112 reviews

Dundas BI

Flexible Dashboard, Reporting and Data Analytics Software

4,5 /5 (112 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4,5
/
5
Value for Money
4,3
Features
4,6
Ease of Use
4,1
Customer Support
4,7
94% recommended this app
112 reviews
Christopher S.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Affordable, flexible solution for manufacturing operations BI

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/24
Review Source: Capterra

We needed a self-service BI solution that would cover manufacturing operations dashboards and use cases. We wanted a tool that would allow for the distribution of centralized common dashboards but also allow for self-service customization. It needed to connect to multiple disparate data sources, and provide native ETL. It also needed to allow for real-time refresh capability. Finally, it needed to be affordable and scalable to our global operations footprint. DundasBI was the only solution that checked all of these boxes, and so far the tool has been a great help to reducing external spend and internal, custom-coded solutions.

Pros

-Real-time dashboard refresh capability
-Built-in ETL
-Flexible seat types and affordable licensing
-Superior flexibility and customization, without the need for coding
-Out of the box performance and usage tracking

Cons

Customization and flexibility come at the cost of a steeper learning curve compared to other solutions.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mohammad K.

End to End Enterprise BI Solution

Reviewed on 2016/11/01
Review Source: GetApp

I used Dundas BI for almost the last two years, Dundas BI is Enterprise end to end solution where you can connect to your data through wide range of data sources available and the ability to add extra data sources through its open API, Dundas BI contain embedded ETL engine to transform the data and it allows for multiple data access options (Datawarehouse, In memory analysis and direct connection to data). by using Dundas BI you can build your dashboards, reports and scorecard with friendly interface and with rich library of visualization charts from bar and pie charts and ending with relationship chart and histogram chart. Also Dundas BI allow business users to do their self service analysis with referring back to IT people, I cannot forget their customer support, they have well trained team to support their customers from incidents and issues and service request like helping us in writing Java codes to do amazing things in the solution.

The tools is completely open and it is build over JS and HTML5, this is so amazing since Dundas BI is fully supported on mobiles with all mobile features like pinch to zoom and others.

As Dundas BI have full Java and .Net APIs then it is very easy to integrated Dundas and embedded it in other portals and it has out the box integration with SharePoint.

Pros

Flexible tool where you can do what ever you want, I beleive that 95% of use cases can be build in Dundas BI as quick-wins and the rest is possible through JS and HTML5.

Cons

I wish Dundas BI to have out the box integration with web-services as this will be helpful and currently not available but it can be done through programming,

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Luis S.
Industry: Government Administration
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Explore, analyze and get fast insights of your data in an easy and fast way using Dundas BI.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/10/12
Review Source: Capterra

I've been working in Business Intelligence for quite a long time and in the beginning it was hard to explore data and show information in form of data visualizations for the end users. Since I discovered Dundas BI, this task turned to be much more simple and easy to achieve! Dundas Bi has an IDE for developing Dashboards, Reports and Scorecards that uses the last technologies in web applications developments which makes your life simplier. The smart drag and drop design tools, the rich set of data visualizations customizable to the lowermost detail, the style and themes feature, turns possible to create rich and interactive dashboards in a breeze! Dundas BI comes with an ETL (Export , Transform and Load) layer, where you can clean and prepare your data, this is done using a canvas where you can drag your tables from a data source, choose the columns you want, aggregate them, join with other tables, filter and a lot of interesting features regarding the ETL process. It connects to a lot of data sources: Oracle, Microsoft SqlServer, Excel files, ... It is a collaborative tool, with scheduled reports, based on a metric or not, you can even annotate data points, writing a comment on it in a way that others can see and respond to it! Every view can be exported to excel, pdf, image and even powerpoint.

The management of the software is in the form all in one! every thing is done in the application, from user creation object permissions, overall configuration, project exporting/importing and management!

Pros

The drag and drop feature for creating views is a very productive feature. The ETL is also great, it's easy to use and, for more advanced users, it evens permits to write direct sql against tha data source you choose. Regarding performance it has two possibilities, you can cache in memory or in DBI data warehouse. The collaborative feature of this tool is a must to have feature, I specially like the data driven notification option that could alert you by email when a specific metric goes behind a threshold or state.

Cons

It needs to take a step further and aboard predicted analytics!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Best Flexible BI tool in the market

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2019/11/25
Review Source: Capterra

Built dashboards which makes our customers day easier , well organized and informative, which otherwise would require customers to use their own analytics to gain insights.

Pros

This software provides with a breadth of flexibility in terms of integrations, automated user authentication,different charts available for visualizations.

The time to market is reduced greatly.

Cons

Documentation for some features is not descriptive enough, which makes it difficult to use some of the cool features the tool provides.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Mohammad Q.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great BI tool

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2016/09/07
Review Source: Capterra

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of data sources, the open API platform that allows to do non-traditional integrations with our in-house systems.
Dundas support team are always on time to solve any issues or to provide any suggestions and java scripts to help our issues.

Pros

Flexibility to do whatever you want, Open API and known scripting languages like HTML5 and JS where 99% of your word can be accomplished through drag and drop including preparing the connections to database, you can do all the task which usually have to be done through SQL language by using Dundas and only drag and drop like join, sort , filter, union, aggregation and more.

Cons

The tool doesn't support the 3D Charts even it is clear that 3D charts are not professional.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Cosmin I.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization
Company size: 11-50 Employees

best of breed, open standards BI dashboarding environment

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

keep up the great work -- after a two months, in-depth technical review of about a dozen BI tools out there, including PowerBI, Spotfire, DOMO, MicroStrategy, Pyramid Analytics, Tableau, Looker, Qlik, + Open Source solutions -- for the aforementioned points, our company settled on DundasBI, as the "best of breed", most flexible, scalable, modern, fast, "future-proof" & cost-effective solution.

Pros

In no particular order:
1. Licensing options: a. concurrent, b. unlimited, c. perpetual (some vendors may offer just one or two)
2. Open Standards & API hooks for JavaScript, .Net, REST
3. "No pressure" Sales engagement.
4. Company is willing to go the extra mile to assist with POCs, onboarding, technology adoption.,
5. Clear documentation, FAQ's, Scripting Samples.
6. Forums to interact with community.
7. Modern, fast GUI, with rich set of components.
8. Frequent product updates.
9. Fast, responsive and knowledgeable support personnel.
10. Scalable architecture.

Cons

takes a bit getting used to, to ramp up on complex engineering/solutioning of needs (including scripting), for notice JavaScript/REST developers, however the company is willing and able to assist with these endeavors.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Danny T.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Good Value, but not the best

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/20
Review Source: Capterra

Overall, the product is working as intended. Like anything else, as you get more comfortable with it & start to learn the quirks it becomes a little like second nature.

Pros

The initial attraction to the software was the look. It's slick & clean & making visualizations is snappy & they look good with little tuning. That was a big selling point. The platform is built so that you can customize based on your needs & that's huge. Plus, the cost was a fraction of the largest competitor we reviewed.

Cons

Customer Service can be a bit choppy. You can't "call in" for an answer, unless it's a quick one, if you need help troubleshooting something while you're in the thick of it - sorry, you need to schedule the time when things go wrong. There were other issues with being sold different licenses than what we used in our trial, with no clear understanding of the separation until after the fact. Debugging data errors, if you're working with alot of data can be a NIGHTMARE.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Bernadette H.
Industry: Computer Software

Dundas is the most advanced and superior BI tool

Reviewed on 2015/10/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dundas is a pixel perfect business analysis tool. The OLAP cube compatibility is outstanding and we really enjoy the fact that Dundas is a very well thought out product that has everything we need plus so much more. Dundas does the thinking for us with advanced functionality and great canvass components that accomodates large data sets with ease. I can highly recommend this software as is a clear winner on so many fronts.

Cons

Slightly difficult to learn in the beginning once you get used to making scorecards and use the reporting module as there is a wealth of features and tools. Thou the dashboard construction is really easy and allows for a lot of controls and flexibility.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Habiba S.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Rapid Dashboard Development

Reviewed on 2016/08/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The product allows you to build dashboards quickly by providing a platform that makes it easy to integrate and visualize data from many different sources. It allows you to create aesthetically pleasing dashboards that empower users to make informed decisions. The vendor is local and very responsive to support requests. Bugs and feature requests are taken seriously and are resolved quickly in version releases.

Cons

Issues related to integration and infrastructure with other platforms are not easily resolved. I'm not sure it can be blamed on the vendor as the product itself has very few problems. It would be nice to have integration experts on their team though ot quickly troubleshoot and resolve these problems.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mark J.
Industry: Utilities
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Highly Customizable Dashboard Tool for Experts and Novices Alike.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 2017/10/24
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ability to apply custom looks and functionality through CSS and JavaScript make it a great took for embedded BI. The data cubes make ETL simple for even complex transforms of large data sets.

Cons

The menus and sheer number of settings and options can be intimidating and a little frustrating in the beginning, but as users learn the tool and spend more time in it this is less of an issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michelle B.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

New to Dundas BI Platform

Reviewed on 2015/10/06
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dundas BI is fairly intuitive, which makes for a quick win. This product is extremely flexible, dynamic, and easy to use. The support staff will go far and above in assisting you, they will help you truly understand what the issue is so you can learn from it not just repair it.

Cons

Part of what I appreciate about the product also frustrates me. It is so customizable that you can get lost in customizing and forget about ‘why’ you were developing the visualization to begin with. I am new to this product and have found myself calling support because I have "customized myself" into an error, but never fear the support team always manages to untangle my mess.

We were somewhat hoping to reuse some of the datasets we created in Dundas for other projects but unfortunately the way the warehouse it set up it is not possible to reuse the data (that I am aware of).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Christoph M.
Industry: Computer Software

Our go to data visualization tool

Reviewed on 2015/09/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We do like the flexibility, especially through the open API as well as the performance of the entire dashboard. Integration into our own infrastructure was very easy. The performance of cubes (especially when build in-memory) is fantastic.

Cons

Because the product is very new, I wouldn't call it feature complete yet. On the data visualization side of things, we have everything we need, but we need more options in the (still brand new) ETL module. Mainly we need to be able to change data after aggregation has happened (e.g. in case you do not want to show results if the base is too low).

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Christian P.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Flexible time Saver

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2019/06/21
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Before we used Dundas, I had to go to IT for every small report. Changes to already set up reports took the same amount of time and effort. Basically there was usually a significant delay, before I got the information I needed and sometimes it was tiresome, to explain to the IT person what exactly I needed. With Dundas I am able to create and send reports in just a few minutes. And changes are usually just a drag and a few clicks away. Dundas also helped us getting better insight in our operations. We were able to focus our compliance review on problem areas instead of randomly poking around.
All in all, Dundas saved us a lot of time and our IT team is much happier and can focus on more important things.

Cons

It took a while to get to the point, where I did not have to rely on help from IT. I am also missing an easy way, to do some advanced calculations and creating new tables from them.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Charlie S.
Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Very Intuitive

Reviewed on 2015/10/08
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Product: The balance between ease of use and flexibility to customize
Vendor: Our Account Rep Denise

Cons

Support has been more difficult requiring long detailed emails be sent instead of directly speaking with someone on the phone when the issue is something beyond a simple fix

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ana T.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Best tool for BI

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2018/10/31
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For all use cases is the best BI tool

Pros

Robust SDK
SME / Departmental Support
Superior Mobile BI capabilities
Integrates with collaboration infrastructure

Cons

It's very easy to use and useful for everyone. Dundas gave us a lot of good things for our dashboards

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Corey P.
Industry: Security & Investigations
Company size: 10 000+ Employees

Easy and Quick BI experience

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2016/10/14
Review Source: Capterra

I have had a great experience with Dundas BI so far. The standard controls and features are great, and being able to leverage Javascript alongside the built in tools has enabled us to do some really cool things with our dashboards. I am still a beginner as far as BI goes, but I've been able to pick up Dundas BI and build several dashboards so far without any problems.

Pros

It is simple to use, but has a lot of great features and customization options.

Cons

Some parts of the program took some getting used to since there are so many options available, but once you get used to where to find certain options it isn't that bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Dan H.
Industry: Management Consulting

Great BI Platform to Satisfy Broad Spectrum of BI Stakeholders

Reviewed on 2015/10/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This is a well designed end to end, ie data staging to visualization tool. It will satisfy the dev and power analysts through decision makers. Unlike many legacy platforms, this is not bulky, can be on prem, in the cloud or hosted. It is a fully browser enabled application, unlike leading newcomers who have bulky client components. The collaborative capabilities are unique and differentiate this product from leading players. Lastly, the output is fully HTML5 enabled for mobile consumption. Competitors have developed siloed device OS apps which are costly and complex to support.

Cons

Dundas has been a well kept secret, even though they've been around for 20+ years. New marketing and partner relationships will deal with this.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Paul <.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Small Software company seeing a BI functionality for multi-tenanted environment

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/06/30
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dundas delivers multi-tenancy in an elegant way. It has a great architecture allowing us to provide some powerful reportings options to our clients and take full credit for it.

Cons

While they do have quite a few examples of how you can use the environment these could be a lot more substantial. Admittedly any question we have put to them they have managed to cover off through the support desk.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Shachar H.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Good one

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 2017/03/01
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We checked several products and this one fit us the most.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Ravi B.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Dundas BI is like Pandora's Box. Everytime I use it, there is a new exciting feature/functionality to be found

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2018/04/11
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It's really advanced in terms of functionality, visually appealing and yet very simple to use and explore.

Cons

Sometimes the feature names are not so intuitive (particularly in the 'Look' tab) to relate to. One needs to do a lot of trial and error to get the desired look of the table/chart/visualization.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Ray S.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Powerful and flexible BI solution

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2017/09/18
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dundas BI has quick responsive support team to seek for development help;
plenty of very nice looking visual components;
Powerful tool with many features to quickly build up reports.
Mobile device friendly

Cons

lacking of mature version control
no source code visibility to do versions comparison on report, data cube, hierarchy etc
lengthy click click and click on the UI
many hidden tricks to learn
bound to MS platform
need more detailed api document with advanced usages and samples

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kris B.

Dundas BI

Reviewed on 2016/01/05
Review Source: Capterra

While there is a bit of a learning curve with Dundas BI, the software is extremely powerful and flexible. The Dundas BI support team is great at helping clients get through the initial educational process and provides outstanding customer service.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Mark J.
Industry: Utilities

Solid Performer

Reviewed on 2015/10/14
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ease of use is fantastic. New users can have a dashboard up and running in minutes but it still offers the depth required to create custom visualizations and interactions.

Cons

Sometimes the controls can be frustrating to access with lesser-used settings that are buried several menus deep.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Lori A.
Industry: Management Consulting

Powerful visualizations at a cost effective price

Reviewed on 2015/10/13
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The software is very flexible and has a variety of options to choose from when building dashboards. The Dundas Team is professional, responsive and easy to work with.

Cons

It would be beneficial if there was a technical rep in the DFW area.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Amazing Experience for Your Dashboard's Users

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2020/01/02
Review Source: Capterra

The Creation GUI is very quirky, but the results are well worth putting up with it.
I have never had an idea that I could not eventually create (sometimes, some java script is needed).
The fact that they expose all of their API tools to the end user is amazing, and allows you to create some awesome things.

Pros

- Support team is very helpful with basic use cases.

- After a dashboard has been created, it looks great and works well for the end user.

- People with zero programming experience are able to create dashboards.

Cons

(All very minor things, which might be addressed in future updates)
- Data cube creation, metric sets, and dashboards must be created using their GUI- they cannot be generated using scripts or edited as script.

- You cannot copy and paste sections of one dashboard or datacube to another.

- Data cube nodes cannot be copied.

- All programming scripts are stored in an sql database, which means you cannot use version control systems (such as Git Hub).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10