29 reviews

Stackify Prefix

Powerful, free code profiler for .NET & Java web apps

4,7 /5 (29 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
93%
recommended this app
29 reviews
Taibe J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/11/13

Soumyadeep D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/05/25

Garwin P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/08/28

Scott W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Quick insights and easy setup

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

Prefix allows us a quick view of how all of our web apis are behaving and if there any unexpected errors or performance issues we need to address. Using it in conjunction with ReTrace provides even deeper insights without slowing down our production code.

Pros

Easy to setup and use.

Cons

Getting detailed logging can sometimes take playing around with your config settings to get the ideal results.

Ravi S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Tool for the developer

Reviewed on 2018/05/03

Pros

* Lightweight
* Easy to setup
* Focused towards the things that matters.
* Easy breakdown of different tiers
* Database query capture

Cons

As per my requirement I didn't find any cons with the tool. .

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome Tool

Reviewed on 2016/12/17

Prefix is a great tool which has helped pick up issues before I knew there was issues! Its not intrusive and will sit quietly monitoring while I run everything locally, it also has a great UI and makes me look around 43% smarter when its on my second screen :).

Tony L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Reviewed on 2017/11/29

Patrick H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/10/16

Hugh S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Useful

Reviewed on 2016/12/20

Really useful for tracking down performance issues in asp.net web applications. Lets you see interactions, database calls and so on in a nice simple timeline, and really go into detail where you need it.

Sebastian sebusæter E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Sporting Goods
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

Michael M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesome product bugs beware

Reviewed on 2016/12/20

This is by far the most wonderful bug tracking and fixing tool I have ever used. I helped solve a lot of performance issue in my project and meet my deadlines

John H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Awesomeness

Reviewed on 2016/12/22

By far one of the best and easiest to use profiling tools I've ever used. Most of the other tools are either to hard to setup or don't give me what I want. Prefix shows me exactly what I need to see on one screen, exceptions, SQL queries from EF, load times. It has become a tool I use daily for software development

Pros

Easy to setup
Easy to use and understand
Pretty much all the info I need to debug and tune my apps

Cons

None that I can think of

Lincoln Q.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very easy to install and configure

Reviewed on 2017/08/29

Pros

You start to profile you application within seconds.
You can find exactly what you searching for.
Profile database times, ORM times and all other stufs that matters.

Werner V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Was up and running in under five minutes are immediately saw performance issues!

Reviewed on 2016/05/03

I was tasked with improving the performance on web API calls for a particular project that seemed "slow". After doing the usual performance analysis with Visual Studio, I was reaching for Glimpse and stumbled upon Prefix so decided to give it a go since it required no additional dependencies in the project. Prefix quickly highlighted that there were hundreds of database calls for a single web method call, something that didn't show up in the standard performance analysis tools. This was very obvious from the summary icons so any developers could have identified this. The problem was a component that populated a string lookup from the database in the constructor and was not set to be a singleton in the dependency injector container. Almost everything used this and as the type was resolved/injected it would hit the database each time instead of using a singleton. This simple fix literally cut the web method call time in half making me look like an instant hero!

Julien M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best profile tool

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

A must have tool to profile asp.net application.
Be able to check how many SQL requests are made to database and check what are they is a real pros ! (Entity framework generate some mess sometime)

Pros

Profiling by requests
SQL requests

Cons

Partial dotnetcore support

John W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/02/20

Geovanny A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 2018/02/22

Patrick M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use and help me in identifying issue in our applications

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

I have been using prefix for awhile now and issues it identifies are spot on. It has helped me so much in writing better code hy reducing how many calls to our database i was making and help me identify exactly why a few pages where taking so long to load. It is a great product and i am looking forward to seeing what stackify comes up with next.

Pros

Easy to use and clearly shows you exactly where any issue may be happening

Cons

When new updates cone out i have had to renstall the product instead of just an upgrade

Adrian T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

my goto tool to debug sql and mvc

Reviewed on 2017/12/06

Pros

So easy to set up and works instantly, Haven't found a single issue as of yet that would make me think negative about it.

Kevin L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This is a great tool for MVC Development

Reviewed on 2016/12/15

Stackify Prefix helped me find a hidden Null reference exception. I'm doing mostly JavaScript development at the moment, but will definitely have this running when I do my next Asp.Net MVC app.

Pros

shows exceptions, SQL generated by Entity Framework, load times and more

Cons

pops up a message a lot about Visual Studio needing to be restarted to work, but it works anyways (VS 2015 on Win 7)

Jahiezer I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best option to identify problems in a easy way

Reviewed on 2018/06/13

Pros

Its the most useful tool right now in he market to identify and solve a troubleshoot. Intuitive system, easy to use. Way to faster and easy to instal than others software. Reallly quick feedback loops.

Cons

I cant think one, really love it. However, i know everything can be better, in my personal opinion, maybe let software be more free to take automaticas decisions can be nice

Emre S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great, non-intrusive profiler

Reviewed on 2017/05/30

Pros

Just use it out-of-box. Without additional configuration or whatsoever, it tells you more than you need. Great tool to measure query times, inspect memory leaks, hidden exceptions.

Cons

Stack trace is already good now but it think guys behind this awesome product can do better in that area. UI filter can be improved a little as well.

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extremely valuable free tool for .Net devs

Reviewed on 2016/12/15

Within 60 seconds of using Prefix I discovered a nested loop that was performing over 100 DB calls that I was completely unaware of. This was after 3 different senior devs had already attempted to optimize the exact code in question for performance.

I was instantly sold on the product.

Pros

Quick to discover problem areas in running code.
Free.
Quick to install.
New features being added rapidly.

Cons

Sometimes it's a little confusing when the prefix icon appears in the system toolbar (on windows) if prefix is really running and taking up a lot of resources or if it's just in a sort-of idle mode.

Yavuz K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Paper & Forest Products
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Tool

Reviewed on 2016/12/16

Excellent tool for finding bugs and bottlenecks in .NET web applications. You can easily find out what is slowing down your application and improve it.

Pros

Easy to use. Provides very detailed log.

Cons

Making it work after installation is a bit tricky.

Nikolas R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Slick, smooth and easy to use

Reviewed on 2016/12/21

I've been using Stackify's Prefix offering to help identify bottlenecks in both new and legacy websites. The ability to see SQL queries along with the various web requests is an absolute god send. When you find that request that should be using a cache but is smashing the database, those problems get solved so easily with Stackify

Pros

It's ease of set up. Getting up and running is (almost) as simple as install and go.

Cons

Sometimes the Visual Studio integration can be tricky to get to work. I'm yet to try profiling custom code with it.