RentWorks Reviews

RentWorks

Car rental software with front counter and back office tools

4.6/5 (116 reviews)
Andrew C.

Over a decade with good results.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

We've been using RentWorks for over a decade and it handles all of our automotive rental contracts, and many aspects of our fleet management and offers great reporting. The interface feels out of date and the workflow is sometimes unintuitive or convoluted, but the customer service reps are good at walking us through how to most effectively work with it when we have questions. Integrated credit card processing is available (through Element/Vantiv), which saves the work of running separate credit card terminals and simplifies PCI compliance and tokenization of cards so that additional charges/credits can be easily processed when vehicles are returned or extended. Updates are released once a year or more, usually with bug fixes and some new features. We evaluate the various software options every couple years and keep finding RentWorks to be the best value and fit for our operations.

Pros

The price is right. The reporting engine is good and the fleet management features work well for our needs across 3 locations. We've been working with their web API for a while and with any luck, we'll have online reservations working through our website soon. (They also have a turn-key web reservation system available if you don't need extensive customization.) As the software is under constant development, there is a chance to have your feedback lead to actual changes in upcoming software releases (to the extent your requests are in line with their development goals).

Cons

User interface design is a frustratingly low priority. If a feature can technically be said to "work," it won't typically merit the additional development time to integrate it cleanly. The whole interface is designed at a fixed 1024x768 resolution (the same resolution supported by my IBM PS/2 back in 1994) which feels pretty inefficient, requiring simple tasks (eg. checking out a car) to be broken into 6 or more screens that need to be tabbed back and forth between. The print engine is ancient and horrible in every way conceivable. There is no simple installer package, so software installs are unnecessarily complicated and error-prone enough that the company suggests having their customer support log in remotely to install the web client on each computer themselves for a cost.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Andrew ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Chris C.

RentWorks does it all.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

My company has been using Rent Works for as long as I can remember. They tried a couple other programs, and kept switching, unsatisfied with them until they found RentWorks.
RentWorks makes things so simple. Booking and scheduling rentals, damages and repairs, billing. It handles everything you need to run a car rental company.
Their support staff are top notch. Put in a support ticket, and someone is usually on the phone with you within 10 minutes taking care of your problem.
There is a bit of a learning curve with RentWorks, which is to be expected from such a powerful program, but the great thing is they offer excellent training, online, and in person.
I doubt you'll ever find a better solution for car rentals.

Pros

It handles everything when it comes to car rentals. You don't need a separate program for tracking damages and claims, or repairs.
There is a report for just about anything you could think of.

Cons

It doesnt maximize the window.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Chris ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Elizabeth S.

work with a great group

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

I like to work with you guy you alway solve most of the problems the only thing that i think that you have to get better if that if a problem can not be solve because is a buck that you put it in a list and try to getted fix in the next update or the closes update because some of the buck remains as that and it seems that no one is getting like a follow of that particular buck. But is really nice to work with a group that always try to solve our problems

Pros

that is friendly

Cons

some camps the permissions are all or nothing and it will be best that allow to make specific permission in some icons

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Elizabeth ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Jason J.

Rental Manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Everyone is friendly when you call. The staff has always been helpful in any situation. They have worked w/ me on the easy stuff and they do not make me feel like an idiot on simple fixes. I've stumped them before on troublesome issues and they stuck w/ it until the problem was solved. I would like to give a Big Thank you to the rep in Nashville for always helping me w/ a touch of friendly Southern charm and speaking to me at a level that is easily understood.

Pros

It's Easy, Fast, and can be customized.

Cons

The fact that the Unit # does not show on the payments Screen and that there is no EASY WAY to just go back once you have submitted print.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Jason ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Sabrina R.

better than the rest!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Our company has used RentWorks for going on 13 years now. We couldn't be happier with them. The Customer Service is above excellent. It is refreshing to be treated like no matter how big or small your company is, you have value! Also nice that when you call for a problem, they take care of super fast, explain what or why and never make you feel bad for it. I have worked for other companies that have other rental programs and I would never want to go back! Thanks, Bluebird!

Pros

that it is all inclusive for every aspect of our business

Cons

sometimes, I have to really search on where or how to run some reports

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Sabrina ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Michael W.

Excellent Customer Service

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

I have been a satisfied Bluebird customer for 20 years. Over these years, I have found their customer service to exceed my expectations. Another thing that makes them a leader in the auto rental software is their commitment to continually update their software. The car rental industry is constantly changing and they stay on top of these changes. They accomplish this by keeping in touch with their customers and listening to our needs and recommendations. I would highly recommend Bluebird Auto Rental Software to anyone in the auto rental industry.

Pros

Its flexibility to meet all of our software needs.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Michael ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ryan N.

Ease of use

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall good. I feel the ease of use really just based on the user interface can improve. Seems a little out dated.

Pros

The customer support behind it. It has the capabilities to cover many things. Many different types of rental customers can be covered using this software.

Cons

Data entry seems cumbersome. It would be nice if we could hand the customer a tablet or something to do some of the input themselves before hand. The credit card entry seems touchy. The software may be too broad for our little niche. Which is mostly replacement billing.

Split billing is difficult. We don't always know if the bill will be split at the time of check out. So upon check in if we need to modify the contract to a split bill creates a problem when carrying out tax properly.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Ryan ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

7.0/10
Jeff B.

Easy / Fast / Helpful

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

I contacted support to get Rentworks installed on another computer and support quickly sent me the link so that I could take care of it myself. When I had a question about the install I was quickly answered by the support rep that originally helped me. She had everything up and running for us very quickly.

Pros

Very easy to use and train new people to use. Reporting is very efficient and well laid out.

Cons

Wish we were able to view the program "Full Screen".

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Jeff ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10
Ian P.

Excellent Easy to Use software package

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

Having used other "big ticket" software packages in the past, it was refreshing to have a comprehensive, easy to use rental software package that was reasonably priced. Team this with extraordinary Customer Service, a CEO who is interested in her customer's experiences, and eager to help with any issues that may develop. And importantly a CEO who is accessible when you wish to speak with her. Great Software, great people.... great partners in business.

Pros

It has every report you may need to operate your business efficiently, and if you need a new one, they can set it up for you.... and it is easy to use.

Cons

So many reports you sometimes have difficulty remembering where to find those reports you need.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Ian ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Chris H.

Great software and better service!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

We have used Bluebird for over 10 years now at our company. As time has progressed they have always been ahead of the game when it came to updates and meeting our need. It's user-friendly software and we couldn't run our business without it. Anytime we have ever had any issues their customer service team has always been top notch as well. I highly recommend Bluebird!

Pros

User-friendly, constantly updated to meet consumer demand.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Chris ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Danielle A.

RW Overview

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

RW has allowed us to get rid of manual processes in regards to Wizard flowing into our accounting program, which is great. It does still seem to have quite a few glitches which are why I didn't give it 5 stars. The data often gets backlogged and when working in RW and I need to contact support regularly to fix issues. Working with Louise has been great, she is very helpful but when she is gone it can be difficult to find the right person.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Danielle ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Dan Y.

Happy user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

So far working well. Support is the best. Always have room for improvement but overall I'm happy. Cannot comment the price because I never have chance to compare. But I don't need to compare anyway.

Pros

Help my business

Cons

Can do better on order procedure like AUTO SAVE after the typing instead of click save. Is time wasting when you forget to click save and customer waiting in front of you.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Dan ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Andy M.

Rentworks user - St. John's, NL, Canada

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

Overall Rentworks is a good product in terms of productivity and features. I would just like to suggest a couple of minor improvements:

1) Allow a larger window and/or full-screen display. Right now the window has a limited resolution that is not up to the standards of modern LCD monitors. You could fit a lot more information on one screen if it was larger.

2) Improve and streamline the installation process.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Andy ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Grey P.

MOSTLY GREAT EXPERIENCE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Mostly great experience. One thing I would add would be tutorials for a new employee. Many positives, though. The ability to contact support and get a quick response has always been appreciated. Several members of the support staff will call me directly when we have issues that can't be resolved with an email. If the fix doesn't correct the problem, they are always quick to follow up.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Grey ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Eugene P.

great product. useful tools.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/11
Review Source: Capterra

great product. helps us to manage fleet and contracts in an all in one system. there are useful tools that help us to run reports that help to maximize efficiency and productivity. the company has great customer service; however, the only draw back to this is that we (given our time zone) have a small window of opportunity to contact support should we experience any issues.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Eugene ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Israel C.

Rent works at my office

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

I have been in car rental for 15 years and have used many programs and by far rentworks is the best...may not be the easiest at first but once you get it there's so much you can do on it

Pros

The reports and ability to see actual revenues split between different class codes

Cons

At first it is a little complicated

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Israel ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ellen R.

RDR Car Rental

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

Since switching to Blubird we are very happy. The customer service is excellent. They are prompt and curtious . I love working with Bluebird.

Pros

Easy to open/close. Lots of reports for anything you need

Cons

Cash receipts. I would rather pull up the contract and pay there.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Ellen ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Edward B.

26 YEARS OUTSTANDING SERVICE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/16
Review Source: Capterra

The team continues to provide outstanding product and service! A vital partner in our success for over 25 years!

Pros

Windows platform compatibility with other app & devices are; equifax, verifone, report writer.

Cons

PRINTS RA'S TOO SLOW

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Edward ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Ethan E.

Rentworks Car rental software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/21
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for 15 years. I have looked at alternatives. I have trained many individuals on how to use this program. It keeps all our information up to date, our process running smoothly and the few times there is a problem, the support staff is quick and responsive.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Ethan! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our LoanerTrack Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Harry H.

Weak in some aspects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/10
Review Source: Capterra

We have been a Bluebird customer for many years. But always feel that advances in the software that will make our business more profitable and up to date are always lacking.

Cons

Not receptive enough to needs of today's needs

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Harry ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Ed H.

GREAT PROGRAME EASY TO USE THIS SYSTEM

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/09
Review Source: Capterra

BEEN A LOYAL CUSTOMER FOR 10 YEARS NOW.STAFF IS GREAT,HAD VERY FEW PROBLEMS
AND THEY TAKE CARE OF IT ASAP.ONLY ISSUE I HAVE NOW IS CREDIT CARD PORVIDER.THAT IS
THE WORST CO.EVER TO DEAL WITH!! (CENPOS)

Pros

EASY TO USE

Cons

ONLY PROBLEM CREDIT CRD PROCESSER

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Ed ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10
Sandra B.

Great program

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/12/20
Review Source: Capterra

There is always room for improvements but overall Rentworks is a great program that is very user-friendly. The support group is always there to assist you in a timely manner.

Pros

Easy use and support

Cons

Interaction with other programs within our company.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Sandra! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Dee B.

RentWorks Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2016/12/12
Review Source: Capterra

I started using RentWorks program for our new rental car business almost 2 yrs. ago. Great program to work with. Very easy to manage. I would recommend this program to anyone. Thank you.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

I'm human and I do make mistakes and once you finish out a contract and realize you have made a mistake, there is not a way to go back and correct it. If there is a way to do this, I have not learned it yet.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Dee ! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10
Debra D.

Nice Product - Needs a few tweaks to be exceptional

Reviewed on 2016/12/19
Review Source: Capterra

We have been using this product for about 10 years now. It works really well for our company. It is definitely a great value for the money. The only downsides we have found that there isn't a manual for when we can't figure out how to use some features, the software doesn't transfer easily from one computer to another. A tech has to remotely install and takes most of a day which ties up two of our computers. This is a big downside to us. If this came in a disk like most programs, that would be a huge improvement to the software. The other negative is the fact that you can't make the program full screen. It is bigger than past versions, but still not full screen which would again, make it a top notch software program.
The ability to customize the rental form at any time is a definite bonus, and it is easy to look up past customers and include notes. It does have the capacity to link renters and their additional drivers, but when you do a new rental, the additional drivers don't automatically pop up, so I'm not sure how that link thing is supposed to work. It would be great if they did automatically pop in the form and could be taken off if not needed.

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Hello Debra! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy that you are pleased with our RentWorks Product.
Thank you for choosing Bluebird Auto Rental Systems.
By the way, be on the lookout for our next update (Version 5) coming up in the next couple months. Fresh new look and lots of enhancements!

This will allow you to have full screen now. Last, we do have an online manual called "RentWorks Wiki"

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Theresa D.

EASY TO USE

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2017/12/05
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

EASY TO USE
CUSTOMER SERVICE IS VERY HELPFUL
EASY TO RUN REPORTS
EASY TO CHECK PEOPLE IN AND OUT OF VEHICLES

Cons

SOMETIMES CANNOT FIND THINGS AS EASY
ALOT OF FOLDERS TO SEARCH IN
GETS A LITTLE CONFUSING AT TIMES

Response from Bluebird Auto Rental Systems

Thank you so much for your kind words, Theresa!

Don't forget to use the WIKI to help you see what is in all the folders.

Simply click on HELP in the Lower Left, then select RentWorks Wiki in the Upper Left.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10