osTicket Reviews

osTicket

Customer support ticket system

4.3/5 (35 reviews)

Rock solid, no problems or outages related to the software for over 9 years!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/05
Review Source: Capterra

This software gives our employees a place to report problems to multiple departments and receive timely answers to their technical issues. It allows us to measure metrics for performance, and see trends in issues. Importantly it also allows us to have a historical reference of all problems, outages, etc.

Pros

osTicket is the best open source ticking system out there. Did I mention that it's free? It's fairly easy to customize and is very intuitive! It has an active support forum and community supporting it. There are third party developers that have created (free and paid) plugins and modifications to help others customize their system to their environment and companies needs.

Need paid support or hosting? Need custom installation services? Have a feature that isn't available that you need? Enhancesoft, the parent company that owns and pays developers to work on the project, offer all of that.

Cons

There are a couple of features that I think are important that this type of product has, and they [the developers] have been really slow to implement them. Responsive Themes being the biggest of these. While you can modify it to make your own themes this type of feature is needed. note: Devs have promised this with the forth coming 2.0 release.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Free and easy to setup support ticket system to deliver a great user support experience.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implement and setup, osTicket is suitable for non-profit and small business.

osTicket offers large set of features and options that enables to customize and deliver great user support experience for example you can create custom departments, customize support system pages and modify ticket fields like adding additional ticket fields.

osTicket is a very customizable support ticket system that offers many options to help customize all aspects of user support experience like the ability to customize departments, emails sent to user, pages and alerts.

osTicket offers an easy to setup knowledge base of frequently asked questions to help minimize support requests.

Cons

osTicket lacks some important options and features like the option to automatically close tickets after a certain period of time, an option to disable Overdue behavior and the lack of custom themes of both user and agent interfaces.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Perfect software for my ecommerce website support portal

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/07/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When my ecommerce business started to take off and we were placing 400 orders a day, we needed something better than just an email inbox to manage customer service. With osTicket, I can manage my several customer service managers and inboxes to ensure we are utilizing our time in the best way possible, and serving our customers needs effectively. osTicket was the perfect addition to our toolbelt, and after trying alternatives, this was still the front runner.

Cons

The setup is a bit involved. There are a lot of out of the box settings that need modified in various places in the interface. It does take time to get used to the interface, but once you get the hang of it, the software is set and forget style. Works well for me anyway.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Backbone Ticketing For Tech

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/17
Review Source: Capterra

Overall OSTicket lets our tech and maintenance teams address issues in a timely fashion. It is pretty simple to use and therefore easier than some systems for our less technical staff.

Pros

The software allows our staff to create trouble tickets for both tech and maintenance. The incorporation into out email system (Gmail) easily lets staff create these tickets through simple emails. More advanced users can log into the portal and track all of their open tickets.

Cons

Our previous software was harder to setup but had a few more features. It would be nice to have a heftier reporting feature or trend management built in. Inclusion of asset tracking would be a plus too.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
William F.

Support tickets, email notifications, mobile app, all relatively easy to use

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/06/26
Review Source: Capterra

Support ticket software, for free. But not the best feature set around.

Pros

Ticket tracking and email notification
Tasks can be added to tickets for additional steps before a ticket can be closed.
User management is fairly easy, and users can be organized by teams and departments
Files can be attached to the ticket.
A Paid Mobile app allows for simple ticket management.

Cons

Notifications and team/department access seems haphazard and a bit of an afterthought. It could be much better organized.

Mobile app is very limited and very pricey for what little it actually accomplishes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Tyler A.

Free and Easy!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/19
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is easy to deploy, just git clone from https://github.com/osTicket/osTicket
Feature packed and ready for SMB deployment on your own servers.
Community support is active and easy.
Also available as an install package on Synology NAS

Cons

For out of the box ticketing system, this software has no real downsides. Some have said its hard to install but I did not have any issues getting it up and running. The fact that you can install this as a package direct from Synology package store makes it even easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

osTicket

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/27
Review Source: Capterra

So far great experience.

Pros

Great simple application for support ticket. I am using this app for the past 8 years or more. For someone looking for a basic ticketing system, this is the one. Since the app is opensource, no need to pay for it. lately they have paid hosted versions. I am running mine in my own server. For me this works perfectly as a ticketing platform. You can create web tickets or email tickets.

Cons

Reporting can be better. Since its a free app, it's not fair to complain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kyle M.

Great Help Desk Ticket System

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/06/08
Review Source

Pros

oS Ticket has been a great IT Help Desk system for our company. Users can easily send in a help request via email, and oS ticket automatically creates a ticket and alerts our help desk. The system allows for tickets to be assigned to different technicians, change hands, and keeps a detailed note/tracking of everything associated with the ticket. There are a lot of great reports as well, including # of tickets closed, average response time, etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jose C.

It gets the job done without the clutter

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The installation is really easy being a PHP application.

It lacks some features present in other support management applications, but it has the minimum necesary to get the job done without complications.

It has a very ease to use API to make osTicket work with external systems like call center and CRM.

Cons

The search functionality needs some work. It's difficult to search for specific customers or even ticket ID, but overall, is OK.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Great software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/16
Review Source: Capterra

We implemented this software to better track the problems encountered by our clients and to better assist them.

Pros

Open sourced, customizable, very easy to use and multi-user. You get reports so you can keep track of your statistics. Its easy to setup and install and you can host it on your own servers.

Cons

Search function is terrible. Feels a bit unfinished but they are always doing upsates and improving.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Gerson O.

Flexible and very user friendly software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/12/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It's a good and free platform!

Pros

Being free to use and easy to implementation gives us a huge savings in our organization. osTicket offers large sets of free plugins and options that enables to customize the osTicket dashboard based on your organization. For example, you can customize the user support like email sents, knowledge based or FAQ in front of the report ticket dashboard.

Cons

Initial installation can be difficult if you have never do this before. There are many services to be setup just to get it work.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Sean K.

We use multiple instances of this software from IT tickets to Purchase orders

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/27
Review Source: Capterra

It is versatile. We use it for multiple things like IT support, Customer complaints, and contractor purchases.

Pros

Once it is setup, it runs itself with almost no tweaking. It has all of the same features as paid helpdesk suites.

Cons

Initial configuration can be difficult if you have never done it before. There are so many things to setup just to get it working.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Rafeeque C.

osticket open source and easy to implement

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/03/29
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

its a open source PHP easy edit to program don't need any PHP professional development skill reporting system is excellent we can customize as per ours requirement

Cons

sms integration should be there and email response excellent need more option for alert ticket reporting and user base very comfortable

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Steve B.

Os ticket keeping our tickets sorted easily

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love their free platform and allowing self hosting. Its kept our tickets neat and clean and we get them out fast. It has a user interface that is pretty easy to navigate and my customers love it

Cons

Can be a bit tricky to install but once its up its easy to do.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Eric K.

Great tool forticketing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/08/27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Solution that is free, lightweight, reliable, open source, and easy to setup and use.
Has most of the features of the paid solutions.
Easy to tie to company websites for customers to open tickets.

Cons

You need to know how to set it up and host it your self.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Adam P.

Best open source Ticket system EVER!

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

love it Free and Great helpdesk software !

Pros

I love this software. We use to use Zendesk but at a user, it wasn't worth it. osTicket save us a ton of time with the FAQ feature that allows our end users to look up and answer without submitting a ticket. We have about 500 FAQ's entered into the system. The ticket system has great integration with gmail allowing tickets to be emailed of submitted via a form. The software is open source so if you are tech savvy you can just install it for free. We run in AWS for / month and have 5 IT Techs on the system. Regular updates are released so we won't be left with an outdated product

Cons

No major cons. I wish they would modernize the UI. The UI is about 10 years behind as of 5/2018. Also the API is not full featured on certain actions can be done in the API :( IF you don't want to integrate into existing software this will not matter for you.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ron O.

Awesome Ticketing System Once Set Up

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/04/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I love that this can be used for various types of jobs, and that you can use it for multiple job types at once. For instance I use osTicket as my IT helpdesk to assign tickets and track the progress of the issue resolution with a written record. But not only that, we have a separate service department for cleaning equipment that can use it as well. All running from the same install.

Cons

Learning curve and initial set up. It is a long process to get through all the settings and features available. Once you do you won't regret it though.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Stuart H.

Helpdesk made easier

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Nice and easy to review tickets sent in. Can configure multiple emails to receive them.

Cons

Found some limitations with file types and sizes

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Josh R.

Amazing free software

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/07/05
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

+ Free
+ Supports many email addresses
+ Ticket filters come as a bonus to allow automatic assigning to staff

Cons

- Appears to be quite clunky in regards to making changes
- Staff backend is quite outdated and doesn't perform above standards
- Some minor bugs here and there

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Open source and free

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/25
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It has most of the functionalities you will require from a ticketing system, moreover it is open source so you can always change things the way you want, develop additional functionalities. Easy to install and customize, the menus are understandable. Creating agents, permissions, access rights, most of the things are just as needed. You can customize the templates without going into core files. There are many people in the forum answering to your trouble issues as well as admin himself.

Cons

There are only a few plug ins, I think people should be guided to develop more plugins. There is still some development pending like PHP 7.1 compatibility, archiving of tickets etc. But again, you can always find developers and change the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Giorgi G.

Probably Best Free Customer Support Platform ever.

Reviewed on 2016/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

OSTicket is so far my beloved customer support system when it comes to free platforms and easy of use functionality. I have spent over 1 year of managing and using OsTicket with 18 different agents and 4 separate departments. Thus, I will share my review of the system below in few words.
(Please note this is about the self-hosted package of OsTicket, not Cloud-based.)

The main advantage of the system is its nature of being equipped with all the necessary functions to maintain the medium sized companies support platform. It is a convenient system to carry out daily support-related tasks, answer tickets, have an unlimited number of cases/departments/agents, etc. In terms of simplicity, OSTicket is really user-friendly and easy to use platform that perfectly realises its own purposes of being reliable ticketing system. It is easy to install and maintain, the internal admin and agent user face are user-friendly as well.

The main disadvantage of the system might be its lack of statistical measurements. It was the main aspect I was lacking while using the OsTicket. It is really hard to get the valuable statistical data from OSTicket regarding the agents, their working levels, times, etc. Basically, there is just one simple page of "Statistics" that shows the quantity of the tickets and some basic stuff and that's all. Nothing else about the statistics. Furthermore, another disadvantage is its lack of social integration. The reason I decided to move my company to another platform was that I couldn't integrate the OsTicket with Facebook & Twitter platforms. There are other little disadvantages, however, not worth mentioning as they don't make a big different.

All in all, if not the aforementioned disadvantages of the system, OSTicket would be one of the best solutions for the small and medium-sized companies' support system needs. However, as it's completely free I'm nothing but grateful to the developers who developed this wonderful system and share it for free.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Raúl M.

Free self hosted version helped us organize support

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/31
Review Source: Capterra

Better management of issues for free.

Pros

There are many help desk (AKA support ticket system) but this one is open source and full featured. We managed to integrate seamlessly with the design of our web (with coding and took us a while though).
It works perfectly and we can even manage support tickets and answers by sending emails to our support email account. It's been a real improvement since now we can follow up on statuses and history of the issues our customers face.

Cons

The initial setup took us more than we spected but it was worth it as now we save a lot of time and customers are happier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Ericus S.

The free version works perfectly

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's a complete system, despite being free. Documentation is more than enough to get it functional and in production.

Cons

It's not easy to setup which is understandable for free software. The learning curve is pretty steep.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sai P.

Its easy and user friendly

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/07
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The way of answering the tickets is prety much easier on os tickets and ot helps the user to assign the tickets to any one from staff and the notification of alerts look good

Cons

Filters doesn't work good its really hard to filter tickets based on the name or client name it should be done better and add few addtional options to advance filter

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Joe V.

osTicket, the free opensource helpdesk solution

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/02/09
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, this is an OK helpdesk. The biggest benefit is that it can be hosted internally and it is free. However, for free you can use another solution (such as FreshDesk) which is much easier to setup.

Pros

The product is free, open-source, and self-hosted. This allows me to control every aspect, including any data entered into the system.

Cons

Setting this up is a pain. I am familiar with Linux, but it took a good bit of troubleshooting to get this working in LTS 18.04.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10