Kentico Reviews

Kentico

Kentico is a CMS, eCommerce and online marketing platform

4.3/5 (33 reviews)
Yusuf wajeeh U.

Kentico is a great CMS and is highly adaptable.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/23
Review Source: Capterra

I have built couple of great sites for my USA based client using kentico and the client is quite happy with the performance and maintainability of the site.
Using kentico i have saved great amount of my development time as great feature like user management, single sign on using Facebook ,google and many other great features are just out of the box in kentico so you are not required to code them from scratch.
Also my client is also quite happy since he can edit/change the content on the fly on his own and also he can see the business performance easily from the kentico dashboard which he can use in his business strategies and planning.

Pros

1. Highly configurable and adaptable according to your business need and requirement.
2. You can use things like Macros, custom modules etc to design configurable website.
3. Kentico provides great marketing campaign inbuilt for you website which you can configure from kentico admin panel to sent promotional mails ,offers etc
4. Provides support to wide range of approach like portal engine, MVC etc.
5. You can design great website by just dragging and dropping the webparts.
6. Site editor can easily manage the content displayed on the site and can also change layouts by dragging and dropping the component.
7. Provides feature like ecommerce also.
8. Provides analytics also to your website which you can see from kentico admin panel.

Cons

The only con that i can think of is that the price is on bit higher end.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Trevor F.

Kentico EMS MVC (12 SP+)

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Kentico continues to strive to make their platform more robust, they have continued to listen to developers and made improvements to help make our lives easier. Many tools exist from partners as well to further make building sites easily.

Pros

Kentico EMS's MVC page builder system is very flexible and easy to develop in. Sections, Widgets, even Page Templates all follow the same patterns and allow for simple and quick creation to more complex implementations. Kentico itself has been building a rich set of tools and features that makes creating complex systems, integrations, and management a breeze. There hasn't been anything we haven't been able to build in Kentico.

Cons

Only down side is the software has become so feature-rich and powerful, that it has started to migrate away from the smaller business market and is priced outside of smaller site builds.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Courtney R.

Great WYSIWYG and Tagging; Needs Better Forms and Image Handling

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Launched 2 websites in EMS.

Pros

Great WYSIWYG, and the ability to tag/categorize and filter content.

Cons

Sometimes Kentico can be slow on deploying code fixes, upgrades and sister software (such as Cloud/Kontent). In the backend, one huge frustration is the drop-and-drag only option for moving content items in the tree.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Will B.

Great Enterprise CMS with Excellent Support

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/27
Review Source: Capterra

Kentico is more developer focused but not so much that the continent editor experience suffers. It’s pretty easy to get most of the basic features up and working using the built in widgets and features, but is also easily extendable by developers if more advanced features are needed. The support team is very helpful and the company is committed to fixing any bug in accelerated timelines they enforce on themselves. They also plant trees for each big found and fixed.

Pros

Comes with many of features / widgets out of the box making it pretty quick to get started. Can be customized to add features specific to the customers business. Content can be synchronized between environments. Many built in integrations with third party systems. Great support.

Cons

Can take a little to get use to the dashboard interface initially but pretty easy to understand afterwards.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Mark S.

Kentico CMS - the best content management system available for content administrators

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/19
Review Source: Capterra

This has been the easiest CMS to learn how to use, and definitely the easiest one I've had to train a client to use.

Pros

The way content is structured and organized in Kentico is very intuitive, and allows you to structure your navigation based on how you structure your content. It's also very simple to assign roles to different areas of your site, so that you can restrict which users have access to make updates to specific sections.

Cons

There aren't a lot of cons - maybe Kentico's need to try to get the CMS to do *everything*. For instance, you're far better off using Google Analytics than Kentico's built-in analytics.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jason B.

Feature-rich .NET CMS option

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/11/03
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using Kentico CMS since version 3 (currently in version 9). I've seen the Kentico CMS grow into an incredibly feature-rich platform. Advances made with their EMS (allowing for website and email automation) continue to raise the bar. For my team, each new challenge that is set for them is one that is easily met through Kentico's features or their ability to customise something that plugs in nicely.

For the single website operator, Kentico is not the most cost-friendly offering. But for larger organisations that have a requirement for several websites ... the unlimited sites licenses become very cost effective.

Pros

Feature set continues to improve with every upgrade (and the upgrades are regular).

Cons

Pricing can be very harsh.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Malic V.

Kentico is the last CMS you will ever use!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/11/29
Review Source: Capterra

I have used Kentico for 4 years and I have used a new version each year. Kentico is the most feature-rich CMS I have ever used (I've used all the top-level or most popular CMS). Each year they upgrade to a new version and that comes with many new capabilities and usually a faster more simplified user experience. There support is second to none. I have never had question that lasted more than a few emails (about an hour), and if its a bug, they fix it in 7 days or less. I can't say enough about Kentico!

Pros

All the features, scale-ability and ease of use.

Cons

There is a learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ankit M.

Very Good CMS for E-Commerce Websites.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

Easy to manage my E-Commerce Site Content, Orders and Payment.

Pros

Very Easy to use CMS which provides many features to handle sites content directly from the browser. Many Web Parts available which reduce work of writing number of lines of codes.

Cons

Should Provide Chat Customer Support, normally Kentico`s support team asked to send email for this issue, when we call them.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Irina D.

Powerful user friendly CMS

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Kentico is a great CMS, intuitive for even a non-technical admin/content manager. It can be used for building pretty complex enterprise websites for variety of industries.

Pros

It allows to quickly build complex, modern looking, responsive web pages. It has an intuitive staging to live site workflow. It allows to add custom code (html, css, bootstrap). It also has tools to add metadata to the page for SEO improvement. You can build custom forms and a sophisticated media library. It allows a good integration with extraneous data sources.

Cons

Building forms (especially a layout and validation) could be a bit of a burden.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Hillary L.

Best CMS Out There!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/11/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Kentico is truly the easiest CMS I have ever worked in. It is easy for beginners and advanced webmasters to use. The customization and integration capabilities, as well as the marketing features, make this investment worth every penny. Clients love working on their site with Kentico.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great for Content Managers

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

From a content admin perspective Kentico is easy to use. I can easily create blog posts and manage my company's website.

Cons

Kentico could use some work with their email marketing features, they aren't very user friendly and can be confusing to work in.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Alan S.

A real CMS solution for your next project!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Kentico is a great CMS provided in .Net technology. It helps creating websites on the fly. Provides lot of add-ons which adds more functionality to the websites.

Cons

It helps creating good looking and manageable websites. Updating sites with Kentico CMS back-end is easy. It helps non technical users to update content.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jill R.

Novice appreciates ease of use

Reviewed on 2017/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

My organization switched to Kentico during its last website update. The change in managing the content and graphics is remarkably better than our previous, outdated platform. As my HTML knowledge is limited to what I've learned on the job, Kentico's set-up and navigation make it very easy for me to update content, rearrange sections and pages as needed, update form fields, add and edit visual graphics and more. I'd recommend Kentico, particularly for buyers who have to work with marketing/communication colleagues with varying levels of CMS knowledge. My only wish is that we would have tapped into Kentico's built-in analytics instead of maintaining our Google analytics.

Pros

The system allows for multiple logins at one time and is accessible remotely. Appreciate the clear hierarchy of content, the overall design, and ease of navigation. The History to compare and identify prior content changes is a great feature. Also, appreciate the log of system errors in identifying and tracking problem points within the site.

Cons

The "Help" articles are technical, as they should be, but often challenging to understand for novice users with little CMS/HTML knowledge.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ryan K.

Kentico does the job

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/03/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Kentico is a great mid level cms. It is more cost effective and makes more sense for small and midsize businesses who want a quality cms .

Pros

It is more affordable than say a site core and the support is better. Tool has shown progressive improvements over last 5 years and growing community of people who support the product vs. curse it

Cons

Marketing features like email submission need to be enhanced and there are a few more areas in the enterprise level like multi site management that need to be improved upon. They work, just not the greatest.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Exceptions

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/04
Review Source: Capterra

Loved it

Pros

So many features it’s very versatile and powerful

Cons

Takes a while to implement features which is a bit of a pain

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Petr P.

Right-first-choice CMS for any vertical of any size

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/10/03
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

A CMS that you can completely rely on for now and in the future.

Pros

Kentico CMS has wide feature set, it's extremely reliable and allows custom development easily. Support is highly responsive and anyone working as a support rep has a deep knowledge of the system.

Cons

The highest edition, Kentico EMS represents a full digital marketing solution yet it's pricing makes it less affordable for small businesses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Nicole P.

Best tool to manage eCommerce sites

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/28
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Kentico is the best tool to manage eCommerce based websites. It provides a number of features to be configured for the eCommerce functionality. Helps developers to write less code and perform various operations from the inbuilt libraries. Performance of the applications are good with Kentico.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Austin T.

CMS which works with any server

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/02
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Kentico is a nice CMS and works on any hosting server for us. We can easily design websites using Kentico and create required pages.

Cons

It let us update the content of the pages by logging to the admin interface of the website. It helps keeping the website secure and updated.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ashleigh C.

Kentico CMS is no doubt a wonderful way of managing ecommerce sites.

Used Other for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/08/02
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It provides customers with all powerful, effective and comprehensive tools plus customer centric solutions in order to create stunning websites. It is one of the fantastic CMS that is frequently used for E-Commerce websites. It consists of very excellent features to handle site contents in a better way.

Cons

When I talk about cons I hardly find even a single. It is quite expensive software so that people can not easily buy this software. Sometimes while designing simple templates, it takes several steps so in this way it wastes time of the users. I would like to suggest one thing that is chat customer support should be available in this software.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Hmm- don't highly customize your website

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The website is very nice looking. We've been able to put some pretty complicated customization in place. We have over 400 content pages on our website.

Cons

The team that implemented this website went for a highly customized version. It makes any change to the website very difficult- even for seasoned kentico professionals. And, the back-end data is a mess. I have to view three different reports to get information on my users, their subscriptions and activity. It's been a challenge.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Stan G.

Our .Net team enjoy Kentico

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/03/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Kentico has been a great solution to be used by our .Net team. It helps developing websites within 1 week. Helps with managing content easily.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Christine K.

Kentico CMS

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

Kentico is very dated and hard to use. Having to check out and check in pages over and over again is very time consuming. It's a slow process where you have to wait for the pages to load once you've checked it out in order to be able to make edits. Browser support is very limited as well, doesn't work very good with Google Chrome

Pros

Salesforce integration

Cons

Very very limited in things you can do.
It takes several steps just to design a single template
UI is not very friendly

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

3.0/10
Shana H.

Great CMS system with easy-to-navigate admin interface

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

much faster and easier than our old CRM

Pros

Easy to use/navigate/learn
simple interface
room for us to grow and use even more functionality into the future without additional cost

Cons

There's always a learning curve with any new system, and the initial work required a developer to get the site up and running to our specifications.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Justine B.

Excited to see even more

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's fairly easy to use and seems to have a lot of capabilities. Excited to see what marketing automation offerings are available.

Cons

Pretty slow to get onboarded and to implement new changes. I want to be able to use it quickly and efficiently but every upgrade and/or customization seems to take a lot of time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Peter D.

Six years using Kentico CMS and it keeps getting better

Reviewed on 2016/11/16
Review Source: Capterra

I started using Kentico 3.1a and the product has improved with every new version. The Kentico team have listened to the consumer and added or modified the product so that is relatively easy to use whether you are a developer or content editor. Product support is fantastic, either fixing issues very quickly or providing a work around. The widget based layout option is great and opens up so many page layout options for Editors without needing to do any coding. The cost of the product can be a bit daunting for small business but the product does deliver in functionality. Would I recommend Kentico, short answer, yes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support