10 reviews

Keen IO

The Complete Event Data Management Solution

3,1 /5 (10 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3,1
/
5
Value for Money
2,9
Features
2,8
Ease of Use
3,4
Customer Support
3,1
50% recommended this app
10 reviews
Prakash M.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Fast, reliable, and easy to integrate with

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience with Keen over the past 3+ years has been very positive. The technology works and is less expensive cost of ownership vs. building our own. The team members we have interacted with are knowledgeable and responsive. We store a large volume of data, and depend on Keen for mission critical functions.

Pros

Ramp and path to deployment was fast.
AWS S3 integration in and out.
API has been stable and reliable.
Flexible query syntax.
Easy to use dashboard for browsing data and constructing queries.
Most queries run very fast on large JSON datasets.
No indices.

Cons

Most queries hit cached datasets (1-3 hours old).
Need to be aware of how volume-based pricing works to decide on the optimal query design.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

David G.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy, powerful analytics in just minutes!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

We've been with Keen since the very early days when it was just a very small team and I could personally correspond with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]- not to mention the amazing support I could always count on from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]; I don't think either of them are with the company any more - but it was the solid foundation put in place those days that has kept us with Keen.

Pros

Keen allows me to gather, warehouse and visualize data on any platform quickly and beautifully.

Cons

I haven't checked the docs recently but I would love more and prettier visualizations; also, cost has gone bananas since...whenever it changed a year or two ago.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jeff C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

A reasonable choice for very high scaling data but can be pricey

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

It's a necessary piece of the pie for us but not the most user friendly.

Pros

We have a CSM who is very understanding and accomodating and can help us navigate. That is helpful.

It also does a good job of handling event writes which we do hundreds of millions per day.

Cons

They bill READ queries based on how much data needs to be looked at and that can get pretty pricey. One of the few software that actually bills for reads which is pretty unconventional.

The query speeds also aren't that fast for uniques data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Matthew S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Way to Deliver Enduser Analytics Quickly

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2020/01/07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very quick time to deliver
Fully managed
Performance is great
Query features are robust
Great documentation
Great Uptime
Great support

Cons

Ability to delete/amend data is very limited - this is by design and allows them to do the other great things they do but definitely something to be aware of.
Doesn't allow for sending events idempotently, which means if the request is received but the response fails and you send the event again you can end up with duplicate events. Which means you have to query for the event before deciding to send again or not.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Sinan S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easiest way to launch an analytics solution and dashboard embedded to your dashboard

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It was very easy to understand and setup.
Support was responsive enough.
Account managers produced good pricing structures as our company growed.

Cons

There may be more details on the data structure.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Very poor service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

At first we were attracted by the simple pricing model per event streamed that Keen was providing and it worked well for a while.

Cons

BUT after a while we were forced to change the pricing model per property scanned instead which suddenly brought the cost up to 10 times what it was !

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 2-10 Employees

My life is full of constant back aches everytime I remember there's no alternative to Keen.io

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/06
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

The idea itself is good. Its support team genuinely wants to help. But they don't.

Creating a graph is extremely easy - I think they have misunderstood their desired use case though because most people don't want to create one graph but have a solid metric system. Creating things like cached queries lack extensive documentation and just DON'T work.

Cons

It took me 1 hour to set up one graph. Then it took me 1 month+ to setup a dashboard. It was about $15,000 in salaries, and a lot of idle time just waiting for a response. It really slows down the process.

Our graphs were often empty and even their engineers didn't know what was wrong. They advised us to change parts of our code that at the end of the day, didn't fix it. If their own engineers don't know how to make it work, how can WE?!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

James F.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Overcharged, refused billing support

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

­čĄ«avoid at all costs.

Pros

Product is pretty good. All other things considered, I would not have an issue with the product.

Cons

I was overcharged, and Keen.io refused to provide a billing breakdown. They cannot give you any information to help you understand why you're seeing a 1,000% increase in charges with no increased utilization. Had to cancel the account and revoke keys, and cancel my credit card.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Brian L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/09/18
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 1.0/10

Gloria C.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good until they changed pricing

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Functional BI tool that did what we needed to analyze user data on our software.

Cons

They changed the price last year / early this year which caused our pricing to skyrocket, so we decided to switch BI tools, of which there are plenty in the market.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10