50 reviews

TIBCO Spotfire

Data visualization and analytics software for any industry

4,3 /5 (50 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
50 reviews
Margot G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire for Life Science

Reviewed on 2015/12/18

Pros

ability to quickly identify outliers in the datasets

Cons

support documentation for external domain authentication is lacking for advanced infrastructure

Jonathan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tibco Spotfire Review

Reviewed on 2018/09/28

Very nice to use Business Intelligence tool, have user friendly interface and the basic functionality is easy to self-study. At a low cost and not so customized Dashboarding requirements Tibco Spotfire is very efficient.

Pros

* User friendly interface and ease of access.
* Good design and functionality for graphs.
* Low cost.
* Ability to embed Python, HTML, and JavaScript.
* Plenty of data source options.

Cons

* Hard to customize some visualization objects.
* Few default functionality for computations especially on cross tables
* Sometimes the text editor is auto changing the code layout once saved.

Anna A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Visualization Dashboards and Reporting

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Making dashboards for top management so that they can drive growth by making decisions by looking at the data.

Pros

Dashboards are used to make business decisions which are data driven and are very powerful , intuitive in nature. Data can extracted from any format almost.

Cons

You got to spend years to fully utilize the tool. It is such a powerful tool.

Joey T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Nice way to visualize data

Reviewed on 2019/05/26

Using Spotfire to visualize complex data

Pros

Allows you to group and visualize data in many different ways.

Cons

Requires some trainings to use the software.

George F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Is really good for what you need it to do

Reviewed on 2020/01/24

Very good experience overall. It does exactly what I need it to.

Pros

Spotfire allows you to quickly identify outliers and explore data with high performance. Along with this is easy to use and has a convenient platform to identify trends and patterns. Spotfire is such a powerful tool that allows you to visualize data in an easy manner.

Cons

Although it is easy to pick up, you will need to look online or consult training manuals for advanced features. It takes a long time to master this program.

Liam W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Apparel & Fashion
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very capable and intuitive despite its depth.

Reviewed on 2019/07/27

Pros

Spotfire can do just about anything you want it to, it's fairly simple to learn to both set up and use.

Cons

Better integration with google sheets would be nice.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Reporting tool with a lot of potential

Reviewed on 2019/12/19

We have been using this in the company and the adminitrators need the skills to work the query in detail because you can not handle easily after.

Pros

If is a strong tool for reporting and business intelligence, allows many data sources with a hugh potential.

Cons

The visualization is not the strongest thing, charts and graph are not too customizable and easy to read.

Tina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Higher Learning Curve But Great Software

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

It has a steeper learning curve than I'm used to in software, but once I got more comfortable, I was able to really enjoy it. There are tons of things I can do with with the data here that don't require editing the query. I'm able to create a variety charts, including pivot tables, and there are options to filter and un-filter things from my data table.

Pros

There are lots of different features available and lots of customizations you can make to your reports. I like that I can apply transformations to the data in there without having to modify my queries. I like how much I can do with my charts, and I really love the feature that highlights the rows of my data table that went into a particular part of my chart when I click on it.

Cons

It isn't as user friendly as what I'm used to (I'm used to Microsoft programs like Excel or Word, where everything is very straightforward). There was a longer learning period with this software before I was able to feel comfortable with it. The help guide here is kind of general. It doesn't have explicit instructions for everything, so I'm just experimenting a lot of the time to figure out how to do what I want to my report or chart. Also, it doesn't seem to have a feature that can automatically email you excel files. You have to log in and export the report yourself.

Monel K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Analytics and Data Manipulation

Reviewed on 2019/02/20

Helps to generate value for the business and report out the data.

Pros

Graphs and charts available helps to analyze the data. Integration with Python also helps to analyze and manipulate the data as per the requirement. Documentation is very detailed. User community very supportive.

Cons

Integration with R is also required for statistical analysis and prediction using the data.

Wendy G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire is solid visualization software.

Reviewed on 2015/01/21

Pros

This product is easy to use. The start up is fast, and the visuals are great to work with. I like the front end design elements. Everyone I have demoed Spotfire for has been impressed by the visuals, details on demand, filters, highlighting functions etc. I enjoy developing in Spotfire and learning more and more about it.

Cons

Modifying custom SQL is very finicky in the information services library. For example, after optimizing the SQL in SQL Server, Teradata, etc, you still have to fix the individual elements and joins, which is frustrating because, in my opinion, getting the code correct should be more difficult than jamming it back into the Information Services.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spotfire is a strong provider of data visualization, allowing for easy creation of data stories

Reviewed on 2018/04/19

strong stat based data stories

Pros

Multiple data formats supported, strong analytical background heavy duty statistical chops, ability to produce strong data visualizations

Cons

Less than stellar customer support, price higher than most competitors (offset somewhat by evaluation capabilities)

Koay T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

IT Senior Section Manager

Reviewed on 2017/11/08

Spotfire is an excellent solution for empowering business users to make confident, evidence-based decisions, however it's not a perfect solution for everyone.

Pros

Very user friendly and user can manage without IT assistance
Easy to use with dynamic dashboards and interactive visualization

Cons

Lacking embedded BI and production reporting. A bit expensive and less practical than Qlik for quick report. Spotfire is not the best BI Tool for analytics reporting.

Andrew R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great reporting tool at a great price

Reviewed on 2018/12/12

Pros

Connects to all of your data points, and makes it fairly easy to generate reports. Lots of functionality included in the software to meet pretty much all your demands.

Cons

Not always able to fully customize the reports in the manor in which we would like. Sometimes we had issues with connecting separate databases on common fields.

Rajat W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Data Visualization and Analytics Platform

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

Pros

Dashboards help to make data driven decisions for the business. Spotfire is really a very powerful tool to play with data and generate value out of it. Not very expensive and helps to save millions.

Cons

Needs training to utilize the power of spotfire. Takes a lot of time to get used to wide variety of graphs.

Chris C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Excellent Viz Software (But Expensive!)

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

Excellent tool but expensive for first-time firm usage/rollout.

Pros

Excellent software that does a ton of visualizations for you.

Cons

Cost to purchase is at server-level, which is too expensive for firms introducing analytics.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Comprehensive Analytics Tool

Reviewed on 2020/03/27

Once I had some training on Spotfire, I never looked back and use it frequently when processing large amounts of data.

Pros

I love that Spotfire is able to process large file sizes extremely quickly, which means filtering millions of rows in seconds and making it easy to find and sort filter options. In addition, the visualizations in the tool are practically limitless and allow users to make incredibly complex but extremely useful and informative reports.

Cons

Spotfire is not easy to use and requires training from an experienced person to use. It is not nearly as user friendly as its competitors.

Ailene M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Analytics Tool for Visualization Reports

Reviewed on 2018/09/18

Pros

Easy to use and create visual reports, more exciting design and layout for analysis.

Cons

Need more manuals training for the advance features.

Ryan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good software but not user friendly

Reviewed on 2020/02/27

Overall, I like using it and will continue to use it. However, I would like a smoother interface.

Pros

Once you learn how to use the software it is very helpful. It is extremely helpful when using CSV files that are too big (too many rows) to use in excel.

Cons

The biggest drawback is that the software has so many functions and buttons, that it is very hard to know how to use all of the buttons. It is kind of overwhelming. It may be helpful if they make the look more simple and consolidate buttons by type (kind f like how has all its functionalities sorted by tabs).

Juan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Just another BI tool

Reviewed on 2019/03/26

Pros

It was not hard to get stared and create some visualizations and analysis which is the main purpose of a BI interface.

Cons

Maybe is because I'm comparing it with another BI tools like Qlik or Tableau and that is why I think is an inferior product and just don't quite like it.

Rachel O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Spotfire: intuitive tool for basic visualization

Reviewed on 2019/12/14

I used Spotfire to visualize the customer revenue for varying plans of pricing my companies product. It was so useful to color code various customer types and understand how their revenue shifted as various pricing rules were applied. This helped my business presentation tremendously, and I appreciated using Spotfire.

Pros

It was so straightforward to learn and apply to basic applications. To learn, I recreated a file that a colleague had already made in order to teach myself the basics. This took about an hour. Then, I was able to play around and make beautiful visualizations!

Cons

There were a few features that were hard for me to figure out -- such as, applying a formula to change what an axis is measuring. This was never intuitive for me, so I would just mess around with the axes until it looked like I wanted it to. Occasionally, this would become frustrating.

Vanessa S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Spotfire - ideal for life science research visualizations/data sharing

Reviewed on 2015/01/29

Pros

I like the variety of visualizations, such as pie charts, line graphs, heat maps, cross bars. This helps because some visualizations make more sense to me than others at displaying my data.

Cons

The trainings are free and online and review basics. To understand some of the cooler features, you have to dig a bit with your IT team, online, or colleagues.

Amit G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Spotfire Revview

Reviewed on 2015/12/18

Pros

I like this tool's in Memory visualization functionality.

Cons

Metadata management. it should have been more robust. Also building report logic is bit confusing

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Spotfire is great tool for visualization and Dashboarding

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

1. Easy to use interface for building dashboards
2.Tight Integration and connector for popular databases

Cons

1.Tighter cloud integration
2.Need more Training material
3.New features and functionalities compare to Qlik or Tableau

Connor S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful and Nimble

Reviewed on 2018/10/01

Spotfire is a solid viz tool for basic, to advanced analysis needs.

Pros

Spotfire is a powerful data visualization tool and surpassed my original expectations. They have plenty of self service capabilities as well.

Cons

If not using the templates, it can be tough to achieve the visualization you desire. Although, for simple and quick analysis, this fits my needs

Divyajyoti R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/11/11