SAP HANA Cloud Platform Reviews

SAP HANA Cloud Platform

Cloud-based application development and runtime environment

4.7/5 (45 reviews)

SAP's platform for the future

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 4/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Must-use for all SAP customers, given that it is critical to SAP's success as an enterprise software company.

Pros

Started using HANA 5 years ago with v1 SPS5 back when it was just released for SAP BW. Back then it was "only" an in-memory DB. With each new SPS release, HANA became better with more DB features integrated. Fast forward to today, it is a full-fledged database platform with enterprise features that rival (and in some cases) even bests Oracle, MSSQL, DB2, et al. For customers who intend to use SAP for the foreseeable future, you would no doubt have HANA already as part of your existing if not future SAP roadmap, given that support for the traditional DBs is until 2025.
SAP HANA, which is re-written from the ground up to fully take advantage of today's modern hardware, supports multi-threaded CPU architecture, use of terabytes of memory to run its in-memory database capabilities, columnar & row based database with full-fledged compression, full support of PL-SQL and many other application components.
From a hardware perspective it is a 2-horse race with the commodity Intel x86 platforms becoming more powerful with each CPU iteration and better CPU core-to-memory ratio support, and IBM with their Power-based CPU architecture. As hardware prices continue to fall and become more powerful, it is only a matter of time before HANA hardware becomes truly commoditised.

Cons

Today SAP HANA is not only a competent database platform, but also is a very robust applications platform. As HANA continues to grow its feature set naturally there are more bugs as a result of a multitude of features. Development of SAP HANA is also diversified across multiple locations around the globe (Walldorf, India, etc.). SAP must do a better job in responding quicker to customers with issues.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

SAP Hana is a memory data platform that accelerate the business processes,deliver process inteligene

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best multi combination platform that are driven with data platform and as report generation tool. Best part of this software is it removes the burden of maintaining any additional system to hold our data it acts as 2 in 1 which holds and generates output results.so that we can run live and make better business decisions in the new digital economy.The features are like reduce its complexity, we can run this any where and can give accurate and real results some more additions operations it include are Transform data management,Process data in memory,Leverage advanced analytics, and can develop advances applications. Best storage as well as analytics based software that stores in Idoc data presentations

Cons

The SAP Hana was very least thing to say because it is very best in tool for holding large massive data and its generation of the reports but we requires additional changes in the page layout and design of the SAP lOGON need to be changed and immediate password change assitance need to be required. if they implement this software will be very more useful

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

SAP HANA provides an in memory database for fast data access and processing

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

I what find is that since SAP is firmly sticking with in memory computing and making all of their processes compatible with in-memory computing. This eventually forces customers to migrate to HANA but the user experience in HANA is much better compared to the alternate in my opinion. This is recommended for any SAP customer with large volumes of data that needs processing, reporting and analysis. I would recommend with training

Pros

I like hat HANA is in-memory computing technology that provides an in memory database for fast data access and processing to users. Properties like faster data fetching, quick execution times, speedy access to external Apps make it a very useful technology. The business problems being solved with the product are as the data volume grows, the conventional database based reports and processes tend to slow down. This at times negatively affects the year on year trend analysis and processes requiring multiple data fetch. HANA, being in memory database virtually eliminates these issues. The data fetch is almost instantaneous and the processes run much faster.

Cons

I see nothing negative about the technology in itself. The roll out of this platform could have been done in a better way. The cloud integration of SAP has been slow as well. These I thing that can be looked into

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

ANALYTICS AND ERPS - WHAT BUSINESSES NEEDED

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It is very reliable, fast and efficient. It has enabled many companies to streamline processes and access a myriad of information related to their companies in real time

Pros

1. The data processing speeds are greatly improved on the HANA platform. This is due to the in-memory technology incorporated into the system.
2. Very easy to set up and integration with SAP is almost flawless. This is especially true with cloud.
3. The user interface is not only eye catching, it also incorporates analytics which enable the users to create interactive dashboards, graphs and widgets.
4. Since it is a database in itself, which supports data to be stored in columns (as opposed to the previously used MS SQL, which stores in rows), it allows for faster data processing, analytics and more efficient storage of data.
5. It allows a company to monitor key KPIs.
6. In terms of security, it is very efficient. It relies on encryption, patching and best practices when it comes to security. It is also linux-based which provides a very secure platform

Cons

1. The hardware and software specifications required to run HANA may be unavailable to some businesses hence if a company wants to use it, the would have to acquire them.
2. The dashboards and some of the analytical features are unavailable on mobile.
3. While customizing and writing stored procedures, one must be very careful as the application is linux-based hence it is case sensitive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

A step into the future.

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/24/2018
Review Source: Capterra

With SAP HANA, my skills in view calculations have increased, I have another point of view about how to create one type of report or another. It is also very productive and very fast response. In addition with other tools like SAP Lumira, Qlik View / Sense and Tableau you can get a nice result, it leverages BI to another level and makes your experience even better.

Pros

SAP HANA, or Netweaver over HANA DB (HDB) is a step into the future. Before this concept of in-memory computing and memory storage (without reading the disk all the time), some reports took very long to load. Now you can get access to a larger piece of data in seconds. HANA also brings BW to another level of real time reporting, even detailed information can be shown in no time, its very fast. The way we build views by using the HANA Modeler is very simple but yet powerful, you can do a lot with little knowledge and much more with some expertise.

Cons

The tools used to work with HANA are both the HANA Studio or Eclipse with SAP HANA plugins. In my opinion, it could be better than it is; with more components, less bugs (you have to restart the environment every once in a while) and a better explanation about how the aggregation you see has been formed (Simpler than PlanViz).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Best In memory database so far

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

In data modeller perspective, SAP HANA studio is a great tool to work on. It offers good data compression rate and faster data processing when compared to existing conventional databases.

Pros

1. GUI is very user-friendly.
2. Easy to integrate with other SAP tools.
3. Real-time analytics is possible through HANA.
4. Can store data from both heterogeneous and homogenous databases.
4. Columnar storage provides high data compression.

Cons

1. Cost of the RAM.
2. Doesn't support all the conventional SQL functions.
3. occasional bugs but they will be resolved by SAP.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Its a tremendous user performance optimization

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/16/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Its almost 3 to 3.5 years experience of this software it was tremendous experience of this software it will get good user performance and business productivity and also its customer satisfied the overall performance

Pros

Its a column based and row based which is faster user data access , auto compressing the data and also parallel processing

Cons

Its time taking if we are not giving the software required hardware like memory, CPU, Disk space etc.. and also the will suggest the certified hardware partner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

SAP and their products they are just the Top of ERP's

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

You Guys just wont regret it only ur development environment its set and running

Pros

I have been working with SAP hana for about 6 months, I have tried and used the tool and it seems to me that it is an extremely complex and complete tool. The trasactions of hundreds and even thousands of concurrent users and the speed and versatility with which HANA develops seems to me amazing.

Although not being open source, its variety of customization in terms of interface and modules to be implemented is very good.

The Cloud is the future of storage and databases without doubts and Hana provides an excellent service with local storage provides a greater sense of security of our data.

Cons

Despite the tools and software that SAP provides for the migration of other environments to HANA, I had some problems presented at the time of migration of my platform. Once this has been solved, everything went perfectly.

As the system is very complex, companies without certified personnel specifically in HANA can take years to use the software to the maximum due to the learning curve

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Powerful in-memory database for Transactional and Analytical Processing

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

SAP HANA is powerful. With this rapidly changing business environment, you need a database that can offer powerful analytic capability to help you make speedy and informed decisions for your business and stay ahead of the competition.

Pros

I have interacted with with SAP HANA for one year now. Sap HANA is a powerful in-memory database by SAP that allows both transactions and analytics to run on it. Sap HANA allows for fast processing of large volumes of data.

My favourite feature about SAP HANA is its ability to provide Persuasive Analytics through customized dashboards e.g. top 5 customers by sales amount, total sales amount, stock turnover e.tc.

Another cool thing about SAP HANA is the level of security offered by the database. SAP HANA offers robust security features that include access management controls.

Cons

SAP HANA is generally costly and more complex as compared to other database solutions for SAP in the market. I think the benefits offered by the database are totally worth every coin you spend on the database.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

SAP Manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/8/2016
Review Source: Capterra

SAP HANA certified and using this product from last 2 years. It's awesome experience to use such fast and rapid product of SAP. Reporting is one of the sweet performance, millions of records can be extracted in short term. like ageing report & Financial logs management is great at its best.
I'm excited to use this product more than enough.
Rapid, robust and user friednly.

Pros

Robust, fast, efficient & kool

Cons

cost wise and security with cloud.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

I've been working for over two years with SAP Hana, implementing it at customers.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 6/25/2018
Review Source: Capterra

A lot of experience. i've liked it, i think is the future of sap software, a good speed on database side can improve a lot any system, i even did the certificaction for sap hana 12, a good knowledge of it can make be grow profesionally.

Pros

This software in my experience is very good, when you have big data packages, for customers in large database about 3+ TB, and with high transactionality, its perfect, because the selects and searchs in database becomes very fast, its been known that most time lost is in database side consulting and searching, using indexes and it. But this HANA database it's been a new great solution for it.

Cons

Sadly, implementing sap hana can become very expensive for the customer, starting on a appliance or cloud system with high requeriments, like 500GB ram and few terabytes of disk, that would be the main issue, so not many customer can implement it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Excellent product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/15/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Integration with state of art technology. Continuous innovation and business functionality gives edge over other products

Cons

Sometime multiple options of a requirement confuses. Business function wise selection option should be provided.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Easilt scalable data repository

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 5/24/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

SAP HANA allows an organization to easily manage an expanding data repository, while seamlessly building and integrating other 3rd party applications utilizing the same database. The real time replication service is very useful and the report generation engine is very fast even for huge reports

Cons

SAp HANA license cost is quite high and as with any other technology/software, may be difficult to justify to management especially for smaller organizations. Getting skilled resources can also be a challenge

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

First time using ASAP and the interface is really friendly and highly functional

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 7/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We have only been using it for six months but we can already see that a structured approach tThat ASAP brings hopes to standardise things in the organisation and ensure that procedure is followed every time

Pros

Intuitive tiles, fantastic search functions for tiles and data, client performs very quickly, brings ASAP interfaces up to the latest trends

Cons

Some of the error messages on the client is not at all helpful , Requires SAP support to diagnose. Some of the forms have a large number of fields which require significant training to understand.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

I have been a user and I have Marketed this product to other business

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 12/17/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Fast actionable data

Pros

In memory database- There is no latency. You don't have to wait for this system to talk top that system, This done at the speed of now. It processes Big Data at the same speed. No more desperate systems.

Cons

This solution Is very expensive but worth every penny if your have big data.This is for enterprise level companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10

SAP HANA new dimensions

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/6/2016
Review Source: Capterra

SAP HANA is one of the exciting and fast reliable product to get the things done, like extract diversified data in seconds. SAP HANA uses In-memory data where response rate in fractions.
Analytics is the best part to get multi tasking with records such as calculation & reporting with Lumira or crystal reporting. highly recommended for all usage.

Pros

Fast, Error free, robust, smart and efficient

Cons

cost

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

SAP HANA review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/19/2016
Review Source: Capterra

I can easily maintain, I am able to seen performance improvements and behalf of application performance company gaining benefits in term of customer and $.

Pros

Adaptability, performance

Cons

Cost

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

SAP HANA is reliable ERP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/14/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software covers all business processes along with automation.

Cons

There is nothing that I don’t like for SAP HANA.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Efficient Business run SAP HANA

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/1/2016
Review Source: Capterra

SAP HANA is one of the most smart and fast way to get the things done, like extract diversified data in seconds. SAP HANA uses In-memory data where response rate in fractions.
Analytics is the best part to get multi tasking with records such as calculation & reporting with Lumira or crystal reporting.

Pros

Fast efficient in results

Cons

cost

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Expanded drill down capability into SAP Master Data

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/24/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Improved data labeling clarity and integration between SAP modules

Pros

Have gained access to more organic SAP master data fields with Hana, and data labeling seems to be optimized with added clarity

Cons

While not an issue now, the data labeling issues needs to be monitored so there is not mismatch between organic fields in SAP with other bolt on systems

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Modelling and admin working

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/19/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This tool is great as this has in build database which help us to do work quickly. Work here means fetching jobs into table, referring cv’s to reports..

Cons

Everything is good in Sap hana studio I believe it should provide us pdf of the structure,mapping of CV’s. right now we have columns names, data types in pdf

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Recently got introduced to this and was taken away

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 1/11/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It has greatly benefitted me in my job when stakeholders are requiring important infos on spends, delivery dates etc. I can run reports and get the data what i want and in the format i need.

Pros

My organization recently migrated to this platform for managing big data including supplier orders and all the associated information. Its an excellent tool for running all sorts of reports to get the quality information you need.

Cons

Its not very easy to get trained on this and has too many tabs and sometimes thus you can get lost. It probably requires more in depth training than what i have.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

SAP becomes a sine qua non for corporations

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 12/13/2018
Review Source

Pros

The amount of possibilities of implementations using SAP Hana Cloud Platform is enormous. I consider it as a must-have for enabling the steady growth of a company.

Cons

The SAP prices are high - not only in terms of using the system, but mostly in terms of any developments - Business Process Architects are highly demanded on market which makes it pricey to develop new functions (IT as well), but the highest price is the consultants, especially from SAP. This all sums up to a very high cost for a great software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10

Best of a bad bunch

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 3/14/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Best ERP system out there but still not an ideal product. Great documentation to accompany your purchase of the system. Not very bug-filled given maturity and age of product.

Cons

Clunky application that's not extremely intuitive; support team could be improved in terms of issue resolution time

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

SAP HANA Consulting Project

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 3/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I have implemented this tool across different organizations and trained users in using HANA's warehousing and integration capabilities.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10