116 reviews

Castor EDC

The top-rated EDC system in the world *EDC + ePRO + eConsent

4,7 /5 (116 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
98%
recommended this app
116 reviews
Remco H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great online program for study

Reviewed on 2019/10/18

Good online service. Very helpfull for my Study

Pros

Safe program, you can use it on every computer, at home and in the office. It was fine to use the trial version.

Cons

Some little bugs, difficult Java scripts, Not possible to changes the output file

Kees V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent EDC and easy to use

Reviewed on 2020/02/18

Pros

Easy to use, manage and build. Multiple users can easlily work in a case-by-case EDC. Setting authorizations is easy and feedback can be given by means of queries. Data export is easy and complete.

Cons

It tends to get slower over time due to pilled up logs which are logged on the background and can be cleared by the team of castor.

Sharon G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Value and Also Best Product

Reviewed on 2019/08/08

Pros

This software is intuitive to use. The company provides video training with all the ins and outs, even though you can work with it without the training.
In the past, I had issues with obtaining a calculation for a specific formula and the customer support was so helpful, truly. Responses were almost immediate and my issue was resolved. In addition, the use of records and reports are so helpful when building the CRFs.
This product includes EVERYTHING you can find in all of the competing products, including the regulatory requirements, but is so much less expensive that it is not even worth checking out the other companies. This is my go to platform for all of my clients' clinical trials.

Cons

Watching the videos... I just want to hop in.
I am writing this because I have to, honestly, there is nothing I don't like about this software.

Response from Castor

Hi Sharon,

Thank you so much for this super positive review and great to have you as a loyal customer! Our goal is to offer a product that covers all features necessary for any medical device or pharma study at a competitive price - so it's good to hear that it has indeed met your company's needs.

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Joshua P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Review of Castor

Reviewed on 2019/08/26

Pros

- Ease of Programming. I don't have any programming experience, but I was able to build out the whole EDC database by myself, just watching the tutorial videos and explanations on the Castor website.
- Responsive Support. Mainly interacted with Customer Support leads, but as a whole was impressed that the support team took our issues seriously and followed through to conclusion.
- Low Price. Honestly, likely too low of a price for the value. Others in the field are something like 10x what you are charging, or far more.
- User Interface. I like the changes made recently. Really opens up the screen.

Cons

- Loading Time. This may be down to how I organized my Study with lots of repeated measures and a long architecture. But it takes a good 30-60 seconds to load up an individual Subject, and then 10 seconds or so to switch fields sometimes, most notably when I'm trying to dig through Reports.
- Single Dependencies. Likely it would overcomplicate the programming, but being able to have more than 1 Dependency for an item would be useful. Only in a small percentage of cases, so the vast majority a single Dependency was sufficient. A like-to-have, not a need-to-have.

Robyn R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Beste Datamanagement System I'v worked with

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

Pros

I really like Castor EDC. It is easy to build and has many features.
I use Castor EDC on a daily basis for my multicentre RCT.
It is easy that I an keep in touch with other centres through this system.
Futhermore, it is very easy to send out questionnaires.
The most positive thing about Castor is that you have all your data in one place.
Finally, Catsor has a very good customer service. If I have a problem, I get a respons in one hour. At the beginning we had some difficulties with our study, and Castor invited us to their main office to help us.

Cons

I hope in feature, Castor will be linked with EPIC.
Furthermore, I hope will be possible to sign Informed Consents in Castor.

Bee B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Data Capturing Software for Research

Reviewed on 2018/10/29

Overall we love Castor EDC. Great software, great team behind it and perfect for our research studies. :-)

Pros

The almost intuitive easy nature of the software.

Cons

The study ID numbering is a bit clunky. It would also be great to have study visit alarms / out of study visit window warnings.

Response from Castor

Dear Bee,

Thank you for your review! We love that you love Castor and that you find the system (almost) intuitive :) With our coming redesign of the navigation in Castor, we hope to make it 100% intuitive!

This year we will also be working towards a better overview of old vs. new CRF versions, as well as a reporting dashboard that will provide you with better insight into the study progress.

Good luck further with your many research studies!

Cheers,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really intuitive

Reviewed on 2018/10/26

Pros

Really easy to use, very intuitive. In multicentre trials with lots of collaborators involved you need a software with those characteristics so that collaborators won't have problems. The online platform works really well and fast.

Cons

There are some things that need to be solved to save time, when giving access to collaborators, at least in trials with many users.

Response from Castor

Hello,

Thank you for your positive review! The intuitiveness of the system is one of our top priorities, so we're happy that's your main feedback.

Regarding the study access, we do offer user management as an additional service for larger studies. Please contact us if this would be of interest for your future studies.

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Arick W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Affordable EDC with Multifunctional Capabilities

Reviewed on 2019/08/26

We use CastorEDC for clinical trial data management. It's been great working with Castor, and their customer service always responds so promptly and is always super helpful.

Pros

Easy data download process, great interface, and very affordable compared to the other EDC systems out there.

Cons

There are still some minor bugs that the developers are fixing. Downloading large sets of data can be a bit slow and also delayed.

Response from Castor

Hi Arick,

Thank you very much for your positive review! User friendliness and customer support are our main focus points, so thank you for mentioning them. We wish you many successful studies in the future and please continue reporting bugs that you encounter :-)

Best,
Elena

Shardule S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love this system!

Reviewed on 2018/10/26

Pros

Easy to use
Fantastic customer service
Affordable

Cons

On rare occasions, bit of a lag time moving from one page to next while filling in form. Nothing major.

Response from Castor

Dear Shardule,

It's always a pleasure to see a 5-star review! Thank you for the nice words!

If you do experience lags again (definitely not the intention!), please contact our customer support, we can look together with you to see what might be causing it. As you know, we want to solve any issues you encounter! :)

Thanks again,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Mendy W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Castor Database

Reviewed on 2020/08/28

I have had a great experience with Castor and will continue to use it in the future.

Pros

For somebody who is not great with computers and databases Castor was easy to use.
There are a lot of features and I would not change anything.
The Castor helpdesk was very helpful and responded very quickly when I needed help.

Cons

I had some trouble with converting Castor into SPSS but with a little help this worked great as well.

Georgina C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great database software!

Reviewed on 2020/01/22

Very positive

Pros

Very easy and user friendly to set up with a great support team. Much more affordable than previous databases we have used.

Cons

Nothing- I really can't fault it. Highly recommend

Lucienne R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Castor EDC

Reviewed on 2019/09/02

Pros

Castor is really easy to use and realiable software

Cons

I am really content with castor; so I do not have any negative points about this software

Daniel Y.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great EDC system

Reviewed on 2019/09/04

Overall it’s been a great experience. Loved this edc system.

Pros

The system is extremely user friendly. The startup time was quick when entering the webpage.

Cons

Margins cut off subject numbers, so they weren’t displayed properly. Queries could be resolved quicker if there wasn’t an option to choose between completed, resolved, etc.

Response from Castor

Dear Daniel,

Thank you very much for the 5 stars! Great to hear that you love the system.

You can drag the margin to expand the column width and you can decide which columns to include in your overview from the dropdown in the column header. To close a query directly, you could assign Query rights if you want to skip the 'resolved' stage.

We hope to have you on board for many more studies! Please contact us if you need advice for the database setup.

Best regards,
Elena Kochova, MD
Customer Success Manager

Sabrine D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Review Castor

Reviewed on 2019/09/03

I am very pleased with castor.

Pros

It is very userfriendly and easy to access and to share with coworkers. It is very accesible for collegues. It is very convenient that you can export the file to SPSS for further analysis.

Cons

If you finished your structure and add records, it is very difficult to add another variable.

Jony V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

CASTOR

Reviewed on 2018/10/17

Pros

easy to use, good quality, easy acces and good value

Cons

Nothing specifically, so far no problems with the software have occured

Response from Castor

Thanks for the review Jony! We really appreciate it. We currently have an experienced designer/UX team working on the Ease of Use of our platform. 4 stars is great, but we are definitely going for 5! So stay tuned :)

Derk Arts, MD PhD
CEO Castor EDC

Arne B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great data capture system

Reviewed on 2019/08/15

Pros

- Easy eCRF builder
- Intuitive interface
- Online tutorial
- Customer service

Cons

- Variable names of some eCRF items (i.e. grid-tables) are automatically generated. Would be great if that could be customizable.

Sylvana D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Use of Castor EDC for medical clinical trials

Reviewed on 2019/09/25

I have used Castor to design data collection sets for multiple studies and would highly recommend its use.

Pros

The software is easy to use when you follow the tutorials and I appreciate the flexibility of the software allowing users to add continuous and variable data. Having others fill out CRFs or questionnaires is failure proof, as you are able to set limitations on the data that is being entered.

Cons

When sending out questionnaires to others in situations were the need to be persuaded to fill out the questionnaires, the lay-out can be quite strict and usefull, however its not very appealing.

Laura C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easily accessible,

Reviewed on 2019/09/05

very positive and would definitely recommend if given the opportunity

Pros

its very easy to learn no significant training required to learn

Cons

nothing really, didnt think of anything that stood out. it was pretty easy

Nicky V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 5 001-10 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to store all your data

Reviewed on 2020/09/24

Pros

Very easy to use
Lots of possibillities
Very cheap compared to other electronic data storing programs

Cons

That if you add a calculation later on you have to open all the records seperately before the calculation has run.

Baptiste O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A great platform to capture your data in a structured way

Reviewed on 2019/08/27

Overall it is a good and solid platform that is easy to use and master. You can achieve a lot with a minimum of effort.

Pros

- easy to master
- no unnecessary fuss
- easy to manage
- good value for money
- fast browsing experience

Cons

- the layout is fixed
- for advanced users, there is no accessibility to more powerfull programming to manipulate the platform.
- the image/file upload feature is very restricted in file size

Matt B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A Cost Effective DIY EDC

Reviewed on 2020/06/01

Pros

The ability to easily build/test/change your own databases is one of the best things about this software. Their technical support library and staff also make it very easy to learn how the system works.

Cons

Being simpler software means that Castor doesn't have all the bells and whistles that might be available in far more expensive software packages but this is more than made up for by its cost effectiveness and the ability for users to run their own databases.

Eleftheria I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Castor EDC review

Reviewed on 2019/10/30

Pros

easy to learn and use, lots of features,

Cons

crashes frequently, sometimes it does not save the data entries

Sam D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 2019/10/22

Pros

It is very user friendly and self explanatory.

Cons

Fortunately, I do not have any complaints at this time.

Danielle A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Set-up and CRF building

Reviewed on 2021/02/28

overall the system is good, it does it's job and worth the cost. i think simplifying the building proccess and making repeated measures display a bit more informative would be better.

Pros

customer service, the user end, easy exporting options

Cons

building the CRF, copying steps takes long and isn't intuitive. you can't drug / duplicate as easily as other softwares. repeated measures are uncomfortable to access in the record and unless i export it , i can't easily see all the measures with visit numbers and dates. in general i think CRF building is a bit to technical and maybe made more for a computer guy than a CRO company.

Mark S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

One of the best online data entry packages

Reviewed on 2016/04/26

Pros: Secure website, easy to use and error proof. Every answer is stored so when the internet fails, you don't lose information. Multi user, adaptable. Error checking but also flexible. So if you want to enter some strange data and you have a good reason, it is still possible. Still works great with large data.

Cons. Data entry is a bit slow and data entry with the keyboard is on my wish-list. Now all data must be entered with mouse clicks and for multiple choice that can be a burden.

Response from Castor

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the review! Some great points. Keyboard navigation can indeed be approved, something we will work on. Performance is being constantly improved and also affected, for instance, by using many calculation fields in your forms. If these issues occur very often, please reach out to us!

- Derk Arts
MD, PhD.c, CEO