416 reviews

Church Community Builder

Web-based church management software

4,3 /5 (416 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,3 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
416 reviews
Amanda G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Way To Build Community

Reviewed on 2019/08/20

Pros

What I love about CCB is the ease of locating contacts in the database and being able to see my volunteer duties easily.

Cons

The software does frequent updates and makes changes often. While this is helpful in working out glitches, it’s difficult to learn navigating through the website or teaching others to do the same.

Autumn W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CCB Saved Our Church!

Reviewed on 2019/11/19

Love, love, love! seriously, though....Church Community Builder definitely has saved our church. We started as a church plant on a college campus where we were mobile on Sundays and very heavy small group based. CCB allowed us ease of communicating with people and keeping up with visitors and regular attenders alike. We use literally every feature CCB offers that we can afford and it has served us immensely well. Another major bonus is their customer support. They are always improving the software and are very open and willing to listen to ideas of "hey, could the program do this??". Any time we send any suggestion in, we get personal responses and results very quickly. we are VERY pleased with CCB.

Pros

I cannot stress how much we LOVE Church Community Builder!!! It has brought the communication of our church together like nothing else ever could. Mostly, we love the ability for our church members to connect with one another through the groups in CCB and how this allows our leaders to effectively communicate throughout the week.

Cons

The only con I can think of right now is that we're not super excited about the new schedules feature. Taking schedules out of groups is very effective for some areas, but there are teams that we have that need schedules locked within their group and the new way of doing it makes this process more difficult.

Zavier O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Church Directory, Follow up Workflow, and more

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Church Community Builder was heavily used at my last church and it served three primary purposes for us and it did those things well.

1. Family Directory - Immediate and detailed information on families within the church as well as a confidential notes box to keep updates on contacts and outreaches and involvement within the church to promote spiritual health and church involvement. Mobile access to this directory also made on-the-go contacts nice and easy.

2. Follow-up Workflow Organizer - As a team, we came up with a follow-up system. For example: Week 1 - Phone Call, Week 2 - Postcard, Week 3 - Visit, Week 4 - Enroll in all newsletters applicable. One administrator was then put in charge of building this workflow, who is assigned to each section, and what they've got to do. Once the workflow was made active, as new families are added into the system, they immediately get dropped into the follow-up queue for week 1, the leader in charge of phone calls gets their info as an alert, and is able to mark "COMPLETE" after the phone call is made and info is updated. The workflow continues its cycle through each assigned party until the new family has gone through the full follow-up spectrum.

3. Event Coordination - When an event is decided upon, all details can be built into the CCB Calendar. The administrator​ can title the event, mark its date, time, space requirements, necessary supplies, workers needed, and more. Leaders then took care of their sections and that's it.

Pros

The ability to build a follow-up​ workflow to go to specific people in the process has been monumental for helping us stay in touch with new visitors.
Fully customizable reports and attendance sheets
Confidential notes and information on families for admin eyes only
Notifications and alerts queue for each member in a specific workflow to contact and report on
Ability to create services, programs, special events, and more as well as break down all needs from material to personnel and have lists sent to coordinators, volunteers, or the entire church for the purposes of donation (expanded on below)
Administrators are not the only ones with full access to directory. Any family can access, but won't necessarily have the permissions of an admin

Cons

Not the best option for small churches
Can be a learning curve with it, but plenty of resources available to get the most out of it
A lot of maintenance necessary to keep all information up to date and accurate

Leslie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic church management software, especially for a multisite context

Reviewed on 2018/03/08

Better management of our church database and processes, with a constantly developing partnership where this company responds to the real needs of its customers.

Pros

Where to begin - user interface is so intuitive, seemingly endless ability to customize features, and - more than anything - amazing responsiveness of both customer support and product development to concerns and feature requests. I have truly been amazed by how often CCB churns out new features. It seems within a month or two of us thinking (and occasionally, but not always, mentioning to them), "Gee, I wish I could do THIS in CCB", they will release an update that adds the exact feature we had hoped for. It's very obvious that they are eager to receive feedback from customers, appreciative of the feedback, and then they get to work making their software even more robust to serve the needs of churches of all sizes and structures. We used another big-name church database software before, and CCB has been vastly superior - especially in managing the unique needs of a multisite church. Also, the mobile app that they recently launched is so user-friendly, and they are constantly adding new features and functionality. Kudos to CCB! They truly feel like they are ministering to the church so we can minister better to our congregations and communities, not just trying to make money off churches.

Cons

There was a bit of a learning curve when on initial setup. It felt a little too wide open to me, until we figured out how best to set things up for our church and got our feet wet a bit. Once I learned more about the way CCB *thinks*, it became very intuitive to expand my use and skills in the program.

Karen C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Overall, we have had a great experience with CCB. We continue to expand how we use it in...

Reviewed on 2017/09/20

This software is geared toward church or ministry use. It has been great for searching our database to find individuals who are serving or not, who are connected in a community group or not, or who have not attended recently for follow-up, etc. You can customize many fields to help the software suit your specific reporting needs. Individuals can log in and update their profile, find a group, find a place to serve, give a contribution or register for an upcoming event.

Pros

CCB is web-based therefore it is easily accessed from office, home or anywhere.
There is a small group app that is great for group leaders to make contacts, take attendance, etc.
You can schedule weekly or monthly reports that are sent to your or someone else's email.
The Metrics tool is fantastic.
Default privacy settings can be set pretty tight, but individuals can chose what they want others to see or not see on their profiles.
Sending mail merges or messages is very easy to do.
If someone is logged in, their contact information will auto-fill on forms they are filling out.
There are great help videos & articles by subject that explain how to use the system.
The software has improved over the last 4 years and continues to improve with releases of periodic updates, enhancements and fixes.

Cons

CCB is very complex and can overwhelm some people, especially when setting up queries to find the right people for a saved search.
Forms have to match to records (understandable) but it can take a lot of time for something like VBS which may have hundreds of forms to match to records.
Addresses do not CASS certify so there can be misspellings or incomplete addresses in your data.
It can be hard to get your church on board to use the system, even leadership. Change can always be difficult.
You can't sign up an entire family on a single form. Forms need to be filled out for each individual so it matches to their personal record.

Crisan C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We have used CCB for almost 10 years and have been very happy with our experience.

Reviewed on 2018/04/02

Pros

We appreciate how responsive the team has been to our feedback. We get excellent response time on all tickets submitted, friendly, competent service and have also felt heard anytime we have asked for other features. One of their reps actually proactively reached out to us recently to meet with us and understand our needs better, which they were doing with a number of their customers.

This is, of course, in addition to the reliable functionality of the features we use daily in our organization. We use many of the modules and continue to develop more usage within our staff and congregation as I am able to help more of our users become more comfortable with the features. We rely on this tool daily and it allows us to connect to more people in our congregation and community than any other tool we have used or reviewed.

Cons

There are at times things we wish were more intuitive, such as the user interface for adding events with rooms and resources. We understand the challenge with providing so much complexity and functionality so we are not unhappy with the product. It just means we let only our power users use those areas and do our best to keep them well-trained. We love that we have a voice in shaping the future of the interface and feel CCB is always interested in staying relevant in the market for these types of tools.

Dany H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

It does just about everything

Reviewed on 2020/09/29

Great company and support. I can't say enough good things about all the work they put into making sure CCB is a comprehensive CMS.

Pros

There are no other products out there that compare with the features CCB provides. They have thought of every possible thing a church needs in order to properly manage membership/events/finances/contacts/communication... etc. We used it for years at our church.

Cons

Okay, here's the problem. With so many features, there's a pretty large learning curve. You need a lot of time and training of volunteers in order to roll out CCB. Then it takes commitment from your staff and volunteers to make sure they are using it appropriately.

Bonnie B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We love CCB!

Reviewed on 2016/04/25

We are a church that has a K-12 school, creative arts studio, cafe, and our structure is small groups. We are preparing to open another campus. CCB is the tool that keeps us in sync, allows the focus to be on people and relationships, but keeps the data and processes we need to ensure things don't get missed.
Staff use CCB for givings, calendars, communications, scheduling, attendance, resource/room booking, forms for registrations, processes, database and reporting, etc.
Volunteer leaders also use it for group communication, attendance, consolidation process, etc.
And many in the congregation use it for community communications, subscription to personal calendars, registrations for events, etc.
We have been using it since 2009.
We love the many options and flexibility that allows us to "do church" how we feel called to. Because it seems like an extension of what we do and they see value of what it will do for them, most use it.
CCB staff are really very supportive. When I have a question or think there may be a glitch/bug (often it is me!) submitting a help request is always a positive experience. You quickly get back great suggestions or assurance it is being passed on to a higher level. I also learn almost daily something from the great community of other churches using this tool from the forum where they share best practices, tips/tricks.
CCB is responsive to feature suggestions/requests. There is continual improvements and new releases are an exciting time for us.
So, with all this love, why only 4 stars?
First, we are a Canadian church so have not found a perfect solution yet to fully integrate our online giving and form payments. We also have to do a little extra work to produce CRA approved charitable giving receipts. The financial aspect is complex and I know there is continued work by CCB to find partners that may make this more possible.
The second is that a small portion of our volunteer schedules (worship team and media team) have now moved to a different tool that allowed them to more easily view who was scheduled on their mobile devices and combined with making our service plans more accessible. I was sad when that transition took place but I also understand not one tool can be the best at every area ... but CCB has taken the prize for us in everything else -- and I am confident will continue to build and improve even further what is an amazing tool.

Robert S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CCB Rocks!

Reviewed on 2018/11/13

As a growing church, CCB is now an invaluable part moving us forward. CCB allows our church an easy way to view and contact people who attend our church, track donations, provide a safe and secure way to check in children at events (including services), manage our room use, schedule volunteers, allow groups to communicate and share files, and solves the online sign-up and payment issues. So glad we chose CCB!

Pros

There are so many things to like that it's hard to narrow down! Here's just a few:
- Ease of Child Check-in
- API's
- Online Registration/Forms (with payment)
- Online Giving (integration with processors like PushPay!)
- Group Management
- Scheduling
- Room/Event Management
- Continuous Improving/Evolving

Cons

Hard to find a major fault, but would love to see a more robust Room/Event Management System and "If, Then" ability on forms.

David H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

It's better than what we were using, but still needs some improvement.

Reviewed on 2019/06/27

Our church has used CCB for several years. We haven't had any problems with the service, but the workflows for most tasks should be much simpler.

Pros

CCB is easy to use for basic tracking, checkin, and people management. The interface is clean and the software service always works. They're continuing to update the software with better user interfaces.

Cons

Some advanced reporting and group management can be complicated. It's much more difficult to create logic based groups than other software (ex. Making a group for parents of teenagers is not something that can be dynamic. It requires several steps that must be run each time you want to add new parent to the group.) Support is helpful, but they always seem to respond after-hours or the next day.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Have found CCB to be helpful, organized and valuable to our ministries!

Reviewed on 2018/03/28

Pros

I love that they are actively striving to make the software better. In the 5 years we've been using CCB, multiple areas and features have been added/improved. It is exciting to see the changes that are made -- all to help users manage ministry with greater ease, more power, and increased capabilities.

And a tie with that would be support!! I love all the articles and videos that help you do what needs to be done! Those things make the software more understandable and easy to access.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like. There are some areas/features that we've been slow in adopting/using -- but that is more about what fits us rather than software failures or weaknesses.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Managing church membership and activities in one place

Reviewed on 2018/03/21

It is great for managing the involvement of members, the groups their involved in, and reviewing giving, and incoming traffic to the church.

Pros

I love how it is one stop shopping for managing the guests, members, and friends who are apart of our communities within the church.

Cons

That we cannot remotely check in the children and print arm bracelets in order to keep this process moving along faster than manual check in. We are trying to move into a macro, automated driven world and there are still manual steps in CCB that we have to take.

Response from Church Community Builder

Thanks so much for the review! Our goal has been to be everything churches need to know, grow, and keep your people. Thanks as well for the feedback on your check-in process. We've gotten mixed reviews from our churches as to whether or not remote check-in would help or hinder the security of their children's departments, but we're constantly evaluating that feature against other improvements. Thanks so much for letting us partner with you guys!

Jaclyn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for churches!

Reviewed on 2019/07/23

Pros

I liked that each church member had their own record and could access it and update it on their own. I liked the group functionality.

Cons

I wish more of our church members used it so it would be more effective in our church.

Jenn M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good but has some clunky areas

Reviewed on 2020/02/15

People can print directory, picture can be added for each member, groups are easy to setup and organize.

Pros

Every church attendee, etc. can print a church directory. Access can be limited or customized for individuals. Groups for different areas of ministry.

Cons

Finding some administrative features is difficult. Unless otherwise authorized, not all administrators can submit a support ticket. Administrators cannot automatically view all groups, they have to be a member of a group in order to see it and to know it exists. Doesn’t “talk to” outside programs like google docs/sheets/forms/calendars, etc.

Micah L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Overall, we're really glad we went with CCB

Reviewed on 2017/10/25

Pros

We love that all our data is integrated from our church directory to our forms to our small groups. This has helped us as an organization keep accurate data.

Cons

They have been slow to make their software mobile-friendly. Instead of seeing that trend coming, they were behind the curve. They are moving that way now, so that is exciting.
We also wish we could merge the capabilities of Planning Center Online into CCB. This is one of the big data silos that remains independent of CCB. We would like to move all our volunteer scheduling into CCB, but beucase of the lack of this capability, we are unable to.

Rebecca T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CCB grows with you!

Reviewed on 2018/11/29

Pros

I liked that the software had a similar look and feel to what we did and that the company is constantly updating to keep current.
The diversity of what it covered and the fact that it would be used across the PC/MAC platforms instantly bumped it up our list of option.

Cons

While people who use it everyday find it easy to navigate it has been difficult for those that don't get that regular use.

With the ease of interaction with a system like Planning Centre it's been a bit of an uphill climb to show how this software can work.

Lisa S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CCB

Reviewed on 2018/11/27

We have been able to consolidate a lot into the data base that we were doing in other software or by hand. Has made collection of data easier and more comprehensive. It was the right decision to go with Church Community Builder.

Pros

Always updating and looking to improve the usability of the software. Have made very positive changes in the last few years. They listen to what their customers want (can't always deliver it, but you know that they have paid attention).

Cons

I don't believe that the Financial reporting is as strong as it could be.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good program, just needs some extra stuff

Reviewed on 2018/05/07

Pros

Easy layout to get used to, great menu bar, easy to find people/addresses. Taking attendance is easy...sending an email, setting up check in events etc..They do make a lot of things easy to do.

Cons

The reporting is seriously lacking. Can't do half of the specifics I want that I was able to get in my old system. If I am able to do it, I need to upload to Excel and manipulate the data in order to see my results. Needs updated attendance and financial report abilities.

The calendar system is also a process. Wish it had an easier layout, or seperate colors for different things. Just doesn't seem as updated as it could be for what we need it to do.

Che C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I love CCB. I can't imagine managing our church without it.

Reviewed on 2017/11/06

Pros

The ability to make notes in people's profiles. The ability to create reports. I love the check-in process. I also like the Process Queues. I also like the integration with PushPay. I like the metrics feature. Communication to the groups is pretty good and so is the events calendar stuff. I like this software overall.

Cons

The scheduling of volunteers and the mobile experience for our regular members.
I also don't like that we have to pay extra for phone conversations with customer support

Annette C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Love/Hate Relationship

Reviewed on 2020/03/23

We use CCB everyday so it helps us out a lot. I wish that the features were easier for our less trained lay leaders and attenders to understand.

Pros

I love that this software gives us a comprehensive database of our entire congregation, and that we get that at a reasonable price.

Cons

CCB can be tough for our congregation to navigate and integration for signup forms is lacking. There's very little mobile-friendliness or ease of use for our congregation.

Angie C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Let’s build a community

Reviewed on 2019/04/13

Pros

Church Community Builder has endless capabilities such as reserving space in your building, event planning, staff scheduling, giving reports, attendance tracking. And I could go on and on. You name it, CCB does it! It’s a lifesaver.

Cons

There are so many features that your older staff can get a little overwhelmed. But with lots of support and training, they will learn it and love it.

Randel F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Church Community Builder 10-yr user

Reviewed on 2020/09/22

We would not be able to accomplish as many ministry tasks if we did not have this tool.

Pros

The groups feature allows many ministry leaders to effectively communicate to volunteers in an efficient way.

Cons

The software recently changed the way it handles volunteers. We are still get used to the new format. It is too early for me to officially classify it as a con.

Elizabeth L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

CCB Database Pros and Cons

Reviewed on 2019/12/13

The overall experience was mostly positive but could use some updates in user accessibility.

Pros

The database gives me unlimited capacity to message out as many users as I'd like! Other sites had limitations, and it really infringed on my duties.

Cons

The CCB site seems like a dark hole -- it has many useless features, and it was so hard to delete or archive anything because of the strict permissions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I've used CCB for 3 years

Reviewed on 2018/02/16

Pros

CCB is a data nerd's dream when it comes to customer/congregant data. Your data, of course, has to be good, but the search and reporting functions of this software are amazing.

Cons

Therese no killer end-user app. CCB is so complex that it doesn't translate the best to an end-user. There has to be some level of training usually. There's also no really good smartphone app.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great platform, but not as user friendly as I'd like

Reviewed on 2018/03/07

Pros

The features that CCB offers is fantastic! They have a robust offering that meets our needs for follow-up, gift management, directory, and metrics.

Cons

While I am rather tech savvy and find it to be fairly intuitive, our attendees and users have less than favorable feedback in this regard. For the tech savvy, it is great. If you are challenged by tech, you will likely have difficulty using CCB.