8 reviews

Spotlight Reporting

Advanced Reporting, Consolidation, Forecasting and Budgeting

4,6 /5 (8 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,6
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
4,5
Ease of Use
4,2
Customer Support
4,2
100% recommended this app
8 reviews
Emily H.
Industry: Biotechnology
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great dashboarding tool!

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/11/13
Review Source: Capterra

Helping to build out the working relationship between finance and other internal stakeholders

Pros

Integrated with host analytics system, nice to create more user friendly dashboards that are easier for stakeholders to view & use

Cons

Takes some ramp up in learning curve and can be a little bit finicky. Can be frustrating for pure finance where excel workbooks & the freedom offered there is nice, but is important for connecting with stakeholders that are less excel savvy.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mike H.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Excellent Forecasting Tool

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/05/26
Review Source: Capterra

I was able to set it up quickly and begin forecasting a P&L. The Balance Sheet and Cash Flow took more time to learn how to forecast accurately. It interfaces nicely with applications like QuickBooks and Zero, but is more difficult if you are not using a mainline accounting system. If so, you are able to import data from Excel, but it is easy to make mistakes and training is limited. I had to do a lot of trial and error imports over several weeks to get this correct.

Probably the biggest complaint is customer support. Unfortunately, there is no phone or chat support so customers have to rely on email. There is a 16 hour different time zone than my location, so responses took 4-24 hours. When you have follow-up questions, it often took me 3-5 days to get a problem resolved I should have been able to resolve in one 30 minute phone call.

The good news is the staff is very knowledgeable and competent, just not very accessible. They're a young company and will get this corrected over time. I have no regrets in my investment and the value it will add to my consulting practice.

Pros

1) Accurate Forecasts of P&L, Balance Sheet and Cash Flow
2) Scenario Modeling
3) Reporting Capabilities
4) Very customizable for reports and forecasts

Cons

1) Customer Support is slow.
2) User interface is not intuitive and different between modules.
3) Three major modules (Reporting, Forecasting, Scenarios) are not integrated and require separate imports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Uwais A.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Spotlight Reporting review

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/07/22
Review Source: Capterra

The overall experience is great. Once you get a hang of the first company and group, the rest are easy to update

Pros

Most of my clients love the way it summarizes financial information into charts and graphics

Cons

The Consol can get complicated if there are many companies in the group and I need to justify a balance

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Angela W.

Great reporting tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/06/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We bought this as a supplement to QBO and it has really enhanced our reporting features and allowed us to show our finances in a better way.

Cons

You cannot set up different templates, if you make a major change, it keeps that for all the reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mackenzie M.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Next Level Reporting

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Spotlight has been a great add on tool in preparing management reports for clients to help them really understand their business and point out any pain points.

Pros

Spotlight lets you import budgets straight from Xero and allows you to customise report layouts and also offers in-depth charting and graphs which offer simple conversation starting points with clients.

Cons

When initially beginning to use Spotlight, it may feel a little overwhelming due to all of the options and layouts on offer. Can take a while to get used to it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Paul D.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2017/05/17
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jack T.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: GetApp
Scott W.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 2018/03/20
Review Source: GetApp