170 reviews

ibi

Information Builders' scalable BI and analytics platform

4,5 /5 (170 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
170 reviews
Michael W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Amazingly versatile, however it does carry a significant learning curve to maximize that...

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

Environment to automate regular reporting and to expand and enhance the availability of data to my organization.

Pros

Numerous export formats, versatile software which offers a savvy developer several avenues to accomplish the requirements of their audience. The Active Format is a very unique offering allowing developers to give users the ability to drive their own analysis from reports through sorting, filtering, charting and being able to export their work.

Cons

FOCUS itself has a steep learning curve that is very dependent on the capabilities of the entity that is going to implement and use it. Your environment will carry a heavy influence on how successful the implementation will be. Management will need a measure of patients and need to invest in users to learn, documents and carry that intelligence throughout the organization.

Lauren D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Information Builders is great!

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

Overall, IB has been very helpful to deliver our products. Customer support is great as well.

Pros

I love the customized visualizations and the ability to disconnect reports from the server to send to member hospitals.

Cons

Sometimes it is not as flexible as I would hope. Using the indocument analytics, I cannot always create the visualizations or filters I would like.

Eric P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Right product for the job

Reviewed on 2020/06/23

Used across the University to complete data needs.

Pros

Able to report against many different data types in one integrated tool. Data output can be displayed many different ways (aggregate or summarized in detail or graphically). Easily being distribute multiple ways.

Cons

End users need a good base of knowledge to do more advanced features. Easy to learn but does take some time.

Anthony L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WebFocus from BA Perspective

Reviewed on 2020/06/22

WebFocus helps my team assist customers with visualizations and analytics for their business needs. Overall experience is great.

Pros

The ease to add and remove multiple data sets.

Cons

Steep learning curve when trying to convert the data to visualizations.

Larissa B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The suite of products is great, learning curve can be quite high.

Reviewed on 2018/05/23

Large insights to data trends which were otherwise not noticed. Efficiencies have been made to daily/weekly/monthly tasks by using excel sync's to bring in refreshed data that we couldn't not have mapped into our warehouse. By using this tool, we have created a very efficient report writing team that is spread across our organization and are data experts at an individual department level structure.

Pros

It's a wide open platform with endless customization options. We have yet to run into an issue that was not able to be met by the work done in webfocus. They're online presence is wonderful for tech support and forums which often find us most of our solutions to any sticky situations.

Cons

So many individual pieces in this suite of products, that it's sometimes confusing as to what you actually own, what you need to buy and what you are getting by with. Upgrades happen quite often, so if you don't have a dedicated system engineer to devote time for upgrades, you'll be bringing in your system engineer that was provided by IBI.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The strength is in mining data

Reviewed on 2019/01/01

The main use for me is to create dashboards. Dashboards being data represented in a graphical interface for quick-hitting analysis, especially by C-level personnel. WebFocus has its own proprietary language, which is basically a version of SQL. This knowledge can help when it comes to constructing more detailed queries that cannot be achieved with the GUI. One of the strengths of WebFocus is that it can integrate with numerous DBs, including relational and hierarchical DBs. I've used Focus (the MF and PC version prior to WebFocus) and have seen this tool evolve into its current incarnation which is suited for the internet (web page) world.

Pros

The focus (no pun) on grabbing data and messaging it into meaning information. Specifically, the tools to achieve that are in one place and helpful in constructing pages to analyze data, such as dashboards. I like that I can take a deeper dive into queries by crafting my own WebFocus queries (knowledge of Focus 4GL required).

Cons

WebFocus does take some training to put together meaningful reports and dashboards. Some aspects are easy to use without any exposure, but IBI promotes their training courses for a reason. This may be a con in that most people expect to create content immediately. To get to the next level, you will need to take more courses. Some tools are hidden and could be more straight-forward.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great product, very flexible and powerful

Reviewed on 2017/12/11

Pros

I like the fact that WebFocus is able to solve a lot of problems. It is the type of reporting tool where if you want to accomplish something, there is a way to do it in WebFocus, complicated or simple. Email distribution is by far one of my favourite, we can customize reports to be sent out, embed them in emails, make multiple attachments. Active PDF is also very powerful too.

Cons

Ease of use is a main struggle point for the software. I find its hard to teach a new user how to use the power user tools at this point in time. Having attended their user conference, I have seen some new improvements and redesigns in the next release that will change my mind on this point. Ease of use is very important for user adoption.

Rob F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Information Builders Builds Relationships

Reviewed on 2015/11/24

Pros

Information Builders is not just a company and it doesn't sell just products and services. They are a partner who ensures that you succeed and they will not talk you into a product that you don't need. When you have a question or concern someone is always more than willing to help you out... with enthusiasm and competence. The product is dynamic and robust to ensure that the business needs are met - technically as well as in usability.

Cons

Information Builders was a little slow to innovate into the 21st century until recently. The past version of WebFOCUS felt like it was still in the early 2000's, but with the release of WebFOCUS 8 they are relevant and innovating the in analytics space.

Gaspar Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Webfocus

Reviewed on 2019/06/06

Pros

It is very user friendly as you can drag and drop for beginners
If you are more interested in doing the code manually you can do that as well
Customer service is great there is always willing to help you (I recommend going premium! Twice as fast)
Great functionality and are always adding more functionality to the product

Cons

Can be very buggy sometimes
Can be slowed sometimes compared to other reporting tools

Rich C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable for Years

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Migration from IBM mainframe using DB2 to a Unix platform using Oracle was extremely simple, most reports required only a two line change.

Pros

I have been using one version or another of Focus for over 30 years. While the core product has evolved and improved and even migrated across platforms ... the core reports still work with very little updates required,

Cons

Reporting server has a static font - which is proportional.

Christopher F.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have used WF for many years now and feel that each release is better and easier to use.

Reviewed on 2017/12/07

Pros

The diversity... the GUi for the metadata, Infoassist and App Studio report writing options, ability to write code or use the ever-improving GUI. Also the ability to connect to various database platforms. Easy to use Portal developer.

Cons

I feel the early releases of the software can be QA'd better to catch some of the defects up front before released to the general public.

Barb K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Going where we want to be

Reviewed on 2018/10/11

Able to create custom dashboards and business reviews

Pros

Feature rich for business users and is a full platform for developers. The roadmap showcases many new features that are right where we want to be; advanced analytics, visualizations, Infographcs

Cons

Not all features works with all datasources

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Truly Powerful Platform

Reviewed on 2018/05/23

Pros

The ability to get and consume data from anywhere.
It Does it all, . . Dashboards, Reports, FML, Visualization and Data Quality

Cons

Looking forward to new Power Users to take in User Data and add to Corporate trusted data.
There are now other Cons to the software or vendor in my opinion.

Leanne W.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

administrator and support end users

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

Pros

i like the direction it is heading the possibilities available. There are many things we can do with WebFOCUS and are barely scratching the surface.

Cons

cost of optional features. There are other features we would like to use that are cost prohibitive like mobile faves

Ravindhra S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best BI tool for Application Development

Reviewed on 2017/12/07

Able to build robust Dashboards with this software

Pros

Data manipulation on the fly. Easy to use. And I like the HOLD files that can be used during the report development

Cons

Needs more Marketing guys to sell this product. Need more Videos on internet for self learning.

Robert F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WebFOCUS review

Reviewed on 2019/06/06

No complaints...great customer service.

Pros

The software has transitions itself, taking a strong infrastructure and now, using Designer brought all th epieces together.

Cons

FM L and MAINTAIN could be modernized a little.

Venkat D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Webfocus is the tool, which can provide solutions for any questions.

Reviewed on 2018/05/22

Pros

Using Webfocus, you can do the data movements, you can create BI Reports, self service repoerts and data analytics.

Cons

It has to be more advanced on data visualizations. Provide individual solutions & implementations to Customers.

Rob B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very flexible tool.

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

Pros

Flexibility and longevity, with minimum customization I've been able to adapt 20+ year old mainframe code to WF 8.1.05.

Cons

Error messages are sometimes vague or misleading, especially when debugging single quote or parentheses issues.

Donnie D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Web Focus rview

Reviewed on 2019/06/04

It has been a great way to bring me up to speed on Web focus application and improvements.

Pros

Pulling information from multiple platforms. Versatility

Cons

Interactive support. Could use one on one training.

Benjamin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

IBI is Great

Reviewed on 2020/06/18

Pros

Great flexibility to bring several data sources together into a single report.

Cons

Graphs have improved but still seem difficult when compared to building them in Excel.

John C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This has been such an easy transition for us from our old software to WebFOCUS.

Reviewed on 2017/07/17

Pros

The flexibility of the WebFOCUS language and we were easily able to reproduce our old data models and deliver them to clients without interruption or major lifting once security was set up.

Cons

There's not much I don't like, there is just a steep learning curve if you want to take off quickly while having intricate security, so that's more our issue than IB.

Nicholas Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Webfocus from a developers perspective

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

Pros

I like how scalable the software is. I like the customer support.

Cons

I don't like when I modify a procedure outside of GUI, I can no longer open it in GUI

Chris S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

WEBFOCUS

Reviewed on 2020/06/22

Pros

WEBFOCUS offers scaleable solutions that help create valuable insights for end users.

Cons

It would be helpful if there was more digital training videos.

Vonda F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I am a new developer and the latest version is so user friendly it almost does my job for me!

Reviewed on 2018/05/24

The ability to quickly provider insight to all levels of management and users so they can make sound, data driven decisions when creating strategies for meeting their outcome objectives.

Pros

The ease of use and the functional layout. It really is intuitive and I almost feel overpaid now because any person with computer skills can just about create content now.

Cons

Any person with a base level of computer skills can just about do my job now! Actually, I haven't any complaints other than some Chrome compatibility issues!

Tom O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

WebFocus Usablity

Reviewed on 2019/06/05

We have had a very good experience with WebFocus

Pros

Supports may connections to Legacy Data.

Cons

Migrating to a new version takes a lot of effort.