Castor EDC Reviews

Castor EDC

Online data capture for medical research

4.7/5 (43 reviews)

High-quality, compliant and affordable EDC

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very positive. It's a compliant, easy to use, intuitive system that is affordable.

Pros

After a quick initial learning curve the system is easy to build out without having someone on staff that is an IT expert. Our clinical study managers are able to build out each study with little to no help from Castor. The database is easy to use by both clinical sites and sponsors. The company continues to improve the features of the system and provide webcasts to review the changes and answer user questions. The value can't be beat. As an early-stage start up company we are happy to have found a high-quality compliant system we can afford.

Cons

The one feature we feel is lacking is the ability of an investigator to "batch approve" once they have reviewed the data. It is labor intensive to approve each study visit and each record generated. Other systems provide this ability and investigator's expect this from all systems.

Response from Castor

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for the positive review and for outlining all the aspects of our system that we pride ourselves on!

We indeed offer regular webinars, help from our support team, and an extensive online manual with the aim that every user creates a database on their own in no time!

Bulk actions is a good point, definitely something we are working on (for records, reports, and surveys!). We are also doing a make-over of the entire navigation in Castor in order to improve the design and intuitiveness of the system and to make that learning curve even steeper!

Thank you for the 5 stars!

Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Castor is an indispensable tool for clinical research!

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/21/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I used the platform for 5 international retrospective multi-center cohort studies and it was a great experience to see how researchers at all the participating centers interacted so easily with the software. Everyone loved it.

Pros

Castor is a GDPR compliant tool to capture and store baseline characteristics, patient surveys, and clinical outcomes. It's affordable, easy to set up and easy to use. What I love most about it is that it improves the study quality so much compared to traditional methods of data capturing. I also love all the automatic calculations (e.g. age from date of birth and procedure date) the system can perform. The ePro feature to send out surveys to patients directly is great!

Cons

The platform could be even better if it offered functionality to design/structure all variables, definitions, input value options, and calculations in Excel and upload it to Castor. This would make it so much easier to translate (parts) of existing databases to new projects. Also, I missed an option to directly export the database to STATA. Castor currently only supports CSV/Excel/SPSS. Otherwise, no cons.

Response from Castor

Hi Sjors,

Thank you for your positive review! It's good to hear that you have used Castor for so many multicenter studies and that all users were happy with the platform. We hope you conduct many more successful studies in the future!

We actually have an internal method to transform existing 'Excel' databases into Castor and we do offer such transformations. Please get in touch and we can lead you through the process!

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Easy to use and well designed

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 5/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

We are a small start-up company and the task of setting up our study fell on me, a person with absolutely no experience with EDC systems. After doing a little research we selected Castor EDC because it seemed easy to use and the price was right for us.

Castor EDC has been everything we've hoped it would be. It is easy to learn and set-up. Our study sites have liked it and found it very easy to use. It is feature complete doing everything we have wanted to do.

One concern we had was that the company has no US-based support and we are on the West coast. As such, getting support in real-time is really not an option. I was also concerned about possible language barriers. Those initial concerns have not materialized to be realities. On the three occasions I have required support, I have received it within 24 hours, via email. Each time the answer I received was complete and they addressed my question on the first response.

Overall, we are very satisfied.

Cons

I have two fairly nit picky issues:

1. Setting up user rights is a bit clunky. It is very flexible, which I love, but a bit clunky.
2. Dependencies and validations are limited to a single field and the logic is very limited. On the plus side, one can work around those limitations with hidden calculations.

Response from Castor

Hi Bill,

Thank you so much for you review. We are very happy to be able to help your business with such an important element of your journey towards getting Alibrex to market. I will be in touch soon for a personal introduction.

Please know, while not immediate, we do plan to redesign the validation and dependency builder. In the mean time, as you mentioned, multi-variate edit checks and dependencies can be scripted using calculation fields.

Derk Arts, MD PhD
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

CASTOR for clinical studies

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/29/2018
Review Source: Capterra

CASTOR incorporates everything that I wanted from an electronic data capture program, and is so easy to use that everyone can work with it.

Pros

CASTOR for me is the answer to electronic data capture. It is easy to use, you have full control, it is safe and data from several sources can be incorporated. Can be used by the investigator, monitor as well as the participant for answering the questionnaires. I also like the fact that the software keeps being developed and better features are added regulary. Communication is excellent.

Cons

The help section is sometimes a bit hard to work through. Also would like to have a printable version of the manual (esp. for instructions to people using the ready-made castor forms).

Response from Castor

Dear Gabby,

Thanks for this great review! We pride ourselves on our platform's security, user-friendliness and multiple functionalities, as well as the responsiveness of our support team, so we are happy to hear that these are the highlights for you as a data manager!

We have recently migrated our entire knowledge base, have you checked it out? It can be found at https://helpdesk.castoredc.com. The searchability has improved significantly since! We have also added printable pdf manuals for data entry users, study admins and monitors. We hope these will be useful for you!

Thank you!
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Clear and user friendly database with many features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/25/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Castor has a good customers service who supports you when you encounter any difficulties and provides you with helpful tips/solutions.

Pros

It is easy for a non-experienced database builder to create your own database using Castor.
The database is easy to use for data-entry, monitoring and creating reports or surveys.
You can add a lot of users and adjust the rights for each of the users.
As an admin you have a clear overview on the progress of the study in all participating sites and you get a message every time a patient is included in the trial.

Cons

Sending out surveys is still a manual task, it would be great if by just entering the participants' email address, the surveys are sent automatically.

Response from Castor

Hi Fleur,

Thanks for your 5 star review, we really appreciate it! With regards to sending surveys when you add the email address, have you looked at our automation engine?
https://helpdesk.castoredc.com/article/44-automatically-send-out-surveys

That should hopefully make your life even easier!

All the best,

Derk Arts, MD PhD
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Really Versatile and GDPR Compliant Data Storage Platform

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

The ability to build our own research forms and surveys, quickly and in GDPR compliant way is a massive help for us as it has drastically reduced the cost of this and also the time it takes to get the forms built. It means we can do research faster and cheaper and with compliance headaches handled.

The support from Castor has been amazing. They are very quick to respond (even to stupid questions!) and gave us huge support before we signed up.

Pros

We literally have found tons of uses for Castor. The ability to build your own forms quickly and knowing the data is stored in a GDPR Compliant way is a HUGE help for us. Also the validation options in the fields are really good / ensure high level of data quality. And Also, The SPSS export function is really a great help too!

Cons

The Surveys do not work well on Mobile phones and most of our research participants would use them that way.

Response from Castor

Hi Mike,

Great to hear that you have found so many uses of Castor and that you rate it with 5 stars on all aspects! Compliance and security, together with a helpful support team our some of our top priorities!

There have been some small improvements in the survey mobile experience, but we are aiming for a full mobile optimization with our coming redesigns. Stay tuned! :)

Best,
Elena

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Castor edc: the database to have

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/29/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Castor is continuosly growing, so i always look forward to the next upgrade.
My experience is very good. I have a good connection with a few employers at Castor and we help each other out.

Pros

very easy to understand and use.
you have an immediate layout overview when setting up the database.

Cons

some validations are not yet possible
some validations need multiple calculations which takes time to build

Response from Castor

Dear Alden,

Thank you for reviewing Castor EDC and for being part of the Castor research community! We are happy to hear that you find the platform user-friendly!

As you probably know, calculation fields offer a wide range of validations you can do using multiple study variables. I understand this might take a bit of extra time which is why we intend to make complex data validations even easier in the future.

We also always look forward to our upgrades and to continuously delivering new features that help maximize the efficiency and impact of research done across the world!

Thanks,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Great Data Capturing Software for Research

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/29/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we love Castor EDC. Great software, great team behind it and perfect for our research studies. :-)

Pros

The almost intuitive easy nature of the software.

Cons

The study ID numbering is a bit clunky. It would also be great to have study visit alarms / out of study visit window warnings.

Response from Castor

Dear Bee,

Thank you for your review! We love that you love Castor and that you find the system (almost) intuitive :) With our coming redesign of the navigation in Castor, we hope to make it 100% intuitive!

This year we will also be working towards a better overview of old vs. new CRF versions, as well as a reporting dashboard that will provide you with better insight into the study progress.

Good luck further with your many research studies!

Cheers,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

High-quality data collection

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

What I like about Castor is that I can create a user-friendly database that will also create a user-friendly output, i.e. that I can already prepare the data as much as possible to make data analysis easier.

Cons

More possibilities regarding surveys would add even more value: automatic reminders to subjects to complete their survey, notifications if surveys have not been completed yet (in addition to the existing notifications that surveys have been completed).

Response from Castor

Hi Brechtje,

Thank you for this review! We are working on automatic reminders, something that's been on the top of our list! Notifications for non-completion will be a next step afterwards.

Good luck further with your research in Castor!

Best,
Elena

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Nice program for clinical research

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/29/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use, customer friendly. Easily adjustable.

Cons

Sometimes Castor works too slow, so if i'm filling it in while seeing patients, it takes too long. Furthermore, some features do not work properly (like mark whole steps as missing, when the step is too large)

Response from Castor

Hi M,

Thanks for leaving a review, good to hear you're mostly positive! :).

Slow downs of the system are usually a result of having a large amount of fields on a single step. We are currently implementing a warning message in our form builder to warn against adding more than 50 fields to a single step, hopefully that should prevent this issue in the future. If you think there's another cause for the slowness, please contact support when this occurs.

Thanks again!

Derk Arts
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Really intuitive

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Really easy to use, very intuitive. In multicentre trials with lots of collaborators involved you need a software with those characteristics so that collaborators won't have problems. The online platform works really well and fast.

Cons

There are some things that need to be solved to save time, when giving access to collaborators, at least in trials with many users.

Response from Castor

Hello,

Thank you for your positive review! The intuitiveness of the system is one of our top priorities, so we're happy that's your main feedback.

Regarding the study access, we do offer user management as an additional service for larger studies. Please contact us if this would be of interest for your future studies.

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Love this system!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Easy to use
Fantastic customer service
Affordable

Cons

On rare occasions, bit of a lag time moving from one page to next while filling in form. Nothing major.

Response from Castor

Dear Shardule,

It's always a pleasure to see a 5-star review! Thank you for the nice words!

If you do experience lags again (definitely not the intention!), please contact our customer support, we can look together with you to see what might be causing it. As you know, we want to solve any issues you encounter! :)

Thanks again,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Makes clinical research easier!

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It has made easier to carry on a prospective registry.

Pros

It helps you to have everything in order.

Cons

You can't print the information in a structured format.

Response from Castor

Hi Alejandro,

Thank you for your super positive review! Making clinical research faster and smarter for all researchers is what we want to achieve!

I'm not entirely sure I understand the printing structure comment. Could you contact us so we can clarify how the printing can be improved? I will then add this request to our feature requests list. We use this user feedback as input for product development, so we love hearing your thoughts on what can be improved!

Thanks again,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Castor Spain Review

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

3 studies performed
Last with 650 researched and 145 centers: no problems; it’s great

Pros

Easy to use, very intuitive, powerful, agile, fast and accurate online support

Cons

There are NO cons in my experience in this moment

Response from Castor

Hi there,

Thank you for your 5-star review and the nice words! No cons is always good to hear :) We wish you success with your current and future big multicenter studies!

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

my opinion about Castor

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/27/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Nice!

Pros

- Really easy use
- very fast and complete answers from support

Cons

- sometimes is not easy to fill the form by the Investigators if repeated measures (report button) are used

Response from Castor

Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your nice review! The ease of use of our platform is something we aim for and our support team is always there to help with quick responses and useful tips on Castor's power features!

The ease of use of the reports depends mostly on how the database is built - using many report buttons is not always convenient. For repeated measures, it is more appropriate to use the dedicated repeated measure field instead - this makes data entry for such measurements much easier!

We also have a short printable pdf manual for data entry, this might be helpful for the investigators to get used to the system.

Thanks again,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Review

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very intuitive to use. It's very easy to design a CRF. Customer support is always available to help with queries, if there are any. I honestly did not have any trouble at all running my study on Castor. I would recommend it to everyone and I strongly believe collaborative research is the way to go forward.

Cons

I don't have anything to criticise at all.

Response from Castor

Hi Josephine,

5 stars and nothing to criticize, that's very flattering! Thank you so much for supporting us and writing this review.

Best wishes,

Derk Arts, MD PhD
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Good program

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very good

Pros

It is reliable. Every day a back-up is made of my database.

Cons

Sometimes the site is running (very) slow. Especially after running some calculations.

Response from Castor

Hi Stefan,

Thank you for your review! We aim to ensure top level security of your data and performing regular back-ups is a part of that.

The app should run quite smoothly, so if you are encountering some lags, it could be the result of how the calculations are set up in your study and their amount in a single step. Our support team will be happy to advise you on how to structure your study for best system performance.

Best,
Elena

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Best solution to manage my data

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Very good experience for my PhD-project. Easy to set up and easy to use and to export!

Pros

easy to build up your project with. The structure helps you think about your statistical plan.

Cons

expensive compared to redcap, but still value for money

Response from Castor

Dear Olivia,

Thank you for your review! Being the best solution for your data management is what we aim for!

We also aim to keep our prices as low as possible for the provided quality, especially for academic research studies, and we trust that the value exceeds the price :)

Thank you for using Castor and we hope to be in touch again for your future studies!

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Great interface, superb customer service

Reviewed on 4/26/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Great interface, dummy-proof, adheres to GCP-requirements without being disturbing to users. Hardly any bugs noted, but if there, they will be fixed within a few hours.

Ability to make accounts for different users with different restrictions (fantastic!).

Recommendations:
- Options to build eCRFS could be extended somewhat, e.g. medication module
- Other randomisation algorithms
- Option to adjust the planned dates for surveys (future survey invites) that have already been saved.

Response from Castor

Thank you for your excellent feedback.

Regarding your points:
- Currently we recommend using the new "Repeated measures" feature to create your own medication module. We will try to include medication lists in Castor but that is difficult due to international differences
- We have built our Biased Coin Minimization (BCM) algorithm and are currently validating it, we will update you when it is released!
- This is a very valid point and was developed in the current 'sprint', it will be released in in version 4.7.

Again, thanks for the feedback, this is what we need to keep on improving Castor EDC!

- Derk Arts
MD, PhD.c
Founder Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Very user friendly EDC system

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/21/2018
Review Source: Capterra

For 'smaller' less complex clinical trials Castor EDC is a very welcome alternative EDC system nxt to the other 'big' systems. You can develop a complete study very easily without any complex programming.

Pros

- CRFs are easily built.
- Customers support responds quickly and is very helpful.
- you don't need specific training to use Castor EDC for building CRFs.

Cons

- The layout and looks change very often, which are not always a improvement.
- Restrictions of the layouting the CRFs.
- no test- and acceptance environment.

Response from Castor

Hi Mireille,

Thank you so much for leaving a review. Glad you like the platform.

I understand that layout changes aren't always welcome but as we are redesigning and our entire user interface to become the most mobile and user friendly EDC platform, we will need to gradually deploy these changes on our platform. I promise we will try to make the steps as small as possible!

With regards to the lack of test and production environments, we currently have a couple of ways to deal with that, our support desk can tell you more about that. But rest assured, we are well aware of this limitation and it's high on our list of features to implement!

Derk Arts
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

Castor for Investigator initiated Research

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It made it easy to set up an international clinical trial

Pros

Easy to use and intuitive
Accessible
Easy to set up

Cons

Payable
Difficulty of getting statistical nice graphs

Response from Castor

Hi there,

Thank you for your review! Our intention is to make Castor very easy to use, so that any researcher can build their own database without any programming experience whatsoever. We are thus very happy that you rate us with 5 stars!

We also try to keep Castor affordable for everyone and especially for academic, investigator-initiated studies. Small studies are entirely free!

As for the graphs, we have created an integrated analytics dashboard that will allow you to do data analysis and make your own reports within Castor EDC. We will be releasing it soon, so stay tuned!

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

CASTOR

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/17/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

easy to use, good quality, easy acces and good value

Cons

Nothing specifically, so far no problems with the software have occured

Response from Castor

Thanks for the review Jony! We really appreciate it. We currently have an experienced designer/UX team working on the Ease of Use of our platform. 4 stars is great, but we are definitely going for 5! So stay tuned :)

Derk Arts, MD PhD
CEO Castor EDC

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

8.0/10

Several studies

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 10/26/2018
Review Source: Capterra

We use Castor for several studies, we espesially use it for surveys for patients

Pros

Castor is very easy to use, and the helpdesk tries to help you very fast

Cons

I find the calculations hard to use. so I need help with it very often.

Response from Castor

Hi Marieke,

Thank you for your positive review! Ease of use and customer support are our top values, so we are super happy that you highlighted these!

Calculations can be a bit hard when you start, but that's why we are here to help :) We will make these easier to use in the future, but in the meantime please make use of our extensive database of calculation formulas and our helpful support team :)

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

10.0/10

Very recommended!

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2/15/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We used it to collect data for medical research in several centers

Pros

Easy to use
Nice interface
Good customer service

Cons

We did not experience any problems with CASTOR

Response from Castor

Hi there,

Thank you for your review! Great to hear that you liked the platform and did not experience any problems with it :) Our coming new interface will be even better, let us know what you think!

Best,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend

9.0/10

One of the best online data entry packages

Reviewed on 4/26/2016
Review Source: Capterra

Pros: Secure website, easy to use and error proof. Every answer is stored so when the internet fails, you don't lose information. Multi user, adaptable. Error checking but also flexible. So if you want to enter some strange data and you have a good reason, it is still possible. Still works great with large data.

Cons. Data entry is a bit slow and data entry with the keyboard is on my wish-list. Now all data must be entered with mouse clicks and for multiple choice that can be a burden.

Response from Castor

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the review! Some great points. Keyboard navigation can indeed be approved, something we will work on. Performance is being constantly improved and also affected, for instance, by using many calculation fields in your forms. If these issues occur very often, please reach out to us!

- Derk Arts
MD, PhD.c, CEO

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support