Canto DAM Solution Reviews

Canto DAM Solution

A smarter way to manage your brand assets

4.5/5 (311 reviews)
Laura K.

Robust features and multiple ways of access

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

What do you like best?
The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.
What do you dislike?
Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.
What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you realized?
The visibility on where are assets have gone and where they are going is greatly increased, in addition to increasing the visibility of knowing what assets we have while enabling a strong search functionality has decreased duplication of assets and increased productivity and efficiency.

Pros

The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.

Cons

Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Laura K.

Robust features and multiple ways of access

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

What do you like best?
The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.
What do you dislike?
Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.
What business problems are you solving? What benefits have you realized?
The visibility on where are assets have gone and where they are going is greatly increased, in addition to increasing the visibility of knowing what assets we have while enabling a strong search functionality has decreased duplication of assets and increased productivity and efficiency.

Pros

The flexibility of deployment and implementation was paramount for our organization, as we ended up hosting the solution on premise due to our large file sizes. We love how the metadata is written back to the asset. Additionally, the various ways to access the assets through the web, through apps or through a desktop client made the user adoption go very smoothly.

Cons

Customizing the software during the installation and implementation phase was more time consuming than we had anticipated and with the new releases of software and portals we have encountered some delays and hiccups (we are working through them). Out of the "box" reporting is significantly lacking compared to the other options, but you can buy a 3rd party addin for that.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Julie T.

Software that does what it's supposed to … and little else

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/06
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Canto is simply too cumbersome and glitchy for something that should be as "simple" as storing and quickly accessing photo libraries. I'd recommend more of a rows/columns type of user interface for albums, instead of the left side dropdown menu types of navigation. Compared to Canto, I'd prefer Google Drive or Google Photos for asset management.

Pros

Canto allows our team to store, share, and access digital assets and photography efficiently enough. Ability to create albums, tag photos, large storage capacity – all of these are appreciated and well-received.

Cons

The Canto interface seems a bit clunky and glitchy much of the time. The left sidebar to navigate through albums isn't very intuitive or responsive. Often, when clicking on an album name to open its drop-down menu, there will be no response. So the use has to continue clicking and clicking on it. Scrolling down through each album's photos, the loading of preview images usually lags. And the longer you scroll through the pics, the more it lags. To bypass this, often you need to refresh your browser … which takes you all the way back to the top of the album … and you have to begin scrooooollling dooown through all the photos again. (I've tested several browsers – same issue with each one)

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Sandra K.

Perfect digital asset management software for our company with many divisions and different needs

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

We´ve been using Canto from canto since ... 4 years in our company. The time before the organization of our marketing material was not ideal. It was a problem to exchange data from division to division (national and international) - we used memory sticks or hard disks. For me, as a windows user, it was impossible to exchange data with a mac user - because we did not use the same network. Data was outworn and there was no version control or right system. Since we use Canto this belongs to the past! The software is extremely customizable and canto reacts very fast and professional to our needs. We`ve created wonderful processes - for example between Canto and jira (a bug- und issue-tracking-system from other software) - for example between our online marketing and graphic design divisions for the creation of web pages or newsletter. I can count a lot of examples :) !!!
We use Canto in processes with external partners like design agency, freelancer, and photographers. They use the improved web client. Since we use Canto we have access to data from everywhere - this is a great advantage. We love the search function based on keywords (in any language).
Canto will be permanently enhanced - the version 9.1 has a great adobe integration. A lot of people in my company use the batch processing function. Also, the comment function is a great advantage.

We daily use it and we love it. It has improved our work!

Pros

- endless possibilities
- answers for every case of use

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Justin S.

System management and support services

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/09/27
Review Source: Capterra

The system is not "heavy" on the infrastructure -it works how you would hope asset management would work. On a few occasions, we have needed to reach out to support for help and they were everything you could hope for. In one instance, my client was not sure if they still had a support contract, but they also had an issue causing some business impact. Due to some turnover and changing of rolls, my client could not find the correct ownership information either.

Canto support helped get my client their historical invoices, get them back on a support contract, and help solve the problem. It's important to note: support helped me solve the problem, before my client paid the invoice on the contract. I really thought that was impressive, that Canto recognized the severity of the situation, and was willing to help, when they were perfectly within the right to not help.

Pros

After getting the old system upgraded, my client was able to offload some of the work the creative team previously did, to an account services team. That team was able to fulfill client requests for images without getting the creative group involved. It helped speed the responses to clients and vendors as well as balance the workload.

Cons

So far we have not had any internal issues or complaints!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Bethany R.

Canto is a very user-friendly DAM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, Canto has been a great DAM to use and their customer service is very responsive. I would recommend this to other image professionals.

Pros

We moved our image library over to Canto about 2 years ago and I have found it to be a reliable and easily navigable platform. It's very easy to use and out of the three DAMs I've worked with, professionally, it's the easiest and most straight-forward interface.

Cons

I have very few complaints. I would love it if we could customize the branding of the platform a little more and it would be nice if there was an option to make the lightbox preview files were a little larger. (There is an option to make them larger, but the difference between the smallest view and the largest view is negligible.) There is also an issue trying to rename files once they have been uploaded. That still doesn't work. If you need to rename a file, you'll have to rename outside of Canto and re-upload.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Gio W.

A "DAM" good decision! So much better than Dropbox

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/13
Review Source: Capterra

Canto has really helped our business with the management and dissemination of digital assets. This had long been a pain point for us. I researched a lot of DAMs on the market but couldn't justify most of their pricing. Canto accomplishes what we need at a great value. While the UX can sometimes be a little challenging, I've seen continuous improvement since signing with them, which tells me they're listening and investing in their product.

Pros

The best part about Canto, for us, is the Portals feature. They're perfect for us to provide individual dealers with the authorized assets they need, while keeping our internal non-client ready assets separate. We also love the self registration feature which allows us to control who is able to gain access through an invitation code.

Cons

The UX is not always intuitive for new users. It's unique from other similar products, so there can be a learning curve for the less savvy. Our customers are less technologically inclined, and don't always understand how to do the basics. It takes some training to catch them up to speed, but afterwards, they're usually able to fend for themselves.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Robyn B.

Great for our Independent School

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Before using Canto Flight, we had a huge photo storage problem. We are a K-12 school in the Bay Area with approximately 2,500 students. Having 3 campuses with a plethora of photos being taken at events and marketing photo shoots, we needed a solution that could store a large number of photos, be accessible off-campus (our old system was uploading all of the photos to an on-campus server), and that was easy for our staff to use. Canto met all of our needs! We currently have over 33,000 photos, 100 videos, and 1,000 documents stored, with over 2,000 GB (yes that's right, Gigabits) left of storage. The cloud system makes it easy for our photographers to upload photos and for us to access them without having to be on campus. Though the interface has gone through multiple changes (which has made it hard to train less-computer savvy staff), overall it's a pretty instinctual interface. Additionally, the Canto representatives have always been quick to respond with any issues that have arisen.

Pros

Large amount of storage space, multiple download and sharing options, ability to tag assets with keywords.

Cons

Slow to upload (slow overall), the ever-changing interface (making our tediously-made "how to" guides for staff quickly irrelevant).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jess S.

Flight's customer service is impeccable, I get immediate one on one attention.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/17
Review Source: Capterra

Over 10,0000 images in our library searchable at the stroke of a button. Priceless!

Pros

Super easy to use, I barely even need to "train" colleagues with how to use, it's actually easier to just let people look around on the site for 2 minutes as it's so intuitive. I have been able to keep over 10K detailed, rare photos organized, located, shared, and clean in terms of duplicates and low/high res files. What I like most is the people though, the attention we got felt like the same as if we were NASA signing up, they took our project seriously and helped us baby the starting of the program right through to checking in from time to time.

Cons

There are a few little keystroke things but when Flight gets updated it seems like the engineers are on the right tracks as things improve all the time. There could be improvements with searchability, for example being able to have the drop down menu when inputting a tag come up with JOHN SMITH when I start with S and not just when I start typing J.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Monica C.

Canto has been the solution we were looking for

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2018/09/10
Review Source: Capterra

Canto has been a game changer for us. We had files all over the place: file servers, personal computers, Light Room, drop box, you name it. Now we use Canto as our single repository for storing assets. Our in-house team of designers has easy access to assets because users within the various business units are contributing up-to-date information. The user interface is much like many popular stock photography websites, so our non-technical users have been quick to adopt it. Our infrastructure team also likes that we aren't sending giant email attachments anymore! We could not be more pleased with Canto.

Pros

Customer Service: If I ever email our account representative with a question or change to our account I hear back very quickly, many times within the hour.
User Interface: The UI is very user friendly. We've had no issues with non-technical users adopting the system.
Scalability: We love that we were able to start small and grow.

Cons

We've had some challenges with growing our the libraries and how to restrict folders, but our account manager has been working through those with us.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Timothy H.

Best DAM offering out there

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

I'm not really sure if you are asking me for a meta review of Capterra as a product or Canto but I would say if it seems like it would fit you definitely go into it. You'll find that with Portfolio you'll be searched based and the customizations are there, but it falls short on some key things Canto can have and that's namely that you can bucket everything into orderly categories that make it really easy for the end user to get at. MediaBeacon is also search based and absolutely infuriating to use. If you don't expect your end user to know what they are looking for before they go into it, you'll want Canto.

Cons

There are some really odd quirks about it on the web end of serving things up and having to restart Tomcat service and do some really frustrating hoops in setup is a thing, but if you have good support it's all good stuff and the thing is rock solid afterwards. Initial setup of DAMs is frustrating if you don't live in it, but as said in the pros area of my review it is far better than your other options out there (Extensis Portfolio and Esko's MediaBeacon would be the other two you would look at when going for DAM solutions).

Gonna note that the reason I tossed the three stars out there on customer support is that it's a product supported by third party resellers, which is totally understandable

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kaylee W.

Easy to use DAM system with the features and functionality we needed, at a competitive price.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/11/20
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Searchability. When assets are uploaded, the system will automatically generate smart tags, and additional tags can be added manually. Our department uses specific file naming and folder structures within Flight, and the search feature makes it easy to pinpoint assets. You can search by filename, folder, metadata, tags, categories, etc. You can also group similar photos together for easy navigating, include the same asset in multiple folders, and create personal "collections" of your favorite assets.

Cons

I can honestly say that the system is working perfectly for our team's needs. There were a couple functionality issues and recommendations when we first got started that we spoke with the Flight customer support team about, and they were able to correct and implement new features based on our conversation. The system is frequently updated based on new technology and users' feedback, and the customer support team is always ready to respond.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Markus H.

Evolving from fileserver clutter to valuable DAM-catalogues and -workflows

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/01/03
Review Source: Capterra

Canto helped us to get back control over our assets. The first step was to replace file servers as a silo for media assets by a sophisticated catalog solution. Within Canto we could build a metadata model that really represents the structure of information we need in order to manage assets in every context. Even challenges like assuring consistency of used terminology and translating metadata could be handled by using the standard functionality of Canto.

Now we have a solid basis to meet the demands of media-enriched online marketing towards visual, social, and video networks.

Pros

It's a standard software that allows customizing by configuring and without calling for programmers. The web interface became really powerful and facilitates workflows with external contributors, press contacts, and prospective clients.

Cons

Workgroup edition requires a costly upgrade to provide functionality for managing user groups.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jeffrey I.

We've been using Canto for over 15 years. It has been pretty consistent and stable for us overall.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

I manage dynamic photo collections for multiple organizations with staff spread across the US, Europe and Asia. This has been a good solution for providing that staff with access to their event images.

Pros

It is designed for image files and it manages those well. It's pretty intuitive for the end user to figure out how to perform the basic functions. 99% of the time it has been rock solid for us.

Cons

1-The interface has changed very little over the 15+ years we've been using it. It seems dated, although it is functional.
2-Server software install is too complex. I don't like having a bug introduced by a software upgrade and then having to pay to have Modula4 help us install the fix.
3-Web Solutions are lacking. We pay Modula4 to use their web interface because Canto's solution is lacking in UI appearance and functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Oliver U.

Perfect for our needs

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/10/25
Review Source: Capterra

After nearly two years of using the software i can say that this DAM fits perfect to our needs. The migration of the old DAM system was accompanied by Canto very professional. The handling of more than 200k of highres assets in several portals is fast and easy. Managing the files with the native or web client is fast and intuitive. Working together with the guys from Canto showed us how close they are to their product. Customized features like an InDesign package download were no problem. The good integration of the software into InDesign was one main reason for the purchase. Using the system as a distribution platform and a collaboration platform helps us a lot to do our work in a very effective way. Until now a very reliable system. Due to the versatile possibilities the software offers, sometimes the handling seems a bit complex. All in all we are very happy with this system and looking forward to a DAM good future.

Pros

Fast, reliable, many features, company is very close to the product

Cons

Support sometimes takes its time, self managing the system is difficult because of extensive features

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Josh C.

Canto Cumulus is easy to use and provides a great way to organize my pictures and documents for work

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/10/24
Review Source: Capterra

The software provides a great way to organize, store, and access files in a central location available to everyone in the company. Searching is easy with capability to customize metadata to each asset. Visual thumbnails provides another easy and quick way to find records.

Pros

There are several things I like about this software. 1) Capability to create custom metadata for my files. 2) Ability to search text in documents. 3) Ability to tag files to several different categories (folders) without creating duplicate files. 4) Drag and drop files into categories. 5) Capability to create customized catalogs. 6) Ability to search in multiple fields. 7) Large size limit for uploading files.

Cons

I use the enterprise vault and uploading files can be time consuming. This problem is related to internet speed and local firewalls.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Kelsey W.

Dependable and Easy to Learn

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/10/18
Review Source: Capterra

Productivity of the marketing department has greatly increased. Flight has allowed company employees easy access to our images. Flight's great search function and organization has allowed us to quickly access the files we need. Our old image management system was the complete opposite of Flight and very difficult to use.

Pros

I really enjoy Flight's user interface the best. It has been extremely easy for all employees in our company to quickly learn the ins and outs in a short period of time. I have received many compliments from employees spread across various departments about how much they enjoy Flight and how easy it is to use.

This has greatly increased productivity of our marketing department by allowing other employees easy access to our assets. I also love the tagging feature! Tagging our location photography with our product numbers has been a game changer!

Cons

Flight includes a feature that allows users to download high res images as 72 dpi jpg files - which is a great feature. The only downfall is that you can only do this one photo at a time. It would be nice to be able to bulk download as 72 dpi jpgs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Samo G.

Canto is a powerful software but it is costly and the customer support is underwhelming.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/12
Review Source: Capterra

Ability to search, access, organize and view large image files quickly.

Pros

The software is able to keep our data organized and provides us with a quick way to view and sort very large image files. Our database has grown exponentially since we have been using Canto and the software has been capable of handling everything we have added without slowing down at all.

Cons

I have had negative experiences with customer support and, as a non-profit arts organization, the cost of the product is a big challenge for us. Despite having paid annual fees for maintenance, some of the kinks in the software have warranted additional fees to get resolved. Most of the customer support team has exhibited very limited technical knowledge and troubleshooting with them has been a huge challenge.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Daniel J.

A great way to organize, locate and deliver assets to a variety of users in a variety of forms

Reviewed on 2014/12/22
Review Source: Capterra

Canto Workgroup allows us to manage a multitude of assets of varying sorts across multiple folder structures and servers then easily locate them without wandering blindly through the asset terrain. I also like that I can apply a multitude of categories to assets (if I want) making them even easier to locate in a comprehensive way which a folder structure and/or naming convention will not allow. I also like that I can deliver one asset in multiple sizes, color spaces, resolutions and with specific or generic watermarks without needing to maintain a bucket of all these possibilities in the asset server space.

Some of the functionality, such as watermarking, is limited awkward and clunky. I often find myself needing to create complex actions in order to accomplish something that I think is fairly logical straightforward and simple using these interfaces. I also find that the interfaces and specific user settings are not particularly intuitively displayed which makes it difficult for users to utilize all of the various features without a lot of instruction. Help documentation can be somewhat labyrinthine. Additonally, some of the asset conversion (especially with regard to the interpretation and conversion of color spaces and file formats) leaves a bit to be desired in terms of final output.

Overall, Canto fulfills our needs for an organized system of asset management and delivery with a minimum of redundancy. While it seems that wasting server space with multiple asset forms and sizes is almost inevitable, Canto has allowed us to have multiple "master" asset stores which are mostly uncluttered with bags of redundancy. This is also important because many of our users need to provide one set of assets in multiple varying forms and resolutions, which Canto easily accomplishes without a lot of struggle. Through well-defined naming coventions and folder structures and the manifold software features, our active and legacy files are complete, well organized and easily accessible even after they've been removed to storage media.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Amanda B.

Easy to Use Digital Asset Management System

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/11/12
Review Source: Capterra

In the past, our media library of thousands of images has been housed in folders on a server. The folders were organized by topic and date, but not easily searched if you didn't know specifics of what you were looking for. Image search and sharing was falling heavily on two people. It was also difficult to share large batches of images, as some of the files are quite large. We have been relying on Dropbox, but it was difficult to track who had shared what images. Canto has made our media library much more accessible to internal and external clients. It's much easier to share images and allows users to size images as needed before they even download them.

We also have plans to load print-on-demand and template files into our DAM. Being able to the current versions of files in an easy to access portal will be huge for keeping our brand consistent. We do have some brand assets loaded into the DAM and it has already been a big time saver with the ease that we are able to share those assets as requests come in.

Pros

The part that I like the most about Canto was the ease of getting started. After watching a webinar and an initial training session for the admin area, I was able to set up and customize our DAM immediately. The additional training for users was great as well. But the software is very user friendly and easy to use overall. Customer service is outstanding also.

Cons

Some of the more advanced features (portal creation and integrations with design programs) aren't as clearly explained or touched on in initial trainings.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chad M.

Canto the desktop and web client are excellent - Portals has been challenging.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Externally, we have deeper trust from our customers - we had a superior solution for their asset issues. Internally it keeps everything at our fingertips.

Pros

The desktop application meets all of our internal needs. The web client is also excellent and has been liberating when working remote. My organization has to work with many different DAM systems from many different customers and Canto by far stands apart from the crowd.

Cons

Portals was released way before it was ready for primetime. It has been nothing short of a struggle trying to help the customers we cut over from Sites. Subsequent releases did fix the issues but not being able to tell me customer when the fixes are going to happen was frustrating.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Phillip H.

Support Customization and deployment was amazing. The level of detail and workflow, amazing!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Time and cost saving for any large scale corporation. The ability to streamline process, locate and find assets, as well as keeping version control of each asset so that there is always the current one. Most organizations spend a large amount of time communicating assets.

Pros

The ease of use, the ability to manage, share and organize media and content. Image and media processing is smooth and detailed. User management has made it easy to deploy.

Cons

Different server configurations, having to go from Dev to production process is a little difficult. overall backup and migration process. Needs more Brand landing page control, to make it more weblike in terms of making a front end landing page for each product category to brand page.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Verified Reviewer

Great

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/16
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software does what it promises. You can tag assets and search for them easily. This software can potentially save your organization a lot of time.

Cons

Customer service / technical support has been frustrating to work with at times, other times they've been helpful. I've called in to Canto before and had one of the reps that answered the phone tell me that they don't have a tech support team, the rep was very unhelpful. Other times I've called in to explain the scenario that I'm experiencing and the customer service rep will then have you fill out a support ticket explaining what you just explained to them over the phone. It would be much easier to just call the rep and have them take over the support ticket entirely. If the team revises their support process, I would be very satisfied.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Amanda C.

Advanced and Visual DAM System

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/19
Review Source: Capterra

It's been a great experience. We are extremely pleased with the system, even if it has taken awhile to get all of our assets in order.

Pros

Canto hit the nail on the head for our company. We really needed a DAM system that was visual, organized and useful for our B2B business. We were in need of meta tag search capability, allowing images to live in many places at once, and a place to store valuable information like descriptions about our assets. Canto does all these and so much more.

Canto also has amazing customer service and has always been extremely helpful with answering our questions.

Cons

The mass uploader app did not go over well for us. We uploaded everything in bulk thinking it would be faster but we then had to go back and organize everything, which took an extremely long time. In retrospect, we wish we just uploaded everything in batches so we could have entered all the meta information in at the same time.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Annie F.

We use Canto to house all of our publishing PDFs and Image Catalogs for the past 10 years.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/09/11
Review Source: Capterra

Ease of use and ability to customize.

Pros

We like the customer service, the stability of the product and our ability to customize it to fit our ever-changing needs as a company. Canto grows with us instead of us "outgrowing" the product.

Cons

We have noticed some features that we have used disappear with new updates and we would like to be made more aware of what changes will happen with new updates. Half of our company also uses the web version of Canto and we would like to see the features of SITES improve to mirror the benefits we see with the native client.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10