32 reviews

ESM+Strategy

Strategic Planning and Balanced Scorecard Software

4,7 /5 (32 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4,7 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
94%
recommended this app
32 reviews
David M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: International Trade & Development
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Accessible Solution for Organizing Management by Objective

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

Typically I use ESM to keep strategy execution efforts organized particularly when there is more than one Balanced Scorecard being used within the organization.

Pros

ESM provides a easy-to-deploy software solution structured to support enterprise-wide Balanced Scorecard use (but could be used to support any management-by-objective framework). I like the fact that I can use the software to get a client supported with their strategy management journey quickly. (I also really appreciate that their pricing model is by scorecard and not by user, which supports organizations that understand the criticality of driving employee engagement with strategy.)

Cons

I wish the more complex reporting features rendered perfectly-formatted exported reports.

Michael L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ESM + Strategy software Ties it All Together Seamlessly

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

Going from just having a strategic plan binder with our 3-5 year plan in writing sitting on my desk to having an actual "living management tool" to use in moving our business forward with realistic ongoing business insight was ground breaking!! I had no idea how much more effective we all could be across our management team and through every level of employee touching our business processes. It was quickly obvious how powerful this software could be!

Pros

The software is designed to bring all aspects of strategic plan execution, whether it is from the financial perspective, the customer perspective, the process perspective or the staff resources perspective. It ties them all together with an ongoing view of progress across initiatives that helps all management levels on our scheduled quarterly revivews. I am actually expecting this to be powerful enough to change company culture to one of tight accountability and high productivity!

Cons

It forced us to really hone in on developing realistic goals that tie to key performance indicators that we can actually measure although we do have some manual data capture that we have to enter but that is because we need to automate some data mining in our shop. But the software allows for this manual input!

Afzul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Integrated Solution

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

The software lives up to its claim of bringing strategy to life by making it accessible throughout the organisation.

Pros

The interface is sufficiently user friendly and is therefore easily learned. The reports are comprehensive and enable effective analysis of the data which makes for more meaningful strategy and performance review.

Cons

Really nothing to dislike. Enhanced functionality is being explored.

Sean C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Aligned my Board of Directors and Employees

Reviewed on 2020/01/23

Aligned the Board of Directors, brought the strategic plan to life, and engaged employees with how they support the strategy.

Pros

User friendly, shows employees how they impact the strategy, helps set the agenda for Board Meetings, staff planning sessions and facilitates decision making and budget choices.

Cons

Challenged the status quo and forced us to rethink how we run the business. Very effective with exposing gaps in our strategy.

Ann N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ESM+Strategy a great investment

Reviewed on 2018/08/11

As a smaller company, we didn't want to invest in a more complex application. However, we have found that ESM+Strategy covers more needs than we at first thought. It is a very smart investment.

Pros

It is so easy to use and supports an amazingly wide range of strategy needs

Cons

No complaints about either the software or the service.

John A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10 000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Effective tool, simple to use

Reviewed on 2018/11/26

Pros

ESM provides one stop shopping for our balanced scorecard needs for both enterprise strategic plans and cascaded plans. The software is easy to use for objective and measure owners to report results, and to share with leadership.

Cons

It takes a bit of time for system administrators to become fluent with the software. ESM staff has been very helpful in training our team in the system.

Fina N.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Executive Strategy Manager - an easy way to track KPIs and monitor strategic goals

Reviewed on 2013/10/07

The ESM is a very useful tool for managing our organization's key performance indicator data, so that we can easily monitor how we are progressing towards our strategic goals. The ESM is a "cloud" solution, so there is no IT support required to manage the software. Once the scorecards, KPIs, and dashboards are setup, the system is very intuitive and easy to use for the individuals that enter the data and the analyses. The system does require a dedicated administrator, particularly during the initial setup and training phases, and if "structural" changes need to be made to your scorecards, KPIs and metrics. Overall, the system is easy to use and the customer service that Palladium provides is excellent. The ESM is utilized in our operations and strategy meetings on a routine basis.

Gemma T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Eight years of Using the ESM

Reviewed on 2015/09/10

Pros: a defined methodology that allowed consistent reporting across the Enterprise; Ability to track performance in multiple areas of the organization; provides a discipline for staff input to their performance.

Cons: The upgrade to 6.0 provided some improvements, but seemed to be more difficult to execute the charts/reports we were accustomed to producing. Needed to devise some workarounds to get the look and feel we wanted.

The experience of working with the Palladium staff was excellent. Even at odd hours of the night or a weekend they usually got back to you right away if there was a question or something wasn't working correctly.

Cecilia L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1 001-5 000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to help organizations focus on strategy execution

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Pros

easy to navigate from big picture (strategy map) to specific work (project).
compatibility with microsoft software- creates efficiencies in reporting strategic results
off the shelf connectivity - allows you to get up and running in a very short period of time

Cons

navigating menu could seem overwhelming at first given large amount of options

Jackie I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our Auditors gave the system a big tick!

Reviewed on 2016/12/06

We've just had our new auditors do their work for the year and ESM and our planning framework came in for very favorable comment which is great! We love the new interface. The system is very easy to use and is doing a superb job of helping us to keep on track.

Pros

Easy to use, scalable

Ricardo R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool to manage our strategy!!!

Reviewed on 2015/09/10

Pros
-easy to use
-one license, multiple users
-Low cost
-Dr. Norton and Kaplan endorsement

Cons
-price a little bit high

Jorge R.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Robust product, too sophisticated for our company.

Reviewed on 2015/09/10

It helped sensibly to establish our ESM.

Javier G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great solution built by strategy experts

Reviewed on 2015/08/07

Pros: Eliminates PPT as source of presentation. This tool has saved a ton of paper and headaches caused from version control issues. Allows for easy linking/displaying of elements. Agency solution for cascading throughout the organization. Customizable fields is a plus. Robust charting and data grid is easy to learn since it functions just like Excel.

Cons: The amount of time it takes to refresh a screen is inefficient, but part of this issue is due to our internal environment.

Response from ESM Software Group

Dear Javier,

Thanks for the review. Since your environment has ESM locally installed, we can't control the infrastructure but we will continue to work with your internal IT team to speed up page loads.

ESM Team

Juan jose V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Strategy Review Tool

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

The ESM + Strategy is helping us to deliver positive results to our clients in their strategy management efforts. The ESM functionalities make all the strategy design process to be dynamic and proactive.

Pros

The ESM is pefectly aligned with the XPP methdology and makes the Strategy Review Process intuitive and easy to use for clients. Throughout all the ESM you have a very friendly environment that allows the users to get used to it easily.

Cons

At the moment there is no dislikes with the ESM. It may improve some risk and process management features.

Matthews P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Human Resources
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Used software for over 10 years

Reviewed on 2019/12/19

The ESM Team is fantastic to work with and the software continues to support our focused strategic planning and performance excellence culture.

Pros

ESM supports HRDC with our strategic planning and review. We have Balanced Scorecards that we manage with leadership through ESM. We are able to drive our goal for a high performance culture in the organization. It is very sophisticated but also easy for us to use.

Cons

We are very happy with the software so I'm thinking back about any issues we've have over the past 11 years of using ESM. We asked for better dashboards in 2018 and the ESM team launched new dashboard capabilities in 2019 and we love the new flexibility.

David W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ESM

Reviewed on 2018/11/22

Its a excellent tool all-in-all. I dont understand how companies can do without this types of data and be able to run their strategy.

Pros

Its easy for everyone to instantly work with! It drives you execution!

Cons

It is sometimes hard to go back to power points ones you tried to work with ESM you are stuck. It is that good.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top Tier Firm and Excellent Product

Reviewed on 2019/01/24

Empowered our team to take hold of our strategy and get the job done. Offers us the insight to make smart decisions around our investments. We were able to use the tool and methodology to avoid unnecessary expenses for projects that weren't aligned to our strategy

Pros

deep permission capabilities around user access, rapid scorecard design, great communication tool, rooted in Kaplan Norton best practices, great customer service team

Cons

Doesn't do P&L financial planning (but didn't really buy it for that purpose), Want to be able to display multiple strategy maps at the same time in the same scorecard (right now you have to select from a drop down list as to which gets displayed)

Mario B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Managing Director

Reviewed on 2018/08/09

Allowed multi user interface for data collection and communication components allows participation and transparency of strategy performance

Pros

1. Ease of use
2. Features that relate clearly to strategic planning and execution
3. Flexibility to adjust to external client data bases
4. Ability to edit terms/data fields names to correspond with client terminolgy

Cons

All features were used and found to be useful and easy to understand and use.

Mario W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

EMS is the most intuitive and user-friendly managerial tool for the Balanced Scorecard.

Reviewed on 2015/09/02

I am one of two the Balanced Scorecard (BSC) representative at the University of Arkansas for Medical Science (UAMS) in which I manage 24 BSCs. When I say I manage 24 BSC, I mean that I am the administrator of 24 BSCs, I taught 24 managers the philosophy and application of the BSC, and I assisted Danny, one of your consultants, in training the usage of ESM. The navigation of EMS is so easy that I was able to learn the ins and outs of the tool within one week before having to train many managers at UAMS. I have actual had more than 15 training session over the usage of ESM, and I have plenty more to come. Today, we have more than 30 users of EMS at UAMS whom I have taught how to use the program. Although our BSC will not be operational till October 2015, we have already experienced the transformational impact of the tool.

Irina L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ESM Review

Reviewed on 2018/11/21

Pros

This software is very easy to use and has everything needed for strategic planning and execution

Cons

There have been no cons thus far while using this software

Ricardo R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GREAT TOOL FOR STRATEGY REVIEW MEETINGS

Reviewed on 2018/08/10

Is a perfect to tool to execute strategy review meetings

Pros

The boldness of XPP methodology, Ease of use.

Al T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

New customer ESM 5.5 review

Reviewed on 2012/11/14

Recommend ESM to those who are resourced contrained but need and will use a web-based software to better their organizational performance effort.

Pros

Easy to use, functionally represent the balanced scorecard methodology well. No learning required if you understand the BSC framework.
Its affordable, scalable.

Cons

Lacks a robust initiatives prioritization; and initiatives resource allocation, comparison and refinement process.

Response from ESM Software Group

Dear Al,

Thanks for your review. We listened to your feedback and launched an initiative management module where you can capture criteria, weight the criteria, then rank your initiatives against each criteria, arriving at a weighted score. Initiatives can then be prioritized with resources allocated as appropriate.

Thanks, ESM Team

Ian B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ESM Version 6 Early Adopter

Reviewed on 2014/09/04

I work for an organization that has been using the scorecard for over a year and we were one of the first adopters of the latest version of Executive Strategy Manager. I've implemented the Balanced Scorecard at several companies and each leadership team has slight variations on their scorecard approach. ESM 6 is flexible enough to enable these unique approaches while staying true to the core concepts of Kaplan and Norton's Balanced Scorecard methodology.

ESM's alignment with the strategy map/scorecard approach, paired with dynamic reporting tools and meeting management functionality make strategy execution much easier for our company.

I'd really like to see a governance calendar integrated into the application, which would go a long way toward automating some of the preparation and reporting administration.

The action item section could also be expanded to better support recording minutes and activities identified during strategy review meetings.

I've tried to manage the scorecard offline or through shared project pages and it multiplies the effort involved enormously. I use ESM every day and I'd recommend it to any Balanced Scorecard organization looking for a web-based application to manage their strategy execution effort.

Response from ESM Software Group

Ian,

Thanks for your review. Great news, we listened to your request for a governance calendar and now have a fully integrated calendar that tracks all meetings, due dates for key activities, actions, milestones and tasks. We appreciate the feedback.

Regards, ESM Team

Edwin P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Amazing Strategy Execution Enabler

Reviewed on 2012/11/13

Awesome product for strategy execution & monitoring and control

Pros

Increases the organization's chances of achieving all the benefits of Kaplan & Norton's methodology - Alignment, Communication, Accountability, Realtime strategy monitoring and control, Initiative management,

Other benefits are its Ease of Use, Flexibility, Scalability, Ease of integrating to existing data sources and email systems such as outlook, BI functionality, amongst others.

Cons

Quite pricy for the emerging markets.

Gerald L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 501-1 000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Balanced Scorecard

Reviewed on 2018/12/09

It allowed us to turn our five year business strategy into sustainable actions!

Pros

The software was easy to use and allowed us to turn strategy into actions.

Cons

Overall it was very intuitive - not much not to like.