IBM Talent Management Reviews

IBM Talent Management

HR powered by AI is the new driver of business growth.

4/5 (93 reviews)
Mike D.

IBM Kenexa - Highly Configurable, Continuously Improving

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/15
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our organization first implemented the Kenexa product in 2011, starting with BrassRing and later adding Onboard and most recently Assess. As we are a large, global organization that spans multiple industries, we used a phased rollout approach, beginning in the US and gradually expanding across EMEA, LATAM, and APAC. As compared with our prior applicant tracking systems, Kenexa offers a much higher degree of configurability, enabling us to have a truly global enterprise solution for the first time. The relatively recent development of responsive user interfaces on the candidate and recruiter side, though a little late in coming, are also a tremendous leap forward for the ease of use and adoption of the system. Kenexa has certainly benefited from being brought into the IBM organization; as an example, they are now implementing cognitive capabilities across the various modules that are new but seem promising.

The standard support model, which uses their Global Support Center, is adequate, but can be a source of frustration as agents are unfamiliar with your specific organization's configuration and have difficulty recognizing and resolving issues quickly. For this reason, Kenexa clients (including us) seem to be increasingly utilizing custom support options which provide more individualized support at a higher cost.

Pros

The BrassRing tool in particular is highly configurable, which was an essential feature for us given that we have a wide range of candidate workflows (executive, professional, mass volume, internships, etc.) and have to meet compliance regulations in the 40+ countries in which we recruit talent. By having the ability to quickly make configuration changes ourselves through the Workbench tool, we have been able to respond much more quickly to changing business needs and new legislation. BrassRing also offers a high level of automation, which has saved significant administrative labor.

The Onboard module allows candidates to submit post-accept data and complete pre-employment documentation electronically, and on any device. This has made this process significantly faster, both for the internal HR Operations teams and the candidate; additionally, it has helped us ensure candidates are always completing the appropriate, most up-to-date documents for their position/location/business area, which was a major challenge when this process was being completed in paper.

Lastly, the relatively new 'data mapping tool' for BrassRing has given users the ability to configure basic integrations themselves; this feature has saved us significant time and money as we adopted new systems for background checks, assessments, drug testing, housing, etc. Previously, a minor change to an integration would be at least a project, and required 6 months and project labor - now we can make changes, complete testing, and have it live in production within a week.

Cons

The Kenexa team is almost constantly updating the product and implementing new features - which is certainly a positive - but the down side seems to be the instability that is a byproduct of this cycle. It is unfortunately all too common that after each monthly release, items that previously worked suddenly are broken. Larger changes are often rolled out in multiple releases over time, which force us to determine our tolerance for adopting something that is promising but largely untested and/or incomplete.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sarah M.

Great technology and support - commitment to customers' needs

Reviewed on 2016/07/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product is very configurable and can meet the needs of any customer, large to small, domestic to international, compliance heavy to flexible. Over the years I have worked with this tool in global setting and high volume and have seen a commitment to staying on top of inductry trends and more recently, seen a renewed focus on being cutting edge and captializing on the industry expertise of IBM. They have done so while continuing the relationship focus that made Kenexa a desired partner.

They are able to effectively support the compexities of our high volume environment through user access customization, robust system automation capabilities (specifically RAM), and highly customizabable forms, workflows and candidate gateways. They are very responsive to customer needs and intentional about gathering and applying feedback. They are committed to being a partner to our business, not simply a vendor.

With IBM Kenexa we also benefit from a Client Success Manager who works with us post launch to help us use our system effectively, is a technical resource when we are attempting to conficure the system to solve business problems, make sure we understand improvements coming to the system, help communicate our needs to the development and engineering teams and truely behaves as a member of our team. Our CSMs have been a differentiator and add value we have not seen when using competing products.

Cons

When implementing, the vendor is a very skilled partner, but need to be more clear with clients about the skills and knowledge required of their team to have a successful launch. A team without experience with the product would likely see a poor implementation, due to the flexibility of the system it can be overcomplicated by inexperienced users.

When they launch new functionality, it is often "buggy" at launch and does not seem to have been fully tested before roll out. However, generally will operate as intended shortly after launch. It is important that, as a client, you share these concerns early and in detail.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Tara B.

IBM Kenexa - Assess

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/02
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has been able to give more detail about our applicants to customer companies, and been able to verify an applicant's skill level prior to them beginning a job.

Pros

This software integrates into our database, and has a very wide variety of assessments that can be given to potential employees. Being able to provide these results increases our value to our client companies. We are able to clearly and easily interpret the employee's skill level, and determine whether they are a match to the positions.

Cons

For a time, the software was not integrating cleanly, and would often interrupt a testing session, causing us to lose out on candidates who became frustrated with the process. However, this has been remedied.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Arden S.

It's 2017 and time to move on

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/24
Review Source: GetApp

Simply put, this LMS is outdated and far from user-friendly. I say this when I compare to the competing products as well as my own experiences being the administrator for our company. It took IBM over 2 weeks to even believe me when I was having an issue. It took another month for them to actually get it resolved, even though it was an escalated issue affecting out production environment. As a customer, I can't believe that it took them that long. I struggle to find much that is good about this LMS. It's restrictive and costs an exorbitant amount of money for the limited functionality that it provides.

I believe this product could be something much more than it is. But, I don't think IBM sees it that way. I've looked at the changes from over the past year or two and... I'm very disappointed. They try and make a big deal out of the upgrades to new versions but... little changes are actually made. I feel like IBM is simply milking this for what they can.

IBM either needs to step up their game and do a big re-vamp of this product or drop it. Either way, though, I'm confident that they only have customers at this point because they are stuck in the contracts.

Pros

They do offer, albeit limited, access to a REST API.
You can customize some of the UI elements (looks and placement), though little documentation exists.
That's about it...

Cons

Cost, in every facet.
Difficult and Limited Reporting
Slow turn response time from Support
Limited SCORM Support (Supports up to 2004 3rd Edition, no xAPI support)
Difficult to manage organizations and users (particularly in bulk)
The interface out of the box looks like it's from the 90's (again, it's 2017)
Did I mention the cost?
Limited support for Online Training Tools (GoToTraining, Zoom, etc)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

1.0/10
Matt W.

Matt Wolbrink Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

This is a great tool now that we have it implemented. The transitional period was seamless. And now that we are up and running the new HR System is amazing compared to our old home grown system.

Pros

User Friendly, Easy to Learn.

Cons

Can be overwhelming with multiple windows / pop ups for each click.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Steve B.

Dated

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use web portal. From login to assignments to result reviews with ease. Choosing and sending assessments is very simple.

Cons

Dated product and spotty functionality at an end user level. Many reports of assessment crashing on candidates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

2.0/10
Matt J.

Great product, great service!

Reviewed on 2016/07/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Vendor is passionate about product and very open to working with customers to make it better. A great team to work with.

The product itself is very flexible and adaptable to any business need and allows customization when needed. A very versatile tool.

Cons

Testing does not always seem inclusive of all possible options (e.g. not testing new functionality on Chrome, only IE). Need to better understand impact of changes/additions to functionality and how could impact customers and systems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chanelle H.

Gets the Job Done

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/10
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Gets the job done, but I find this to be extremely old school.

Cons

Interface is antiquated. There are newer softwares that make recruiting more seamless and meet the clients ever-changing needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Rose R.

Kenexa Talent Suite

Reviewed on 2017/01/21
Review Source: Capterra

1. The IBM Kenexa Talent Suite is the first platform offered by IBM since it acquired Kenexa in late 2012. This platform not only benefits HR and managers but also appeals to C-level executives (such as a Chief Human Resource Officer) as Big Data and analytics are used to help in finding and attracting the best employees.
2. IBM Kenexa provides a comprehensive portfolio of human resources solutions designed to help businesses acquire, train, and develop their staff throughout the employee lifecycle. The product is a cloud-based solution and is compatible with Mac operating systems along with connected mobile devices.
3. Every vendor on the market likes to suggest that their product can be configured as much or as little as a client wants, but there are no other products on the market that offer the degree of pre- and post-implementation that BrassRing does. Through the deployment of user-generated objects like candidate forms, workflows, and automated rules I can use the BrassRing system to build a self-contained Executive Recruitment practice in a system that is otherwise configured to process 10,000+ hires in a year.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Asad A.

To enhance my knowledge and capabilities by working in a dynamic organization that prid

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/01/28
Review Source: Capterra

To enhance my knowledge and capabilities by working in a dynamic organization that prides itself in giving substantia responsibility to new talent

Pros

YES I LIKE YOUR SOFTWARE

Cons

ASAD ALI

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sarah W.

Product flexibility allows you to meet business needs

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/09/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Talent Suite/New Experience has brought the product up to speed with other SaaS application UX. The new Responsive Recruiter, Search & Apply and Responsive Design enables each business to easily configure based on your business needs and enhance the candidate experience. IBM works with you to ensure increased ROI through feature and process review.

Pros

Complementary support augments the technical gaps from global support center.

Cons

Global product support and monthly releases with little advice notice and documentation prior to automatic implementation

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Jennifer R.

Flexible product for small to large companies around the globe

Reviewed on 2016/07/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Software is incredibly flexible. Configuration is intuitive and easy to maintain. Highly scalable solution (both locally and globally). Supports multi-company functionality. Great customer support.

Cons

Product enhancements are pushed out on a quarterly basis, but are highly influenced by largest clients/accounts. Sometimes these are value add to smaller clients such as our firm, but many times they aren't as relevant as other updates we'd prefer to see.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Nice software with many Bugs till date

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Uploading of the profiles is quite easy, with an ease of access.

Cons

Auto fetching of the details from the Resume is very very bad, also many times after uploading the profile from vendor portal and followed by completing the Application of the candidate , still it shows as Incomplete.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Malay K.

Interesting ATS but needs lot of feature improvements

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good but can be more effective

Pros

Is quite fast on data retrieval for candidate profiles, etc
Good for high volume data
Good options for customization

Cons

Customer support for custom feature is very slow
The look and feel is not very user appealing
Onboarding is in a mess !

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Kevin S.

Good tool for evaluating Microsoft Office skills

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/12
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's easy to use once you know the process. Gives you the option to test people for any version of office and typing speed. There are many other programs that this can test for as well, but we mainly use it for MS Office testing. Can administer from anywhere, and the person taking the test can do it from anywhere.

Cons

The user interface is not very intuitive. Once you get used to it, it's not so bad. Needs a refresh on the user experience.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Abby P.

Very Detailed Assessments

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Would be great if we can create a customized assessment, but I like it overall.

Pros

Most notable pros include:
- Detailed assessments results (includes visual charts, follow up questions, expectations, and how to improve)
- Ease of use to enroll test takers
- 100+ assessments options
- Customer service is helpful and prompt

Cons

I think the search function could be better. It would also be great if we can see a live view of our remaining balance/credits, instead of having to call customer service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Carl K.

Absolutely Awful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It’s the sort of system you would recommend to a competitor you really did not like.

Pros

The system seems to be able to cast a wide net across the internet, the response to most ads is generally good. Of course with the prevalence of aggregator websites most ATSs will provide a good ad response.

Cons

The system has become slow and clunky, a number of basic features do not work. Running any kind of search that involves more than one key word just does not work. Searches tend to turn up random results where the key word you search on are absent.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Maria E.

IBM BR

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/20
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Overall the experience has been fair...IBM can make improvements to improve experience for Recruiter in mind...less clicks, consistent appearance regardless of browser.

Pros

IBM Global Support ctr has been stellar with many of our requests/issues
wide array of features available...still unsurfacing them

Cons

temperamental per the browser in use - features can appear different depending on browser
DIT can be improved with more accurate filters (ie: final status of Req)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Jennifer S.

IBM Kenexa

Reviewed on 2016/07/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Ability to report data is great within the DIT. Few outages as well.

Cons

I do not like the forced view of panels, I prefer to maintain a listed view of all of my open reqs and click on the R folder to work within the candidate pool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Betty L.

Loved working with this software, it is easy to learn and get around

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ease of use trying to run reports, it was easy to find the field you needed and you could pull in what you needed

Cons

Sometimes, you cannot be on the system when a colleague is on it. That was a problem at certain times of the day

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Emmanuel A.

Kenexa-Brassring

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/11/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Working with IBM as one of our top clients; it was simply one of the best tools to use that was already compatibility with the business model we had set up at the time. Kenexa makes it easy for us to track candidates with its ATS that was implemented. We made recruiting a success and alleviated the burden of tracking a large pool of candidates, that though they may not fit at the time, we would be able to utilize their skills in other available areas as they came about.

Pros

Applicant Tracking System included in it.

Cons

Reporting issues

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Phil D.

Simply a Must Have Tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Very valuable tool I regularly utilize

Pros

-Offers everything under the sun
-Great selling point to clients when qualifying talent

Cons

-Could probably eliminate a number of the items related to very dated software, just clutters the menu

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kat L.

Easy to Use

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/24
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Very easy to use, you can create your own tests or batches of tests to send to candidates, doesn't require a lengthy log in process.

Cons

IBM Kinexa is pretty basic. There aren't a ton of offered customization options. Very simple platform.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Betty L.

Great system

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Kenexa is easy to use and learn. It is very good for beginners with HRIS software. I used SAP when I worked for an energy services company and would like to say it is a very large comprehensive system. I worked in both PR30 and PR40, 2 modules of this program that dealt with personnel records. It has many nuances that you will have to learn to work in it correctly. But it does not take too long to learn. You just need patience. SAP is a huge program and has many modules. Most likely you will not use all modules at work - depends on your job function. It has many nuances and takes time to learn.

Pros

It is easy to use

Cons

Sometimes it gets stuck and freezes when working

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Patricia E.

With the demand of finding the right talent Kenexa helps take out the guess work

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/07/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

There are several pros to this product, for example, you can test your applicants and receive the results fairly quickly

Cons

You have to use Firefox to complete some of the testings you just can't use Google or explorer to complete all of the testings.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10