67 reviews

Kount

eCommerce fraud detection & prevention

4,7 /5 (67 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
96%
recommended this app
67 reviews
Robyn C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Kount Pros & Cons

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

We found that Kount was not as relevant in our industry as other fraud tools that are more geared toward the travel industry. I'm sure it works well for industries selling goods, however it didn't work well for us. Overall, our agents were at times confused, and most often not able to use Kount in their decision making process.

Pros

The ease of integration of the API was good. I also like that you can read where the device is, versus what IP they're using

Cons

There's a lot of conflicting information in the results, thus not helping us in our decision for fraud. I've not been able to turn in on live onto the front end of our website, because it has falsely identified bookings as highly suspect of fraud, when they are past customers. We were being advised a credit card was issued on a U.S. bank when we knew the BIN number was a Canadian Bank issued card. We also had difficulty making a decision when the Persona was high and the safety rating was high as well. Our agents (end users) really struggled with using it to help make a decision about a fraudulent purchase. Sorry, not likely what you wanted to hear.

Response from Kount

Hi Robyn,
We are sorry to hear that you are struggling with scores and ratings - Rudy M. from our client success team will be reaching out to help. Rudy and everyone at Kount are committed to making this a great success story for you! Thank you for reviewing Kount!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Exceptional Fraud Tool

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

Kount has allowed us to manage our e-commerce fraud in a much better way than our previous manual review procedure. Chargebacks dropped significantly as we are looking at orders that we should be looking at and passing through those that do not pose a risk. We are very pleased with the investment and relationship with Kount.

Pros

The software is user friendly. The data available on the user screen is detailed for the seasoned agent and simple enough for a novice to decision an order.

Cons

At this time, I cannot say that there is anything that I do not like.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount Has Saved Us Money

Reviewed on 2019/10/03

Kount has drastically reduced the amount of manual oversight required by our order processing team. Kount will find and flag orders that it suspects are fraudulent and most of the time it is correct. It basically works as a spam folder for our order processing team. We love Kount.

Pros

Kount does exactly what we want it to do. It flags fraud and potentially fraudulent orders. Our order processing team can then quickly check them and take the correct action. This has reduced the number of chargebacks and calls to customers to confirm order details.

Cons

In the very beginning of using Kount we were seeing either a lot of falsely identified fraudulent orders or we were seeing almost no flags. It seemed to take a little longer than we were expecting it to before Kount really started to "learn" which orders were legit or not.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Help for a seemingly hopeless process

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Pros

I enjoy how easy Kount is to use, all of the information that I need is clearly laid out for my team and I to find and make quick decisions on orders in review.

Cons

There are times when the software provides inaccurate information.

Shelly G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount has lowered our manual reviews significantly

Reviewed on 2019/01/04

Pros

Once you set up the rules, it is pretty simple to use. It eliminates a lot of manual review.

Cons

Setting up the rules can be a little challenging. Since you don't know what you don't know, it may take some tweaking to get it just right. Once you see what is being held in review you can make your adjustments, but you may go through a period where too many orders are being held.

Fabian B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Kount and Magento

Reviewed on 2021/03/09

We had to leave Kount and switched to another solution.

Pros

It gave me decent amount information to make a more educated decision on questionable orders.

Cons

It did not guarantee fraud orders. Also took a lot of my time to do further research online to decide if the order in question would be a fraud order. Very time consuming to decided what to do on questionable orders. Platform was very involved and overwhelming. Also included features that would be helpful but had to pay to add.

Mari V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount review

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Very impressed with functionality and use. Would highly recommend to another company!

Pros

Tons of information with each reviewed order. Easy to find and the layout is simple enough to understand what you're looking at.

Cons

There's TONS of options and functions- I wish some were easier, like adding an email address from a current review account on the same page, instead of clicking into another tab to enter in the email address to not flag any orders under that email address.

Kristine M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kount review

Reviewed on 2018/12/27

User friendly and comprehensive

Pros

It is easy to use. All the important details that I need to do my task is to already available on the first page and upon logging in.

Cons

I need to re log in after a few minutes.

Brandon S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

After trying several ecommerce fraud prevention platforms, Kount inc. yeilded unparalled...

Reviewed on 2015/11/03

One doesn't have to utilize the underwhelming performance of ecommerce fraud prevention software provided by PayPal for very long to understand the limitations of the product. After we suffered a string of fraudulent purchases and began to notice an increase in chargebacks, accompanied by dead ends in Pay Pal's customer service, we began to shop around for partners to help us deal with our problems. We reached out to several platforms and found Kount inc. to be the most motivated, informed and eager to assist us. They analyzed our issues, reviewed where we needed assistance, provided the suitable software for our situation and educated our employees about the proper use of the product. Our chargebacks slowed quickly and our ability to identify new fraud accelerated allowing us to focus on sales rather than on fraud research.

Response from Kount

Thank you for the wonderful review Mr. S! We love helping great companies like yours go forward without fear of fraud - so you can focus on growing sales and delighting customers!

Nicole L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kount is EASY to use and FUNCTIONAL

Reviewed on 2018/12/28

Kount has great customer service, which is very helpful!

Pros

This software has so many options and allows me to pick and choose what I need.

Cons

A ton of training is required for this software.

Jorriel P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Other for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent

Reviewed on 2019/01/16

Pros

Loved the kount. It was very easy to use!

Cons

The interface could be touched up a little.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool for fraud risk management

Reviewed on 2019/04/13

Kount has help us to reduce the fraud rate and the amount of manual work of agents do analyzing transactions

Pros

This tool was presented to us by one of customers as they were using it already for a while and wanted to continue. At the beginning I was a bit skeptical as many fraud management tools are slow, or difficult to read. As soon as we started using the program, it became one of favorites: it was very easy to learn to use it and it showed the right amount of information on the dashboard.
Kount not only gives you the usual information (location, attempts, score) but you also see all the linked transactions by different parameters (email, address, ip and device layers) which are great to catch the transactions from the bad guys. Agents can easily blacklist the information regarding suspected transactions without leaving the dashboard.
The rule set creations options are very flexible and you can split them according to merchant, markets and they can be modify or deactivated in just a few clicks.
Customer services are very helpful and quick to answer the enquirers.

Cons

The only thing I would improve is the reporting part as I find it a it basic, I would like to have more options that will help me to segment the data or get more information about the orders that pass through Kount

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Tobacco
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to Integrate and Maintain!

Reviewed on 2019/01/08

With KOUNT, we finally have visibility over our approval rate, which nears 80% each month on average, with less than 1% of orders going into auto decline status. KOUNT allows for cross-departmental collaboration and communication in order to prevent fraud. The business rules management feature is critical to our business in order to control what transactions we want to review or approve, and it allows our business to react quickly to changes that are required throughout the process. KOUNT has proven itself to be an invaluable business partner for our organization.

Pros

KOUNT has a rigorous production readiness certification for the initial implementation to ensure that the environment is setup and working as expected. Once the solution is live, it is very easy to configure and maintain. It allows the IT department to focus on technical implementation specifics while the finance department can focus on implementing appropriate business rules for managing transactions. Our support contact seems to always be available, and watches over our account for ways to improve and save costs.

Cons

The khash implementation is a bit complicated, but we managed to figure it out. Creating business rules can be intimidating for someone who is not used to a very detailed interface. Additionally, creating reports takes a bit of practice, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes easier.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount Review for ecom

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Pros

Kount worked very well at detecting consumer fraud. There was also many ways to create custom rules for blocking. For the most part, it seemed like most of the blocked transactions were valid. The cost of Kount was negligible compared to the "potential" savings. It's long term effectiveness on reducing chargebacks/refunds was inclusive.

Cons

The portal/UI is not mapped out well. The reporting is simple, but a pain to configure and work with. Overall, the reporting was manageable and not a deal breaker because we already have our own internal reporting (not through Kount).

Amanda H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount

Reviewed on 2020/02/14

Use Kount daily and have had no issues with the website. Works great.

Pros

Kount is a great tool to use for fraud checks. I review transactions on a daily basis to determine whether they are fraudulent or not. Kount summarizes consumer data to determine whether the customer is who they say they are. It links well with our other systems as well.

Cons

There is a learning curve if you have not used previously but the system is great otherwise. If you are a financial institution, highly suggest.

Armin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Supermarkets
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Kount REVIEW

Reviewed on 2018/12/19

Would be great if we could block SKUs
would be great to block paypal users

Pros

Helps us track the fraudulent orders. Also we can block the fraudsters that we caught before

Cons

-Sometimes when we put a rule in place, it does not capture all the matching transactions, and some end up going through without us looking into it

Anne P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kount rocks!

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

Our manual review rate has decreased drastically as have our chargebacks. There is no more guessing orders are diligently screened and processed confidently.

Pros

Kount provides facts and data that can give you confidence on business decisions and risks for your company

Cons

The fact emailage is no longer integrated within Kount.

Majranish P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Useful

Reviewed on 2019/01/01

We have been using Kount for 6 years and so far it serves its purpose as one of our primary tools in fraud department.

Pros

Ease of use, integration with our software was very easy to apply.

Cons

we have some missed on stats but manageable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kount Software Review

Reviewed on 2019/01/07

Overall Experience with Kount is Great!!!!!!

Pros

That it allows you to set up specific/custom rules to help fight fraud.

Cons

The A.I. part that was implemented is not much help and mostly ignored at this point.

Sonia K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Software used for large Organizations

Reviewed on 2019/01/04

Overall this is a wonderful program in which I've used in multiple large organizations

Pros

Love the user friendly interface, easy customization

Cons

Pulling reports can be a bit difficult like any other software

Valerie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Thoughts on Kount

Reviewed on 2018/12/20

Kount is a great product which is easy to use and helps me feel confidence that my business is protected

Pros

Great tool for online business's. Very easy to use and customise to your needs. Kount support have always been helpful and knowledgeable

Cons

Date format is American - but i'm used to that now

Alessandra D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A support that Kounts!

Reviewed on 2019/01/11

Kount has been helping me a lot with fraud manual checks and fraud-related chargebacks.

Pros

It's full-detailed which helps a lot to manage at best our fraud manual checks.

Cons

It could be a bit more easy-friendly to export data.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2018/12/27

I love that we can control everything from Kount. It made it easier to approve orders without having to look into different platforms.

Pros

I like that is so easy to use once you create all the rules. The fact that you can have a black/white list makes it so much easier to work.

Cons

It was a little hard to get used to, with the persona score and the safety rating being different.

Ahthea M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CATCHING FRAUDSTERS ONE STEP AT A TIME

Reviewed on 2019/02/07

Pros

This software provides accurate information and helps business everywhere preventing fraud.

Cons

There has been times where the IP address was not quite accurate

Melissa N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Kount Review

Reviewed on 2018/12/28

Pros

I think its great that it does the verification of the credit cards for us so we do not have to worry about fraud charges going through. They are very thorough and build their knowledge of our business as it goes

Cons

I think the portal can be more friendly user. It is sometimes difficult to navigate through the portal