Autotask PSA Reviews

Autotask PSA

IT Business Management Software Platform

Overall rating

4,3 /5
(131)
Value for Money
4,0/5
Features
4,2/5
Ease of Use
3,9/5
Customer Support
4,1/5

82%
recommended this app
Sort by

131 Reviews

Sarah
Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

AutoTask is Absolutely Wonderful Product

Reviewed on 2018/12/06

You can keep track of open, closed tickets. You can set different categories for your tickets with...

You can keep track of open, closed tickets. You can set different categories for your tickets with different priories and urgency. It lets you search by company name, contact or even ticket number. Within the tickets themselves you can create ticket, templates, link computers by name, categories by different issues, hardware, software etc, also the notes section and add attachments is great. I love this site

Pros

This is a multi use site. We manage multiple companies and it organizes it perfectly.

Cons

Sometimes it goes down during maintenance or a glitch, otherwise good

Bruce
Bruce
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Amazingly comprehensive managed services

Reviewed on 2018/07/11

The AutoTask \ Datto AEM software is one of the best RMM products we've used. We originally were...

The AutoTask \ Datto AEM software is one of the best RMM products we've used. We originally were looking to swap to something from Hounddog when it was expensive years ago and this did everything HoundDog \ GFI Max did but much cheaper and that was just on the monitoring side of things.

It also added, remote management, auditing, bulk updates, patch management, reporting, which we weren't getting from Hounddog and we've been with AutoTask ever since. Each time we look to replace it with another RMM tool, when we compare the features and the price per device we just can't beat it.

Pros

Ridiculously low resource footprint
Easy to add devices for management
The amount of detailed information you get from the auditing is amazing
Push out deployments in bulk

Cons

The inbuilt reporting is being massively improved over the next few months \ iterations, as currently it leaves something to be desired. There's a huge wealth of auditing data that is captured by the software but you can't easily pull this out. Sure you can filter devices by the info, but to actually pull a report, its painful.

3rd party patch management is also something they're working on developing further as there are competitors out there who do it much better.

Pablo
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It's a leading PSA that needs work

Reviewed on 2018/03/22

Pros

The integration of multiple components (sales, ticketing, RMM, leads, quotes) is nice to have and is ideal in today's world where managed services providers need all innone solutions

Cons

Every feature unfortunately seems half baked. Some examples of this are: There is no direct integration with quoting resellers like Ingram to get sales data (unless you buy a 3P module such as QuoteWerks), deleting tickets is a colossal nightmare which can't be done via their API. Their APIs in general are fairly poor as they don't let you do basic functions such as deleting configurations or tickets, setting a ticket creator or setting the name of the person that is doing a note or comment (these features are only available via their email gateway or through the portal itself. There is no ability to truly lock down a user account, help desk users are able to pull reports of other members utilization and work being performed even if they are not queue owners.

Justin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Autotask is great!

Reviewed on 2023/08/23

Overall, autotask is awesome. I highly recommend to tech teams that need help with customer...

Overall, autotask is awesome. I highly recommend to tech teams that need help with customer management and ticket visibility.

Pros

Autotask makes it easy to keep track of customers, contracts, tickets, and all communication to and from a customer. The portals make ticket queues simple to manage.

Cons

I do feel like Autotask could have a bit more automation and integrations. An SMS tool would be nice.

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise ScreenConnect
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Used this program for two years as the department service management system. I was named a...

Reviewed on 2018/06/12

Was able to fill the service management needs of a large field service division.

Was able to fill the service management needs of a large field service division.

Pros

Had a wide variety of modules and a solid work flow engine. Made appropriate recommendations for additional and followup actions. Front end was a intuitive GUI .

Cons

Work flow engine made decisions that could not be easily reversed. Constantly opened asset tracking modules contrary to our data collection strategies. Unable to integrate material purchasing and reporting software hence autotask produced invoices that had to be exception ed out of inventory. Accounting software engine was based on quick books hence it was never able to integrate with the one write enterprise accounting software. Independent financial auditors were not willing to verify accuracy of the spread sheet nature of the accounting software. Our work around was to abandon the accounting module, AutoTask did not give a refund.

Joe
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

After 6 months of use still not working

Reviewed on 2022/03/26

Horrible

Horrible

Pros

Seemed to have a lot of potential because of the integration with datto RMM but after 8 months never worked properly.

Cons

The integration with Datto RMM did not work properly tickets not being created, sometimes slow and issues when logging in to the portal. Had to give up since I wasted too much time with support to try to get it resolved.

Alternatives Considered

SolarWinds Service Desk

Reasons for Switching to Autotask PSA

Seemed to have a lot of features that I can use like ticketing integration with Datto RMM and Datta backup.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We love Autotask PSA!

Reviewed on 2018/02/05

Ease of use, and productivity for the staff. Mobile app makes it easy for people to get their...

Ease of use, and productivity for the staff. Mobile app makes it easy for people to get their notes in.

Pros

Everything integrates really well. The techs can easily put in their time entries, and the software exports to QuickBooks very nicely. It also has an internal invoicing system which we use and love. It's hard to go wrong with Autotask.

Cons

The reporting functionality is amazing, but it has a very steep learning curve. I wish reporting was more drag/drop or more logical. I'm sure it's great once you know it, but many times when playing around you don't get exactly what you expect from reports.

Harry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good product value rate

Reviewed on 2023/08/08

always available SAAS solution, very good qualified helpdesk

always available SAAS solution, very good qualified helpdesk

Pros

easy to use and implementFull of features and self-designable dashboards and workflows

Cons

it's so full of features that makes it hard to decide where and at what stage in implementing you should start using them

Hesham Gomaa Elmasry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very easy project scheduler app

Reviewed on 2019/07/04

Very productive project management app especially, the scheduling and the reporting part

Very productive project management app especially, the scheduling and the reporting part

Pros

It avails a very productive and professional dashboard, it organizes huge communications on tickets and projects very easy, it facilitates in-line scheduling for phases and related tasks very easy, it allows customize very productive reports and you can schedule when you need to receive these reports automatically.

Cons

We sometimes face problems with the integration with Autotasks APIs, as sometimes it works and sometimes not.

Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Autotask PSA / CRM is a very feature-rich product

Reviewed on 2018/06/21

Pros

Central client management, which integrates well with dispatch and scheduling. Billing and contracts are also managed by Autotask. It's a central area to basically manage all of your clients, from their demographics and contact info, to their contract types, to time-entries for the techs and finally invoicing

Cons

It can be confusing to learn the system, since there is so much there. It's best to have certain employees focus on certain aspects of the service.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Solid solution with lots of integrations

Reviewed on 2021/07/15

Overall Autotask has been a solid solution for our MSP. As we grow, we continually discover...

Overall Autotask has been a solid solution for our MSP. As we grow, we continually discover features within the PSA that we didn't know we had and/or needed. This has helped keep our costs down since we don't have to add additional toolsets from other vendors.

Pros

Autotask PSA allows us to handle much of our work from a single platform. Their extensive integration with vendors allows us to quickly link to items, such as asset details, directly from the service ticket. The integration with distributors helps with contract management, as purchased licenses with the vendor automatically get added to the service contract in Autotask.

Cons

The design feels dated and not as intuitive as other solutions we've tried and in spite of several new releases, the overall UI doesn't appear to be changing.

Hesham Gomaa Elmasry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very effective ticketing and project management tool

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

Pros

Ticketing with Autotask saving a lot of time and efforts, it facilitates the communication between all stakeholders including our clients, allows internal notes on the ticket controls what the client can see and what is not, adding user defined fields allows us to generate more meaningful reports related to our business and our needs.

Managing projects is very productive with Autotask, as I can create a project and add some phases, and for each phase I can add what ever required tasks with a very effective hierarchy, also it updates the phase's status automatically when all related tasks completed.

It has a very powerful dashboard to list all project's status and other very helpful statistics, also the recent feature saves a lot of time searching for the same issue or ticket I just opened from a while.

It is very reliable, bugs free, has no performance issues an with a very good and friendly UI.

Cons

Why there is no feature to generate Project management charts like, network diagrams, WBS, Gantt charts from the current open projects?

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Autotask psa for MSP's

Reviewed on 2020/02/07

Proffessional services automation and control

Proffessional services automation and control

Pros

It controls the whole business from tickets to Accounting and getting paid. COntrolling stock, organising engineers, it runs our whole business

Cons

It is quite expensive but i do think that for the benefits we couldnt live without it really (Dont tell AT they might put our prices up)

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise ScreenConnect and Auvik

Reasons for Choosing Autotask PSA

AUtotask was MUCH better

Reasons for Switching to Autotask PSA

Leader in its field
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Just OK

Reviewed on 2022/05/23

As a MSP you need to have one. The client facing ticket portal is unusable. The KB section makes it...

As a MSP you need to have one. The client facing ticket portal is unusable. The KB section makes it hard to add images.

Pros

It is a mature product. Has many features.

Cons

Hard to use. Has made few improvements over the years. The RMM (owned by same company) integration is basic.

Alternatives Considered

ConnectWise Automate

Reasons for Switching to Autotask PSA

Not many choices at the time.
Dan
Dan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Autotask does a lot of things. Many really well.

Reviewed on 2021/03/02

Overall, this is a great system for managing a busy tech company, and I recommend it for anyone who...

Overall, this is a great system for managing a busy tech company, and I recommend it for anyone who bills based on time spent with clients.

Pros

I manage my clients and my team through the PSA. Trouble-tickets are great, the queues are all very versatile and easy to manage. We have automated alerts, calls, and client-submitted tickets and screenshots all populating to an active queue.

Cons

The "Site Configuration" and basic details of each site could be a lot better organized. Right now, if you want to store a bunch of passwords or configuration details of any one site, it can be cumbersome and difficult to find what you need. Similarly, attached pictures or other attachments for the clients can be tough to find.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

CRM, Time tracking, Support management made easy

Reviewed on 2022/06/08

We successfully manage most aspects of our MSP business using Autotask. The entire workflow from...

We successfully manage most aspects of our MSP business using Autotask. The entire workflow from incoming requests, time tracking, resource management, contract management, ending with an API workflow to our billing system.

Pros

From an MSP perspective, this product functions as a CRM, time tracking/management, contract management, and ticket system. You can manage all aspects of an MSP business here with billing integrations available to close the loop.

Cons

It can be a bit difficult to get started, but this is more of a business process issue as opposed to a product issue. If you have defined your workflow and processes you can translate them easily into this product.

Sunil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Insufficient

Reviewed on 2021/11/06

Implementation is not simple, Cost to Use Ratio is not good.
Confusion becomes high when you need...

Implementation is not simple, Cost to Use Ratio is not good.
Confusion becomes high when you need to use so many different software to accomplish a smooth working environment.

Pros

Onsite Support: you can get customer signature for the work performed on mobile phone.
Can refer back to the service tickets if they are filled accurately each time.

Cons

Does not provide a good Calendar view for Work distribution and management (It is crucial)
Purchased it thinking we will be able to use it as CRM as well. Very basic CRM unusable.
Gets expensive as you grow your team.

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Autotask PSA Review

Reviewed on 2022/08/12

Very good, nice team, easy to talk to, does everything we need to and some more.

Very good, nice team, easy to talk to, does everything we need to and some more.

Pros

All in one facility/features bar exception of a RMM, but that is another product also provided and integrates so all good.
Designed for our industry.

Cons

Cost, maybe some archaic features that could be better.
Report feature needs a degree to understand, "everything extra" costs.

Tarun
Tarun
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quality platform for the Support Ticket lifecycle.

Reviewed on 2019/05/26

Pros

The user interface is information rich yet friendly and easy to navigate. It allows wide customization of the widgets and workflows can be setup to automate much of the process. This is a great tool for anyone providing support or managed services.

Cons

The email-to-ticket functionality is limited, and we ended up making our own development to integrate to AT. It is recommended for someone to champion the implementation from the user side, to assist with administration and understand all that there is to learn about Autotask.

Ben
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

It gets the job done

Reviewed on 2018/03/05

Out of the box, it has a lot going for it. But the setup time is not short.
It's great for getting...

Out of the box, it has a lot going for it. But the setup time is not short.
It's great for getting quick access to information about your customers, tickets, billings, etc.

Pros

It's industry specific, so it has a lot going for it. We need something that is already designed for our industry so we could hit the ground running.

Cons

It's cumbersome and pricey. The per user price is not cheap.
We are starting to outgrow it. We regular have needs to go outside of what the built in limitations are of different modules with no options to expand.

Bart
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

HaarmanB ICT's review

Reviewed on 2023/08/08

Pros

feautureset, ease of use, automation using Workflow Rules

Cons

WYSIWYG user interface of template building. I use an external HTML-editor to create, modify and preview the HTML code

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great user interface and the functionality of this software is superior

Reviewed on 2018/12/18

We can multi task using the autotask dash board,this allows us to manage all aspects of the service...

We can multi task using the autotask dash board,this allows us to manage all aspects of the service desk including the financial spectrum of the business. This program is a vital part of our day to day routine and we would be lost without it.

Pros

I really like the interface of the website and the depth of functionalty to assist running a service desk is really great. Superior software for the price.

Cons

No cons that I can think of. I highly recommend this product.

Richard
Richard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Poorly implemented

Reviewed on 2021/01/06

The program is primitive, poorly laid out and definitely not user friendly. The latest upgrade as...

The program is primitive, poorly laid out and definitely not user friendly. The latest upgrade as far as I can tell was a step backwards for efficiency.
I am not sure who codes this program but they have never set foot in a working environment and for something to be useful that is an experience that is a must.

Pros

The concept is sound and the fields are useful.

Cons

The windows are not laid out in an efficient manner.

Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Alright Autotask PSA

Reviewed on 2023/02/14

Pros

We use Autotask for our ticketing system. It is overall pretty good with some quirks. Time entries are built into ticket notes so that is helpful.

Cons

To get user privileges correct takes trial and error. Also, most of the time when there is a major update Autotask crashes for a while.

Emily
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Autotask

Reviewed on 2021/04/29

I used Autotask on a daily basis for over four years.

I used Autotask on a daily basis for over four years.

Pros

I like how customizable the dashboards and widgets could be. Also, the Global Notes Search has been a lifesaver on more than one occasion.

Cons

Sometimes there were too many options when trying to run reports that I couldn't figure out how to get exactly what I wanted.