40 reviews

Planning Maestro

Business budgeting, planning, forecasting & analytics

4 /5 (40 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
75%
recommended this app
40 reviews
Tamau R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Pure Planning

Reviewed on 2019/11/24

Too business support management even when someone lacks with a bit in attention to detail allowing for easy corrections and edits

Pros

Gets the job done and has changed how we handle our budget and how we look at budgeting. Little to no consultation with a robust budgeting, forecasting and integration with their analytics tool, Analytics Maestro, Budget Maestro.

Cons

Deoendi on company size workflow process is lacking. Some forecasting issues of budget and balance but creating and actual plan minimises the issue.

Catherine P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Value Add from Day One

Reviewed on 2014/01/16

Pros

Takes all the Excel spreadsheet nonsense out of budgeting. Great reporting package. We greatly appreciate the flexibility Budget Maestro offers our nimble team to make changes on the fly and seamlessly integrate with our ERP system to ensure financial data is accurate and up to date. Budget Maestro delivered value from the moment it was up and running and our team was instantly more efficient. Now, we can spend time on more strategic and meaningful initiatives to support company growth and innovative product development

Cons

It does take time to maintain new accounts. However, the benefits exceed the extra time for maintenance.

Micah K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Budget Maestro Review

Reviewed on 2009/07/07

4.5 out of 5 stars. Cant wait to try Planning Maestro!!!!

Pros

Budget Maestro is extremely useful in budgeting in forecasting because it allows the user to provide inputs on so many different levels, and this information rolls out through the budget to the correct line items. Adding costs or revenues is easy, and being able to drill down into details to find answers has been priceless. Importing values for the budget also saves a TON of time!
This program is AWESOME!

Cons

With any program that is going to provide so much detail, there is a great amount of set up time to ensure accounts and other items are set up properly. Once this is complete, its just a matter of learning the program to meet your needs. Training time will have to be considered, but I think it is worth the time and the money.

Akash Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Out of the box financial solution software

Reviewed on 2016/11/10

The scalable platform, offered as a cloud-based or client-server solution, has built-in financial logic so it is automated and formula-free for more accurate data-entry, consolidation, and financial statements. It helps small and mid-size businesses with limited IT resources make smarter operational decisions based on key financial data.
Budget Maestro offers full functionality straight out-of-the-box, with no IT involvement. As a hosted application, it’s also maintenance free. Budget Maestro includes out-of-the-box income statement, balance sheet and cash flow reporting. The software comes with 40 pre-built, customizable GAAP/IFRS-compliant reports. Budget Maestro’s multiple, unlimited what-if scenarios enable business managers to confidently make good decisions.

Pros

Driver Based Modeling
Good integration with many ERP and account systems.
Accessible anywhere through an internet connection with any browser-based device.
Collects and consolidates all profit/loss data.

Cons

Can be a little overpriced for a small sized company.
Requires time to configure and get used to it and then can perform tasks at a high speed.

Ursula S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Pros & Cons of Budget Maestro

Reviewed on 2012/06/29

For the price, pretty good product although not perfect. It takes a long time to learn & the manual does not always help. Thank goodness the support team has been great...would have given up long ago if it weren't for their help.

Pros

Makes budgeting easier. Less errors than using Excel as changes populate automatically. When dealing with numerous cost centers, consolidation is a breeze!

Cons

Setting up accounts (initially & adding new) and assigning to MEATs is confusing. Program does not allow for allocation of personnel & related SRE to various cost centers. Allocations for overheads difficult to setup.

Kelly K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Budget Maestro

Reviewed on 2014/03/13

Budget Maestro and Analytics Maestro have significantly improved our budgeting process. Prior to using maestro we created our budget using many excel workbooks that were precariously linked together and hard to refresh and update. Our budget is now more secure and robust, and due to the product's user friendliness it was fairly easy and quick to set up. We were able to upload most of our data using the templates provided with very few problems. I would definitely recommend Budget Maestro.

Mary beth D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent experience. Software functions as promised - implementation team & support were...

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

Ease of budgeting at a very detailed level. Provided us with a better understanding of what drives our business from a financial perspective and what the impact might be if we were to change any of those variables.

Pros

Ease of use and affordability. The ability to design your budget without having to pay someone to configure the software is priceless. We were also able to implement and complete our budget in less than 2 months.
This software allows us to budget continuously using the same data while just updating it for any changes. We budget annually, and re-forecast quarterly. This tool allows us to spend more time analyzing the impacts of the various variables and much less time actually creating the budgets to review. Once it is set up to forecasts into the future and all you have to do is edit for any changes. You can also perform endless 'what if' scenarios to see how potential changes would impact your forecasts.

Cons

Wow! I can't really think of any cons to this software. I am sure there are some limitations but for our company this fits the bill perfectly.

Brent D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Overall solid business performance management software

Reviewed on 2009/07/01

Solid business performance management software package.

Pros

1. Very powerful forecasting tool that can handle both simple and complex aspects of forecasting. Handles multiple departments, entities, and the consolidation of them with ease.
2. Very easy to import actual data in order to perform variance analysis.
3. Easy to import almost all information necessary to set up a "plan" the first time.
4. What-if analysis allows you to look at the financial impact of making changes in your business without having to change your primary "plan"
5. All reports can be exported to Excel
6. Report layouts can be customized.
7. Very easy to create a 5 year forecast that allows increase/decrease assumptions to be customized in numerous ways, and using as many timeframes as desired.
8. Handles lines of credit and term loans, both fixed and variable rate, very easily.

Cons

1. Can't run a statement of cash flows based on "actual" data, only on "plan" data.
2. Not very easy to run a "plan" balance sheet for a future year as a stand-alone report, must either start the report on a month just after you have "actual" data or create an "actual/plan" version that houses a combination of data so it can be used for beginning balances.
3. If using Desktop version, additional modules need to be purchased to handle pre-paid insurance automatically and forecast inventory.

Eric K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Centage has been a key partner in our company's financial reporting capabilites.

Reviewed on 2017/12/14

Centage has been a good partner for RSC as we continue to grow reducing manual work and possibility of errors through their platform we utilize for Scenario Reporting and our Annual Budget Process.

Pros

Centage provides strong customer service and the product has been terrific value for our organization.

Cons

Our group has not transitioned over to the new Cloud Based program with Centage as of yet, so we experience limitations on uploading a large amount of data for various dimensional reporting.

Randy O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Budget Maestro Review from Dakota Electric Association

Reviewed on 2010/04/13

I would recommend budget maestro to other organizations as a useful budgeting tool. It would be important for any organization to analyze their data and structure requirements prior to selecting the budgeting tool which would best complement their data needs.

Pros

Budget Maestro is a user friendly budgeting tool with some helpful budgeting features including benchmarking, spreading mechanisms, and ease of use.

Support from Centage has been good in terms of timeliness of responses and problem solving over the past 5 years.

Overall it has been widely accepted within our organization and has helped improve the efficiency and accuracy of our budget process at DEA.

Cons

Calculating data at times can be slow due to multiple users in the system at the same time. We have also experienced some space issues as the number of budgets and versions have grown. We would also like to see more reporting flexibility regarding layouts for sizing columns and overall appearance.

Ayushi M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Has transformed financial intelligence

Reviewed on 2017/08/08

Pros

Extremely easy to use and offers lot of features. It generates flexible spreadsheets, is compatible with any general ledger and has powerful what-if capabilities.

Cons

The application is amazing and efficient. Except minor bugs, there is nothing I don't like about Budget Maestro.

Tom H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2009/07/01

I highly recommend this product to anyone who is ready to move beyond the spreadsheet way of budgeting. I find the product to be a real good investment for not just annual budgeting, but also for tracking against actuals and forecasts.

Pros

My budgeting task has become much easier in comparison to using spreadsheets. I also appreciate the level of detail that I can enter within Budget Maestro. Also, the Link Maestro product is a great add-on for importing from MAS90.

Cons

My only complaint is the amount of formatting I have to do when exporting a report to a spreadsheet. It would be great if there were more features for report formatting.

Alice F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good, moderately priced software

Reviewed on 2017/01/17

We were able to get a budget together in a few months including setup, training 30+ users, and remediation. Once you understand the logic of the tool, it all starts making sense. I have a variety of skill sets using the tool with minimal issues.

Andrea T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Budget Maestro

Reviewed on 2014/10/10

Pros

There are endless possibilities. There are numerous ways to view financials with Budget Maestro.

Cons

The amount of time it takes to learn it and really get up to speed.

Fran F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Budget Maestro

Reviewed on 2014/02/13

We have been using the software for about 7 years and it has been extremely helpful for our reporting. We used spreadsheets before that and to make changes to any item was a nightmare and now it is much easier. It has cut our prep time in half.

Nikhil L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good

Reviewed on 2016/10/05

Nice Product, I 'm looking forward to use this product if needed.

Alan H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A small and medium size company budgeting and forecasting solution that can be maintained in...

Reviewed on 2018/01/29

Pros

In addition to providing robust budgeting, forecasting and integration with their analytics tool, Analytics Maestro, Budget Maestro is a true extension of a company's general ledger into future periods. This is accomplished through the unique software architecture, where every budget item, such as revenue, expense or personnel record creates an entry into a "behind the scenes" budget GL in the right GL accounts, in the correct amounts and the proper accounting period. What this means is, the financial statements you get in this application are always synchronized to the underlying budget. The balance sheet and statement of cash flows will accurately represent the forecasted financial position of the company to the extent of the accuracy of the budget itself.
The financial statements and all other reports can be easily generated by users without relying on IT.
The software can be directly integrated to popular ERP or accounting software GLs and the Analytics module which is integrated to Budget Maestro can also be integrated to other data sources such as CRM, inventory management, warehouse management, sales reporting data and others.
Another feature I like to use is creating multiple versions of the budgets or "what-if" scenarios, each automatically generating a unique set of financial statements and reports, exactly matching that particular version of the budget. You can see how your financial position changes in future periods as you change the budget version. This helps in finalizing a budget that is reasonable and also closely aligned to company goals and plans.

Cons

The workflow process in this application lacks in capabilities expected from larger solutions. This is probably not an issue in smaller organizations which to my understanding are the primary customer of this software.

Tom J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a good, easy to use product. Eliminates the need to budget in Excel.

Reviewed on 2018/05/21

The elimination of Excel spreadsheets. A better structure to the data collection and processing.

Pros

A windows based product that is easy to learn and use. Can quickly create multiple Versions within a Plan and What-if scenarios. Can quickly import actual data from our ERP system and take the actual, budget, and forecasted data into Excel for custom financial reporting and analysis.

Cons

The structure that is in place for customer support. We have been using BM for about 4 years. When we need support it's an urgent need, we need an answer promptly. The current structure of sending an email to get on the support staff's calendar for a call is too slow. Prefer to call, get in the cue, and get an answer immediately.

Cynthia T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Know what you are getting into

Reviewed on 2015/04/21

Pros

We were Maestro's experiment to have virtual training. We were connected through phone and an equivalent of Go-To-Meeting. The instructor was friendly, patient and very knowledgeable about the product. It wasn't until the 4th day in training until we got a glimpse of the capabilities Budget Maestro could do for us. After a few frustrating months of trying to get Budget Maestro going for us they did reach out to us throughout the process and solve our predicament to the best of their abilities. Very good customer service!

Cons

From the beginning on, we explained explicitly how complex our business and budget was. We were assured our budget would be 70-80% finished by the time training was over. It was not. Perhaps it was a mis-communication between both parties as i was under the impression all drivers would be built and we would be ready to go, either way, Budget Maestro does want us to succeed and are hoping the new upgrade will be more friendly to our needs. I can't wait to get started and get a real feel for this product.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent product that my company uses weekly.

Reviewed on 2018/02/07

Pros

I found this product very easy to learn. That said, I am a CPA. Excellent tools for budgeting and forecasting. Very user friendly

Cons

We had some problems importing and exporting to excel. It took a while to set this system up and train staff to use it.

Paul B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2013/06/26

I was really impressed with the Budget Maestro demonstrations; their keen interest in understanding how our business model was structured and working through the benefits and challenges of acquiring the solution, before we even talked price. I was very attracted to the fundamental methodology and flexibility of the system to handle my requirements for budge - actual and forecast reporting. Also impressive is their what-if scenarios, the robust capabilities of their driver functionality, and Analytics Maestro (their Excel plug-in for user friendly desktop reporting). Initially our moderately complex business model created some database latency issues, but Centage took it on board and worked through it. They ended up making significant changes on the server side, and performance is now far better.

They are one star short of five because at some point they abandoned their segmented GL functionality. This has resulted in using a single entity field to handle location, function, and department. Our resulting entity schema is extremely confusing to end users, increases administrative overhead, and complicates the slice and dice capability that would come by handling separate GL segments.

Mukul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Forecasting and Financial Report Generation made easy

Reviewed on 2016/11/10

The solution provides the users with the ability to consolidate data for more accurate forecasting, and generate detailed dashboards and analytics. By pre-defining the A/R and A/P schedules, Budget Maestro will automatically calculate transactions for each, giving accurate balance sheet statements and cash flow reports. The forecasts with Budget Maestro can be easily modified based on real-time changes in conditions. The ability to make quick adjustments as conditions change keeps the forecasts accurate throughout the entire fiscal year. It can help to centralize financial data in a single database, rather than across multiple spreadsheets, and consolidate that same data automatically to reflect changes in key business drivers or market conditions.

Pros

Runs on cloud as well as on-premise.
Free trial is available which should be used before purchasing the full software in order to test applicability.
Good GUI

Cons

Initial versions of updates have a few bugs which are fixed in later versions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Budget Maesteo really keeps my finances in order

Reviewed on 2018/07/25

Pros

I love the way this product is so easy to use and track all of my spending. I don't know what I would do without it!

Cons

Sometimes the report downloads are not very easy to analyze in Microsoft excel. There are times when I have to manually scrub the data to make it useable.

Cynthia P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ESG Automotive review of Budget Maestro

Reviewed on 2014/06/04

Pros

They have an excellent training staff, and they are more than happy to work through any situation that you have.

Cons

There was a miscommunication in the research phase, and a major item that I expected is not a part of Budget Maestro. They have, however, found me a workaround.

Alexandra S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Bugdeting for small company!

Reviewed on 2018/10/12

Pros

We decided to move forward with Budget Maestro as we were struggling and it's been far better than expected! Buy is a must!!

Cons

Not really any complaints for them, they've been very welcoming and helpful to our business and for that we are grateful!