39 reviews

Teletrac Navman DIRECTOR

GPS fleet tracking and automation software

2,9 /5 (39 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

2,9 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
49%
recommended this app
39 reviews
Nick L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

This system has potential, but the learning curve can be too much for folks who aren't...

Reviewed on 2017/06/09

Pros

The customer service. Teletrac employs good salespeople and they have taken care of us and ensured that the software and product meet our needs.

Cons

Learning curve that comes with the stigma of being "tracked". People are defensive and do not take to the software.

Carol D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Teletrac Navman

Reviewed on 2019/07/22

Training and set up was hard to get through. Didn't feel we didn't get the support we needed. However, once set up it seems to be running well.

Pros

The ease of use. It is also very spot on. We also got the cameras on this too. It is good insurance to protect your assets. Very happy with it.

Cons

Set up is detailed which is good but the lack of instruction. Still working through it. I haven't found a global set up so set up has to be done for each truck.

Scott C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Cheap & Easy to use - Lacks Major Functionality

Reviewed on 2017/04/12

Teletrac is a great system on a low budget and you don't really care about its ability to interact with any other systems. If all you are looking for is the ability to track your truck and something for drivers to use for E-Logs, than this might be up your alley. However, if you are expecting any type of integration with mainstream products than this isn't what you need. This product has more cons than pros when it comes to the trucking industry. The tablets are easy to pull out of the truck, break, and lack OTA updating. Mapping is substandard and program functionality is sub par. We used this system for over a year and scrapped it after so many issues of compatibility and functionality.

Pros

Very Basic in what it can offer and do

Cons

Lacks major functionality and does not incorporate well to the major trucking industry standards and programs

Lizzette P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Money Saver!

Reviewed on 2017/11/14

Pros

I love this software because it's easy to use. It's basically dummy proof, plus if you do need help with anything there are videos to assist plus customer service to assist as well. It has helped our company save a lot of money with employees when it comes to work hours.

Bob V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent Fleet Management Solution

Reviewed on 2013/03/29

Highly recommended. Both our construction/energy services divisions havedemo'd multiple platforms in past including Fleetmatics and Networkfleet, neither have the quality and features of Teletrac. Should be a no-brainer for most...

Pros

We began using Teletrac's Fleet Director primarily for vehicle location monitoring and navigation, however after learning of Fleet Director's safety analytics add-on we have recently adopted an internal driver safety program utilizing the driver scorecarding metrics. We now incentivize and motivate our employees to be wary of engine idle-time as well as safe driving speeds.
Learning more and more about the benefits of this software everyday. Great product!

Cons

Can't say that we have ran into any negatives at this point.

Richard B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

30 minutes on hold everyday with them not being able to fix the problem.

Reviewed on 2017/11/02

DO NOT USE!!

Pros

Tracking software work great when it is working. The sales man the locked us into the contract was very good at his job.

Cons

ELD logs drivers logs driver out for no reason. Red over speeding comes up on the Garmin even if the driver is not speeding. Drivers have take their eyes of the road to reset the navigation at every stop light and stop sign. I consider the devices unsafe for truck drivers. Trying to get a hold of someone in customer service is a joke you can wait on hold for up to 30 minutes at a time. Having a driver wait on hold is not an option. Truck drivers have enough to worry about when they on the road. They will lock you into a 3 year contract with a system that does not work correctly. I have had the ELDS in our truck for 3 months now and have to call Teletrac everyday. I would not recommend them ever.

Ben F.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Teletrac (horrible)

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

There are no pros for Teletrac as it is very inconsistent and inaccurate. The company was stuck in a contract for a few years too.

Cons

Inaccurate and inconsistent. The GPS location that is showed of our drivers were never correct and had delays on the system all the time.

Tony D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Director review

Reviewed on 2019/12/10

Overall seeing where our trucks are, speed and traffic has been wonderful. Paying for a government issued product doesn't make us happy. And converting to team drivers has been extremely tough to find enough drivers. Expenses have doubled but freight is still the same.

Pros

Ability to monitor trucks/drivers.
Track maintenance.

Cons

ELD in truck hardware fails to easy....cords being pinched.
Installation varied each vendor.
Functionality lacks at times.

John R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Teletrac

Reviewed on 2019/12/03

Pros

Ease of use. Precision of product. And customer service

Cons

The change from AOBRD to ELD. Just the switch was long.

Nadia T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Worst Customer Service

Reviewed on 2018/01/24

Go with ANY other vendor. Teletrac is not worth the pain. Once you've signed that three-year contract, good luck getting a hold of someone to answer your questions!

Cons

We've lost GPS signal on several of our trucks. The app regularly has difficulty syncing to the trucks GPS. Customer service often doesn't answer or allow you to leave a voicemail. If you are lucky enough to get through, the Customer Service Rep is typically clueless, and unable to resolve your issue.

Tyler W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

NavMan GPS

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

We have used NavMan for several years now tracking our company vehicles and equipment. It has helped immensely in our ability to solve customer problems and labor hours worked.

Pros

Ease of use and information provided.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

E-Logs and DOT compliance

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

Have used the software for over 2 years and when it works well, it is great. More often than we would like, we run into issues with credentials, permissions, error messages, etc. that don't have a clear solution. Navigating through the software as an admin on the account is not intuitive at all and requires ongoing communication with the product developers.

Pros

The software provides a solution to stay in compliance with the DOT requirements for electronic logs, and manage the drivers and their workloads

Cons

There is a lot of backend work that remains a big question mark to the end user. Troubleshooting and navigating through frequent technical hurtles is basically out of the end user's hands. This wouldn't be an issue if support was consistent, prompt, and reliable but that hasn't been the case.

Tony M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Small Carriers, Proceed with CAUTION!

Reviewed on 2020/12/23

The shareholder's will lose in the long run if my experience is repeated with current or future customers. Good business stems from good ethics. If your equipment threatens the life of your client's organization, then how ruthless can Teletrac be in filing frivolous lawsuits against small motor carriers such as my organization. MY TRUCKS were parked for over TWO WEEKS! The individual TELETRAC SENT did not come to the scheduled appointment in our yard! I was on my knuckles dealing with drivers threatening to quit because of your software! To the shareholder's or responsible party in making informed business decisions for Teletrac, focus on a continuous improvement strategy which will increase the bottom line. Focus to why the software shows a driver is on duty when a driver signs out and to why the HOS time is always ahead of the current or live time.

Pros

I don't want to sound bold so that an opportunity may arise and therefore I will simply pass on this question.

Cons

The product did not live up to the presumed expectations. The software remained on duty status when the truck was parked in the yard. The software had a time lapse which negatively impacted HOS. We were signed up in the "hero" program and our hero never replied to any of our messages. The service department contracted with Teletrac dissolved or filed for bankruptcy, DURING the COVID PANDEMIC, in which we literally shut down our operations for a couple of weeks to then be told to reschedule. So it was either I go bankrupt waiting for Teletrac to stand by their commitment in offering my motor carrier company a solution for my trucks standing idle as my fixed and variable expenses increase or respectfully reach out to their customer service and request for the mailing address so that I can mail the equipment and software back to Teletrac. Instead, their customer service matched the quality Teletrac offers the public and they insisted that they will get it together. Well, i'm sorry to burst your bubble Telectrac, but you breached the contract when you threaten the stability of my organization. My incident has taken place with Teletrac within a month. I returned the equipment and now they have an attorney reaching out to me on a bogus lawsuit in the amount of $37,000. I have less than 15 trucks and potential customers should do the math.

Edwin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

SAVE YOURSELF RUN FROM TELETRAC!

Reviewed on 2020/02/11

We had used Teletrac, From June off 2018 – May of 2019, of the many problems we reported to Teletrac, I have included 2 specific examples that in my opinion not only demonstrate the lackadaisical approach Teletrac takes in resolving our issues, but also provides the reasons, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that Teletrac did not resolve our issues within a timely fashion.
Issue #1:

Idling Report Issues: We use idle data to dictate what our drivers will be receiving as part of their fuel-saving bonus.

Date Issue was Reported: 09/10/2018
Date Issue Resolved: Never
Total Time Unresolved: 8+ Months

Issue #1 Recap: We had reached out several times starting on September 10, 2018, to get the idle time reports fixed as they were providing incorrect data. This was a feature that Teletrac had advertised when selling their product. This issue although multiple correspondences every month from the original date of reporting were had, was never fixed. There were large periods of time that had gone on where we were never reached out too. This was detrimental to or business because our drivers have a performance bonus that is given out monthly that is based on fuel mileage when we are unable to get a correct reading of fuel consumption we are paying out bonuses or not paying out bonuses on incorrect data. To put this into perspective, Samsara our current ELD provider had an issue with their idle time reports, not only did they reach out to us on a weekly basis as this was being fixed, but t

Pros

The thing that attracted me to this company was the integration with McLeod and the reasonable price. -- However as I would soon discover, these were merely a honey trap.

Cons

1. The fact that the product just did not work.
2. The worst customer support I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.
3. LIESSSS

Patrick F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Do not recommend

Reviewed on 2021/02/08

The initial process was great. The sales team was thorough and had good initial follow up, but after that it went down hill. They gave me a great price to get the deal done asap. I verified before signing the contract I would get a couple key features, then come to find out, it did not. The company would not honor the contract either. I was more or less called a liar once I called the company out of their issues and they told me I never asked for certain features, which were the only features I used in previous software

Pros

The platform in which you view the vehicles is pretty easy to use and customizable for your needs
3rd party guy they hired to install was AMAZING

Cons

We switched from another company to Teletrac due to their horrible customer service and poor quality product. I would go back to them at this point
I was sold on basic features it did not come with (posted speed alerts)
Integrations to programs such as Fleetio did not work (confirmed it was Teletrac and not Fleetio with the issue)
Multiple interactions with customer service were awful (one guy told me he" didnt know what to do and Im on my own")
Response from the sales team post sale would take days, but when it came to signing the contract, it was minutes
The tracker that was installed says on its specs it comes with a feature that it does not
Odometer readings on platform never correct

Victor Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Very disappointed of the team members

Reviewed on 2018/05/23

we have used the GPS system , but when it came time to cancel our service ... ohh god it took us 1 full month just to get a-hold of some one, we have called every single day all of their listed phone numbers , we have e-mailed them countless times , in the end we had to call our bank and put a stop on their automatic billing. Finally after 1 month and something , we have been contacted via e-mail by one of their representatives and they canceled our service providing us a reference cancellation number. after 5 mounts of not using them , guess what , their billing department sends us an open invoice - asking us what is going on and why we are not paying our bills . we were shocked , they are trying to get now money from us for not having in their data base that we have canceled. Immediate we have provided the accounting department of teletrac our "cancellation reference number" and a copy of the e-mail of their representative that have closed our account . She responded its not her problem and we need to speak with the guy that we canceled with. This is how they do business . Btw its 5/23/18 and it has been 2 days of us trying to speak with one of them and take care of that nonsense.

Pros

its cheap and the gps system work , other than that very disappointed no other pros for teletrac than those

Cons

you can not get a hold of no-one , when you call them , they dont answer , when you e-mail them they dont respond
very bad customer service

Michael S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

You get what you pay for

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Pros

GPS Tracking in real time. The maintenance reminder is nice once you get it fully setup for each vehicle, but still leaves room for improvement.

Cons

Dashboard is slow and laggy, no matter what computer you use. Often having to close the window and re-open it so it's responsive.

Thomas C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The overall experience to date has been mixed.

Reviewed on 2017/09/14

Pros

Ease of use and ability to track unit location. the ability to get real time data on the operation of the unit.

Cons

Were not set up in the beginning with the correct access to fully use the Telatrac system. This hampered the ability to use all the reports and monitoring that that we had available.

Damien S.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Not worth entering into a contract with them

Reviewed on 2018/10/02

Take your money somewhere else, customer service is lacking, they are all over you at the time of sale, they ignore you trying to cancel and won't return calls.

Pros

It does gps tracking, it's more for tractor-trailer truck tracking and not a service fleet, they come out and install.

Cons

You don't have a contract with them, they create 36-month contracts for every device if you add a device its a new contract, not worth doing business with them. When we tried to reach out to cancel, we emailed, called and never got a response. We once called twice a day for 2 weeks, never got a call back from our rep, it was a joke in the office, horrible.

Willard T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Worst customer service ever.

Reviewed on 2018/06/26

None

Pros

Nothing to like about it! It is total junk from the word go.
If and when it works it is great. Neverhappens
It doesn't work!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

Out of 40 trucks 6 or 7 are down on a daily basis.
Sit on the phone with customer service for 1 to 2 hours daily and still doesn't work!

Cheri D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 2015/10/19

Pros

Easy to use and vendor is easy to work with. They give you training on how to use their software and will also do live training with you on the phone as well.

Cons

I have not found anything that I do not like about the product as of yet.

Lucynda U.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Teletrac/Director GPS

Reviewed on 2020/09/08

I like the software and how easy it is to use. It supports safe driving for drivers if used for a reward system. It can prove your driver side if they were to have an accident because the device has 3 cameras. I would recommend this software if you want to be able to see driver location at any time or their history. You can also create customize reports by vehicle.

Pros

I like the fact that software is easy to use and didn't require me to read a long manual in order to get it set up. The same day I got my log in I was able to track the vehicles and video of drivers who didn't not practice safe driving.

Cons

I don't like that this involves two companies. One company supports the software and the other company supports the actual hardware. Plus Verizon is involved with the actual GPS.

Matt L.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Horrible experience

Reviewed on 2019/02/20

DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU DO NOT HAVE ANOTHER CHOICE
I’d give them negative starts if possible due to the amount of lost time and aggravation trying to get units fixed or get them to send us replacement units.
The Samsung units we were issued continuously malfunction. Drivers cannot log in, get logged off randomly. Units bubble out and screens go blank.
Customer service is a joke. They will issue you a case number and then never follow up. They will waste huge amounts of your driver’s time trying to diagnose the issues which they will never have a solution to. You can never get a hold of a manager in order to escalate your issue. Your cases will be randomly closed without any resolutions.
All current customers that are having these issues should file a class action against Teletrac and force them to provide the service that is required or they should be forced to close their doors.

Pros

When it works the user interface is not complicated

Cons

Tablets malfunction on a regular bases. Customer service is TERRIBLE.

Derrick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product that does the job

Reviewed on 2017/07/18

Ablilty to track my vehicles without an issue

Pros

I can track every aspect of my vehicles. I know when each vehicle is started, turned off, Idling for too long, and if they are speeding.

Cons

The online software is outdated. It needs to use Microsoft silverlight which you can only use on certain web browsers.

Scott O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Don't walk, RUN from this company

Reviewed on 2018/05/18

Pros

There are no pros to this company. They will take your money and then push you to the side with the automated phone system

Cons

They only offer a 3 year contract. BEWARE, once you sign there is no getting out. Multiple issues almost every day. The clocks do not reset correctly, which means paper logs till they fix it. Going from sleeper to OFF DUTY starts your clock, so more time wasted. Slow to update, screens move slowly. Customer service takes what seems like forever. The recording says you are next in line and it takes 20-30 minutes on average to get to them. Then they just read from their playbook. In the past 2 weeks we have 4 open work orders, with warranties also. If your equipment cannot last 2 weeks, probably something wrong with it. If they tell you they are going to escalate your ticket to a higher level, don't expect a phone call anytime soon.