LabCollector Reviews

LabCollector

Laboratory data and information management software

4.4/5 (17 reviews)
I B.

very good database for LabManagement

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/09/01
Review Source: Capterra

We started using this Software 3 years ago for all the Groups in our Department, we use it for cells in LN, reagents in freezers, slides, equipment (pipettes, instruments, etc...), plasmids, and General documents (SOPs).

Pros

Very easy to adapt to your needs, you can have separate databases belonging to single Groups, very flexible System. Good support.

Cons

It can get very slow if you add too many records to 1 single module, we have 1 with 6000 records and it is a bit too slow. The Import of tubes through a box Reader should be improved (we have the scanner but do not use it), it is complicated to Import big data from another database.

Response from AgileBio LLC

Thank you for your review. We love to hear how we can improve LabCollector for our clients.

Since LabCollector v5.2 an improved indexing allows a much faster database support. LabCollector supports this way big databases with over 100 000 records for one module. Another point of interest considering LabCollector speed, it is the server capacity by having your LabCollector on your local server. We offer servers with high capacities such as Virtual private server as well as dedicated servers.

Another improvement of version 5.2 is the import from Excel/CSV files! This has been improved making it simpler to import and new import tools are under progress.

Batch Sample Tool is a free tool in LabCollector to import from any rack reader into LabCollector. We are compatible with any scanner brand using our direct connector ScanServer.

Keep tuned as we keep making better versions every days!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Linda G.

Very useful lab software well worth its price

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

We wanted to implement an ELN in a start-up comany so we were looking for a program which is not too comprehensive but reasonably priced. Nevertheless, we were happy to find out that LabCollector is much more than just an ELN. It has repleaced not only hand-written lab books but also several spreadsheets at our company. The modular structure of the software is optimal for us as we can have the features which we really need and not pay for others which we would never use. It is also an advantage for a small company that you don't need to have your own server.

Pros

LabCollector makes the organization of the lab much more transparent and efficient compared to spreadsheets and hand-written lab books. It is definitely worth the extra energy you have to put into it at the beginning to set up your system. In addition, good documentation also adds value to our products.
Furthermore, Agilebio offers excellent customer support.

Cons

There are some bugs in the program but if you report them to the developers they will try to fix them or at least they will suggest you a way to solve your problem.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
C G.

Laboratory Organisation

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/09/02
Review Source: Capterra

LabCollector is an outstanding tool and since many years has become a critical tool in the daily routine of my laboratory. We use it extensively, not only taking advantage of the existing pre-defined modules but also through customization. The frequent updates constantly keep bringing new features and easy of use, so we look forward to go even deeper into using LabCollector, as it really frees our time for what really matters: research!

Pros

- possibility for customization
- frequent updates
- User Support

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Laurent T.

Efficient development for a specific use in biobanking

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/09/15
Review Source: Capterra

We had a limited time to develop a system fitting our specific needs for biobanking animal samples, with a limited amount of money. The Agilebio team of developers made a proposition cheaper than we initially expected by using their already developed modules and linking them to build an efficient system that fully fits our needs.
Even years after the initial development, they are still very responsive when I need updates.

Pros

Easy to administer; many modules that can be activated upon your needs; addition of personal fields at no cost; very stable; a single entry for all the laboratory activities

Cons

The animal module cannot replace a dedicated animal management system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Jean P.

We spent years searching for a tool like LabCollector

Reviewed on 2012/02/14
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive experience. This product has managed to fill a niche between desktop biobanking solutions and enterprise-class LIMS systems. It is a great LIMS that meets the needs of many academic research groups, institutes, and biotech companies.

Pros

We spent years looking for a decent sample management software. Some of the key requirements that LC meet include:
- web-based solution
- software that could be implemented in house instead of being hosted by a third party.
- no per user licensing fee

LC goes beyond this set of requirements. There are a number of modules for managing other aspects of a lab operation beyond simply tracking samples. LC is progressively becoming a central hub of all our laboratory information.

The use of a standard database (MySQL) makes it possible to access the data without going through the user interface when needed.

Customer support is top notch. They are extremely responsive and helpful. We really feel that we get a personal attention.

Cons

It is not always obvious to understand how the different modules complement each other. We had to develop our in house policies regarding the use of LC modules.
The software is encrypted. We would prefer to have access to the source code so that we can better integrate this tool with our other informatics resources.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Amanda V.

Good bang for your buck but runs slow

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

My team really likes using this software. We use it daily to monitor all growth of cells and cultures in the lab. It organizes our SOPs, makes it easy to find them and update as needed. It tracks all of this very easily. We are encouraged to even use it as an electronic lab book though some would prefer a paper notebook. This makes it easy to reference info or share notes between team members. The price for the software is reasonable.

Cons

The more we add into the software, the slower it gets. We're finding that it gets a bit bogged down with content. We've encountered a few bugs or glitches which we reported to the developers. They seem responsive and willing to fix things which is great.

Response from AgileBio

Thank you for the feedback. In terms of performance, LabCollector can handle hundreds of thousands of records. It has been recently improved with an option for database optimization that can be activated in the Admin>Setup menu. Just contact our support in case of unusual slow speed. Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Martin S.

LabCollector in the Biotech Space

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/06
Review Source: Capterra

We have 10 users of LabCollector in our business and we have been using it for about 9 months. We have had some custom training while we have been moving from a paper-based system to an electronic system. The improved functionality and the ease of sharing between people is already evident. The improved productivity levels in the laboratory are also noticeable. In a short space of time we are already noticing that the increase in ease of work and productivity is such that we would never revert to anything other than an electronic system. The benefits apply not only to the LIM system but also we are obtaining enormous benefit from the ELN add-on. We are also investigating the purchase of additional add-ons to support our 10 user LabCollector licence.

Pros

Ease of use and improved productivity

Cons

It takes a bit of time to get to understand the software and to become a capable user

Response from AgileBio

Thank you for your feedback. Do not hesitate to reach out if you need assistance finding a feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Nicholas H.

Great for laboratory management!

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/25
Review Source: Capterra

All in all, a great product. If you have any issues, customer service is happy to help or provide instruction to make the software work for you. Updates keep the platform running rather smoothly, and a free trial offer will let you see if it is a good fit for your lab.

Pros

There are lots of customization options so that you can make this product fit your particular lab. This software is very easy to use, and can make lab inventory transparent and efficient. There are also updates that come out quite often that add to your options! Customer service is very supportive as well.

Cons

There are some moments where the software can seem to slow down, but this seems to be being addressed with recent updates.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Olivier josh C.

Lab management made easy

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/04/03
Review Source: Capterra

Much better than spreadsheets. Very organized and highly recommended.

Pros

As a researcher, Labcollector has helped our laboratory in organizing data sets and files that need to be stored and used later. Inventory management is also a plus. The efficiency of the software is also worth noting in terms of its immense functionality.

Cons

None at the moment. We have been using it for almost 6 months now, and so far it has been great.

Response from AgileBio

Thank you for using. We appreciate your review and we feel rewarded from all these years developing the tool. Feel free to reach out with any suggestion you may have so we continue to better serve you. Check soon our new version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Federico B.

LABCOLLECTOR as an effective repository of information

Reviewed on 2015/08/28
Review Source: Capterra

We have implemented LabCollector in our organization in order to have a common place and manage information regarding Strains, Plasmids etc...
We found this solution an excellent compromise between cost and functionalities.
Every module can be customized by adding custom fields which reflect the need of your organization.
We've been very satisfied of the support and the 'customizations' which we asked to develop for us
Pro's
- good ratio quality/price
- easy to administer by non-professional IT people
- simple web interface

Con's
- still various bugs present which need to be fixed
- queries across modules difficult to setup
- not possible to customize the layout of pre-defined forms

We are convinced of the future potential of LabCollector because of the capacity of implementing customer requests. However more strict beta-testing phases should be implemented before a new feature is released.

Response from AgileBio LLC

Thanks for the review Federico

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Stefan V.

LabCollector for managing assays

Reviewed on 2012/02/13
Review Source: Capterra

Good. I would advise this software to every lab that needs to manage assays and samples. We don't regret the purchase of this piece of software.

Pros

LabCollector (track-IT) was installed and implemented quite fast in our lab. Setting up the software is easy and straight forward. We attached the software to a tubesorter from Micronic and did some custom development in the software. This took some time and effort but at the end we are quite satisfied.

Cons

Software is full of features that we don't use (at this moment) but can be hidden. We had to purchase licenses for an additional database to separate assays from samples. The security isn't top notch at this moment. Also the GUI is sometimes clutterd and nog very pleasing on the eyes.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Must have for laboratory management

Used Other for Free Trial
Reviewed on 2019/01/24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We started using LabCollector a few years ago and this was the best decision. Transferring from hand-written lab notebooks and spreadsheets to LabCollector was a convinient way to keep the lab running smoothly.

Cons

Sometimes it is slow, but overall it is useful tool for scientific lab.

Response from AgileBio

Thank you for your feedback. Speed/performance can be influenced by the type of server/PC hosting the application. Do not hesitate to contact us to find ways of improvment. There is also a database optimization option in the setup menu.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Laurent B.

LABCOLLECTOR is an effective colleague!

Reviewed on 2014/04/11
Review Source: Capterra

I use LABCOLLECTOR since 2010 for samples like DNA, RNA, tissues, primers, bacteria, cells, embryos, enzymes... and i followed all the nice evolutions of this database. I just have one advice to give : do not only think to store your samples but also to find them out in the future. For that, if you associate the database and the electronic labnotebook (ELN), you have a very effective tool to follow your experiments, the samples generated and where they are stored.
I really appreciate the customer service as they always respond to specific requests and try to find solutions. LabCollector becomes then a database adapted to its clients.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Sadiqur R.

Dont buy Their Product , They are fraud.

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/09/14
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We bought this product April 2018. They told us , they are going to customize some option. But When they got paid , they stop communicate with us. After that they haven't contact us

Cons

They are scam, Dont buy their product. They are super cheater

Response from AgileBio

Thank you for your feedback. Our support team always helps when there is request for it. For sure you failed to follow proper communication channels and that can lead to lack of response. Our 16 years in business and the 900+ clients can testimony that your feedback is totally not the norm. Please contact us if you need help instead of writing these nonsense comments.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

0.0/10
Davide D.

LabCollector

Reviewed on 2012/02/10
Review Source: Capterra

Well designed and realiable

Pros

Well designed and realiable

Cons

Reagents and supply module allows "Storage Location" choice but not the cjoice of the box, nor the position within the box. A number of biochemicals product are small vials stored in 10x10 crio-boxes.

Page formatting and cut-and-paste in ELN module is troublesome.

Response from AgileBio LLC

You can use the secondary storage in the reagents and supplies module to store your products on the appropriate equipment, box and choose the position.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Dimitri P.

Labcollector as a basis for development of custom software

Reviewed on 2015/07/09
Review Source: Capterra

labcollector is a good start for building a custom application needing a database system. Labcollector contains already a lot of nice features which give the final application additional functionalities and a rich interface with a lot of possibilities.
using labcollector as a basis reduced our development time and needed resources

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer

Prolific for labwork documentation

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/01/09
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Labcollector is an excellent notebook web software I use for my laboratory instruction classes. It is easy to learn for first time users, which makes it versatile to use in the classes.

Cons

Nothing negative to report about Labcollector.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10