442 reviews

Joomla

Open source multilingual CMS platform

4,1 /5 (442 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,1
Ease of Use
3,6
Customer Support
3,9
77% recommended this app
442 reviews
Viktoria J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A good CMS

Reviewed on 2021/01/19

We used it for the first version of our website, but we decided to switch to Wordpress after a while.

Pros

Joomla is a good CMS, with many modules and plugins that extend the functionality however you need it.

Cons

The UI felt very dated and unintuitive. Using it was sometimes confusing and menu items were in places where you would not expect them.

Eric P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Website Builder & CMS. Good for SEO.

Reviewed on 2019/12/05

Once I got proficient, I could accomplish pretty much whatever I wanted. With the right plugins and extensions, Joomla is great.

Pros

After getting used to it, it's fairly easy to navigate around and accomplish tasks.

Cons

The complexity of articles, modules and menu items makes composing an actual web page a little confusing at first. Explaining how all of these pieces come together to a client can be challenging.

Candace E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Exceptional web developing software application!

Reviewed on 2018/04/03

The benefits of using Joomla include managing content within a secured database. Other benefits of Joomla include learning about site analytics, metadata, structure and navigation of building a professional website. Additional benefits of utilizing Joomla include receiving a certification for the completion of certain exams. Furthermore, the benefits of utilizing Joomla consist of being able to clone or download repositories from GitHub to assist with more website development.

Pros

Joomla is an open source content management system that non-profit, state agencies, small-businesses, or corporations. Organizations can benefit from utilizing Joomla because the features within the applications are relatively simple to utilize to distribute company's information on a website. Joomla is an excellent tool that interfaces with your company's network that allows for online applications to be built. Joomla utilizes a standard website content builder similar to Word Press that allows for classified fields to be entered by the end user. Content can be managed by authenticated or authorized users for publishing purposes. Content can be synced with the company's intranet or internet ensuring smooth synchronization between two platforms using PHP and SQL.

Cons

Promotional materials may be forwarded to the company's legal address as providing an address is required upon registering with volunteers.joomla.org. IP Address may be utilized to identify possible abuse, which may be shared between third parties. IP Addresses my be shared when commenting on features, which also includes the users name and email address. Other information may be collected, but the "other information" is not specified within the terms of service agreement or privacy policy. Sharing of other information can be allowed with third parties regarding advertisements of goods or services.

Erik K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Joomla review

Reviewed on 2019/09/24

Overall experience was pleasant. I do however favor other content management systems a little more based on functionality and ease of format, but still overall very positive.

Pros

I liked how organized and user friendly this content management system was. It was very easy to show my clients that they could help edit and change things on their own website instead of calling me every day to make simple changes that only take a couple minutes. Those couples minutes don’t really add up enough to pay out enough to compensate my time being used for free each time they were to call and ask about simple changes. The “what you see is what you get” functionality made this possible. I also liked that I could get into the backend of a website and control the coding instead of just using the “wysiwug” (what you see is what you get)

Cons

What I liked least is that if a website didn’t maintain all the necessary updates and were stuck on a way older model, it would make it extremely difficult to jump and skip all the necessary updates to the newest one. I had one website that had never been updated to the newest joomla, running on a very old version, that made creating the website a nightmare and wasnt sure how to jump to the newest version without having to take a million steps in between.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

An Open Source Classic- but not for everyone

Reviewed on 2021/01/01

In my opinion, Joomla! is still a tool for geeks, who prefer functionality over aesthetics. If you want to exercise full control over your website, from the hosting to the design, this is one of the best choices on the market. Your site can easily be adapted and expanded thanks to a myriad of plugins or extensions. I personally prefer giving up control to have less hassle with the developing part, and prefer a smoother look.

Pros

I started using Joomla! 3.1 when I did a course on Open Source Systems whilst unemployed. We were able to choose between Wordpress and Joomla!- and I chose Joomla! because I was already using Blogger, and knew that WP was somewhat similar. I liked the fact that the backend was fairly easy to use for the actual writing part- optimal for beginners. This was similar to what I was used at writing blogposts. I liked that there are many plugins available that integrate smoothly- which tends to be a big problem in Wordpress (many bugs).

Cons

For a fair beginner, setting up a server was rather challenging. Also, I am a bit of a design geek- and the "look" of the platform (something I know doesn't deter most programmers) hurt my taste back then. I noticed that this has since improved with version 4, and I am aware that I am being superficial here, and probably not part of the target group- who have different priorities, like usability, extendability, speed etc.

Mudssar A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Web Design and Web applications with Joomla

Reviewed on 2020/05/31

Overall found fit for large company becuase they needs more data volume and handel query accordingly, unlike other CMSs it has more controllability.
Found perfect for ecommerece and payments.
Invoicing/ERPs/even special purpose plugins commonly available free and some paid.
it can be perfect online business suit with some customization and devolpment.
Even some hardwares can also be integerated with it which will works with APIs accordingly.

Pros

CMS, a complete web package with more secured and controlled enviroment, due to devolpment documentation and customization is much easier, plugins are available for additonal functionalities.
Easy installation, effective usgae in SEO and social media marketing
More secured than other CMS.
Support and can handel large web data traffic so can be used for large and small companies aswell as social media plateform like discussion forums etc.

Cons

Due to security it is more complexive, UI is difficult to trace any feature.
Many plugins are counterfit with joomla in many functions.

Iqra Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Software or CMS for the Web Development

Reviewed on 2020/06/18

I use Joomla in my few websites because it's a free and open-source content management system. I have created a number of online applications using Joomla. Joomla is really a professional CMS and for me, the importance of Joomla is too much. I really love this CMS. I always install first using the localhost, then I create the website offline with Joomla then I transfer the content from the local server to the remote server.

Pros

If you want to be a web developer, first learn the Joomla and then create your personal or business websites with Joomla. Because Joomla is a flexible platform for the website creators. You can build professional websites and powerful online applications using Joomla. Joomla is a search engine friendly and mobile-friendly content management system.

Cons

There are lots of benefits and features of Joomla. I am using Joomla for last few years, and I never faced any problem in Joomla. For me, SEO is very important for my websites, so Joomla always helps me. According to me, there are no cons, Joomla is perfect.

Amiya D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Content Management System for Building your Websites

Reviewed on 2020/08/07

It is multilingual as it is beneficial for those who do not know the English language. More than 75 languages are supported in it. You can use it on any device from anywhere as it is a responsive website. It is updating its functions frequently along with their many useful features. It consists of two-factor authentication as security is essential when you are creating a web-based platform. It welcomes volunteers throughout the world to contribute their knowledge in it.

Pros

It allows you to build influential websites and application. Thousands of free extensions, templates and themes are embedded in it which helps the user in customizing their websites and applications as needed by their desires. Multiple platforms are using it for fulfilling their purposes which includes corporate websites, portals, websites of small businesses, intranet, extranet, nonprofit websites, educational websites, family homepages, e-commerce, online reservations, websites for schools etc.

Cons

If you compare it with other platforms it consists of limited functions and options otherwise it has various useful tools embedded in it. It may slow down your website if your website is large in size and have too many visitors. It has a variety of plugins and modules but some of them are not free and you have to pay for them.

Farhan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The professional content management system for Website Development

Reviewed on 2020/06/14

I have developed a few websites using the Joomla and I really like this superb content management system. There are lots of reasons that I am satisfied with Joomla and some of them are these reasons. The Joomla is search engine friendly and mobile friendly. It's flexible and fully extensible. So I am really happy with Joomla.

Pros

Joomla is really incredible platform for the professional website creators. People can build professional websites from scratch to the advanced level using the Joomla. Joomla dashboard is really easy to understand. All options are very simple to use. You can create pages, articles and you can also add different users for your website.

Cons

There are few extensions and modules that are really expensive. So according to my experience there should be some free or trial versions of these extensions. So the beginners can try these extensions before purchasing them.

Allie S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Fairly simple

Reviewed on 2019/10/21

It has helped a website novice to manage what is needed on the backend.

Pros

I like how easy Joomla! is to use. Our website developer uses this platform and once our website was finished, I was taught how to use it. I like how it's fairly simple to use. I'm not a techy/IT person that understands website software, and I have found once I went through certain functions a few times, I have been able to manage the back end of our website no problem. It's pretty user friendly and has lots of features and options to build and manage your website.

Cons

Sometimes I find it's too simple. It doesn't seem like it's as advanced or sophisticated as other website platforms. I feel like we are limited to just a few standard options and any other clients with the same software have similar websites. Just seems boring to me.

Darrin W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Joomla is a CMS system that is works well for sites with a lot of content, like magazine sites.

Reviewed on 2018/04/24

Joomla was running a site of mine for several years until I sold it off. The basic version of Joomla can do the job well enough indeed, but the script was never very secure, and I had to do a major version update later on, which was not easy. So I never updated the site at all. For people who do not know anything about PHP, managing a Joomla site can be harder than it looks. The back-end admin can look and feel outdated/slow if you come from a WordPress background. But as far as doing the job, no issues there, and it is still more user-friendly than Drupal.

Pros

Joomla is quite user friendly, and simple to run/manage. It works well to power sites that have a lot of content, and there are now many free plugins that extend its scope. The URLs can be made into SEO friendly URLs with the aid of plugins and installation is not too difficult.

Cons

The back-end admin panel looks and feels rather dated and it is not a very secure script. Hackers are known to easily break into Joomla sites and it seems to consume quite a lot of server resources. If you need support, you are largely limited to the discussion board. Although there are many free plugins, but they may not be updated often, and you could be forced to buy expensive paid plugins simply because your options are limited.

Emir O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the best CMS out there

Reviewed on 2020/09/30

Great, i would recommend it to any CMS/WEB dev who is starting their jobs to try Joomla. It can be simple install and use it solution but also it can be used in complexed enviroments as offline webserver with LAMP, WAMP or as VPS or shared hosting solution.

Pros

Modules aka plugins. I had a task to replace custom made web app with 0 documentation for 90 people shift management. Html code was unreadable. After 2 weeks of trial and error i gave up and went to install Joomla with OSG Courts reservation. After few hours of tuning i finished my job without need to html/php code anything.
I found forum helpfull and community eager to assist.
Based on this experience, i continued to use Joomla on many different side projects over the years.

Cons

Sometimes fragmentation of CMS is too high. But later version fixed that. It was tedius sometimes to maintain web projects on sub par hosting providers.

Joel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awsome quick websolution with great potential

Reviewed on 2020/11/09

I have been with Joomla since V1.0 and it has been a great Journey - I have never left it becuse it has proven to be a great solution for all my Projects.

Pros

I really enjoy the easy of administrating a Joomla site aswell as the just click trough setup.
But one of things i like the most is the easy of extending it if you know any Php.

Cons

The security feature needs to be considered as it is after all a Open source application.

.kim M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Joomla Is Flexible With Many Features - Good For People With Some Technical Experience

Reviewed on 2019/04/20

Joomla is great for low-maintenance web design clients or clients who appreciate time and effort involved in good custom web development. Some projects may take weeks or months of good old-fashioned web programming work. Some of the Joomla template designers do a great job in making creative eye-catching layouts for business owners and web developers to use quickly right from the start.

Pros

Joomla is a very flexible PHP based CMS (Content Management System) that has many web developers liking the variety of ad ons and modules to create custom functionality. It is an "open-source" platform, meaning it's code can be downloaded and installed by anyone. It allows Ecommerce functionality and has a well-documented interface. Third-party template providers offer thousands of possible templates which are already designed, making a fast setup and install for a business owner who might not have very much time.

Cons

Joomla is very technical and can be difficult for those who are not web developers. You have to study and learn the system just to add the most common types of content that a website usually has. Unlike more user -friendly systems like WordPress, you need to understand some code some of the time and be familiar with technical jargon in many common implementations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best content management system in the market

Reviewed on 2019/05/14

If you are someone who is still thinking which software to use I think you should use Joomla and see how easy to use it and how efficient it is.

Pros

What I liked about Joomla is that you can access it with your mobile phone whenever you want. Also, you can make users with different privilege levels in Joomla. Joomla supports a wide range of languages which is a plus point.

Cons

I personally feel that they need to come up with better versions without taking a long time. Other than that everything else works pretty well.

Caroline L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Useful once you know how to use it

Reviewed on 2017/06/07

Pros

There is a lot you can do with Joomla. It's more robust than Wordpress, so you can do more than simply blog. There is a lot of documentation and material out there, and plenty of templates so you can build whatever your heart desires.

Cons

Learning curve is steep. There is a lot of documentation, but frequently issues that arise are not documented and difficult to solve. Most documentation involves using this as a blogging platform and not how to manipulate your vision into a functional site -- so it takes a while to learn how to manipulate things. The larger your site gets, as well, the more odd bugs you're likely to encounter. A non-programmer can make things work, but knowledge of programming and how the back end works is necessary to make something that doesn't look cookie-cutter.

Michelle N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easiest web developing

Reviewed on 2019/03/22

It`s been amazing. I literally became from a passive reader of web content to an active contributor, editor and admin on my company`s website.

Pros

It`s just the simplicity of use. Joomla is probably the easiest way to manage a website, edit, add or delete content from a website.

Cons

More themes. I don`t like that there is a small selection of free themes to apply to the webpage.

Skylär A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best CMS in the World

Reviewed on 2018/11/10

Pros

- Based on Bootstrap 4
- Easy implementation
- Fast learning curve
- Free and without hidden costs
- Excellent community and friendly professionals in charge of technical support
- Hundreds of thousands of extensions ready to install and use in your projects

Cons

Low market share, which discourages developers from boosting the platform.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

best software for cms

Reviewed on 2019/08/29

we use this software for develop custom web sites

Pros

it simple software for develop custom websites. its free and it takes only few times to complete. joomla is very old so it has a big community to get helps

Cons

it has some security issues and its little bit complex

Gözde K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Need changes.

Reviewed on 2019/03/02

Pros

Easy to setup on your website, good for start if you're beginner on web design.

Cons

I used to use Joomla on my website but after I got some feedbacks from the visitors that they want change on some features, I've tried to add this new features with Joomla addons but couldn't. I'm not a professional web designer and maybe it is because of my incompetence but the people I asked for their help also recommend me to change Joomla to another.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Museums & Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

User-Friendly

Reviewed on 2019/02/16

Great, worth every penny

Pros

Joomla is the most user-friendly website making program I have used, our entire staff was able to use it without much of a learning curve.

Cons

We have had some small issues with some of the functions such as JEvents but are always resolved.

Reece S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The Publishers' CMS

Reviewed on 2020/04/06

Extremely powerful at specific tasks.l but useless in others. It looks and feels great, but you always get the feeling you're using someone else's software and that you're not allowed to modify it. That said, it really does looks and feel solid, so if you're not a developer and you post a lot of content, this might be a good option to look into.

Pros

Joomla is fantastic if you publish copious amounts of content, thanks to its comprehensive article management system.

Cons

Feels too rigid. You can upgrade using extentions but nature of how Joomla looks and feels doesn't lend itself well to personal development. It has a very commercial feeling to it, and the community tends to charge money for their help or work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Looking for a CMS for your website? Simply choose Joomla!

Reviewed on 2019/12/26

If you are building a website for your business that will be handled by many people, Joomla! it's a good option.

Pros

If you are looking for an easy-to-manage CMS and team integration, Joomla! offers all the tools for free to make this possible. In addition, integration with multiple plug-ins makes it even easier to make some details that make daily maintenance even easier.

Cons

Nothing special. There are no big cons when there are free solutions on the market that are meant to just help people.

Sladjan V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

You can build powerful websites

Reviewed on 2020/10/02

Pros

Lots of templates that you can use for your website and lots of modules that can give functionality to your website!

Cons

Sometimes it happens when updating that something doesn't work! And of course, security, because it's open source.

Nayab F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Joomla - Open Source Content Management System

Reviewed on 2021/01/01

Joomla helps in building the websites and web applications very easily. Content can be easily changed on the fly. File management and version management is excellent with Joomla. Joomla as a product is very stable. I would surely recommend Joomla to others.

Pros

Joomla is a great CMS built on PHP. Its a Open Source and free CMS used for building websites and web applications. It is very easy to design a website using Joomla as it provides you with lot of templates. Third party components can be easily integrated with Joomla.

Cons

Joomla as such is a very easy to use CMS. Its admin panel allows you to manage the website very well. It allows you to integrate the Third party components and features. Backend integration with databases like MySQL is very easy with Joomla. Thus no cons as such.