20 reviews

OverOps

OverOps tells companies when, where and why code fails

4,5 /5 (20 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
90%
recommended this app
20 reviews
Jung jun P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Debugging production issues with OverOps

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

I haven't used OverOps before I joined this company. Fixing production issues had never been easy. I highly recommend to use this product for Java services.

Pros

As a software developer, I don't monitor OverOps regularly. But, when we detect any error or bug from our logs, we can easily access the "event" that OverOps provides link in logs.
It's absolutely convenient and the information provides OverOps is amazing. The snapshot contains all variable values and stack traces so that developers can easily see what's wrong in code or data.

Cons

Overops groups similar events. Sometimes it's hard to find the exact "problem" even with a link provided in the log.
And I see some lags when we browse events by selecting date/time range and servers. It may be because of the size of our system, but it could be better.

I only have OverOps experiences with Java microservices, I am not sure how it supports other frameworks. (e.g. Node.js or Golang )

Josh C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective and Reliable

Reviewed on 2021/03/06

We are always aware if the current release will fall due to real time notifications by overops. Devs just gets notified in slack and we get the details as to why accurately.

Pros

We like how it can be integrated to slack. We can attend to all of the issues real time.

Cons

Sometimes loading the link for the issues takes time. I think this is normal but I believe can always be improved.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overops excellent

Reviewed on 2021/02/03

Pros

Code Issued reporting after code deployment

Cons

Good enough,it was easy to intregate and good

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Try this software

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

Great

Pros

This is very user friendly and ease to use.

Cons

No proper filters to be saved.More options should be there to save filters

Shifali G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overops worth the effort

Reviewed on 2021/02/03

Nice to have overops. Good experience.

Pros

Easy to identify bugs in deployed code with proper reasons and values.

Cons

At times, code does decompile which makes it difficult to check bugs.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool!

Reviewed on 2021/02/05

Pros

Great tool which has helped our software developers in debugging any issue in very short time. Its greatest features are the dashboard which shows the trend of exceptions in your system and its capability to show stack trace and the variable values preserved. Integrating any new application is also very easy.

Cons

I think the configuration of alerts could be simpler.

Debashis D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazing Product!

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Its seamless, there cant be a better solution that this to keep system healthy.

Pros

It helps debug production issue in seconds, always keeps a eye on system, system becomes much more healthier and cleaner.

Cons

Sometimes the alerts links does not works, apart from that i dont see anything.

Pankaj S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OverOps is best at its job

Reviewed on 2021/03/05

Pros

I never miss any alerts whenever I'm on call. All alerts are timely raised and it prevents the system from failing. Best at its job. Easy to use.

Cons

Nothing specific. Solves all my purpose.

Ben T.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Takipi/Overops is a must!

Reviewed on 2017/02/17

Overops (formerly Takipi) is a great tool that has been a fantastic asset to our debugging capabilities. Super easy to set up, and we've noticed no issues with the minimal overhead introduced. There are many ties where we've been able to solve a problem without having to try to reproduce it just because we had Overops installed.

Pros

Easy to use, very focused use case and extremely helpful information.

Cons

A bit pricey for a small company with a server per customer to monitor. Probably ok if you have one server for many customers.

Saurabh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Software for debugging code

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

Pros

Directly get the link on the logs that why the exception occurred

Cons

Sometimes it gets very complicated to follow the exact path.

Simon D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not bad

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

No problems as a user, however our customers measure our exception count as a measure of quality and not being able to easily ignore exceptions system wide is where there is apparently room for improvement.

Pros

We won't miss exceptions and you have a good UI.

Cons

Our Admin complains that it is not convenient to set system wide 'overrides', that is, exception types to ignore. It can be done, but multiple times, and apparently needs to be reset.

Amitanshu T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good yet Getting there!

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

Good

Pros

The product is easy to use while capturing the threads and showcasing the variables from the incidents on debug view. It's also good at capturing snapshots and counts, VM info and logs when possible.

- It gives a complete box for debugging and finding the cause for medium-low complex items.
- Timestamp and VM are very useful
- The issues are upfront before anything goes south

Cons

- The logs captured are sometimes inaccurate and also do not have a complete stack trace
- The logs are not captured on many instances
- there are false alarm captures, where the thread is still alive and not captured
- The variable view is a pain to use on the right-hand side, can have a better way like in Eclipse etc
- Cannot reference variables
- source trigger is unknown/unstructured sometimes
- Good for only low medium level debugging, VM logs and Adv level exceptions are not easy to be debugged here

Sumit K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Why need to use OverOps

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

i have a great experience with OverOps . we able to slove alot production issue very fast with help of this tool

Pros

this tool show us all error of our application at one place .. what is root cause of the issue and where the error coming these all we can check at overops

Cons

a little bit ui and mail system show be on daliy based .

Austin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good for At Scale Fault Detection Post-Deployment

Reviewed on 2021/02/13

Pros

For issues that may be difficult to reproduce but aren’t yet able to be deployed to Production, OverOps allows our team to find such operational faults via daily/weekly reports that can alert us to previously missed occurrence scenarios, which allows us to address these faults and patch them before code goes to production.

Cons

It’s inconvenient that for an enterprise user to sign in, at least in the case of our setup, you need to find a dedicated SSO URL that’s not able to be navigated to from the same page link that we commonly click (via Slack plugin) to go to the fault occurrence log in the first place. The “regular”/non-enterprise login interface is available but this can’t be used for our form of account. This makes accessing the tool a little more cumbersome than other services thus making it a little less convenient to access at a random moments’ notice than a tool like Splunk that has SSO login built in to the same login interface.

Amita P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My Production Debugger

Reviewed on 2021/03/17

Pros

The Debugger mode data for production calls

Cons

Sometimes it takes more loading time. Refreshing helps

Rohan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overops - The Saviour

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

Pros

What I most like about this application that I can monitor logs easily without moving to the VMs manually.

Cons

If we can have a feature of sending emails based on module groups, then it would be good as feature. Rest overops is doing good.

Zhuang L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good help when getting bugs

Reviewed on 2021/02/25

Good

Pros

super easy to debug the code, in most of cases I don't need to reproduce the issue, just checking overOps will be sufficient

Cons

sometimes the stack trace shows only the framework code

Joseph T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Brilliant concept, updates occasionally crash JVM, price gougers

Reviewed on 2018/02/12

Pros

The customer support is generally very good. The concept is outstanding. Being able to record runtime state in production for post-mortem debugging is utterly amazing.

Cons

There are a number of critical application issues described below, but the chief con of Overops is the price. This is *at least* an order of magnitude more than the value that Overops provides, and is a kick in the teeth for surely most startup-level organisations, particularly ones like ours that helped them grow their business.

There were at least 3 occasions in 2+ years of use that Overops (previously Takipi) released updates to their agent (which runs in our production JVM) that caused the whole jvm to segfault. This is a pretty poor track record (and it's more than a little ironic that this happens with a *software quality tool*).

In all that time we never succeeded in getting a noise-free or complete exception notification channel between Overops and our Slack installation. It would fail to notify about most errors, and routinely report errors we had attempted to filter out. This persisted despite numerous sessions with app engineers.

Joshua C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helps much with software consistency

Reviewed on 2021/02/26

We have Overops both in production and development environment and it's doing its job well.

Pros

some intermittent issues are very hard to trace where most pro engineers will somehow reliant with notifications from overops.

Cons

If there is, it's always on the loading times when opening the logs. There's always a better way of making the load times faster.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

Pros

It's a nice product to use for any developer. We can use it in case of any issue/code breakage. It lets you know what are all errors/exceptions came with its frequency and position. That helps to find the root cause of the issue without any logs.

Cons

It hard to scroll in the code source of the error cited out.