant interface both for staff and the company
o Easy custom fields in addition to more complex customization options
o Recruitment module
o Performance Module for annual and 6 month new hire reviews
o Very knowledgeable and helpful sales contact
o Easy and intuitive navigation within the system
o Fantastic training
o Will soon have mobile application of their cloud-based software
o Company is very open to client feedback
o The portal is customized with your logo and colors so it has your branding

Cons

o It's hard to think of a con realistically, as if there is anything that we need to be done with the system, we know it can be addressed. The defaults may not be what we'd always like, but it's fine as we can modify it to meet out needs. So what may start out as a 'con' in this area turns into a 'pro' as in the end you have the system you'd like to have.

o There is no integration with outside applications (i.e., payroll). This is not a con for us as we have no need for this - but for some companies seeking this, it is not part of this application's functionality. OrangeHRM doesn't try to be all things to all people like some HRM systems - which then end up being costly and much more complicated - but they have developed a solid HRM system with a very easy user interface for those companies looking for this.

I would highly recommend at least exploring this solution when researching HRM options. This has been a fantastic decision for our company.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Great for Medium size companies

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/29
Review Source: Capterra

its a good tool for a small company, I don't see this tool being used by a multinational company, but its a good fit for small to mid size operations

Pros

OrangeHRM is a very intuitive software, basic management of your workforce, it has a simple way to show the information about your employees, personal and job data, loading the data is simple and the transactional part is not complicated at all, you can perform multiple transactions for your workforce, transfer departments, promotions, shift changes, review the hierarchy and id your employees in a simplistic way

Cons

integration with other applications require additional developments, and the technical support is a bit expensive. multi language support may be challenging.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Nuwan C.

Manage & track the human activities to improve the efficiency & involvement of the company HRM.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/13
Review Source: Capterra

I'm able to track my day to day activities by using the system.

Pros

1. Can track the checking in time & checkout time of the employers.
2. Employers can apply the leaves & management can approve the leaves immediately.
3. Can maintain employers detail profile.
4. Can integrate with the fingerprint machines.
5. The system receives the emails both employees & management.

Cons

1. There have some small bugs like When you add check in & check out manually through the system sometimes it not save at once. The user has to re-enter the information again.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Gabriela V.

Is a complete software to collect information about human resources.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/18
Review Source: Capterra

You have the information of the work team at the level of human resources updated and on hand for any use that is required.

Pros

It allows to place the detailed information of each member of the work team, it also allows to document the evaluation of performance and maintain a history of it since entering the company.
It allows to document the movements of the jobs that a worker has had and their respective movement dates.
It allows to design and visualize the organizational structure incorporating the photos of the members of the team.
It allows to document the history of all the training that each person has done.

Cons

There is information loaded in the software that is not visible to all users
Sometimes you have to go to an administrator to get information from the staff
For some users the software is not tractive because the full menu is displayed and tends to confuse the tabs to be used

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Royce B.

Simple and Complete HR Solution.

Reviewed on 2015/06/24
Review Source: Capterra

When in need for a specialized software in the work place and on a tight budget for SMB practices FLOSS software usually is my first avenue of exploration. Working as an IT consulting company for multiple vet clinics we were in need of a simple hr/time recording system that could be deployed within minutes and easy to maintain; something we found in OrangeHRM.

We primarily use OrangHRM 3.1.1 for time sheets, attendance records and employee information. The ease of use for logging hours and pulling reports is dead simple and is easy to work with.

Pros:
- Easy install with multiple options and documentation available
- Open source with options of paid support and hosting options
- Consistent performance
- Ease of use

Cons:
- Data backup is not built into the product (documentation for manual database backup/restoration available on forums)
- Software updates are not performed from web console/gui
- Feature sets limited to which product version utilized (most FLOSS products do this)
- Reporting functions leave room to be desired

Overall OrangeHRM is a fantastic product that can be easily deployed and setup within hours. With it's simple interface and user experience your office setups can greatly benefit from utilizing OrangeHRM. Keep in mind that if you are not paying for the hosted version/support you will need to take steps to ensure data backup policies and staying up to date with the software. Though this process is not difficult it is cumbersome and should be considered when weighing the costs and benefits in your decision making process.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Angel G.

A good Open Source option for HRM

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/11/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

After a test phase (kind of a Proof of Concept), we decided to use OrangeHRM Open Source + LDAP plug-in. Employees were upset with old leaving request procedures based on documents, forms and email. Now the system has been running a whole year, and everybody loves its simplicity.

Pros

Functionalities included in OrangeHRM Open Source are very useful.
Simple and clear database schema.
Online demo environment. A good channel in YouTube.

Cons

Lack of a clear release policy (i.e. quarter or year updates). The last two versions of Open Source edition are 3.3.3 and 3.3.2 published in 2016-09-28 and 2015-08-04 respectively while commercial versions are in 5.2 branch.
Forums do not work (http://forum.orangehrm.com) and wiki is not updated (http://wiki.orangehrm.com).
The Spanish translation is not usable in Spain. We have maid our own translation but we have no official place to share it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Makes management of employees records very easy

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/03/28
Review Source: Capterra

Easy management of employees and eliminated manual ways of leave applications.

Pros

The software is easily customizable, and with only one click it is possible to check on an employees details, approve leave requests, etc.

Cons

The leave request menu in the client side interface is quite ambiguous and can take a while to get used to. Also, the leave request days are ambiguous as they are clocked in decimaled minutes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kathy A.

Very good software for small and medium-size businesses

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

It is very cost effective and hassle-free software. Easy to manage for both admin and user. In one word great app.

Pros

The attendance management is most attractive part of this software. Just log in to the software and it will record your attendance automatically. Integrate your CRM here too.

Cons

Well, I'm still working on that. I'll update here once I come across with anything. As of now didn't find out any.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bernard U.

Among the best Human resource management software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/05
Review Source: Capterra

This software is very comprehensive and includes all employee records including leaves, performance and even time sheets. Highly recommended to any HR managers

Pros

The interface is very user friendly and minimal amount of training is required to get a hang on how to use the software.

Cons

The release is not very stable and sometimes crashing may occur. The customer support team may also delay when responding to issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sarath R.

Helpful Open Source Orange HRM software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customer services is very good quality.Every one easy to learn and understood this software,
it is one of the good management software

Cons

Overall a good OrangeHRM software, none

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jackson P.

Great Tool to track Time

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/28
Review Source: Capterra

Time Tracking was made a cake walk

Pros

I have 25 people reporting into me and OrangeHRM makes it easy for me to track their time and leaves. Adding team members to different projects is really easy

Cons

The support could be a little better. But over all I'm satisfied. We have an in-house support team who helps us when it comes to support.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

better platform to monitor organizational human resource management in future business world.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/07/21
Review Source: Capterra

time and cost saving human resource information management software. and it helps to do work simply and faster.

Pros

high quality customer service , covered all of human resource management functions in organization like payroll , time and attendance, performance management, training and development and recruitment ,

Cons

some times have to get technical support for update system entries.
poor self learning ability.
inconvenience of generate some reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nemo A.

Best HR Software I've ever used, and I've used them all.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/08/23
Review Source: Capterra

The value for what you get is amazing. It's extremely user-friendly (especially their new "eagle" version 6.1.) the functions is similar to your top-tier HRMS but the price was a fraction. I highly recommend it

Pros

Top-Tier HR software functionality with the fraction of the price of top tier hr software.

Cons

None.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Anand S.

HRM that works

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Have used many HRM software in past, but I found Orange HRM simple and well organised. It also has capability to get it customized as per our need which makes it very flexible.

Cons

Well, to be honest OrangeHRM has been their for a long period of time and they keep on improving their drawbacks, and I guess community edition has played a crucial part here.
The SaaS model should be improved little further otherwise everything is perfect.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

David C.

Very user friendly interface. Totally recommended.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/05/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

My family and I run a small business and OrangeHRM has been extremely helpful when organizing our employee information and records.

Cons

It would be very helpful if it would offer different options to make teams to work with our employees.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Juliet W.

one of the best softwares for human resource management

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/02
Review Source: Capterra

One of the best Human Resource management software. I highly recommend it to human resource managers.

Pros

The system covers almost all the aspects of human resource management, including leave management, employee performance and asset recording.

Cons

The Orange HRM is not easy to setup and it is also not very stable. There is a risk of the system crushing and user losing all the stored data. This has happened to me twice.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Randi G.

Orange HRM

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

Overall I really Enjoy the easy use of ORANGE HRM and its the perfect HR resource!

Pros

I love this software. It allows me to easily give PTO and keeps everything together. It lets my employees request time off, see who is off, and allows you to view pictures to verify who they are.

Cons

Sometimes it does crash and is frequently going through updates which has put us behind a little at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Melea S.

Overpromised in every way

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/05/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We feel like we've wasted a year of resources trying to make it work. Complaints fall on uncaring and slow to respond ears. There are some great features in OrangeHRM, but not much attention is given to the essentials. We are walking away before our 1 year contract is up.

Pros

OrangeHRM offers an on premise option if you prefer to keep your data in house. The mobile interface is nice and easy to use.

Cons

We were promised features that do not exist. It is difficult to use the system for timecard tracking. With the paid version we are only able to export timecards by person rather than in a batch for everyone. Employees are frustrated trying to track their hours throughout the week. There is no easy way to see how many hours you've clocked and holiday and PTO hours do not show in totals. Employees that work overnight have incorrect totals. Support is very slow to respond. We feel mislead about how easy it would be to integrate with our payroll provider. We are a​ small company with about 70 employees and no desire to export 70 files each payroll.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Miguel S.

I have been using orange to submit vacations, used time in projects etc..

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

It's great to fulfill the company needs in terms of managing the employees

Pros

This software has been great so far, its really simple to fulfill the most essential tasks that a company has, like managing employees timesheets, vacations etc..

Cons

The interface is not the best, and it's an online service, is not a software that you can have on your computer, for some people that can be a bummer

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Annie M.

My team is able to Clock our time now. Awesome

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/05
Review Source: Capterra

Time management became very easy and efficient for our whole team

Pros

In the past we used to track our time in plain Excel, but once we got OrangeHRM we were able to manage our time better and also visually see where we spend our time and how to make it more efficient and become productive

Cons

None. Actually none at all. In the past 2 years that i've used OrangeHRM, i've never had to complain about anything

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Polly M.

Remarks

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/20
Review Source: Capterra

its now easy to keep staffs records

Pros

its easy for use,light and easily customizable

Cons

pdf and excel reports are missing in the system

Response from OrangeHRM

Hi Polly, thank-you for your review. PDF and Excel export of reports are available in our professional and enterprise products. If you're interested in discussing further please reach out to us at [email protected]

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Pete N.

OrangeHRM - Great Product!

Reviewed on 2015/10/27
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very intuitive, easy to use, and applies the principles of "keep it simple" to HR processes. Leave and Recruitment modules are very good. Great value for the investment involved.

Cons

I can't think of anything - the support I have received (I am a long-time user) has been excellent!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Desmond C.

Human Capital Management on your fingertips!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

OrangeHRM makes it possible for the management of human capital within an organisation. I like that the software comes with functionalities such as attendance management, performance tracking and many more.

Cons

I would have loved the software to have a built in payroll module.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Excellent facilitates the tasks related to the control, management and administration of personnel

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/09
Review Source: Capterra

Orange HRM, works and operates from a Web browser (Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer, among others), which is why the physical characteristics of the equipment are not very demanding. It is enough to have with a computer that has an Internet connection. Orange HRM, works and operates from a Web browser (Firefox, Opera, Internet Explorer, among others), which is why the physical characteristics of the equipment are not very demanding. It is enough to have with a computer that has an Internet connection. As a worker in the recruitment and selection area, she has allowed me to keep a list of job offers and to select personnel. Keep all information related to employees. Automate the processes related to the tracking time. Among others.

Pros

It facilitates the tasks collected in the life cycle of the employee. It helps to organize and manage the information of our personnel, simplifying many of the current processes. It unifies and protects the information related to employees.
Reduce internal bureaucracy and improve the efficiency of the HR department.

Cons

A counter would be that: We must have a dedicated server, that is, a place to host the Orange HRM system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10