61 reviews

OTRS

Helpdesk software for customer service management teams

4,5 /5 (61 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,6
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,4
87% recommended this app
61 reviews
Alan S.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

OTRS is great for small to midsize businesses

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/10/09
Review Source: GetApp

It's a great daily ticket email system.

Pros

I love the ticket handling and speed of the interface. It's basic layout offers the basics you need to get up and running with a ticketing system.

Cons

The support is little to non-existent but that is expected with the free tier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Very customizeable, professional service management software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Makes work easier by having a good overview of ongoing tickets, but also past tickets, with details of what was built / done to offer a solution. That's dependant of what you enter into the system of course, but the options are there and they are clear.

Pros

I've been using OTRS for quite a few years now, and it's an excellent piece of software that makes my life as a sysadmin/support desk guy easier. OTRS understands ITIL, end users and IT pros, and the software supports that. You can link tickets, make internal notes, make FAQs, paste images into text fields, send e-mails, etc. You can also do templates, customize columns, set alerts when things take too long, etc. It's really nice. It even works with our ADFS server, which is excpected of a tool like this, but still. In short, OTRS is versatlize and customizeable.

Cons

There have been minor (cosmetic) bugs here and there, every now and then, which are slightly annoying. Often you can fix these things yourself, but OTRS's configuration is very complex and requires some insight and experience. So in the end, you're gonna have to contact support or read the extensive manual. But buth those options work.

Response from OTRS

Thank you for reviewing OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts and comments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mohit J.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Basic Ticketing tool for customer desks

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/05/22
Review Source: Capterra

Basic software for small organization without advanced features of ITIL.

Pros

I used it for sometime in one of my assignments. It was a very basic tool with minimum customization. It just does its job and do not provide advanced features of ITIL framework. Reporting was not effective and so was its UI. We replaced this with more advanced CA Servicedesk. However as a freeware, it was good for initial use.

Cons

It is basic application and nothing much can be expected put of this. Ours is a ITIL compliant organization and need a more robust application.

Response from OTRS

Hi Mohit. Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS, and I'm glad you found a solution that fits your needs,

I did just want to clarify, for other people reading, that OTRS is ITIL-compliant, and we have 6 ITIL-verified processes for incident, change, problem, knowledge and configuration management.

Of course, we can't claim that for the ((OTRS)) Community Edition as that's our free unsupported version: in that case, compliance is in the hands of the user - and it can certainly be tough to configure that solo.

But, our fully-managed version of OTRS is ITIL-compliant. Thanks again for the review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Omar S.
Industry: Higher Education

Opensource framework with modern front-end and perl backend

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/14
Review Source: Capterra

Low-cost, scalabale solution that could handle multiple trouble ticket queues within one software context.

Pros

Highly customizable. Perl backend "makes sense" and isn't opaque like some designs. It runs as a set of CGI, so that allows it to be wedged into most any webserver environment. We found it simple to run within an Apache / Linux environment.

Cons

The CGI-based design is relatively inefficient and can be sluggish without making some optimizations on the webserver side -- mod_perl in our case (relatively complicated). Docs are a bit sparse, though customer service is responsive.

Response from OTRS

Thanks for taking time to share your experience, Omar.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 201-500 Employees

We use OTRS to register all the activities/pendencies. It is ease to use and intuitive as well.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

The way we can centralize everything on it is real a benefit.

Pros

The provided scalability really help us. As a new demand appears, we can set the software to fit to this new need. This is really a power way to work with software.

Cons

When I send some e-mail to, which is related to some active ticket, the emails go agrupated, so for any new e-mail sent, all the previous text are rewritten. In some tickets, there are a lot of du- or tri or quadri-plicated emails. I know this is just something I can solve by deleting the text before sendind it to OTRS, but, it would be amazing if OTRS could append only the new text to the ticket.

Response from OTRS

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts about OTRS. We're glad for the feedback. I will pass along your comments about the e-mails.

It may also help to know that you can submit new improvement ideas to the development team via https://otrsteam.ideascale.com/

Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Annie M.
Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry

Pretty decent, but it does have a few flaws

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/05
Review Source: Capterra

IT Asset Management got easy for us. Thank you for coming up with this application

Pros

The application is pretty quick and the administrators are able to bring about changes quickly aswell. We create FAQs and SOPs and add it to OTRS which makes it a great internal Knowledge Base. We also use it as a IT Asset management tool.

Cons

Its not the most fanciest application, but I am used to this now and I love it. No issues in the past 4 years

Response from OTRS

We're glad that it's helped with your IT Asset Management efforts. Thanks for taking time to share the review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Flexible and powerful helpdesk and service desk solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/08
Review Source: Capterra

My experience in using OTPs is more than 10 years. OTP successfully solves the problems of automating IT services, integrated customer support services. We also successfully use OTPS for the implementation of HR processes.

Pros

1. Open-source
2. ITIL based solution
3. Flexible configuration
4. Built-in processes
5. Powerful email handling
6. Event-based hander

Cons

1. Outdated design
2. No mobile app
3. Relatively complex integration through web services

Response from OTRS

Very much appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll keep an eye out in Q4 for design changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lindson D.
Industry: Machinery

Its a great and efficient tool for someone in the service desk

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/03
Review Source: Capterra

We use it as our primary ticketing tool

Pros

I love the way it can be customized to view all sort of information. We track Change requests and Incidents using OTRS. The best part is that it is OpenSource and the modification can be done easily and without shelling out a lot of money.

Cons

none actually. I've used other applications like Remedy, however I am more inclined to OTRS for now.

Response from OTRS

Glad to hear that it's working for you, Lindson. We appreciate you taking time to share a review.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

OTRS - Recommended Open source Ticketing System available in market

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

- Internal operational efficiencies
- Improved business process agility
- Improved business process outcomes
- Improved customer relations/service

Pros

- Deeply Integrate & implements ITIL process
- Reports on SLA / Open vs closed and any other business requirement can be easily configured
- Tickets : Easy to create & Track, Group similar issue tickets
- Workflow, Notification, Process flow automation can easily be configured with no to minimal effort.

Cons

- Need to create more UI themes , even though current are sufficient considering its free.

Response from OTRS

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate the feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Carlo T.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very useful product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy ticket management, high product customization possibilities. Possibility to create many types of reports.

Cons

The CMDB section is just a container of information. It would be useful to have the ability to manage assets by setting thresholds on the age of the hardware to schedule the replacement.

Response from OTRS

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Much appreciate it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mike M.
Industry: Education Management
Company size: 11-50 Employees

OTRS has been a fabulous tool for tracking customer interactions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/08/09
Review Source: Capterra

Our customer service improved because we no longer lost track of calls,follow ups, etc.

Pros

Flexibility: We can add/remove queues easily; we can define sequences of events, custom fields, link to external client DBs, etc.

Cons

Performance is "run of the mill"... but then, I'm also on fairly run of the mill hardware, too.

Recent versions have vastly improved the GUI interface. However, it is fairly dense - which I actually consider a Pro (efficient) but some people think it's distracting (cluttered).

Response from OTRS

Dear Mike,

thank you very much for such a great review. We work really hard to offer one of the most flexible help desk systems on the market, so I'm happy to see that reflects on your experience with our software.

Easily adjusting the system to your needs is one of the core benefits of OTRS and it will be even simpler with the new admin GUI of OTRS 6.

Best regards,
OTRS

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jose C.

Complete customer support solution overall

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

You can manage your support tickets as you please. Merge issues, whatever the channel is: email, telephone support.

And if you need some more juice, there is their API: integrate it with other systems like odoo or vTiger.

Also, it helps you to manage billing hours, SLA, remaining support time for the customer.

Cons

The only thing i can think of is Perl: in a world where all the new programmers come with a web background using JavaScript and other modern technologies, OTRS make it difficult for these kind of programmers to work, but any competent sysadmin can help.

Response from OTRS

Hi Jose! Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate hearing your thoughts about OTRS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sarah M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Feedback and the Support Received

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/02/24
Review Source: Capterra

I would like to Thank your Support Team for the exellent level of support and assistance we have been provided since the introduction of OTRS.
I would like to also mention a OTRS staff member who assist with our OTRS version update to 5's Shawn was extramely Professional, friendly, helpful and went a step further to assist me with some system configuration and stepped through some additonal funtionality options available to us.

Pros

the ability to track a tickets journey from start to resolution

Cons

some of the terminoligy in the system configuration isn't very user friendly

Response from OTRS

Dear Sarah,

thank you very much for your review. We're thrilled that you're getting value from our software and our services. Shawn will also be very happy to hear your compliments.

At OTRS we have an open ear for your ideas and suggestions. If there's anything that we can improve, or if you have a new idea for OTRS please feel free to contact us: [email protected]

Best regards,
OTRS Marketing Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Overall , i found OTRS to be the easiest Ticketing system to use thus far

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

OTRS offered one of the most , if not the most , bang for the buck in my opinion. The support was always on point and promptly responded to all of or requests and questions , they provided on site support when needed and had one of the most pleasant training experience thus far.

Pros

As both a user and an administrator of the software i found the following in my last year of using the software :

Ease of use
Flexibility
Easy customization
Open Source
Powerful Tools

Cons

Although i found this to be the most user friendly of the ticketing there are a few things i think might be improved in the future :

Convoluted Process management
SLA administration cumbersome to use and config
Lacking a few features out of the box

Response from OTRS

Thank you for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Great Incident Management Software, with all the Features, great value for money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/04
Review Source: Capterra

Stable incident management software with all features needed, excellent value for money.

Pros

Easy to get OTRS installed and running, lots of Features in Open Source. Ideal for situations when you need an incident management tool fast. Software runs perfectly stable in Linux, running it on a Windows Server is possible but not recommended. We tried and ran into performance issues.

Cons

User Interface isn't very modern and easy to use. OTRS does not run efficiently on Windows Servers.

Response from OTRS

Thank you for taking time to review. We appreciate your feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Georges A.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

With ITSM awareness and maturity, OTRS can be successfully adopted and adapted.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/14
Review Source: Capterra

Organize and Improve Desk and Operation functions. The value and level of services delivered by our department/team is better understood internally. Customer expectation is managed properly, therefore leading to improvements in customer experience.

Pros

Adaptability to agents organization and processes.
ITIL orientation for ops processes and inclusion of Configuration and Knowledge management.

Cons

Ticket to C.I. links can be better clarified and improved (impact of the relationship)
C.I. Features on Customer portal (e.g. missing search function, latency to refresh large CMDB)

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Joshua B.

customizable, flexible and inexpensive, ITIL

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It follows ITIL standards, It is free to use and support maintenance is inexpensive. It does support multiply languages.

Cons

It has a lot of customizable options that can cause some confusion when trying to fix a problems or modify the software. Finding those different options and what heading they are under in the management. The current version we are on does not support an easy SSO/SAML setup out of the box.

Response from OTRS

Hi Joshua,

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate the feedback.

To clarify, for others reading, OTRS is a fully-managed solution. We do offer ((OTRS)) Community Edition that is free to use and open-source, but it requires self-configuration and that can be challenging.

Thanks again for taking time to write in!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Malcolm B.
Industry: Textiles
Company size: 501-1 000 Employees

Brilliant consultants and best value Helpdesk we have ever used. Highly recommended.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/08
Review Source: Capterra

Helps to control helpdesk and service functions across our organisation

Pros

Highly robust, runs on All popular platforms like windows server, Linux etc
Light to client performs really well over LAN and WAN
Excellent value for money compared to other products in its category

Cons

Requires some Training in order to tweak any of the under the hood features
Generating reports is a little weak compared to leading industry products

Response from OTRS

I think our consultants would be thrilled by your review. Thank you for taking time to write in and share your thoughts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

Easy and Robust Software - Economical Ticketing Solution for any Organization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/05
Review Source: Capterra

Cost effective Ticketing Software .

Pros

This is an open source application and exactly the reason why we love it in our company. When every year the management cuts our budget, OTRS is a tool where we don't have too spend to much to get great features and also use it to address tickets and eventually delight our customers

Cons

Vendor Support is something that I would expect to be a little better. For some changes they charge a lot

Response from OTRS

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Remco Q.
Industry: Consumer Services
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Great Service Desk ticketing Solution

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We have implemented OTRS in our Corporate environment and it is our primary ticketing tool. The ability to track incidents, change requests and Problem tickets is the best feature of OTRS.
The reports that can be generated via OTRS is also a great benefit.

Cons

Since this is an Open Source software, for any major modification the vendor needs to be contacted and extra payment needs to be done.

Response from OTRS

Thanks for taking time to review OTRS. We appreciate your thoughts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Rosen R.
Industry: Airlines/Aviation
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

OTRS is one of the best ITSM tools that I've ever seen and I'm so happy seeing its development!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Incident management and request fulfillment processes are fully covered by the tool.
It's highly customizable and very stable.

Cons

There are two things:
1. Change management process is a little bit hard to implement;
2. The trend to go into the cloud. We're very conservative organization and we prefer to operate on-premise solutions.

Response from OTRS

Hi Rosen. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts on OTRS. We appreciate you doing so and hearing about your experience with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Binu M.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Better than Remedy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/14
Review Source: Capterra

Change Management and incidents are easy to manage with this tool

Pros

This is the only Open Source Ticketing tool that I have used and I should say I'm surprisingly impressed. The change management process flows are easily implemented and easily configured

Cons

There are no cons that I can talk about. This product is as robust as remedy or any other ticketing system

Response from OTRS

Hi Binu. We're glad to hear that the process workflows are helping out. Thanks for taking time to review OTRS.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

OTRS - Makes life easy

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

We can manage everything better with tools like OTRS so go give it a try. They offer free demo too.

Pros

- OTRS allows you to keep track of your requirements and all the incidents in terms of tickets. There is no way you can lose something or miss something. With the help of SRX number you will find everything in few seconds. No matter how many years old, those records are.
- You can customize your own process and according to you Ex – standard time to meet the SLA
- The support team is available 24/7 for help and with every new update.

Cons

- I don’t like that feature of OTRS when on every single email it creates new ticket. Besides that, I honestly don’t have any complaints about OTRS.

Response from OTRS

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. We appreciate it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sander G.
Industry: Government Relations
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Very flexible system - easier to use than to configure

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/22
Review Source: Capterra

It helps us to administer our support tickets and create FAQ articles for them.

Pros

The ease of use and flexibility are very valuable. Also it's open source and you can run it yourself would you wish to do so.

Cons

Interfacing with other systems is, out of the box, rather limited. You could build it yourself though.
Managed hosting by OTRS is very expensive for teams with just a few members.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Francis T.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees

Great to tailor to a good ITSM tool, after a first learning curve one can be efficient

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/09
Review Source: Capterra

Solid Incident management process rolled out

Pros

email inbound capabilities are great (maybe unique!)
Easy to rollout, once you have a couple of basic admins, customising is quite powerful

Cons

Reporting is difficult to make work out of the box,
SLA functionality complete only if you pay extra functionality

Response from OTRS

Thanks for taking time to send in a review, Francis. We appreciate your thoughts.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10