169 reviews

Dentrix Ascend

Cloud-based dental practice management software

4,2 /5 (169 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,2 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
82%
recommended this app
169 reviews
Greg M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Multi-site infrastructure

Reviewed on 2019/08/23

support, from both my customer success manager, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], as well as the tech support team have made the experience of converting to Ascend easy to manage

Pros

ability to report, review, and manage all offices without having to be on site.

Cons

there are many of my current feature requests included in the road map, but currently i would like to see a marketing campaign tool.

Sonya G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

DENTRIX ASCEND

Reviewed on 2021/02/04

We just short of 2 years using Ascend. While I have gotten used to some of the more burdensome aspects, and it's okay, there are still many aspects that are inefficient and time consuming. Software, especially new "latest and greatest" should make workload easier and more efficient. Overall, Ascend hasn't made things more streamlined and efficient. It is the opposite.

Pros

Being web based is an advantage due to being able to access when out of the office with secure credentials. Occasionally situations arise when contacting patients outside of business hours of off location is important.

Being able to add attachments to claims is easy and I do love this about Ascend, except......

Cons

......Many insurance plans we use are not supported neither in eclaims nor attachments in Ascend. Some plans with multiple payor ids, are only identified in Ascend with one or the wrong payor id altogether, increasing the number of paper claims required. It also not possible to update an employer/group when they change insurance plans, some do this yearly. A brand new group has to be added when this happens. Editing a group makes much more sense.
Too many clicks to do everything, especially printing. Standard reporting is extremely difficult. Building the report needed is time consuming and confusing.
Of all the complicated things you can do with Ascend, electronic billing isn't one of them. Statements have to be printed, stuffed, stamped and mailed. Very time consuming.

Response from Henry Schein One

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you are finding the anytime, anywhere access to be helpful. Especially since the start of the pandemic, Dentrix Ascend users have commented on how this has been very helpful. We appreciate the feedback on insurance plans and reporting, and we will look into the areas you mentioned. Regarding statements, you do have the option to send them electronically, and they arrive by the customer's preferred method: text or email. You can learn more about electronic statements in the online help or give our Support team a call.

Bevin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dentrix Ascend review

Reviewed on 2019/08/24

overall i like the product but correcting the accounting issues is something that is very frustrating and would possibly cause our practice to return to Dentrix

Pros

like that its cloud based and always evolving with updates as users make recommendations to improve. I like that I can access it anywhere.

Cons

I do not like the line item accounting and that credits can not be left on the ledger without affecting provider totals. A/R from previous months changes based on patient over-payments. We have all our fee schedules in and we do write offs at time of service /claim generation but there are still instances where we have over-collected and the only way to have the adjustment for the patient over-payment is to put the EOB in as insurance over-payment which is not accurate or refund the patient directly when the EOB is received, which is not practical

Elizabeth C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent move from server-based Dentrix

Reviewed on 2018/11/09

Before using Ascend, we were constantly having server and networking problems. There was no telling what morning we would come in and have a problem accessing our PMS. It happened so frequently that when we finally had our server crash, we jumped on the opportunity to upgrade to a cloud based program. Although using Ascend is a complete change from using Dentrix, we became familiar with the new program within a few weeks and have never looked back! It was the best choice we ever made!

Pros

I love that the software makes regular updates that I don't have to download and apply myself. The ease of having our program available on different devices like an iPad makes it extremely convenient. Ascend is highly user friendly, if you can use a webpage, you can use the program. I also love not ever having to worry about an access problem when I have an issue with the server!

Cons

There are some features not available. There aren't as many options to change settings for individual practices as there are in server based programs. It was difficult to get used to using only one module at a time; ie: I can't have the ledger open on one person and look the chart at the same time.

Dorca P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keeping it real-

Reviewed on 2019/05/03

Our team just got onboard with the online booking feature and it seems to reaching those hard to reach recare patients, which is great.

Pros

As a first time dental software user, I am pleased with the interface and ease of navagating through Dentrix Ascend. I love that they are constantly updating and bringing new features to Ascend that are specific requests of most of their customer base. They go above and beyond hearing and addressing our needs as the consumer.

Cons

What areas of improvement I feel are needed, having the ability to change an insurance from primary to secondary and visa versa without using so many clicks and steps. Also having the ability to print detailed receipts for specific collections, more specifically for Flexible Spending and End of year tax statements. Otherwise, perfect system.

Ron S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Mostly there

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

I love the portability, however, the interface with iPhone isn’t quite 100% and the chrome book interface stopped working altogether. The reports are too customizable and need to just have more basic reports to choose from rather than making us build the entire thing ourselves.

Pros

It is great that it is cloud based and easy to access and the updates happen often to improve use.

Cons

Because it’s cloud based, the response time can be slow. Especially the imaging. Also the reports are way too confusing

Jazmine S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Product With Room to Grow

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

Ascend has been a great improvement to our office. It allows us to keep patient records, images, appointments, accounts, insurance tracking, etc. all in one place that is accessible even when we are not in office. We have remote employees and the ability for them to be able to work off-site while still having access to the information they need has been a huge help.

Pros

The software has a lot of capabilities and is very useful. The fact that it's cloud based is wonderful for convenience and accessibility when we're not in the office.

Cons

As with most newer programs, is a work in progress. It has it's limitations like any program but with that being said, they are always taking user input and continuously bringing out updates that cater the the needs of their user base and their customer service is particularly good.

Scott V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Ascend is Great

Reviewed on 2018/12/04

Before Dentrix we were a six office company, with six individual servers. They had no ability to communicate/share patient info. So we operated like six small offices. Ascend has allowed us to operate as one company, with six offices. For anyone looking to have a firm grasp of the business side of your business, Ascend is the software for you.

Pros

Ascend is easy to use, and very reliable. The reporting capabilities go above and beyond what you need, especially if you are a multi-location operation. And the fact that it is cloud based means you don't need to invest in servers or a lot of infrastructure. All you need is an internet connection.

Cons

Only small drawback is there is no lab case management feature, yet.

Jenna R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dentirx

Reviewed on 2019/08/14

Its been great! The tech support is great as well.

Pros

I love that you can make suggestions to the program and you actually see those come into fruition.

Cons

Most of my complaints were addressed and the software was eventually updated to fix the "cons".

Candice P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Premier

Reviewed on 2019/06/14

Pros

I love the fact that I can easily switch between different locations. As a manager I can see anything that’s going on in any of my offices within a couple clicks.

Cons

Dentrix ascend is missing some of the key components of traditional dentrix. Example time clock, lab tracking, better security features, closing out months,

James T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dentrix Review

Reviewed on 2019/08/07

Pros

I like how everything is close by; x-rays, ledger, history, notes, all of it is easy to go back and forth. Very user friendly.

Cons

I think maybe there could be some changes made to the calendar, to move people around easier, like dragging an appt. Otherwise, I am happy with it.

Megan P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Ascend

Reviewed on 2019/08/09

Pros

The software is always changing. If it seems like it is not working they will just keep updating to make it better.

Cons

When we first started it was a lot of extra steps to do a simple thing like printing but it has gotten easier and you get used to it.

Alex J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The three A's

Reviewed on 2019/02/15

Pros

AMAZING because its easy to use, AUTOMATION for pt communication, forms, claims and more. AMEND for always updating w/ new & easier to use features.

Cons

Dose not let us allocate pt portion before procedures are completed.

Jr D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Owner

Reviewed on 2018/11/16

Moved from both CURVE and G4 --- upgrade to both...

Pros

Cloud based, use on mobile devices, data available (report writer could be easier),

Cons

To many clicks to accomplish tasks, report writer is not easy (need meta data), communication out of office is lacking, need to be able to link collections (timing), to original production day (ie lagged analysis), need reports on utilization of ops

Sheila D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dentrix Ascend Review

Reviewed on 2019/03/01

Pros

It’s relatively easy to learn and it’s cloud based so no in office server required

Cons

The day sheet reports don’t allow you to easily see and print all production and collection for a specific provider

Heather M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love all features of Ascend!

Reviewed on 2018/11/16

Pros

Easy to use, always has the best updates, support always quickly answers your questions and resolves any issues we might have---if they don't know they find out and get back to you fast!

Cons

No cons as of right now. We have been using Ascend since June and now have 6 of our locations on board. Things that have been some what of a con are things that will be implemented soon! (One thing is sending out patient letter electronically, statements electronically, pin board etc.)

David B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great Practice management system

Reviewed on 2018/11/16

Pros

Clean software package without the "mess" of traditional server based softwares. No upgrade headaches, easy access wherever you are, and a steady pace of additional development. Also very good support.

Cons

Still growing some functions and connections to other software tools.

Regina A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

No need for anything else !

Reviewed on 2019/04/05

Love it !

Pros

Always improving and adding new features. All in one software

Cons

Pre-authorization tracking would be nice but everything else is great.

Paul G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product

Reviewed on 2018/11/09

Okay. It works

Pros

Cloud based makes it easy for me to access away from the office

Cons

Reports are confusing The interactive part is especially difficult to use

Keegan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dentrix Experience

Reviewed on 2016/04/21

Pros

Dentrix offers a lot of ways of tracking treatment and patients. I love that it is so user friendly.

Cons

I don't feel like the product has any down falls at this time. I think it would be fun if is had more graphics and maybe the bubble communication worked a little better. I also think it would be great if there was a better way to do alternate links.

Jeff S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dentrix Ascend - Easy to Use and Scalable

Reviewed on 2018/12/07

Pros

ease of use
Scalable - we have added multiple locations
Lots of features bundled in.
Saves money from buying multiple services. The bundle approach is a good value

Cons

would want a better calendaring system
Some add on services are not best in class

Mariana C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good but sill needs improvement

Reviewed on 2019/09/06

Overall very good but needs updates and improvements.

Pros

Cloud based product was a must. Very easy to navigate.

Cons

Lacks all the functionalities from original Dentrix. Needs better reports, more options.

Sam B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Way to basic..

Reviewed on 2018/07/22

Pros

It was pretty easy to learn, because there is not much to it. The program is very basic and other than sending the electronic claims, and charting patients, its pretty much useless. It is missing many features that are "being reviewed" or "coming in the future" but that doesn't help us in the present. So if you need zero features... you might be interested.

Cons

Honestly... just about everything it does could use some upgrading. I could go on and on about what it doesn't do. We are switching software in our office. You can't run a successful business with this software.

Mckenzie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Peoduct

Reviewed on 2019/08/23

Benifits of having all pt info in one system

Pros

Easy accesability, easy to learn the ropes of this product.

Cons

No cons to this product, very well pleased with the usage of this software.

Debbie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dentrix Practice Management

Reviewed on 2017/08/11

Pros

Integration. I would say Dentrix is hands down the best dental practice management software. It integrates well with the front desk, business and clinical aspects.