174 reviews

Valant

A cloud based behavioural health platform

4 /5 (174 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4
/
5
Value for Money
3,7
Features
3,9
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4,1
75% recommended this app
174 reviews
Cindy B.

Superior software for private practice

Reviewed on 2016/04/21
Review Source: GetApp

We have been using Valant in our private practice for about 16 months now and love it! It is easy to use, very intuitive, and the IT support is FANTASTIC!! Initial set up was smooth with a great deal of support. Also easy up upload your own support documents. I highly recommend it!

Pros

Easy to use
Intuitive
IT Support
Set up to comply with insurance

Cons

Does not have a To Do or Reminder list to use in calendar--would love to have that
When setting up NEW client, for example child of a parent already in the system, would like to be able to view parent demographics at same time to transfer information.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Carly B.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: Self Employed

Expensive for solo practices

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/07/30
Review Source: Capterra

Customer service was slow to respond and/or didn't respond at all. It takes some getting used to. Valant was a functional ERA but it was too "much" for me being a solo provider which resulted in it being too expensive.

Pros

Billing was easy. It auto-posts ERA. They offer the ability to customize note templates. Valant offers reminders either through text or email.

Cons

For a solo practice it was expensive and offered a lot of features a solo provider doesn't need. The treatment plan tool wasn't as smooth as I thought it would be. It took a lot of time to setup and complete the training before using. The cost of Valant is separate from the cost of using a clearing house.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Thank you for your feedback, Carly. We appreciated having you as a customer and genuinely hope you are able to find a solution that better fits your needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Christianne H.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I would NOT recommend Valant

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/06
Review Source: Capterra

I have been a practice manager for a psychotherapy practice since 1998. I have worked with 3 different practice management softwares. My practice switched to Valant in 2014 because we wanted to go web-based. I have had issues with them from the start. The reporting is not very good. We are not able to run accurate reports of % collected per month. When you run an aging report it shows the full charge balance but not the expected amount owed based on the fee schedule. Once the appointments are saved they become separate from the transaction so if a change is made in the appointment is is not updated in the transaction automatically. This has caused many billing errors. There is not a copy from bottom to copy patient demographics to the responsible party or to the subscriber or to another family member. Therefore you have to re-enter the address, phone #s and insurance information when entering other family members. It does not have a zip code library so that when you enter the zip code it automatically filled in city and state. If you enter in an authorization after a client has been seen it doesn't not count down based on the sessions you attach it to so you have to remember to count down manually. We initially used the patient portal but stopped using it because the patient forms were not customizable therefore we had to upload our paper forms onto the portal and the patients ended up having to print them out anyways. I know that it is possible to do all of these things because our old software Therapist Helper has these features. They just are not web-based yet.
I have sent my suggestions to Valant customer service however they keep telling me that they are not able to make significant changes to the software but they will keep it mind. They also have been saying that they are working on another version of the software so their focus is on creating the new software instead of fixing the current software.
The customer support was decent and the tech support reps usually know what they are talking about and are able to fix any issues that we have (other than the above issues). The electronic billing works pretty good and ERAs are easy to apply.

Pros

-electronic claims submission
-ERAs

Cons

-reports (not enough accurate reports)
-patient portal (not customizable)
-patient demographics (not customizable)
-appointments & transactions do not update each other

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Jeanne G.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: Self Employed

Exceptional Software and Exceptional Performance

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/07
Review Source: Capterra

I have recommend Valant to all of my group practices because I know it will help them to be more lucrative and minimize hours worked by staff. I am very satisfied with Valant.

Pros

What I like most about the software is the way I can fluidly maneuver through the screens with ease and that I can have multiple tabs up at the same time.

Cons

I don't necessarily have a con but it would be great to integrate Telehealth Services capabilities within the software.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Hi Jeanne! Thank you for leaving a review. We are pleased to hear about the ease of use!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kyle R.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: 2-10 Employees

The Best Mental Health EMR - Bar None!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/13
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent!

Pros

It allows me to focus more on patient care and not wasting too much time on documentation. I absolutely love Valant and there support team. It’s been a great 10+ years and it just keeps getting better.
Thanks

Cons

There have been a few minor issues over the years but they always fix/improve them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Janice V.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Excellent EHR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Valant is very user friendly, easy to learn and intuitive.

Cons

It still takes more time to document that paper charts did- but that is with every single system.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Reid H.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: Self Employed

terrible customer service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/06/12
Review Source: Capterra

SLOW EMAIL CUSTOMER SERVICE,
Currently, I have an email support request, now going on TWO WEEKS WITH NO HUMAN RESPONSE.
Only automated "we got your message, but we're swamped. If you no longer need a reply, let us know. Otherwise please be patient we'll get to you when we can" canned replies.
This is TYPICAL of several past email requests.
Calling is difficult due to time-zone differences, so email is by far more practical for my solo practice.

Pros

fair pricing.
reliable scheduler, albeit a little cumbersome and old-skool.
integrated schedule / billing was fairly easy to submit in batches.

mostly, i just keep using it because it's what I originally set up for my practice.
I have buyer's remorse all the time.

Cons

For several YEARS (literally), Valant used outdated web technology (Silverlight) that was incompatible with several web browsers and the latest MacOS. They actually encouraged users NOT to update web browsers and desktop OS because it would break compatibility.
I've had to DOWNGRADE my firefox browser to an old, obsolete, unsecure version because that was the only way I could access Valant on my Mac.

POOR QUICK CLINICAL NOTES MODULE: they TRY to make click-click-click notes sound like "natural language," but colleagues got annoyed and felt like I was faxing them boilerplate notes. Sure notes meet billing requirements, but don't naturally capture actual patient encounters with nuance, which is important in mental health. The notes are several pages long, a waste of ink and paper for the amount of actual content.
I stopped using their notes module altogether and went back to paper charts within 6months. It was embarrassing to send my Valant notes to consultants and PCPs.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Dr. Hamamoto, thank you for providing a review of Valant. We always appreciate the feedback good or bad.

We are very sorry for your recent experience getting product support. Due to COVID, we have had a record number of requests creating a backlog with our support team, but we have made some adjustments and are rapidly improving response time. We pride ourselves on our high level of service and take this feedback very seriously.

Regarding the Silverlight technology and notes module, we have recently released a new platform (IO) that offers a much-improved user experience and is compatible with modern browsers. We are transitioning existing customers to this new platform in waves. Our customer success team will be reaching out to you to discuss access to the new platform and provide support for any outstanding issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Donna C.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: Self Employed

Good, but with a few stupid annoying issues

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Tech support people are nice, but when there is a system-wide issue, they do not answer the phones. They have been unable to solve the repeated crashing of Silverlight and the issue with not accepting diagnoses when entered in mobile notes.

Pros

I like that it is just for psychiatry and I like mobile notes. I like having integrated prescribing, billing, and credit card processing, electronic EOB's from payers. I like that there is an app for my iPad and iPhone so I can take a quick look at notes and write prescriptions.
I like the reminders that the system gives, the ease of scheduling appointments and entering payments.
With an electronic EOB, you just hit a button and all the payments and adjustments are recorded automatically.
Beware that the integrated insurance clearing house adds more to the monthly fee you pay.

Cons

I have been using this for 10 months. There are recurring problems that no one can seem to solve. When I entered nonclinical patient information in the "patients" tab and hit save, Microsoft internet explorer would crash, but not every time. I made repeated calls to tech support and their solution was to change browsers to Firefox. I have done so, but still have the same issue except the message on my computer is that the Silverlight plug-in has crashed. This happens several times per day.
In mobile notes, there is no functionality of the tab button (for indentation) when I am trying to write a note and this annoys me to no end.
The system has crashed several times in the past 10 months, never for more than a few hours, but enough to disrupt my workflow. I had to write a few paper prescriptions when the mobile notes and e-Prescribing crashed the other day.
The patient's diagnoses can be entered using mobile notes, but then, I have to open the patient chart and reenter them or else when I go to bill, it says there is no visit diagnosis. I have asked about this multiple times.
Navicure, the integrated insurance clearinghouse just raised their rates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Brittainy W.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

What I think about Valant

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/01/16
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

First off, their customer support is top notch and is very responsive. There are never any wait times, and they always seem to have the answer. The software is extremely easy to use and didn't take me long to learn at all. However, it is a bit more pricey than others out there. Most of my colleagues use Simple Practice, while I use Valant. Valant I feel has a more professional look to it and is more powerful in a sense of the reports that it can generate. It has the ability to have an integrated calendar (which I like) and you can scan documents to client files. They also have pre-generated templates, when coupled with dragon speaking software, gets my note taking down to 5 minutes per note!

Pros

Can generate multiple reports including insurance aging reports, what income you have generated monthly, etc.
It reminds you when you haven't completed client notes.
It lets you know if you haven't submitted claims for billing
Can integrate billing into the software for 1 click billing of claims
client portal
You can create your own templates
There are measures that you can have clients complete prior to being seen that helps with diagnosing.
Customer support rocks
They're trying to update their software based on customer feedback

Cons

The price. Currently, for my 1 office staff and myself. There are cheaper options out there.
I have a 2 in 1 tablet and laptop touchscreen- sometimes I have to make the font tiny on my screen to fit in all their windows like when adding authorizations. (these times are few and far between though). Also on other PCs, I've had no problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Andrea T.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

We have had problems with getting any customer service and help with technical issues. They have told us for at least 2 years that an upgrade was coming to the system so we did not change after the first year because we were holding out, but now it has been too long and we are seeking a new provider.

Pros

Ease of use with scheduling and documenting

Cons

If you ever want to add a user, make changes, have questions for support they take weeks to respond and typically do not resolve your issue. We have had problems with the e-prescribe since day one (3 years ago) and it has yet to be resolved. We have also been told since day one that they were upgrading the system soon so that other features like payment online could be taken and we are still waiting on this.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Cassie F.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Worth The Money But Many Avoidable Issues

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Pretty easy to read doctor's schedules and I have the ability to group schedules to my liking. There are a lot of features that other offices can use that would make Valant first choice over other EMRs.

Cons

I would have liked more customization to make my job easier. As a practice that doesn't accept insurance, I would have liked to take off some features that are included while hovering over each patient. We don't need to worry about insurance and copays. Instead, I would have liked to see any balance amount and especially patient's D.O.B. In order to get to any of that info, you need to click twice to get to patient's info and then click another time to actually access their info. Another example is putting a patient's card on file. If they don't have an appointment the same day you have to make a "fake" appointment under their name in order to put a card on file, enter their info and then exit out and delete that appointment. Another example would be if I needed to block out a certain time, I can't just select time time and complete it. I have to go to "non patient appointment" and enter some kind of text which often would be "." (a period). Otherwise I can't make a time block. Another issue, though not last, is that cards on file are stored in a separate software which you have to log in. The problem with that is in order to look at patient's payment history (i.e. which card they used for which service) you would have to log in to NMI. Overall I feel there's a lot of unnecessary clicking that could be avoided in order to make this software easier to use. I feel if this software had more options and ability to cater to what I need, I would have liked it more.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Isaac W.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: Self Employed

One stop shopping

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/09/19
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

See above.

Pros

I run a solo psychiatry practice and Valant allows me to do everything from registering and scheduling patients, to keeping records and prescribing, sending claim to insurance companies, applying payment from insurance companies and bill patients. I have always four customer support to be terrific. Some time it tae a few minute to get to the right person, but they go out of their way to answer questions. It is like any EHR--it feels difficult to use. Perhaps it is because Valant offers so many features (many I am sure I have yet to discover) it may complicate the learning process. But, with practice you get it down quickly. If you work with your initial 1:1 support, do the homework, and practice on the dummy patients, you will learn it quickly.

Cons

I wish it could interact with a kiosk where patients input information. I still have to add the demographic and insurance information and I have a scanner for insurance cards/drivers' licenses that are stored in separate software. It would even be helpful if you could scan this information directly into the patient's record.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Theresa A.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

After much product testing...Valant wins!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/08/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have tested may EHR's and Valant is the one I chose after about 3 years of demo's and research. Some EHR's that I have reviewed: Kareo, Practice Fusion, TheraNest, PIMSY, ICANotes, drcrono, Theramanager, and iSALUS. My office is a single provider, nonprofit. I am able to type notes in during a session and sign at the end of the session with ease. If I'm providing in home care, Apple's Siri works great for dictation and integrates seamlessly.

Pros

1. Valant offers as part of the intake note, numerous assessments that are automatically scored!
2. Customizable for how you would like to view buttons.
3. Group Notes automatically carry over from the first note in the general section, VERY helpful!
4. Prepopulated from the last note, so you do not need to go back to review.
5. Customer service is amazing. Follow up email or phone questions are quickly answered without constant need for follow up.
6. Cloud based.
7. 100% compatible with Mac, iPad, iPhone & Windows.

Cons

1. The treatment plan is clunky. I have worked around this by utilizing the prepopulated section of the PLAN tab to be where I put the treatment plan and updates each time. This work-around works beautiful for me.
2. There is no built in telehealth at this time. I am assured that this is something that is being looked into.
3. Billing is not fully integrated and requires a subscription to an outside provider.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Elizabeth L.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Easy to use and customizable to your practice

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The Valant software is easy to use for our administrative staff, psychologists, and psychiatrists.
As a behavioral health software, it allows our practice to run smoothly and efficiently. Valant allows our practice to set up clients, manage client medical records, bill clients and insurance companies, process insurance EOB's, customize note templates that are tailored to our practice, create reports (patient aging, insurance aging, productivity, charges, client lists, etc.), an online portal system for statements, etc. From the scheduler tool, there is an option to provide appointment reminder calls, emails, and/or texts which our clients find very helpful. The support team is also excellent. They are quick to respond, very knowledgeable, and helpful. Our practice is also able to send out outcomes monitoring to our clients on a frequent basis, which allows our clinicians to easily track client progress.

Cons

Valant currently uses Silverlight for their software, but they are working on changing this very soon so our office won't be limited to specific web browsers.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Deann L.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 2-10 Employees

So Thankful for Valant! #1 EMR for Behavioral Healthcare! Support is Top Notch!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

Great

Pros

Very comprehensive, yet intuitive. EASY TO PRESCRIBE!! Amazing ability to customize clinical templates that work for my practice. Obviously understands behavioral healthcare - that why I went with Valant. The clinical templates are clearly designed for me. Efficiency is a big deal for me and Valant helps me improve efficiency every day. I'm very appreciative of the quality of Valant support. I had an issue with one of my payers and Valant support was able to isolate how the payer made a mistake and why - then was able to use the resources and reports in Valant to make an argument to make sure the insurance company pays.

Mobile App is great - dictation helps my practice tremendously (when I choose to dictate).

Cons

The issues I had with Valant are now addressed with being able to customize my clinical templates - thank you Valant for building that functionality!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa S.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Audit proof your EHR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2020/01/06
Review Source: Capterra

Nearly all the Valant staff members were have worked with have been friendly and professional.

Pros

The Valant system runs a tight ship requiring all the important piece to be in place before signing and billing. Additionally it has many checkpoints along the way.

Cons

Old browsers still being used that can be slow. We are still trying to locate a direct messaging address for us to connect outside medical records received.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Simon F.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Great Billing and Reporting

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

From a clinician standpoint, billing does not always come naturally. However, Valant has been effective at integrating the billing/reporting features with the every day work flow creating increased ease of use

Cons

It was an issue not to be able to customize mobile notes. However, due to recent expansion of features we've been able to customize to our needs. We look forward to new features!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Georgina R.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: Self Employed

I have used 10 EMRs throughout my Career - Valant is by far the best - Great Product for The Money

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/08
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have used Luminello, Practice Fusion, Advance MD, Avatar, Cerner, NextGen and a couple others - they are all not as great of a fit for my behavioral healthcare practice. Advance MD is garbage.

Valant is very easy to use. I can find everything that I need to do my job with ease. I like that I learned how to navigate around certain functions and once I learned that I could apply that to all other aspects of running through the EMR. The clinical summary of the note is great.

Billing integration is critical. Clearing house is very smooth.

ePrescribing capabilities are also easy to navigate - very little training or learning needed to understand how to use it.

Cons

Would like more help on how to use the ability to send and receive messages to my clients. Onboarding was good, but could have been a bit better.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

David B.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: Self Employed

For the practicing psychiatrist, it doesn’t get better!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/11
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, couldn’t run my practice without it. Tech support and customer service are excellent. Pricing is competitive.

Pros

Valant is designed with a practicing psychiatrist in mind. The software facilitates efficient screening, scheduling, initial evaluation, and ongoing treatment by allowing the patient to interact directly with administrative personnel, clinicians , and assessment instruments. The workflow in Valant boosts my productivity roughly 30 % compared with paper records. The portal allows me to document effectively and efficiently- I am not completing notes after hours.

Cons

The Silverlight application limits browser compatibility. Can’t wait to see Silverlight go away next year!

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

We are pleased to hear about how Valant has boosted productivity at your practice. Thank you for your review, Dr. Brody!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Travis O.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Highly recommend this EHR for behavioral health providers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/11
Review Source: Capterra

Our experience with Valant has been excellent. The product meets all of our needs and we are able to make changes as needed over time. Their customer service is also outstanding.

Pros

Valant is incredibly easy and intuitive to use. It was designed for behavioral health care providers specifically, so all of the functionality is geared toward those who provide mental health care. The fact that Valant is a web-based EHR is also incredibly convenient as it can be accessed from anywhere with internet access. The options for customization also make this product a standout.

Cons

We needed some note templates to be changed from the standard options. However, this was solved with their customization tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Annette M.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Amazing Software System

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Our Business was looking for a completely integrated system to provide the best treatment for our patients. We were given several suggestions from Software advice and one of the suggestions was VALANT. We researched several software systems and decided on Valant. Claims and eligibility are done with the clearinghouse that does all processes in real time, which will increase cash flow for the business. Patients are able to log on to a patient portal to send messages and emails securely online to the therapist directly. Assessments can be sent to patient prior to appointment to fill out. Scheduling and reminders are sent automatically. You can do notes anywhere not only in an office setting. The training staff is so helpful and willing to help you in anyway possible to make your transition smooth. Once you start or "go live" the Valant support staff is there to help you with any questions during your transition and after. I can not say enough good things about this system and the staff at Valant. I believe this is one if not the best system we have come across.

Pros

Integrated system
Patient Portal to send assessments prior to appointment
Valant will allow you to set up the system for your particular practice.
EMR templates designed specifically for behavioral health providers
cost is reasonable compared to competitors
real time claims and eligibility
HIPPAA compliant messages sent to provider and patients

Cons

Clearinghouse is separate however it is top of the line and extremely efficient.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sandra B.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Valant helps with Patient Care every Day

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software is very user friendly for medical professionals This EHR is the MOST like a patient chart that I have used. Our company has been using this for about 7 years now.

Cons

Valant is very willing to work with our organization on some changes and personalizing the product for our company. I would love to be able to personalize the overall Patient Face Page to help our organization with specific needs though this is not doable.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melissa S.
Industry: Mental Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Overpriced for an outdated, frustratingly slow and buggy system

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/02/22
Review Source: Capterra

Was hopeful but after signing on under the promise of an upgrade due 6 months after my contract started, a year later I am still waiting for said upgrade while now we are experiencing so many crashes and freezes a day, we literally don't have time to call and report anymore as it is now costing me money to use the program, staff who are now drastically impacted by them not being able to perform their job in a timely and efficient fashion, and then sit on hold for 45 minutes to report an issue that we reported numerous times without being provided an actual solution or anything that would make it worth staying with them while we are being negatively impacted on a daily basis due to these technical issues.

Pros

It had all the components I need for a large practice, billing, scheduling, note templates, cc integration, e-prescribing, reports, and reminders and some extra like a portal, although useless, measures, and the ability to have seperate locations.

Cons

Where do I start? Crashes numerous times a day is the biggest one, won't sync to a google calendar in the right time zone, there is no mobile app, just a mobile site version, client portal doesn't do much of anything other than send measures to clients to fill out in advance, be able to download a pdf of their statement, and send secure messages to one provider only. Would it be too much to ask to be able to send intake paperwork for an electronic signature or at least be able to integrate with an e-sign program like Intake Q? If you have a multi-specialty practice which has a prescriber, clients can not send secure messages to their therapist and to their prescriber. Clients can't send messages to the admin or schedulers. It only sends an email users that they have a secure message in Valant to review if it comes from a client but not from another user in the practice. The reminders are queued up to be sent out 72 hours in advance so if clients cancel after that, they still get reminders. Reminders don't include office location if you have multiple office locations and can't be customized. Even though the note templates are expansive for some reason, some of the fields that are present on both intake and return visit notes, not all of the content from those fields carry over from the intake into a return visit progress note such as mental health history! And that field is one that will appear on all notes even when it is not filled out, unlike some tabs that will be omitted

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 3.0/10

Susan C.
Industry: Medical Practice
Company size: Self Employed

Disappointed

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/04
Review Source: Capterra

My experience had been initially positive. However, the lack of facile customer service or upgrades has been disappointing. There are now other EHRs that are very competitively priced and allow for forms to be developed, and provide more ready access to customer service.

My greatest concern is the fact that once the contract ends, all records are out of access. I had been exploring alternative options, but discovered that I would not be able to contract with Valant for less than a year of service. This meant that I had to choose - would I be without access to my files at all, or would I pay for a year of service. There was no negotiation and no options were made possible. I am now very concerned about what happens to records when I retire. I had been pleased that there would be a secure repository for my patient records (I have had a Valant account for 6 years and was an early adopter for a small practice). I find that I am now going to be VERY aggressive in finding and preparing for a migration a year from now to prevent the need to continue to be essentially held hostage as I feel currently.

This situation is both unfortunate and unnecessary. It is frankly not the cost of the EHR that will cause me to move on, but the lack of concern for my needs or the needs of the patients I treat. I had honestly not expected this. I live in Seattle, work locally and had wanted to support a local start-up. I had anticipated a very different experience.

Pros

The positives of this software includes the standardized assessments and the inclusion of the necessary elements for both assurance that liability standards are met and billing standards are complete. I also like that the charts and e-prescribing can be accessed on my mobile phone.

Cons

1. Customer service is far less than one would expect given the cost of this program. Lack of ability to actually talk with a customer service person directly, rather than rely on emails that are really not responsive to the questions posed.
2. Lack of user friendliness to operate the patient portals.
3. Once an active contract ends, the data that I had anticipated would be in secure storage, is no longer accessible to me in any way without having paid Valant for assistance to migrate it. This is quite different from what initial marketing had described. It means that once the contract ends - for example retirement, that files may not be accessible unless additional measures are taken. This means that the lifetime data storage is really not very meaningful or helpful over time.

Response from Valant Medical Solutions

Hi Susan,

Thank you for your feedback. We read all these reviews and take your feedback seriously. Here's some clarification about your concerns.

1. Valant phone support is available to all our customers M-F 6:00am-5:00pm PT and we have recently added additional support agents to decrease wait times.

2. Major enhancements to our patient portal are coming in the second half of 2019.

3. When a contract ends customers can export their data using tools built into the EHR or with the help of our support team. Valant returns data to our customers at their request at the end of a contract and does not charge for this service.

Cheers,
-Valant Team

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Terry D.
Industry: Mental Health Care

Wonderful experience with Valant!

Reviewed on 2015/09/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Easy to use, Mental Health orientated and complete. I like the fact that it's not geared to the medical community and tweeked to fit the mental health field. The vendor has been easy to work with, listens to recommendations and has made upgrades that are true improvements. We had a very smooth conversion from our old system to Valant. We were given a lot of support and training through the process. The ICD 10 conversion process has been a breeze.

Cons

Over the last 2 years, I think they have had a few growing pains. There have been a couple of times where they have new support staff that are not as knowledgeable as I would like but Valant is open to hearing about the problems we have had and work to correct the problem. There is always a way to get information from your Success Team leads if Support can't help.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10