AutoEntry

4,5 (194)
Eliminate manual data entry for your small business

Overall rating

4,5 /5
(194)
Value for Money
4,4/5
Features
4,5/5
Ease of Use
4,5/5
Customer Support
4,5/5

93%
recommended this app

194 Reviews

Daniel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Convenient, accurate and time saving

Reviewed on 2017/10/05

Pros

We have been using Auto Entry as a firm for a couple of months and we’re really impressed at how much time it can save, level of accuracy and convenience. As a medium sized accountancy firm we are always looking at options to save labour hours inputting data and so far it is a good inexpensive solution.

Purchase invoices are easy to process, we mostly upload all the invoices we want to process as one PDF and leave Auto Entry to process them, but there are options to process multi-page PDFs and more detailed breakdown. It will read the Date, Supplier name, and amounts, net of VAT and gross including it.

When Auto Entry and QuickBooks are linked up, all the Suppliers, Customers and the Chart of Accounts are linked, to the supplier account and relevant nominal can be selected from a drop down, which Auto Entry remembers going forward. You can ‘’Approve’’ invoices that are ready to import and sync up with QuickBooks.
Sales work very similar to Purchases.

Bank statements are processed quickly and are usually accurate, saving us many hours that our staff would have to spend manually summarising. The files at the end can then be either downloaded as an excel file or imported into QuickBooks. In terms of chargeable time it is inexpensive, freeing up time to work on other tasks.

When we first tried out Auto Entry, there is a chat box and the bottom right that lets you know what advisors are active at that time. They were very helpful at the start when navigating it.

- On behalf of Jerroms

Cons

Occasionally a figure may be incorrect when converting bank statements, however this is very rare.

Sometimes a duplicate items on an invoice may occur when processing purchase or sales invoices, Again quite rare.

Eamon O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Change how you deal with clients and your own accounts

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

Cut down on time spent on repetitive and labourious tasks to free up staff to work on higer paid tasks such as accounts preparation instead of record-keeping

Pros

Easy to use
New users are enthusiastic about the package
Inexperienced users can make progress on data entry
the package skims documents to pick up dates and amounts but also picks up on invoices where the invoice is entered twice and points out duplicates
At the end of the accounts process everyone can log in and view an image of the actual invoice uploaded thereby cutting down on verbal explanations and long conversations and misunderstandings

Cons

Possibly too easy to use
Users sometimes click an invoice as paid which causes complications later

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

Receipt Bank ( RB ) didnt extract enough information, nor did it insert an image of the invoice in to our accounts package. RB was not reliable enough to do ''one-click'' posting in to Sage for VAT returns, it did produce a CSV file but that was too unwieldy to use.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Same service issues every month please address the issues and guarantee stability with your...

Reviewed on 2021/12/26

when I first made the decision to use Autoentry it seemed to be effortless and started helping with Carbon footprint and reducing the need to keep paper records, which is where we all want to be and still conforms with HMRC record keeping guidelines.

Over 2021 and more so the last 6 months continuous issued with publishing between Xero and Autoentry, and Xero is my preferred choice software. I have questioned since they were brought out by Sage the service would improve however the service levels and functionality and stability are getting worse month by month.

Pros

Easy to set up and an efficient way to keep digital records and very useful having a copy of Invoice attached to the transaction. Very smart way if ever having to go back on an Invoice for a query of useful data

Cons

Over the last few months Autoentry and Xero do not sync and publish. For customers delivering paperwork last minute results in fines from HMRC for late Vat filing. Having to keep unsyncing deleting the app and re setting up.

Month after month this is now becoming an issue and not helping cut down on processing time. Raise the same issues to autoentry every month and they may tweak the settings but these are not a long term fix. I only use Xero as the integrated supplier and over 2021 this is happening on a regular basis. I have become so familiar with the process to disconnect and reconnect for a short term solution.

Trevor D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our experience with AE

Reviewed on 2020/10/02

Excellent. Very good help desk

Pros

Clear , links will in accounting products. Our staff are uploading their invoices and coding on line. Much better than paper invoices floating around.

Cons

Could do with expenses being a little more clear on the page for people not frequently in AE, they have a little trouble getting used to how to do their staff expenses - but we are getting there. Also some features like when an invoice was paid by debit card or credit card. not yet available for Sage users but on the development list. Now owned by Sage I expect it will work even better with sage as time goes on.

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

initially price and flexibility of plans. Now that Sage have bought it I think it will grow to be even better for us.
Ceejay J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good at Posting into Sage 50 Accounts

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

even when we have to manually put the order number in before we publish, it is still saving time.

Pros

AutoEntry attaches the invoice in to Sage.
the chat is very responsive and friendly.

Cons

It does not automate if you need your order number in Sage.
It is a lot more expensive than the competitor.

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

More automated and attached the invoice in to Sage
Varun K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best software, I would say try it , once.

Reviewed on 2021/08/24

I am glad to use it, save lot time .

Pros

some future not there , like undo invoice, soon you chat with help team, they sort it straight away.

I won't say any pros

Cons

expensive , worth to buy. it will better if 9 pounds 200 Invoice

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

free trail and I am using sage, and integration with it, I have seen bad review on trust pilot, I just try see if they improve now, review was 2 year ago, uk fuel should be integration to sage or auto entry , like hubdoc does. need more improvement , but doing well so far
Natalie R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Does NOT save time

Reviewed on 2021/10/21

Not happy, don't get involved until the software gets integrated and belongs to Sage. No value for money because it DOES NOT SAVE TIME. Really disappointed.

Pros

During the first 3 months (free) of usage, everything was great! The files uploaded were processed in less than 30 minutes allowing to map them for entry into the software in close to no time. The feed to the accounting software worked very well, invoices were almost instantly published to my ledgers. I was so pleased that I refused to take on any different type of fast data entry software.

Cons

A year on, there's ALWAYS a problem whenever I process the invoices. The time it takes from upload to mapping is more than 2 hours! The invoices almost never get posted straight to ledger as there's always upload issue, connection or sync problem. Always something. I've not had a smooth day at the office with AutoEntry ever since my free trial ended. Instead of saving time, it takes me extra day to process the invoices. I'd do it manually in under an hour... So why bother. Rubbish.

Shivali M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I use it daily... I couldnt be without it

Reviewed on 2021/03/24

I love it I actually hadn't realised how much I needed something like AutoEntry.

Pros

I love that it tells me where there are gaps in my data. It means I don't have to sift through bank statements to look for missing data. It is quick too. Customer services have been amazing and the training is exceptional.

Cons

I hadn't realised I would use it so much and it would cost as much as it does. It is still really reasonable in the grand scheme of things.

Alternatives Considered

Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

I found their response rate very good and the Customer services were exceptional.
Sandy H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customer Service is Ace

Reviewed on 2021/03/19

was a bit hesitant and kept on checking every finer details - but soon gave that up!!

Pros

very clever and reasonable although we haven't started to pay for it yet - as still on free trial

Cons

nothing as yet, still in the process of trying all the modules out

Garic T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Autoentry

Reviewed on 2021/07/23

Excellent overall experience and customer service always very helpful - really easy to use

Pros

Easy to set up and accurate, easy for other people to use, good on VAT

Cons

The expenses features could be improved

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good pricing structure and features, but could do with more development

Reviewed on 2017/08/05

Pros

The pricing structure for AutoEntry is spot on in terms of paying what you use and carrying over of credits.

AutoEntry copes very well with bulk invoices and has a good range of 'rules' to code the transactions. Once rules are set up, they are applied to the inbox instantly, so mass processing for bulk invoices is very efficient.

AutoEntry copes with complex tax summaries and foreign currency quite well.

Another unique feature, as compared to Receipt Bank, is the ability to process sales invoices. Some of our clients use 3rd party software to raise invoices, which does not integrate with the accounting software, so AutoEntry provides a cost-efficient 'bridge' between the two.

Bank statement processing is unique and quite quick, but does require good resolution scans. The ability to import digitised bank statements directly into the accounting software (we use Xero) is excellent.

Cons

We have had some issues with the app, where receipts go 'pending' and never make it to the software. Because of the bugs in the app and the client experience, we stopped using AutoEntry for some clients, but it remains the software of choice for internal processing. The functionality of the app is very limited - there is no editing or leaving notes, it is simply view and publish.

OCR technology is not as powerful as, for example, Receipt Bank, so some supplier details are not picked out accurately.

The support team are sometimes slow to respond (sometimes in excess of 72 hours) and some of our issues didn't get a satisfactory resolution.

Karen S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brilliant

Reviewed on 2020/11/05

Have been using Autoentry for about six years and now work much more accurately and efficiently. Find it very easy to use and the support is always very good when issues arise. Took on additional clients as a result of the time savings gained

Pros

Easy to use and teach clients
Integrates smoothly with the other I use

Cons

Has most desired features Easy to use Doesnt always integrate well with Sage desktop

Alternatives Considered

Datamolino and Dext Prepare

Reasons for Switching to AutoEntry

Price did what I needed at the time
Chris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

AutoEntry for Supplier Invoices Input

Reviewed on 2020/07/15

There are some behaviours you need to learn to get the best out of it but generally few issues. Very intuitive and love the fact that company adopts a consistent approach i.e. if it works why mess with it and upset happy users.

Pros

Easy to use and multi platform via internet Browser. Very good on Apple iPad, Mac and Windows 10

Cons

Would recommend that the document rejection process is improved as it is difficult to quickly check what went wrong or to say download all rejected documents for re review

Scott K.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Revolutionised the delivery of our bookkeeping function.

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Pros

Paying for credits, rather than a set monthly subscription.
We initially used Autoentry for our clients who did not use online banking to create csv bank statements, to allow us to on board them on to Xero. This in itself is an amazingly helpful function.
We have now expanded our use of this to include the sales and purchase invoice processing. The ability to identify individual line items is a great tool, for those suppliers clients use for different purchase types.
We now use Autoentry in conjunction with Xero as a document processing function.

Cons

Sometimes there can be small rounding issues with invoices when Xero is calculating the VAT on the invoice.

Terry P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Was there another way before Autoentry? Goodbye manual input!

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Pros

An intuitive product that delivers what is says - sales invoices, purchase invoices and bank statements seamlessly delivered into the accounting product (Quickbooks Online) in super fast time.
The access rights are very flexible meaning we can work with clients who we also set up to use it and the recently added App makes it even easier for them.
Its 'Pay As You Go' pricing structure is extremely attractive, with every useage credit available across all clients so there is never money wasted on unused capacity - unlike other similar products.
Efficient, inexpensive, consistent and reliable, all backed by great support - I wonder how I managed without it.

Cons

None at all.
... but I did have to invest in a better scanner to cope with the volume I am now putting through Autoentry!

S-j C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic program

Reviewed on 2021/06/10

Large volumes of Sales and Purchase invoices are mainly what Autoentry is used for, by educating our clients to scan invoices over in batches, the upload to autoentry is so much easier than wading through mountains of paperwork, and autoentry notifies you of any duplications.

Pros

The more you use it the more it remembers ! Consistency of allocation to nominals being a key factor, plus the attachment being within sage reduces the amount of paper and ink and space used with conventional filing.

Cons

On occasion some items have not been transferred into sage, but the easy fix is to unpublish and republish which is a 2 click fix.

Tori N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] - Excellent advisor

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is always on hand to help with any issues I have within minutes of asking for help.
Nothing is too much trouble and she ensures all queries are sorted efficiently.

Pros

It is very easy to use and saves alot of data entry time.

Cons

working remotely isnt always as smooth as I would have hoped.

Tom R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ease of Use and Integration

Reviewed on 2020/07/03

Previously I'd scan all of my PL invoices to my server drive to allow access and review for authorisation and then enter them on Sage. With AE this is all done as one function.

Pros

Fantastic product, easy to use, intuitive. The ability to split invoices across multiple cost-centers with differing vat rates is easier than posting directly into Sage, not to mention the multi-currency functionality. A Brilliant Product. The support team is second to none, with difficulties being resolved in minutes. A great product

Cons

If I have a wish list it would be to allow copying from the above line as in Sage with the F6 key.......... but I'm being pedantic

Jason D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Straight-forward simplicity

Reviewed on 2017/12/11

Pros

Easy to use time-saving software. Integrates with a wide variety of accounting software, provides flexibility across my clients. Web-based and the smartphone app, make it convenient. Speedy processing of uploads. Simple to set-up and add people (team or clients) to each account, making it a smooth onboarding process.

Overall a great addition to my offering.

Cons

Lengthy time on gaining help and support, can be difficult to handle issues with clients. Missing items, for no apparent reason can cause frustration, delays and additional cost when needing to re-upload.

David E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good Product / Saves Time

Reviewed on 2020/12/14

Overall happy with product, we are a small business and it definitely saves time ...

Pros

Ease of use and deployment are definitely the best features. It saves me a lot of time and attaches a copy image of every invoice to the accounts package. I currently use Sage and the integration has been pretty faultless. Even when you do bump into an issue (which I have had a couple) the team are quick and helpful to get it sorted.

Cons

It can sometimes struggle with 1's and I's on invoice numbers which can be problematic, other quirks can be having to constantly force an accounts package sync update when you have changed something in your accounting software, this would be best done at every sign in ?

Hiten S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Huge time saver on entry and reduced purchase invoice duplication and errors

Reviewed on 2020/08/11

Overall, hugely improved the supplier invoice process, easy to use.
Resolved duplicate invoices being entered and saved the company time and money.
Massive time saver on employee expenses entry as each individual submits their own expense and is easy to check and approve.

Pros

Integration with sage was seamless, setting up myself was a doddle and customer service is great as issues get resolved quickly. Huge time saver as we no longer have to use sage batches and also didn't need to have a separate screen to view the PDF invoices on entry as it's all in one screen on autoentry. One of the best features is viewing the invoice directly on sage using the onedrive link. Before this, we had to search the supplier repository on the server. It also helped reduce errors as it detects duplicates, autodetects the supplier and has a learning feature too.

Cons

Can be slow at times and if not used for a few days, the service needs to be restarted. This results in invoices getting stuck until the service is refreshed, however as long as it's used constantly this can be avoided.

Marie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Auto Entry

Reviewed on 2021/02/16

Pros

I like that my clients can upload all their receipts and invoices. Very little paper and storage of files. I also find that my clients do not lose receipts as often.

Cons

When I send the link to a client to download the app and sign in there seems to some difficulty in getting them signed up. It seems like my client ends up having to sign off then back on and reset pin number.

Anoop R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Just a highly recommended efficent add on, an easy, quick & reliable win

Reviewed on 2017/04/26

Pros

Literally does everything - Bank Statements, Sales Invoices & Purchase Invoices.
The credit system is credit for accountants and they rollover on unused credits
Now has a phone app mean it can be used for every function
Picks up individual line and descriptions from invoices is brilliant.
Good customer support form
Multi-currency function works
Works on QBO, Xero and Sage Desktop!

Cons

Expenses module not fantastic - would use Expensify for this all day long
Uses quite a lot of credits fro scanning bank statements

Teresa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Using AutoEntry for Payables - New user of this Program

Reviewed on 2020/07/13

I expect to save a substantial amount of time and money, having AutoEntry reduce my need to enter the detail. It will free up my time to grow my business and make more money. In today's economy this will help!

Pros

I loved the customer service. I'm new to the product and tried to dabble with entries and ran into problems, the setup stage is tedious, however customer support was phenomenal. I went back and forth with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in Tech Support and had the issues resolved. I was able to post and learn what to look for with my first few transactions. I'll see what lies ahead with the other entries such as bank statements but for now, I'm happy with the product!

Cons

The setup of each vendor, with the options in sage to match AutoEntry was a challenge but now that I understand what to look for, I feel confident about what else I can do with the program. I look forward to trying the bank reconciliation but I'm concerned about what pitfalls lie ahead as we prepare.

Liz E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customer Support

Reviewed on 2020/08/04

I am able to remotely work as all invoices are able to be loaded for me to see.

Pros

I find that the Customer Support for Auto Entry is amazing. Whatever time of
day or evening there is always someone to answer and deal with my problem. The invoices are easy to locate, see and print or email if necessary.

Cons

I have worked with Receipt Bank and whilst there are some features of their product that work better with Xero Auto Entry is the product that works best with sage. It would be helpful if Auto Entry could incorporate some of these features ie a n easier way of allocating the bank account that has paid an invoice. This would make the various bank accounts easier to reconcile.