Showing 38 reviews of 24

XWiki

Knowledge Management & Collaborative platform

4,7 /5 (24 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
100%
recommended this app
Showing 38 reviews of 24
Charles A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible and reliable solution for knowledge and document management ... and more

Reviewed on 2016/03/14

We were delighted to find XWiki several years ago and the hosted solution has provided a flexible, reliable and cost effective solution for our group's knowledge and document management needs for over five years. Key has been the ability to mix unstructured and structured data - and the ability to access the structured data quickly through LIVETABLES - 100s and 1,000s of records can be filtered and sorted with no delays.

The security features mean we've been able to set up wikis for different parts of the group and control access levels properly.

The platform is accessible enough for those with some amateur coding ability - but the XWiki team has always been there to support and refine our attempts in a professional way. More recently we retained XWiki to develop a tailored Document Management system using the Collaboration Suite. We are really pleased with the results - and the fact that the project was delivered on time and on budget. Over the life of our use the cost will be far better than purchasing other document management systems - and we have a system that fits our specific requirements.

All of this is achieved on a variety of browsers without any material internal IS requirements or costs.

We look forward to continuing our collaboration for many years.

Elenkovan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/04/25

Patrick M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Quick, easy, great features and open source - everyone is happy!

Reviewed on 2016/03/10

Quick: implementation was fast and direct, from the technical set up, to our content migration, and user training. Our organization transitioned from using three different wikis to just XWiki with no problems.

Easy: The user interface, workflows, hierarchies, tools, etc. are straight-forward, intuitive and allows new users, as well as those coming to XWiki from other platforms (even non-wikis), to find their way and begin contributing.

Great features: Simply put there are no features that we need that are not included.

Open source: Most importantly for us, XWiki is open source allowing for a quicker pace of development, greater stability, broader features, etc. In addition, with the active XWiki community we can easily find peers to ask questions/find answers (in addition to the great support provided by XWiki.com).

Everyone is happy: Our organization engages with a diverse community of technology experts from around the world and across industries--everyone has an opinion, and a favorite. I'm very happy that everyone is happy.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

XWiki experience

Reviewed on 2016/03/14

Using XWiki solution allows us (marketing department of a retail company) to communicate quickly and efficiently with our sales managers despite geographical distance. They have access to every information they need in real time ! It makes it easier for them to manage their shop daily and they can diffuse knowledge to their team really quickly.

Pros

User friendly, easy to handle
Improve communication and knowledge sharing

Cons

Make sure that your internal network is adapted in order to make the best of the solution.

Thierry P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Intranet

Reviewed on 2016/03/18

We use this software as intranet to share information.
Animate our franchise network .
and we use it for sharing and preparation of commercial operations.
250 Point of Sales / 150 Franchisees

Pros

The customer support is responsive and easy to use and fast training

Cons

The software evolves regularly , new features are available

Guillaume L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2016/03/14

Camille G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful software for collaboration and knowledge management

Reviewed on 2016/03/11

I'm using XWiki as a knowledge base for my e-shop project.
I particularly enjoy the file manager application and the Application Within Minutes feature that I'm using to create page templates.
I'm using it to work with my co-founder as we are working from different areas. This is easier to follow up our actions and progress.

Thierry P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We use this software for 5 years

Reviewed on 2016/03/18

We use this software as intranet to share information.
Animate our franchise network .
and we use it for sharing and preparation of commercial operations.

Celine O.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

XWiki makes things in your head possible

Reviewed on 2016/02/10

Very versatile and powerful, but please become more user friendly. Fortunately support is extremely efficient

Marc L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The smart way to deal with text and data

Reviewed on 2016/03/11

There are a lot of software out there to store documents, deal with live text, revisions, and collaboration... but most are just another bucket where information goes to die. XWiki is the programmable information management platform. As a platform, you can expand it with functions that make sense to input, link, display, report, and pretty much everything you need to do with your information to achieve your business outcomes. Plus, you don't need to be a hardcore programmer to get to use it efficiently.

Pros

Sits on top of a top-notch Java stack, ORM, with REST APIs, so you can virtually do anything from using it as a simple Wiki to using it as a back-end to a mobile app. The documentation and the core API is solid.

Cons

Not the Ruby on Rails approach, but why reinventing the wheel every time anyway?

Christophe T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fantastic wiki for medium sized organizations

Reviewed on 2016/02/14

We are using the Wiki after being disappointed with other open source wikis. Especially, the abilities to insert Markdown posts, link to LDAP, and fine grained ACL were one of the major reasons to switch to xWiki.

We love the Nested spaces introduced in 7.3, and have since upgraded to all major release upgrades.

The Cons were mostly a rather lengthy setup phase (couple months) to really understand all the Catalina / Tomcat performance options and to have a smoothly running instance.

However, all in all we are really satisfied, and the Support on IRC is quite casual and very reactive. We never have to wait too long to receive an answer.

Sébastien G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Tested your products

Reviewed on 2016/03/24

It is brilliant to simplify things for the end-users, that is why I once applied to your company.

If I can suggest an improvement in very basic simplifications:
- Giving more clarity about whether XWiki is a company, a product, a framework, an ensemble of products (I know the answers).

- Minimal clicks before installing a demo. Clarity about each step before using it (extracting files, opening which one, etc.).

Keep going!
Best regards.

Nicolas L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 2016/03/15

Angelo C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Nice and stylish wiki for your org

Reviewed on 2019/01/04

Pros

We set up xwiki for a private project and really enjoyed using it. It has a sleek interface and offers everything you might ask from a wiki system.

Cons

We had a problem with arabic letters.
But in the end the support was very helpful and everything got sorted out!

Doug M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very Powerful and Versatile Collaboration Software

Reviewed on 2016/03/10

XWiki is an extremely powerful tool that is easy to use right out of the box. It is extremely versatile but does require a fair bit of programming/scripting knowledge to get the most out of it. The 'out of the box' configuration will work well for many small organizations.

The permission controls are extremely versatile and secure, providing for public, private, individual or group permissions of all content at a very granular level.

The XWiki.com SAS model for hosting and support is the perfect companion to the open source software. Service is prompt, and support staff have always been very knowledgeable.

Juliette F.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful tool to create a knowledge base gathering all our documents and procedures

Reviewed on 2016/03/24

We have been using XWiki since 2011. We are using it to manage our documents and procedures.
We decided to grant access to the knowledge base to all our collaborators.
We are also using the XWiki SAS support service and we are really satisfied with it.
We recently implemented the deprecated documents archive feature and our users are happy about it.
The user interface could be improved but this has been polished in the newest version of XWiki.
Keep up the good work!

Lerouge A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great Wiki for entreprise

Reviewed on 2016/02/12

XWiki has progressed very nicely over time, I've been continuously impressed by the breadth and depth of its feature set. The latest release comes with nested spaces, which let users organize their content even more easily than before.
It's also easier to use specially for non tech people!

Response from XWiki

Thanks! We're glad you like it.

Russell P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 2017/11/06