113 reviews

Elvanto

An all-in-one hosted church management software solution

4,5 /5 (113 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,5 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
92%
recommended this app
113 reviews
Clint B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Tithe.ly ChMS gives us the mechanism to track discipleship

Reviewed on 2019/08/19

Overall, I'm excited to see how Tithe.ly ChMS transforms our daily work flow and impacts church growth. It's seems like a very cool company that has a great product and we're happy to be partnering with them!

Pros

What's great about Tithe.ly ChMS is how discipleship-centric it is. The People manager is easy to use and easy to manage. The People Flow feature gives a very unique and useful way to place people - new guests, people on discipleship pathways, etc.. - in a specific flow so that they don't fall through the cracks. We'll now have the ability to get some true metrics beyond just attendance on Sunday. My other favorite feature is the Services feature, which gives us the same capability as Planning Center, but doesn't have the people limitations. We will soon drop our Planning Center subscription because Tithe.ly fills that need.

Cons

The part of the experience that was the least enjoyable was migrating data from our old system to Tithe.ly. First line support seemed to be out of order in where we were in the process. Once we got connected with our migration specialist at Tithe.ly, it got a lot better. He was very knowledgeable and was able to answer just about every question.

Kirsten K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Awkward and difficult

Reviewed on 2016/07/17

After a year of searching for an "all inclusive" church management software, we landed on Elvanto. Unfortunately, it's been difficult to implement, not user-friendly, and most of the features we look for ended up being such long processes it's never really stuck. Support is a timezone away and many of our issues come back with a "not our fault." 3 years in, and we've had so many bad experiences that half our staff team is unwilling to even try to make it work anymore. This may be a one-stop-shop, but without serious tech experience on your staff, and a high commitment level from the users, it's just not worth it.

Pros

[Should be] everything in one: it was meant to get rid of the myriad of different systems we used for child checkin, accounting, communications, booking venues, and volunteer follow up... They recommend having a dedicated technician for the first 2 years full-time to help integrate. I can see why, but that's just not in our (or many church) budgets, and without it we just couldn't seem to get off the ground.

Cons

Child checkin: only supports one printer (the most expensive & most glitchy), doesn't work well with Macs, couldn't get the iPad/tablet system to work at all, and tech support was pretty slim. After 3 years, parents still aren't used to the system (not intuitive). Bookings: allows users to double book spaces without flagging problems to an overseers - people assume since they "booked it" it's fine, but program just puts duplicate entries rather than denying access. Accounting: after a month of training, our accountants vetoed using the software, saying it was too complicated and didn't accomplish their needs. Volunteer management: allows for some management, if you have a consistent team. If your team changes weekly, then you might as well just email them yourself - there's no nice solution for this.

Response from Elvanto

Sorry to hear about your bad experience Kirsten.

It really sounds like our customer support was lacking in your case as some of the issues you have faced (like setting up multiple check-in printers and getting them to work) should be easy to sort out.

At this stage we are stuck with DYMO label printers (those expensive ones you mentioned) simply because other label printers don't have good web support. We are keeping an eye on the other manufacturers and will integrate with them as soon as we can!

Bookings I believe we did have a bug where it wasn't bringing up conflicts but this has been fixed since. We're constantly improving and fixing any bugs that appear.

Accounting is not something we fully support. We focus on tracking giving and let proper accounting software to handle that side of things. We plan to create some integrations though.

Lastly volunteer management. We've recently released scheduling preferences that should help make it easier to manage volunteers.

Douglas T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool to help churches be more organized

Reviewed on 2019/10/10

We are solving the issue of ensuring no one falls through the cracks at our church. Being a church of almost 500 people, we could no longer just store information on excel spreadsheets and in our minds. This system helps us to better care for our people. No longer do we need to use multiple google spreadsheets to manage different areas of our church since we do only the managing within the system. In only a few months using the system, we are already seeing a great benefit.

Pros

I like that I can both see at a high level how many people are coming to our church, how many people are attending small group, how people are getting engaged, etc. and also drill down into specific people to see how they individually are involved. Getting both a macro and a micro view help pastors to better care for the church as a whole and individual people.

Cons

There is a learning curve to understanding the product, especially since it has a LOT of features. I certainly could not "hit the ground running with it". This also impacts other users. I need to make sure I adequately train users so that they do not make errors while using the system.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gets all our team on one page

Reviewed on 2018/10/09

Our team and Pastors love the workflows and day to day use after it's setup

Pros

We love that it's fully online, in the cloud
Easy to make custom fields
Smartphone apps
SMS text support for Australia
Automatic notifications to fill out attendance reports

Cons

A little "clunky" in some features
Permissions a little confusing at times

Julie W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software for mobile giving!

Reviewed on 2019/09/20

Allows members of our congregation to give via a mobile app. Money is deposited in our bank account very quickly and the giver usually pays the fee, so we get the donation they used to give via check.

Pros

Easy to use and great rates. Not expensive for a small church like ours.

Cons

On Android phones it takes you to a website and does not function like a true app by letting you give totally on your phone. However, we have not yet had any complaints regarding this.

Chris P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Church Management Software I've used

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

I have used Elvanto for many years now and find it by far the easiest, feature rich ChMS around. Whilst functionality and UI are important, solid backup and support is critical. The Elvanto team are always on hand to answer questions quickly and the support team know their product (sounds obvious but not always the case!).

There is a cost to using the software, but for those trying to weigh up the difference between a manual system vs Elvanto, it's a no-brainer. I wouldn't run my business off excel so why run a church using excel? Everybody I have ever recommended Elvanto has started using it, and within 6 months they say why wasn't I using this before?

Is everything great? There are some areas that have been a frustration. The Check-In system has pro's and con's. Pro is it's web based and works from an iPad. The downside is the printing software is frustrating and doesn't always do what it's told. If you are a portable church this can be an impediment as you must have internet, and the print server can be a little hit and miss. Whilst it may seem retro-grade, I would like to see a rock solid, offline enabled application for child-check in, it's one of those areas that if it fails, goes sideways quickly.

Would this prevent me from using the check-in system? Categorically NO. Unlike some ChMS systems the printers are cheap DYMO's so the overheads and supply options are cheap and easy.

Elvanto have a strong record with feature updates that are well thought out and 'released when market ready'. Product development has been strong and the team are always willing to listen to new ideas or feature requests. Not everything get's implemented, but they do listen and good ideas (or necessities) get implemented quickly. Elvanto is agile.

It's not a perfect system (none are), but compared to most other ChMS systems around Elvanto is one that must be in the top 1-2 on your evaluation list.

Pros

Ease of use.
Feature Rich.
Fantastic Support.
Competitively Priced.
Integrates with many 3rd party applications.
Simply makes church management easier.

Cons

Check-In printing can be hit and miss (your average volunteer struggles if things go sideways).
No "Offline" check-in mode, so mobile churches need to consider internet services (and speeds).
BI is a little behind and could be improved. There are reports, but true "BI" and dashboards are missing.

Robbi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and everything you need for church management!

Reviewed on 2015/03/28

Pros

The software within this web-based, in-the-cloud system is amazing! It does everything you'll need to run your church efficiently, and it's very easy to use.

Cons

I love everything, but if I have to pick the least favorite thing, I'd change the looks of the website we work from. It's very nice, but there are a few things I'd do different (more colorful, square boxes for the photos of the congregation vs. round ones, and a cleaner looking layout). But, here's some good news. They're going to give Elvanto a new facelift very soon.

Robbie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best all-round database available - and still on the improve!

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

We signed up for Elvanto early on in terms of their development. They weren't quite as good as CCB as a database, or PCO as a planning tool, but the fact it could do both in the same system made it worthwhile. Since making the decision to switch, we haven't looked back! Elvanto is user friendly, highly adaptable, looks good and is still continually improving. The mobile app still has a way to go to be fully functioning, and event payment still hasn't arrived yet, but I have no doubt that they will be worth the wait. While we as a church still aren't using it to its full capabilities, we are definitely doing things now, that are leading to growth, that wouldn't be possible without Elvanto.

Pros

The fact that it is able to do everything in one program. Rostering, service planning, attendance tracking, people flows, etc. That it's intuitive and looks good (with great a great ability to personalise) and that updates and improvements are coming thick and fast!

Cons

The service planning still lacks a little adaptability in terms of look and feel (compared to PCO) and images still can't be added to nametags. Can also seem like too many configuration options are possible when starting out (people categories, demographics, locations, groups, services) which can make starting a little confusing.

Josh W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Does Many Things and Does Them All Well

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

I love how Elvanto keeps all the things we need in one place. It's easy to use. It's easy to train people on. And you get all the features for one price! Not only does it look beautiful, it actually functions how you want it to.

It's easy to set up and run out of the box. Then the more you use it, the more you realize how powerful it is. In church world, you always feel understaffed understaffed. Think of Elvanto like hiring three or four different people to keep track of all the stuff you wish you could keep up with.

The customer service is that good. You feel like they're just a part of your team.

That's all the things I can think to say. Seriously can not recommend this enough.

Pros

It has all the different systems and one system, but it doesn't feel too big or overwhelming.

Cons

The only con is that it's still new so sometimes there are minor bugs or glitches. But they are always really fast to fix them.

Drew C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Elvanto has been a game-changer for our 300+ member church

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

We use Elvanto for database, attendance, assigning contacts, running reports, email, and texting our people. However, the best part about Elvanto is the People Flow concept. Keeping track of people at multiple stages of development with centralized notes has been amazing for us.

Pros

The fact that contact info, group and service attendance, notes, and activity log on each person is available with a few clicks.

Running reports,

Communicating with people through email and text is great. You can even do an advanced search and get really granular, and then just contact those people with one click. Simple and easy to use.

The best part about Elvanto is the People Flow concept. Keeping track of people at multiple stages of development with centralized notes has been amazing for us.

Cons

The user interface for services and volunteering is a bit off par.

Response from Elvanto

Thanks so much for the feedback Drew! I'd love to hear what we can do to improve our services and volunteering interface. If you had time, could you email in your thoughts to support [at] elvanto [dot] com?

Brian R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best bang for your buck

Reviewed on 2016/10/26

We chose Elvanto as our Church Management System after looking through dozens of systems and demoing several of them. We are a small church of under 100, so we were looking for something cost effective without sacrificing features.

Elvanto had all the features we were looking for and was just within our budget. The key features that made Elvanto stand out and were our deciding factors were service scheduling, volunteer management, and calendar/event management. We also heavily use people management, people flows, and financial tracking, but these features were more common among the systems we tested.

We've been using Elvanto for about two years now and we haven't looked back. I've talked with customer support several times and they've always been prompt, polite and eager to help. They're quick to fix any issues we run into and are happy to hear about ideas for adding new features or improving existing ones.

I'm happy to recommend Elvanto any time someone asks.

Pros

Feature-set, price, customer service

Cons

Some features could be improved to be made useful (like calendar/event reporting, printing, and emailing)

Wes G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

As a church plant, we appreciated getting off the ground with this software. It helps you organize your church with service planning, scheduling, groups, and communication. There are a few functions we wish were added, but the team regularly adds greater functionality. It has been extremely reliable with almost zero downtime. We been pleased for the three years we've used it.

Pros

Financial management, scheduling, church directory, awesome introductory price for church plants

Cons

It doesn't currently integrate with our online giving platform (EasyTithe), limited on the groups side with members being able to see and communicate with each other, Some things are difficult to figure out how to customize.

Response from Elvanto

Thanks Wes! We'll be sure to reach out to EasyTithe to see what we can do about integration!

We are currently working on message boards for groups in the Member Area and will be adding more features like group search and more.

What are the areas you found difficult to customize? I'd love to look to see what we can do.

Cheers,
Ben

Angela D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product for building & managing church contacts!

Reviewed on 2016/10/25

I've been using Elvanto since early 2015 and have been the primary person responsible for building/maintaining our church's database. While there are a few features that seem counterintuitive, I've found the customer service to be excellent and highly responsive. The team works hard to meet customer's needs and they offer training to make sure you know how to use all the available features. They're continually updating and improving, and I'm regularly finding new ways that Elvanto can streamline my job as a church administrator and ministry director!

Pros

Friendly and knowledgable customer service; very powerful software once you learn how to use it!

Cons

Certain minor features don't work as expected; there is a learning curve.

Rohan W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great system, great support

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

We have been using Elvanto for a number of years now and have been very happy with it. The team are very helpful and have always looked after us. Highly recommend Elvanto.

Pros

Great feature set, Easy to use

Cons

Could use more API functionality to expand the platform for larger churches with specific requirements.

Pete H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great, simply great

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

I have used this in a small church and now a large church. Works well in both. Great product. One thing that would make things better is a project management module.

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Reports are a bit clumsy and need some work

Daniel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Integrate It IS Great!

Reviewed on 2019/08/30

It works great and using things like Stripe or PayPal aren't out of the question with this system.

Pros

We were in the process of streamlining a few platforms and we were happy to see that tithely played so well with others! Using platforms like MailChimp and PushPay were a breeze with Tithe.ly!

Cons

We weren't a huge fan of the overall giving kiosk experience but that may have been just a lack of understanding so we ditched them pretty quickly.

Tony B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Best Value for Churches

Reviewed on 2016/10/24

When looking for church management software, I came across Elvanto. Without doubt, this has been one of the best decisions for us. Having used other systems, and some concurrently, with Elvanto, it's been one of the best values. The price point is cheaper than other systems, and delivers more features than some. In fact, with a competing service, we were paying almost double just to have volunteer scheduling and child check in, whereas we get so much more from Elvanto. Now, because Elvanto does a lot, it's easy to get lost or overwhelmed in managing the system, but the support team has always been attentive, answering any e-mail that I've sent within 24 hours, even on weekends. The times that something wasn't available presently, I've been glad to see the team suggest it as a future feature, and even see some of them become features that I now use. We currently use this to manage everything, and am glad that there is no local software that need to be installed, since everything is web-based. In this way, implementation has been super easy, and we can allow more of our members to access what they need to without any limitations. This is one of the reasons why adaptation by my team was quick. I would recommend Elvanto to anyone looking for a ChMS.

Becky L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Giving Platform

Reviewed on 2019/09/23

Tithe.ly is user friendly, customer service is amazing and quick, they are growing and adding new features all the time, and they listen to your feedback.

Pros

Upfront and easy to learn administratively, app is user friendly, cost effective compared with other platforms used in the past, embedding into website - user friendly, interface is clean.

Cons

Integration into our ChMS is more time consuming than others, we also use SecureGive and they have a better integration tool.

John S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fantastic option for churches that is simple to use!

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

So easy to use and doesn't take long hours of training. Check it out... I've used 3+ different ones and would always push to have Elvanto!

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Not robust enough for some places.

Response from Elvanto

Thanks John! What areas do you think are not robust enough? We're wanting to continue to improve any way we can :)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Loved the mobile app too!

Reviewed on 2018/04/26

Pros

As the title says we loved the mobile app functionality and it was priced really well for what we wanted and the fact there is no charges for add ons. This definitely made it into our top five when we looked at a lot of software.

Cons

The service programming can be a little haphazard and the mobile app while it is cool we are looking forward to some improvements there. We will be able to pastor our people better by knowing who they are

Darryn G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A value for money system

Reviewed on 2016/10/24

We have been using Elvanto for about 18-months now. It was a step up from our previous package. There was a bit of a learning curve as you would expect for learning any new system. We have been pretty pleased with the support we have received. One of the main reasons we went to Elvanto was the ability to export data and manipulate it for various purposes. While no package is perfect, overall we feel that Elvanto covers most bases and is good value for money.

Pros

Data can be easily manipulated.
Value for money.

Cons

Some of the report layouts aren't as intuitive as we would like.

Corey G.
Overall rating
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great way to find tools to speed up work flow.

Reviewed on 2018/07/05

Pros

I often have a vision for a design project and using this site, I am able to speed up the process by finding ready-made photoshop actions to make my vision a reality WAY quicker and better than I could have done myself.

Cons

It's sometimes difficult to navigate if you don't know exactly what you are searching for. It's much easier when you know what you need than just browsing.

Dustin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Tithe.ly is Great

Reviewed on 2019/08/17

Pros

Absolutely loved piloting Tithely. It has an app that is easy to manage and it is intuitive. The locate church function is a quick time saver for fast donations. I looked at this product as a possible alternative to the tithing software we are currently using. The fee schedule looked better than our current one as well. All in all this is definitely a contender!

Cons

The only thing was a lack of follow up from the Tithely team when I tried to setup a sales conference.

Jaci M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I <3 Elvanto!

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

I've been using Elvanto for about a month now as our church administrative assistant. I've found it very easy to use, and I'm not a "techy" person. It's awesome for communicating to our volunteers on a weekly basis!

Pros

ease of use

Frank B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Every Church Should Use Elvanto

Reviewed on 2016/10/20

Elvanto has everything a church needs to communicate, plan, engage, and manage all aspects of the church family and local community. Elvanto has extremely intuitive, yet powerful interface. Though Elvanto is growing fast, Ben and his team offer a personal touch. I have researched all options, and Elvanto is the only system you need to look at.