Cerner PowerChart Reviews

Cerner PowerChart

Practice management and EHR software

3.7/5 (100 reviews)
Nathaniel M.

Cerner Powerchart Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/11/23
Review Source: Capterra

Overall experience was good. I was initially trained on Cerner Powerchart. There are better EMR systems out there as far as flow, successful add-ons, and auto saving features. However, I must say that the ease of charting on systems and pages within the original body of Powerchart software flows very well. I love the short cuts that I am able to use so that my charting time is much faster than veterans using the system. The customization of pages for each department makes it very friendly for the user. And best of all that customized organization you are used to having follows you in case you float to another unit.

Pros

The Pro's about this software include that it can be customized to make changes throughout every department within the hospital system that uses it. This makes the software versatile. I have seldom had a tired day without running through the routine of charting on patients but Cerner allows for the quick access lists of options in my charting that can be expanded when I need it to jog my memory for the descriptor needed in my charting.

Unlike other charting systems I have used in the past, a default collapsed list of charting options in Cerner is very helpful. Additionally, Cerner has a lot of built in quick access options for charting that my fellow coworkers asked me to teach them. The ability to chart without the use of a mouse makes everything fly by. This is especially important when the mouse at a charting station doesn't work well.

The best part of the customized organization on any specific hospital unit is that this organization of information follows you when you float to other units. This means that if you need to help your buddy unit out the charting time will not slow down due to being in a foreign environment. Very Very Very helpful!

Cons

There is not a built in auto save feature in the charting. The ability to alter charting during my shift is important but there should be a time limit or window within which change to the charting can be counted as initial documentation. If you currently save every so often to ensure your work is not lost and realize information documented was inaccurate then there is a flag on whatever information you change showing that a mistake has been made. This is an unfortunate drawback which points to the lack of autosave features.

One other big con to the system is that when outside information is integrated, such as education material from a subscription database online, the patient chart only reflects information documented when added through specific links within Cerner. As an example if you add documentation that you printed off a handout for the patient you cannot link the handout to the patient chart after the fact. This means that prior to printing anything you HAVE to enter the database from a specific designated page in Cerner and attach it to the chart. Only one way in and one way out.
Poor organization in the add-ons in Cerner.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Ethan G.

Cerner PowerChart Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/04/29
Review Source: Capterra

Overal Cerner PowerChart satisfies electronic medical record needs well with a few areas of improvement. I am not involved with EMR purchasing decisions but from what I understand, Cerner PowerChart is a good product for the money.

Pros

Cerner PowerChart provides a comprehensive location for all medical information. Information display can be customized to fit user needs and provides quick access to pertinent info with continued use. Home screens are customized for each particular practitioners credentials and needs making many commonly used tasks always right at hand. Accessing information from other visits is also easily performed regardless of which encounter the patient was initially pulled up. One of my favorites is the results callback functionality that allows easy review of discharged patients culture results.

Cons

While Cerner is not difficulty to use, not all features are entirely intuitive. Many functions require repeated use and lots of clicking to access and perform relatively simple tasks. While there is a quick link for Meds Manager access for pharmacists, the link does not pull up the current patient profile opened, necessitating re-entering of the patient encounter number which is a bit tedious. Additionally, the disjunction between FirstNet and PowerChart is inconvenient and would be nice if charts opened through FirstNet opened PowerChart rather than a separate entity of FirstNet given the difference in functionality between the two programs.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Javier A.

365 Medical EMR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/04/19
Review Source: Capterra

Must customizable EMR solution I've had the pleasure of working with. Customer support is just a phone call away and they always answer in 5min or less. Powercharts allows providers to customize macros and auto text in order to streamline their daily workflows. Solutions also provides voice recognition and is compatible with Microsoft and Apple computer. Front desk Sheduling system allows offices to configure call protocols, auto verifies insurances and makes registration paperless. System does seem overwhelming at first, but like everything else if the user is willing to learn and puts their part in customizing their favorites the system simplifies their workday.

Pros

Very customizable to any practice specialty.

Cons

When there are parts of the software that can be improved an enhancement needs to be submitted. These enhancements take a long time to take effect.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

harder to get used to after using EPIC for EHRs

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/03/05
Review Source: Capterra

I learned to use it and I think with more time I will get better as always, but the learning curve was a bit different from EPIC charting which seemed to be more color coded, and easier to navigate, but also full of facility wide things that had to be filled out but didn't apply to the patient, so that was cumbersome.

Pros

It is easy to use once you get to know where things are located, but it has more of a windows software feel than a mac software. It is more utilitarian in that it is not colored and the font is small, which is good for efficiency in documenting once you know where things go and are located. Does not have hangups that EPIC has when company wide documenting is required for certain areas that sometimes do not apply to particular patient such as was the case on a pediatric floor where I was using this system and I appreciated not having EPIC.

Cons

Hard to get used to. I was coming from using EPIC mostly, which seems easier and more intuitive to learn. I found the smaller black boxes and hidden tabs harder to get used to when trying to document daily things. As a nurse the med administration tab wasn't as easy to use as it is in EPIC and wasn't as intuitive and I sometimes messed up at first in documenting med administration especially when trying to add something that wasn't scanning from the pharmacy and I had to do an override.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jaehoon L.

Rich function, poor user friendly interface

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/21
Review Source: Capterra

We could deal with physicians' need of a comprehensive computer system to support patient care. Usability issues still remain but it's quite common in modern EHR systems.

Pros

Cerner Ambulatory EHR is one the well known and popularly used EHR systems in the US. It has most of the functions that are needed for outpatient care, computerized order entry system, and data data entry for meaningful use. The consultants from Cerner are hard-working, knowledgable, and deal with issues in a prompt manner.

Cons

Although it is a production system, it used to be so slow and physicians complain about ordering time takes up to 10 seconds. Citrix based desktop is slow. User interface and layout of components in Physician workflow is not intuitive and hard to learn. Overall it results in longer data entry time and takes physicians' time to talk to patients.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Krenciswel D.

Excellent

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/02/15
Review Source: Capterra

Less paperwork, less patient waiting time, efficient and accurate management of samples through the use of barcode system within the software.

Pros

I have been working with cerner powerchart since 2016 and it has been very helpful with managing patient orders specially with regards to clinical laboratory test orders. It is very organized and all clinical orders are separated by classification. It has decreased the patient waiting time and processing time for the lab where I am working. Overall its very helpful to medical professionals like me.

Cons

There is really no cons for this software. Occassional downtime, updates and server problems but those were just minor technical difficulties. And are always adressed by the support team efficiently.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Powerchart review

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/02/08
Review Source: Capterra

Once you learn Cerner Powerchart, it is a great software, very user friendly, organized, easy to navigate.

Pros

I use this software at work to access patients charts, send messages to other healthcare team members, and to document. Charting is very easy, software flows well. There are lots of shortcuts that make work faster. Pages can be customized to make everyone’s work more efficient and personalized. Search buttons within patients charts are also very useful when learning more about their medical and medication history. This software makes patients’ chart very well organized, easy to find all the necessary information, easy to look up and updated patients’ information such as pharmacy, medications, allergies.

Cons

Frequent software updates are often times less useful and more confusing than previous version, takes some time to learn and get used to it. In some cases support team needs to be contacted to reverse or modify new updates for software to be more user friendly. Occasionally there are problems with the serve, errors when logging in, which are addressed by support team in a timely matter.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Adam T.

Organized, but repetitive.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/29
Review Source: Capterra

Overall it wasn't a hassle and made each day better with it's ease of use. Some days you feel like there's just so much to be done through it and you wish it didn't exist but that's part of what you sign up for in nursing!

Pros

I liked the ease of use and how it allowed for enough tabs for all my patient's charts during any shift. IT allows for most of the required charting to be done just with clicks via the mouse and not too much typing which saves time. It would help generate scores for certain diagnostics which also aids time management.

Cons

A lot of it was repetitive and sometimes the options for a certain part of an assessment didn't quite exactly meet what was assessed. It also times out after a while, which was unfortunate for those days when charting seems to take forever and you leave your desk by a patient or coworker and if not promptly resumed you lose what you were working on, had it not been saved. Makes you really want to get friendly with the save button.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
David R.

Easiest way to find patient information and keep it organized

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

As someone who speaks with patients on the phone constantly, I find it useful to be able to open multiple Powerchart files at once. This keeps me focused on the task at hand and after a phone call I can return to the previous patient I was working on. All in all this program has been a life saver.

Pros

The amount of information that is able to be found on this software and organized is truly amazing. This program makes it simple to find patient information in seconds and utilizes the ability to open multiple patients at the same time when things get frantic. I really enjoy the layout of the tabs and subsections within them, as they make it easy to find certain aspects of a patients file without digging through everything and wasting time. As long as staff members upload the information and keep it current there are no problems keeping track of a patients medical record and information.

Cons

I dislike that the software is not always intuitive. Some times there is information that I would like to find, but until I am trained on where to find the information in Powerchart I cannot locate it quickly. With that said, I believe there is simply a large learning curve for so much information and it will just take time - not really a fault in the service itself.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Medical software at its finest

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source

Pros

I have been using Cerner Powerchart for over four years and still consider it the best medical software. I find the layout to be easy to navigate and extremely user friendly. Unlike so many other software, you dont have to click through tons of boxes to complete a simple task

Cons

I really love this software and struggle to find cons. Occasionally when I click on the software icon the software doesn't load and occasionally when I'm using the software it freezes and I have to close it and reopen.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Cerner Extended care Road Notes

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/01/27
Review Source: Capterra

Then individual applications work great but you still end up having to chart things multiples times because the applications don't communicate with each other. I think you should be able to document in the the nurses note an update to physician order or careplan and the information automatically update the other applications.

Pros

The nurses note flows well and is quick to complete.

Cons

The nurses note does not communicate with any other applications like care plans or physician orders. You have to leave the nurses note to update care plan or enter a new order.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

5.0/10
Sara Y.

Antipsychotics and Interventions

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/09/21
Review Source: Capterra

We started on Powerchart in Feb 2015. At that time our antipsychotic rate for residents on dementia was at 15.8%
With the use of the behavior tracking and the interventions in PowerChart we have successfully reduced our antipsychotics to 4% !

Pros

I really like the Behavior Eval/Intervention sections. With the use of Results Review you can see what was documented and what intervention was used in a report form to use in your Psychotropic Meetings.

Cons

The only thing I would say is a con is that there is no "Other" or free text box in the behaviors to choose or track something more specific.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Alex A.

Excellent for patient tracking!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The best software I've used for tracking patient's history and orders. It helps me accurately organize and make sure all radiology orders performed for selected patients are attached to their specific radiologist reading tests.

Cons

The only difficulty that I came across with at the beginning was finding reports and documents for patients when they were requested. With some training this task becomes pretty easy making this software absolutely useful!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

PowerChart: A robust EMR system, but not easy to learn

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/13
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The software is customization to some extent. It can help to ensure that clinical staff are filling in all required documentation, which is nice from a coding and charging perspective. It makes sure that all the required sections are filled in that are needing to bill something.

Cons

It is not an easy program to learn. It also can take a significant amount of time to chart things if your staff is used to being able to write their own notes.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Cross functional amazing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Everyone could use it to serve the patient the best, from in house staff registering and obtain images of id's or insurance information, to providers to document patient's care and keep reports, to billing departments for insurance verification or printing medical reports. It was a 1 stop shop for medical purposes.

Cons

Training was non me, i learned everything on my own. But that could of been a company decision and not a software issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Better data, better care

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2019/01/18
Review Source: Capterra

Continuity of care.

Pros

THe amount of detail available to input and view. All caregivers use the same system and so that information is visible in the same system. I love seeing when PT has walked my patients and how they did if I can't track done the PT, or how a respiratory treatment has gone. This is so helpful in keeping up to date on how all caregivers are viewing the patient, when a one on one visit is not feasible.

Cons

IT takes a while to pick up all the skills needed to use it and adjust to the format, but only because it has so much functionality. So that's natural.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Gets the job done!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/04/07
Review Source: Capterra

All in all it's a good product and I am able to get my work done.

Pros

This program, for the most part is easy to navigate. The layout is fairly simple to follow. I am usually able to accomplish what I need in a days work without worrying about the system booting me out or freezing up.

Cons

I don't like that there are several different ways to do one task. This can make training new hires very difficult and easily confused.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Nicolas D.

Extremely poor value for the money

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/18
Review Source: Capterra

The user experience is completely not user-friendly, often needing ongoing clarification for what are basic searching or to complete basic routine activities. Amazingly poor UX/UI layout, and often confusing. The customer services has been all along a nightmare. For more than two months initially in March 2016 when we wanted to start this system we were forced to keep calling in prescriptions to pharmacies & writing controlled medicines for 5 days because the system wasn't working -and Cerner telling us they didn't know what was the problem. Later on when we were eventually able to e-prescribe non-controlled substances still we were forced to get a NY State waiver for controlled substances because the company couldn't get it resolved in more than a month longer. Worse, they blamed our IT team here when was clear it wasn't the case. This was more frustrating as this was happening while we're busy seen patients. Support was spotty at best, often the IT people been forced to resolve the problems themselves, or improvise, while the agency I'm working was paying Cerner money. Even now (10/18/2016), the e-prescribe system, that claims it has a renewal option for old medications, it doesn't work for controlled substances (some do, some don't) , so many of us have always to re-write as a new prescription all controlled medicines. I'm a psychiatrist but I've also some formal training in UX/UI design, and to write code, so I'm probably better understanding computers than the usual MD, and even for me the system was an impossible crazy task. I also work with other e-prescribe systems in other agencies, and comparing apples to apples, the other systems are much cheaper and much, much better, and very much easier to use. It's amazing how poor service you can get paying big bucks! And here, this is one glaring example. Buyer beware!

Pros

Easier to write progress notes.

Cons

What I wrote about e-prescribe.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Rachael M.

Cerner as EMR

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/06/08
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, it is a pretty intuitive EMR. It was easy to adapt to. It covers all the important aspects an EMR should have.

Pros

I like the note templates it provides, and that it allows you to create your own personal templates and smart phrases. The medication reconciliation feature is also helpful especially for admissions.

Cons

I wish some features were easier to use including patient assessments and I's and O's.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Becca B.

Cerner

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I love cerner - I've worked in multiple hospitals, and Cerner is the easiest, most detailed software for patient care and charting. It is up with the times, easy to navigate, allows the RN to be as detailed as he/she needsto be, it is easy to use, and makes sense.

Cons

I dislike down time, but that's nothing we can really control - it needs to happen, and we adapt.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great Product for Easy Coding

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/05/23
Review Source: Capterra

Because of Cerner EHR we are able to code all types of outpatient charts allowing employees in different functions all to use the same product which allows for less training time.

Pros

This software allows user to easily switch between patient types in the electronic health record and carries over information from other softwares easily.

Cons

The functionality of this software experiences downtime occasionally.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Elana H.

EHR for Hospital

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/18
Review Source: Capterra

I have been happy with utilizing the system overall. It is the system our local hospital uses, so we login to assist in retrieval of records for upcoming appointments.

Pros

I like that I can easily find the information I am looking for in the system.

Cons

I do not care for the several different logins to get into the system. Unless you are at the facility, you have to go through a 3-4 step login process.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10

Sometimes difficult to navigate

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

PowerChart is a comprehensive electronic medical record powered through Cerner. Results and notes can be seen immediately after being posted and is available to all caregivers that have legitimate access.

Cons

It is sometimes difficult to navigate the software. I think the tabs and notes can be better organized for ease of use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Brean W.

Cerner powerchart review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/05
Review Source

Pros

Cerner powerchart is an easy to use system. It is very easy to use and has multiple ways to chart on the same topic- making it very user friendly

Cons

There are many areas of powerchart that are very repetitive and make you chart the same thing multiple times. Med Recs can also be confusing for beginners using this system.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

6.0/10
Rebecca F.

Cerner

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I have worked at many hospital systems, and Powerchart LTC is by far the easiest, most up to date, and simplistic software I have used. It makes sense, allows the provider/RN to be as detailed as they want, and it is easy to navigate.

Cons

no con's. I love Powerchart and I hope my hospital always uses it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10