69 reviews

Alteryx Designer

Empowering people to turn data into breakthroughs

4,7 /5 (69 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
69 reviews
Neil B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Alteryx - Take back control of your Data.

Reviewed on 2019/11/12

Our experience with this product is that it has transformed our ability to analyse, consume, and report on our data in a way that make sense to the business. We have been able to develop a business-centric Datawarehouse where all our cleansed data is stored and can then be queried or reported on, without the need to employ expensive data scientists or developers. Alteryx has truly revolutionised how see and use our data and this in turn has empowered the business to making the right decisions at the right time.

Pros

Alteryx is an incredible powerful analytics tool that allows users to input source data, manipulate, clean and transpose that data, then output into a Datawarehouse or other database. Despite the complexity of this product it has a great user interface and this makes it easier to learn and you are able to get up and running in a very short amount of time.

Cons

Still lacks some basic functionality, like an in-built tool for creating SQL views or a tool that can run multiple workflows in sequence (like Crew macro).

Joe R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A fantastic ETL, data munging, data prep, and data processing tool

Reviewed on 2017/12/12

Alteryx can do so much more than I use it for, so I believe the only case where Alteryx wouldn't be needed is when a department/team had a full development team to prep data pre-analysis or already has a central data store fully stood up and standardized. Alteryx works extremely well with a multitude of BI and database solutions and would be a great fit for any team trying to speed up the typical daily grind of data prep and ETL so their analytics and data team can be more agile, accurate, and automated.

Pros

Data ingestion: Alteryx is capable of connecting with a multitude of data sources from SQL databases to cloud-hosted solutions like Salesforce, Tableau, or Google Analytics. Also supports OleDB & ODBC connections.

Dynamic data munging: Alteryx has a great variety of processing tools to clean and prep data including: dedupe, formulas, joins, union, sort... Performing these functions really quickly on even moderately equipped laptops or desktops. It's dynamic in that it can easily handle changes in data by allowing extra columns to flow through.

Macros: have a process that you are consistently running in separate workflows? Build a MACRO, be it a batch or iterative, Alteryx can do it. I've built 40-50 macros and use at least 4+ in every workflow I design so data is handled the same way in every workflow for consistency and cutting down on copy/pastes.

Cons

I've had issues with the scheduler tool getting frozen or stuck in previous versions. For about the last 2-3 months the latest software version has been much more reliable. Previously I had to restart the Alteryx service on my machine at least once a week, which meant my workflows weren't running while the service had been stuck and data wasn't moving.

Some of the connectors, like the Tableau Online connector, should become supported by Alteryx. The online community is fantastic and has created a ton of useful macros and it would be great if Alteryx would adopt, support, and enhance some of the most widely used and useful.

Tarandeep S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Alteryx Means Work Done

Reviewed on 2019/07/18

Alteryx is a tool which can increase your productivity, at the same time providing you facility to re run again, schedule and automate easily. Best Feature is plug and play feature in statistical models too...It gives alot of feature like data profiling,quality ,scheduling and automation.

Pros

Easiness to use,PLug and play,For non technical poeple this is amazing tool.Time Saver.

Cons

I heard from Admin that license is expensive

Yazir P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful and simple

Reviewed on 2018/09/25

This is a great data handling software. Half the company runs on this.

Pros

There is basically a module for doing everything
Connectivity in both inputs and outputs is simply superb

Cons

Output to PDF to export reports might need better capabilities
Documentation of less used features might be insufficient compared to most commonly used features

Adel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing self service analytics tool

Reviewed on 2019/07/29

Amazing tool for crunching big amount of data. Very easy to learn and very powerful when you take the time to dig deap. The community is also great.

Pros

Friendly graphic interface. The drag and drop workflows are fun to create

Cons

The tool is a bit pricy. However it is worth the spending when you need it

Drew S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great analytics and overall tool

Reviewed on 2018/02/14

Pros

The ease of use is great. We can teach people how to data analyst very quickly. The functions they continue to add have been great.

Cons

We have issues at times with it hanging or shutting down but customer support is quick to respond and resolve issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty good data analytics software

Reviewed on 2019/02/05

Business problems like considation, analytics, dashboard and reporting can be made very convenient

Pros

Easy to use
You can see data as it passes through each tool.
Seamless integration with excel, database other sources
Good reporting options

Cons

Lack of customer service
Not able to read excel files with macro enables format correctly

Dinesh kumar B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for Process Automating

Reviewed on 2018/09/12

Amazing tool for process automation and integration

Pros

Easy drag and drop interface for creating workflows.
Easy to debug (easy to track and monitor the workflows while it is running)
Can Integrate "R" code with Alteryx
Alteryx provides variety of features for text data cleaning (including fuzzy matching, regular expressions and table joins)
Without much coding alteryx provides machine learning for predictive analytics (drag and drop features)

Cons

At times Alteryx is slow in responding
Expensive tool
Not good for data visualization
Very few training videos

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Alteryx

Reviewed on 2019/02/12

I like Alteryx as a data mulipulation tool but it's also very diffult to learn.

Pros

With Alteryx, you're creating a workflow to alter the data, rather than altering the data directly. Because you're creating the workflow, each of the steps are easily auditable and you can swap out the source files when it changes. This is a huge bonus and time saver as data will tend to change.

Cons

Alteryx has a huge learning curve. It's hard to get started without some sort of live tutorial from someone that has been using it for a long time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Alteryx is a great software! So many uses, and really easy to learn.

Reviewed on 2018/03/05

Pros

I like how many different ways I can get data into Alteryx, and all the easy manipulation that you can do both with and without SQL coding experience. It is very easy to use, and easy to learn on your own. They also have great customer support, and training videos.

Cons

I would like to see the Period Table of Alteryx with more detail, or a decision tree on inputs and outputs and uses to help figure out the best tools to use.

Kristi C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast and Easy

Reviewed on 2015/03/17

Pros

Between the great customer service, easy UI, online tutorials and sample files, it is a very easy product to use.

Cons

There are so many uses it is sometimes hard to know you have the best environment for the software, because different features require different needs.

Thomas W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Allows for work with extremely high volume data

Reviewed on 2020/11/12

Pros

Few other programs have the computing power that Alteryx does, allowing for work with very large datasets

Cons

Not particularly easy to use, and nothing like Excel, which creates a big learning curve

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty Intuitive to use

Reviewed on 2018/09/19

Pros

I think once you get the hang of it and learning all the tools that are available, its not that bad to use. I think for people who have less SQL/software engineering skills who want to do ETL, this is a great product. Someone who has a strong software engineering and database background it is hard for us to let go of some of our habits.

Cons

chaining/scheduling workflows is not built in
there needs to be more support for non MS SQL Server people including oracle, postgres, and redshift.

Allison H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Alteryx Review

Reviewed on 2016/12/07

I think that Alteryx is awesome!! It has an easy layout - drag and drop. There are okay trainings through their website. I think that is where they could improve. Their customer service is AMAZING. There is an on-call chat service. They will discuss your issue with you and even do a screen-share and phone call if you need the help. I would recommend Alteryx to others who need to do data prep and predictive/advanced analytics.

Andrew G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used in Data Analytics

Reviewed on 2018/08/21

Alteryx has allowed for faster processing of large data sets, and has helped to mitigate issues that arise during the data preparation process.

Pros

This software greatly simplifies the process of dealing with large data sets, taking tasks that previously might require knowledge of SQL, Hadoop, and other database items, and allowing you to do it all in an intuitive manner within the Alteryx package.

Cons

Software sometimes runs slowly - mostly due to the size of the data sets, but also potentially due to insufficient optimizations for lower level calculations. Also expensive compared to competitors.

Cameron T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Daily use, from quick data manipulation to full-blown wizards

Reviewed on 2015/03/19

Pros

The best thing about this product is its ease of use! It's so easy to pick up, and so versatile that anyone can benefit from it.

Cons

Some of the formatting and rendering can be tedious/painful, but there is rarely anything that can't be accomplished in some way/shape/form.

Carlos alejandro B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool for non-coders

Reviewed on 2018/08/24

Pros

It very very easy to use for your analysis, you can learn quickly to use it. Also, its is very fast for process big data analysis.

Cons

It could be a little expensive and for experience the whole software you have to pay something more.

Aravind V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Market Research
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used Alteryx for some time

Reviewed on 2019/09/18

The data cleaning is so smooth after using the Alteryx tool.

Pros

The ease of usage and the UX where the computation progress is shown to us live and helps in completing work sooner.

Cons

I cannot complete all my tasks with great ease as I can do it on spreadsheets. I still need to use another tool along with Alteryx to complete my work.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

My first experience with a software of data analytics, very easy to learn and useful

Reviewed on 2018/06/01

Pros

Everything is visual, you don't need to code anything. Alteryx have a big community that helps you to design, learn, and download macros.

Cons

It only gives you 14 days trial and it doesn't have a freemium version. The graphics, maps and reports are not too visually modern.

Robert W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best Tool for Mashing Data

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

I use Alteryx to combine multiple sources of data (from databases, excel workbooks, and others), clean, calculate, sort and provide an output that is easily digested. It allows me to provide analysis in a simple way, be creative in how I manipulate the data and even create automated running of the workflow. It saves me at least 8 hours a week.

Pros

Alteryx has a fantastic interface, using function blocks that you can drag and drop to create a workflow. This makes it simple to use and provides the ability to create complex workflows.

Cons

The license cost for the tool is very high, which means not everyone can use it. I find very little other cons with the program.

Jaehoon L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A good tool for automating complicated analytics pipelines

Reviewed on 2019/02/24

Alteryx is a good tool and well fits in our need of clinical data management and analytics pipeline optimization. There are rooms for improvement in terms of stability in desktop application.

Pros

Alteryx is a great tool when need of integrating multiple or complicated analytics pipelines in one place and manage them in a systematics manner. It provides a variety of data connections to common relational database product and web resources. It also provides plugins to add other product such as Tableau, etc.

Cons

The desktop application used to crash (not responding) in case of loading large sized data. It also gets very slow when moving or drag-dropping objects in the authoring environment.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplify Data Manipulation with the Press of a Button

Reviewed on 2019/07/21

Pros

It has a simple to use drag and drop interface.

Cons

There is so much functionality, it is difficult to know everything.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Veterinary
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My favorite data science tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/13

Pros

I would argue that this is the number one product for data science. I have change my entire analytics department for the better with using alteryx.

Cons

No major complaints on this software, my team loves it!

Ravi M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use, beautiful interface, documentation in a cinch

Reviewed on 2017/12/05

So much time saved
Easy to share documentation without worrying about syntax, coding and verfication
Trainable to a layman analyst

Pros

Drag and drop interface, the ability to manipulate my data at any point and expand my analytics through spatial and predictive.

Cons

The Server solution could be better developed to be ready to integrate with other enterprise wide features (for example, managing users, databases, schedules)

Spencer V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Saves me hours a week and allows me to think critically more often!

Reviewed on 2015/03/20

Pros

I love how diverse the product is. I can do a simple data pull to a demographic report to doing regression analysis for a complex model.

Cons

The only small complaint I have is that some of the error messages themselves are cryptic and convoluted.