68 reviews

Realtrac

Real-Time Shop Management System

4,1 /5 (68 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,1
/
5
Value for Money
4,2
Features
3,8
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,4
79% recommended this app
68 reviews
Louis H.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 11-50 Employees

REALTRAC POSSIBLY THE FUTURE OF SHOP FLOOR SCHEDULING

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

I HAVE HAD SMALL ISSUES WITH INSTALLS BUT EVENTUALLY THINGS GOT WORKED OUT AND THIS NEW VERSION IS EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID IT WOULD BE. THE LATEST TECH INSTALL TEAM HAS BEEN VERY GREAT TO WORK [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] WITH AND THE SUPPORT SYSTEM THEY USE [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] IS EXTREMELY CAPABLE ON THEIR PRODUCT.

Pros

EASE OF SEARCH FUNCTIONS AND ABILITY TO CUSTOM CREATE REPORTS AND CUSTOM PAGES FOR INDIVIDUAL USER TO FIT SPECIFIC DESKTOP NEEDS

Cons

STILL SOME FEATURES THAT ARE MISSING BUT REALTRAC TAKES TIME TO LISTEN TO OUR IDEAS AND POTENTIALLY WILL INCLUDE THESE IDEAS IN FUTURE UPDATES.. WHICH IS GREAT FOR ME AND HOPEFULLY HELPS THEM SELL MORE PRODUCT.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Matt C.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great software for job creation and tracking.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Realtrac is great for our small business of around 50 people. It is also nice that a touchscreen shop tablet is an option for easier and faster job logging.

Pros

Realtrac is super simple to navigate and use on a daily basis. The data logging of operations is excellent.

Cons

The Quality tab could be updated to have a "responsible party" option and the NCR/CAR reporting could be updated to include better printable & shareable history data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Shane M.
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Realtrac ERP being used in a CNC machine job shop environment.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

Realtrac has been a great resource for quickly estimating upcoming projects and large scale bids on a variety of machines, work types and work stations. We offer many post-production processes at our facility that include a combination of some or all of the following: cleaning equipment, manual equipment, manual labor, ongoing consumable items and a variety of packaging materials and clean room supplies. The ability to affix real known costs to all of these things for any specific job has helped ensure that we are quoting our cost very accurately and not unexpectedly raisin our customer's pricing on subsequent orders.

Pros

Work step customization. Attaching files to jobs or part numbers.

Cons

1) Time card time display is inaccurate and not fixable, therefore not being utilized. 2) For estimating Bill or BOM items, there is no way to uniquely identify per unit cost based on associated quantity discounts from suppliers. 3) Overall look and feel of the software and reporting sheets feel antiquated, like it was developed in the late 90's.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Kevin C.
Industry: Furniture
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Frustraded

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/15
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

have had program at least 5 years , support is decent. I am not a computer guy, and I find it easy to navigate

Cons

I have called in the past to complain, and I did get up the pole pretty far ,but they say they can't do anything. The program shuts itself down at the end of the day and starts up in the morning - beautiful . However it starts every Saturday and Sunday as well.adding to peoples hours who are not working, which in turn make trying to find the cost of manufacturing useless. the only thing the program is good for is to know where items are in the production process. The reason I originally purchase the program was to try and get the true cost to manufacture the parts - it can not be done on this program. - Also on the main list screen you should be able to see what employees are working on each project, without leaving the screen

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Steven Y.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Northern Precision - Realtrac for Twenty Years!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/23
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using Realtrac for approximately 20 years and it has continuously improved in its applications, efficiency and overall quality. Realtrac is a large factor in our success over the years and has helped make us the company we are today! Look forward to Realtrac for years to come.

Pros

The range of uses, reports and also the fact that it is tracked in "real" time and is current every five seconds.

Cons

The ability to design and generate custom reports. Some data is not available in all reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jacob L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

JD Ellen Mfg Feedback

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

We have grown with Realtrac over the last 8 years. We have appreciated the improvements made. We would enjoy it if we could have it programmed to fit our product flow.

Pros

Organized filtering for job tracking. Purchasing and RFQs. Estimates are nice.

Cons

Scheduling can be a challenge for us. I believe that has to do with how training is provided.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Misti R.
Industry: Mining & Metals
Company size: 11-50 Employees

RealTrac = Awesome

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

User Friendly, Exports to QuickBooks, Exports to Excel, Can Upload your Logo, Customer Service!!!!!!

Cons

The software updates can be confusing at first sometimes, but customer service is good with helping.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mike J.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Extremely cost effective

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/02/27
Review Source: Capterra

We have been a long time user and it extremely satisfying to make a suggestion and then see it incorporated in the next upgrade.

Pros

the ease of use

Cons

the financial reports do not function well

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Patti H.
Industry: Wholesale
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Realtrac

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/12/01
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love the feature that I can attach drawings to Part Numbers when I create a new order - so that every time I process an order it will automatically pull up those drawings which saves me from having to go look in the files

Cons

I wish there was a easy way to input a material list

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Autumn R.
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Does the job

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

The Realtrac software does what we need it to do. We can easily quote jobs, monitor the work and watch the costing. Overall very happy.

Pros

Realtrac is user friendly, and easy to set up. The attachments options help keep things clean and organized for easy access. This software makes it simple to correct mistakes.

Cons

The quality group is very basic and doesn't really add valve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Blake O.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Small Company review

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

The hardest part of choosing a ERP software is adapting your already established nomenclature, planning and processing methods to the software. While no software can completely adapt to the way a company runs, this one comes close. Where you are forced to change to fit the system, the staff is every ready to help guide the stake holders through the process.

Pros

As of yet it has not been able to run properly. I have not had a lot of "Pros".

Cons

I have to change some of my company nomenclature to conform with the software. There are several steps to enter a PO, plan, allocate materials, and release. These are not intuitive and don't necessarily run in a easy flowing order. The spreadsheet columns will not expand to show all the information within.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Helen J.

Reviewed on 2013/04/22
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

J & L Turning, Inc has had Realtrac software in our plant for approximately 20 years. We are a manufacturing company that manufactures custom designed tools, therefore every job is different. Keeping track and researching jobs was a nightmare. We found Realtrac extremely user friendly and adaptable to anything you want to monitor on your plant floor, plus it intergrates with our accounting software. If you run into a problem, help is always there when you need it. I certainly would recommend Realtrac to all businesses that want to monitor their production, inventory, costs, sales all of it. Easy to use, easy to learn - a winner.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Carlos C.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Review Realtrac for money back

Reviewed on 2014/06/09
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is very user-friendly, and the vendor is very knowledgeable on the product.

Cons

The inventory module is not linked into the standard purchase system, and the vendor didn't explain this step.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jane S.
Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Need more flexibility in reports

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/10
Review Source: Capterra

Overall ok, but can't get answers from technical support on custom reports.

Pros

Quality section is easy to use.

Cons

We need more flexibility in reports. I have unanswered questions from several months ago on a report showing total dollar value of estimates created in a month. Also, would like a report with open jobs/dollar amount/location and be able to mark as priority. I would like a report that lists the priority jobs with dollar amount and location in the job process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Shane M.
Industry: Semiconductors
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Realtrac use in a machine shop and fabrication environment.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/06
Review Source: Capterra

The main benefit that we have seen from this software is the ability to understand and verify our profit margins on each job, while also holding our shop employees to performance standards throughout each work day.

Pros

Looking up old and current estimates and jobs is very easy. There are numerous search fields that allow you to search by description, part #, drawing #, customer name and customer PO #. You can also look up jobs and estimates within a given date range. I also like the different reporting functions, including labor cost breakdowns per job, as well as being able to lookup and report on individual employee performance within any given date/time range.

Cons

The GUI is somewhat dated aesthetically. Making changes to templates could be made easier to do. When populating and defining router steps on an estimate, the order of operations sometimes get switched around unintentionally, and have to be fixed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Nicole B.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Realtrac Rocks

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/23
Review Source: Capterra

Realtrac has made our daily tracking much easier and quicker!!

Pros

I am completely satisfied with how easy it was to get this new software set up with the help of the Realtrac Technical Support Team. Since we installed the newest version of software we have found so many new ways to utilize the program and make our lives much easier to track progress.

Cons

The only issues I have ran across would be the new fields and how to move around and find the correct reports I need to run.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mary L.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 2-10 Employees

RealTrac is on the Real Track

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/03
Review Source: Capterra

In general a good product.

Pros

Mostly the software is easy to use and gives us all the job costing and production information we need. Its ability to export to QuickBooks is great.

Cons

Designing reports can be cumbersome, especially since this is not an everyday task for us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy Use Some features no one else has

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/20
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent quoting and shop floor management. All part documents in one place.

Pros

Ease of Use, Document control. You are able to make prints and any other documents available like packaging instructions to the shop floow without confusion

Cons

Reporting needs to continue to improve. Some reports are clunky. Not easy to customize

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Medical Devices
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I Highly Recommend Realtrac

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/08/03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

- Able to take care of all aspects of the business in one place. Scheduling, ordering, and especially job tracking.
- Has good flow from one area to another
- Nice user interface
- Rightboard is great to be able to show what we have and schedule
- Great customer support

Cons

Bouncing between tabs can be cumbersome
Would like to be able to delete quotes
Forms can be difficult to customize

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jeff C.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

It gets the job done

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software makes it easy to keep track of time spent on jobs

Cons

The inventory feature doesn't integrate smoothly with Quickbooks

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Scott M.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 2-10 Employees

SNX Precision Feedback

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/08/12
Review Source: Capterra

Running with minimal staff, machine uptimes are higher.

Pros

Ability to quote materials, and generate PO's from the quote has been a timesaver. the Rightboard is also a tool that helps to get jobs prepared which keeps the uptime on the machines high.

Cons

Inventory, cost accounting has not worked as well as I had hoped. The complex job has not worked for our business which when I purchased the software I thought it would be an advantage for what we were trying to achieve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Keith B.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A long look, great decision

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/07/31
Review Source: Capterra

Amazed at how they train. No need to guess, no need to carve out days of forgetful training. Instead Training is as fast as one can absorb. Training is built upon the previous steps. Allowed our business to dictate training direction. Several times before a training session looked at my question as trivial. Considered it would be a waste of their time to show me one thing. In minutes of working together, letting me drive proved to quickly develop and understand the how and why's. The complete process expedites muscle memory, building the retention for a successful implementation.

Pros

The likes, In short, the ability to build and track multi level BOM's while having Shop management, inventory visibility and scheduling features. These have long been the desirable features.

Cons

Same as in all software, time to build the data. The choice was to not drop all past data in but to build from this point forward. This means at times go back and enter data from the past system. Our choice, it was not a requirement.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jaclyn E.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 11-50 Employees

CNC Manufacturing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] has been very helpful with an questions or issues. I have used other ERP softwares (most exposure to Epicor). Realtrac is a more simple ERP as far as user friendly application.

Also since last update, software is slow and sometimes glitchy. And have had to exit and then re-open the job screen to get any attachments to show.

Pros

Rightboard is in real-time so changes are able to be seen quickly by shop personnel.

Cons

There is no option to see transaction history of parts on the inventory side. When we have an issue, we can't see what transactions took place prior to see where the problem occur to make our qty off or see any negative qty's.
Also, status of "incomplete" for finished goods is pointless for how Realtrac treats it once moved to a job to make the part complete. Just better off making a consumed material part number, which means several more parts numbers for each finished good that are left at incomplete stages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Erik J.
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 2-10 Employees

How Realtrac changed the way we do business

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/22
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Realtrac has given us a different perspective on how we do business. Jobs now have routers detailing step by step production processes. It has also changed how we manage our inventory by consolidating our warehouse. Realtrac has proven to be an effective tool and everyone in the office enjoys its ease of use.

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use and how efficient it is when it comes to tracking job statuses. The inventory management module is also great and it allows us to input inventory locations and statuses. So if we have 20 parts that are partially done in stock we can flag them as partially completed. Realtrac has essentially changed our entire business into a more efficient company.

Cons

The only issue I have is the loading times when it comes to selecting different modules.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jay A.
Industry: Defense & Space
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Good at Big Picture, Some Shortcomings and Missing Features

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/08/01
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it does what we need it to do by tracking jobs through the shop, but the costing being "broken" for our use makes it a purchase I may not make again if I had to do over.

Pros

It's user friendly for ShopFloor logging in and out of jobs and recording time. Timeclock is easy for HR, and tracking down where a job is in the manufacturing process from a remote location is easy as well.

Cons

My primary beef with RealTrac is that there is no feature (or wasn't a few versions ago) that allows me to SPLIT AN OPERATOR'S TIME when they are logged into two jobs. If an operator is running two machines, or three, or four, all at once there should be an option (if not a REQUIREMENT) that their loaded labor cost and hours are divided amongst the machines they're concurrently logged into. In my company, one operator ALWAYS runs more than one machine in a bank, so not having their time split makes all my costing metrics utterly useless until I manually go into the work sessions to interrogate the data. This is nearly a deal-breaker making me consider another software. (Customer Service / Tech Support informed me this was intentional so that when looking at historical jobs you never under-bid a job). If this is incorrect, someone please call me ASAP!

The "Quality" feature is a horribly conceived module, slapped together as an afterthought, and the default reporting within there is awful, has poor formatting, and doesn't integrate well at all with the rest of the system. There hasn't been an update on this module in forever, but new PAID features (RightBoard) are being added and updated all the time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10